January 24 2020

Guyana has risen three points in the latest Transparency International (TI) Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) Report, registering its best score ever and was once again listed among 22 countries which have significantly improved their standing in the last eight years.

“In the last eight years, only 22 countries significantly improved their CPI scores, including Greece, Guyana and Estonia,” the TI Corruption Perceptions Index 2019 report said.

Guyana now has a score of 40 and is ranked at 85 out of the 180 countries which were looked at for the report which was released yesterday.

According to the report with this score Guyana is a “significant improver” on the CPI since 2012.

“While there is still much work to do, the government is demonstrating political will to hold former politicians accountable for the misuse of state resources,” the report said.

Last year the country scored 37 points, one point below its then best score of 38 with a ranking of  91. The 2018 score was the best as in 2017 it had notched up a score of 34. For 2015, Guyana was ranked 119 with a score of 29 while in 2014, 2013 and 2012 it scored 30, 27 and 28 respectively. This placed it in the category of corrupt countries.

With a score of 40, Guyana is now on par with Trinidad and Tobago. It is however below several of its fellow CARICOM countries. The Bahamas tops the region with 64, followed by Barbados with 62, Dominica with 55, St Lucia, 55, Grenada, 53, Suriname, 44 and Jamaica 43.

The Index ranks 180 countