$95M allocated to replace ministers’ damaged vehicles – Teixeira

Sep 23, 2020 News 0, Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...d-vehicles-teixeira/

Claiming that vehicles were returned in run-down conditions by the Coalition government, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance, Gail Teixeira, on Monday disclosed that $95M has been budgeted to repair and purchase new vehicles for ministers.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/09/Gail-1.jpg

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Governance, Gail Teixeira

Teixeira indicated to the National Assembly’s Committee of Supply that when the former ministers handed over their vehicles to the new government, it was observed that there were cracked windshields, ripped and stained seats, damaged radios and even different tyres on the automobiles.

“We don’t know who did what,” Teixeira told the House, “so this money is to do some repairs and purchase new vehicles.”

She said that a number of the vehicles will have to be “boarded up” because it would be too costly to repair.

During her presentation, the Minister could not disclose details of the types/models of the vehicles to be procured nor how much each would cost taxpayers. She maintained, however, that public tendering would be the method utilized to source the vehicles.

“I’m not aware of the type or the cost,” she said. “Due to the urgency to get the budget and get the money we had to rush and put in allocation because there was a problem, and we had to attend to the safety and security of the President, Vice President, and Prime Minister so this allocation is here for that purpose because we had five weeks to bring the budget.”

However, the former Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, was not happy with Teixeira’s reasoning.

He made it clear that it was pertinent to both the Committee of Supply and taxpayers to know the model of vehicles and whether the prices of each vehicle would be procured at reasonable prices.

He also argued that three months to procure the vehicles for the top officials of the government is not sufficient enough.

It is with this that Patterson asked the Parliamentary Minister to provide an engineer’s estimate for the vehicles, with the aim of transparency.
In response to Patterson’s concern, Minister Teixeira stated that the figure has been arrived based on the past purchases.

“You don’t need an engineer’s for the purchasing of vehicles,” she added.

The Minister promised, however, that in the 2021 budget, all new purchases of vehicles, along with their details, will be readily available since time will permit for such.

Meanwhile the budget doesn’t explain where the money is coming from for these expenditures.

Money is coming from taxpayers and the newly found oil and gas wealth.

Tens of thousands of Businesses are contributing to the economy and more people are importing goods into the country. Thanks to the PPP government.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The PPP is throwing money here and there as if they have their own mint.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Tens of thousands of Businesses are contributing to the economy and more people are importing goods into the country. Thanks to the PPP government.

First post you seem confused...next post in less than one hr you got de answer...rass banna you good.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Nonsense....chupidness na gat cure. 

@cain posted:

First post you seem confused...next post in less than one hr you got de answer...rass banna you good.

Banna...why you dont open your kak eye.?

Supporting a government does not mean you have to sell your soul to them...dem people used to criticize Moses...now they doing the same BS. 

@VishMahabir posted:

Banna...why you dont open your kak eye.?

Supporting a government does not mean you have to sell your soul to them...dem people used to criticize Moses...now they doing the same BS. 

U playing stupidly nuh. The banna say PPP handing out money like it does grow pon trees he ain know where they find it ..he then said is oil money..and businesses throwing cash out there.

@cain posted:

U playing stupidly nuh. The banna say PPP handing out money like it does grow pon trees he ain know where they find it ..he then said is oil money..and businesses throwing cash out there.

Sorry...my comment was meant for Ramakant...my fat fingers got in the way....