923 persons granted citizenship in last four and a half years … eight Haitians during same period – Minister Felix

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...riod-minister-felix/

Sep 12, 2019 | KaieteurNews

Since 2015, over 900 foreign nationals became citizens of Guyana.

This was reported yesterday by Minister with responsibility for Citizenship, Winston Felix, during a press conference at his Shiv Chanderpaul Drive office.

The issue has taken front burner in recent months after it was noticed that a significant number of foreigners were in Guyana and being registered.

Among them are Cubans, Haitians and Venezuelans.

The Opposition has made it clear that it suspects that the Government was registering foreigners in exchange for votes.

However, the administration has vehemently denied this, stating there is sufficient evidence that the Cubans and Haitians were just using Guyana as a stepping stone.

There were 8,476 Haitians who arrived here between January and July 2019. There were 6,925 of them who reported to Brazilian immigration officials after crossing the border, which separates the two countries.

Yesterday, Felix stressed that open borders at Lethem, Region Nine and Berbice with its several back-track routes, have been posing significant challenges.

In 2015, 141 persons were granted citizenship and between 2016 and July 2019, the figures were 192, 230, 252 and 108. The persons came from on average 40 different countries.

During the same period, eight Haitians were registered.

The minister back in August, under pressure to explain the large number of especially Haitians who were shown not to be departing, said that Haitians arriving in Guyana are capitalising on the free movement of people within the region to travel to Guyana and to other states.

There were little explanations why the foreign nationals were not stamping in at immigration at the Takutu Bridge, Lethem before crossing to Brazil.

The issue has been burning enough with accusations in some quarters that the Opposition wanted to whip xenophobia feelings using the Haitians as scapegoat.

Investigations by Kaieteur News had suggested an organized group of persons who were facilitating the arrivals of foreign nationals from Cuba and Haiti in Guyana for further transport to especially the Brazil border in Region Nine.

Vehicles picked them up at the airport at Timehri before they were whisked away to city hotels.
Within hours, there were placed in minibuses and taken through several police checkpoints for a 12-15 hours drive through Linden to Lethem.

Persons were said to be collecting a premium, including drivers and others.

Felix said last month that 8,476 Haitians arrived here and 1,170 later departed officially.

Brazil’s immigration records show that 6,925 Haitians arrived in that country from Guyana.

Addressing the disparity in the figures between the Haitians’ departure from Guyana and the arrival figure recorded in Brazil, Minister Felix explained that some of the travellers would have departed Guyana without reporting to local immigration officers, although there are opportunities for doing so.
But on arrival in Brazil, they would have presented themselves to the immigration authorities.

The Minister had recalled that he made a full disclosure to the Parliamentary sub-committee on Foreign Relations after being summoned before it in July 2018, where he had provided an explanation on the movement of the Haitians.

“In 2019, now that we are in an election cycle, the Opposition is at it again and they are going back to the very issues which we discussed in the Foreign Relations sub-committee – with added features. They are still claiming that there are large numbers of Haitian arrivals.”

Felix added, “They have not fact-checked anything I said previously, but they have come up with their own misleading information which has no basis in fact or in truth.”

breathtakingly DISHONEST PPP and their panty-wearing Indo-klan auxiliaries on a public defecation campaign with the anti-Afro race baiting

uh huh

breathtakingly DISHONEST PPP and their panty-wearing Indo-klan auxiliaries on a public defecation campaign with the anti-Afro race baiting

uh huh

Welcome back!

Guyana will never get better under ayuh Coolie and Blackman.  Ayuh always fussing and fighting and scandalizing!

This was reported yesterday by Minister with responsibility for Citizenship, Winston Felix, during a press conference at his Shiv Chanderpaul Drive office.

Thief man nah seh dem thief until dem get ketch red-handed.

translation . . . you bring nothing to the table except your PRIMITIVE RACIST predilections, your insecurity, your poorly-educated alienation, and your base STUPIDITY

uh huh

Only 14 Haitians granted citizenship since 2015

Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix

…from a total of 923 foreign nationals

ONLY 14 Haitians were granted citizenship here in Guyana since 2015, Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix, disclosed on Wednesday.

He explained that from 2015 to July 2019, 923 immigrants from more than 42 countries were granted citizenship in Guyana, among them 14 Haitians. In recent months, reports have suggested that Haitians are “

( I know the numbers are not significant from 8 to 14 ) but doesn’t this say something about the government media. 

What are the correct numbers?

translation . . . you bring nothing to the table except your PRIMITIVE RACIST predilections, your insecurity, your poorly-educated alienation, and your base STUPIDITY

uh huh

still on probation, dam fowl thief?

3.0 THE REGISTRATION SYSTEM
Registration of persons in Guyana is conducted continually through the process of Continuous Registration. To achieve the desired effectiveness and output of Continuous Registration there must be
definitive answers to the following questions: 3.1 Why Must People Register?
In order to establish a system for good governance the constitution provides for persons to be registered as the primary prerequisite for the production of electoral lists for the conduct of elections for the President, Members of the National Assembly, Members of Regional Democratic Councils and Members of Municipalities and Local Authorities.
To provide the basis for ensuring that persons who are eligible to vote at elections in accordance with the constitution, are allowed to vote.
To be provided with a National Identification (ID) Card.
3.2 Who Can Register Now?
All persons/resident in Guyana who are eighteen (18) years and over at a date specified by GECOM, provided they are:
Guyanese (by birth, descent or naturalisation); or
Citizens of Commonwealth Countries who are resident in Guyana for a period of no less than one (1) year (examination of the passport of such persons will be required to determine the
duration of their residency). See Appendix C for the List of Commonwealth Countries.

http://www.gecom.org.gy/archiv...aining_manual_cr.pdf

uh huh

Nah nah.  Nuff nuff Coolie bannaz does seh wasn’t me, just like Shaggy.  Then when evidence presented in front the judge, nuff nuff shakabatty excuses!

Citizens of Commonwealth Countries who are resident in Guyana for a period of no less than one (1) year (examination of the passport of such persons will be required to determine the

ahmmm . . . Haiti is NOT a Commonwealth country

dunceman, what's your stupid point again?

uh huh

Guyana will never get better under ayuh Coolie and Blackman.  Ayuh always fussing and fighting and scandalizing!

who is "ayuh"?

you were one of the 'leaders' in the ignar posse validating this most vicious of racist PPP lies

what are you trying to pull?

smfh

uh huh

who is "ayuh"?

you were one of the 'leaders' in the ignar posse validating this most vicious of racist PPP lies

smfh

Nah. Me seh let the truth be known.  The base wants free and fair elections.  That also includes perception.  If it’s perceived fair and actually fair and the Coalition wins, then they are vindicated.  

Remember, this is the first election since 1992 and every one remembers the old PNC!   The onus is on them to show they have changed.  Thus far they have not engendered much faith and confidence!

uh huh

who is "ayuh"?

smfh

Nah. Me seh let the truth be known.  The base wants free and fair elections.  That also includes perception.  If it’s perceived fair and actually fair and the Coalition wins, then they are vindicated.  

Remember, this is the first election since 1992 and every one remembers the old PNC!   The onus is on them to show they have changed.  Thus far they have not engendered much faith and confidence!

incoherence

The expectations of them changing has been long gone. How can they change if they choose to behave like they have not yet climbed down from the trees? Nothing they do now can replace the current reality with perception.

uh huh

I noticed you have been missing for a while. I was wondering if your shakebatty got you lucky. You really think your damn insults would bother me? If you believe that, you better get back up from the tree you came down.

uh huh

I noticed you have been missing for a while. I was wondering if your shakebatty got you lucky. You really think your damn insults would bother me? If you believe that, you better get back up from the tree you came down.

Now why de rass u want to provoke cousin Redux wid dis stupidness. De man got this haitian issue he needs to clarify.

uh huh

who is "ayuh"?

smfh

incoherence

Sorry, I meant the first with the PNC as incumbent!

8   Eight got citizenship, but 7,000 got voter's I D card. Them blackman ah try fool them Coolie. 7,000 + 8 can vote for PNC. OK.

They think they clever.  Citizenship is a whole process not easy to rush through.  However, voter ID and inclusion on the list is easier.  Who will check citizenship at the polling station?  All that matters, you have an ID and your name is on the list.

Why is everyone up in arms when asked for the list to be validated?  

uh huh

Now why de rass u want to provoke cousin Redux wid dis stupidness. De man got this haitian issue he needs to clarify.

The boy had to join Granger for strategy sessions and collect his paycheck. He needed that paycheck to fix his shit bag. 

Felix the Cat thinks he is preaching to him DUMB PNC supporters!! In Guyana and here on GNI. Raise Al Yuh hands and let Uncle Nehru mark Al Yuh present

Base, who should start? J, R or C??

Felix the Cat thinks he is preaching to him DUMB PNC supporters!! In Guyana and here on GNI. Raise Al Yuh hands and let Uncle Nehru mark Al Yuh present

Base, who should start? J, R or C??

Bai, Carter returning throw a monkey wrench!  That’s significant!

8   Eight got citizenship, but 7,000 got voter's I D card. Them blackman ah try fool them Coolie. 7,000 + 8 can vote for PNC. OK.

They think they clever.  Citizenship is a whole process not easy to rush through.  However, voter ID and inclusion on the list is easier.  Who will check citizenship at the polling station?  All that matters, you have an ID and your name is on the list.

"Investigations by Kaieteur News had suggested an organized group of persons who were facilitating the arrivals of foreign nationals from Cuba and Haiti in Guyana for further transport to especially the Brazil border in Region Nine.

Vehicles picked them up at the airport at Timehri before they were whisked away to city hotels.

Within hours, there were placed in minibuses and taken through several police checkpoints for a 12-15 hours drive through Linden to Lethem.

Felix said last month that 8,476 Haitians arrived here and 1,170 later departed officially.

Brazil’s immigration records show that 6,925 Haitians arrived in that country from Guyana."

---------------------------------------------

"citizenship" or voter ID Fraud . . . y'all limb-jumpin PPP antiman need to mek up alyuh tiny minds

now, what exactly is it about the KN reporting that you finding so hard to understand banna?

smfh

Snowbag, Feelix lying lakka rass. Yuh expect de man to buss pnc bag and de wickedness dem trying fuh perpetrate. 

ahmmm . . . try to keep up

arite?

Why is everyone up in arms when asked for the list to be validated?  

"Investigations by Kaieteur News had suggested an organized group of persons who were facilitating the arrivals of foreign nationals from Cuba and Haiti in Guyana for further transport to especially the Brazil border in Region Nine.

Brazil’s immigration records show that 6,925 Haitians arrived in that country from Guyana."

---------------------------------------------

"citizenship" or voter ID Fraud . . . y'all limb-jumpin PPP antiman need to mek up alyuh tiny minds

now, what exactly is it about the KN reporting that you finding so hard to understand banna?

smfh

PNCR-led Coalition is prefacing political campaign on racism – Hamilton

soooo . . . "bloody" Joe Hamilton is now alyuh tribune

ahmmm, what exactly is the "racism" Minister Felix being accused of here banna?

did you even read the illiterate used PPP toilet paper [no "source" again] before sniffing and posting?

you are worse than ignorant . . . pitiful

Govt yet to get handle on rampant backtrack use – Felix

They know what the problem is, but according to Citizenship Minister Winston Felix, the Government has been unable to get control of the rampant backtrack use at Guyana’s borders by immigrants.
Felix made this admission during a press conference at his headquarters on Wednesday. The Minister originally called the press conference to clear the air on his recent meeting with Haitian immigrants.
He was reminded that during an appearance before the Parliamentary Subcommittee on Foreign Relations, he had expressed concerns over the use of backtrack routes and the fact that this accounts largely for the disproportionate number of persons leaving the country compared to those entering.
“At that time, I was referring to both the Corentyne coast as well as to the Rupununi. And the situation is the same. If you examine what is happening on the Corentyne, you will discover that there is no way you can put your hand on anyone leaving backtrack. Because of the number of backtrack use they have,” Felix said.
“You can start from [Number] 64, 62 [Villages] to Moleson creek. There’s no way you can do that. I worked in that area. We tried to arrest backtrackers. You know what? Even before cell phones came out, they had signals. So boat would come in and they would remain out on the sea and wait you out.”

https://guyanatimesgy.com/govt...backtrack-use-felix/

They know what the problem is, but according to Citizenship Minister Winston Felix, the Government has been unable to get control of the rampant backtrack use at Guyana’s borders by immigrants.
Felix made this admission during a press conference at his headquarters on Wednesday. The Minister originally called the press conference to clear the air on his recent meeting with Haitian immigrants.
He was reminded that during an appearance before the Parliamentary Subcommittee on Foreign Relations, he had expressed concerns over the use of backtrack routes and the fact that this accounts largely for the disproportionate number of persons leaving the country compared to those entering.
“At that time, I was referring to both the Corentyne coast as well as to the Rupununi. And the situation is the same. If you examine what is happening on the Corentyne, you will discover that there is no way you can put your hand on anyone leaving backtrack. Because of the number of backtrack use they have,” Felix said.
“You can start from [Number] 64, 62 [Villages] to Moleson creek. There’s no way you can do that. I worked in that area. We tried to arrest backtrackers. You know what? Even before cell phones came out, they had signals. So boat would come in and they would remain out on the sea and wait you out.”

i welcome you making my point(s) for me

yuh stupid, and we know that is not your intent

but is arite

Hey yo Jackass, sorry !! Ok .. do you ever wander to know why Haitians NEVER went to Guyana when they were in worst condition, but from 2015 they went by the thousands... and you girl friend Felix admit to human trafficking which is a violation to United Nations Protocol On Human Trafficking .

OMG Bugger BT Thomas, WTF wrang with you. 

but is arite

Hey yo Jackass, sorry !! Ok .. do you ever wander to know why Haitians NEVER went to Guyana when they were in worst condition, but from 2015 they went by the thousands... and you girl friend Felix admit to human trafficking which is a violation to United Nations Protocol On Human Trafficking .

OMG Bugger BT Thomas, WTF wrang with you. 

lol

do you ever wander [wonder] to know why Haitians NEVER went to Guyana when they were in worst [worse] condition

ahmmm, no

CARICOM did not grant Haitians CSME travel privileges until recently

try to keep up DUNCEman

arite?

do you ever wander [wonder] to know why Haitians NEVER went to Guyana when they were in worst [worse] condition

ahmmm, no

CARICOM did not grant Haitians CSME travel privileges until recently

try to keep up DUNCEman

arite?

Jackass they were fleeing to all other CARICOM countries, and they were not require to have CSME privileges to visit Guyana. Try to keep up... and come again.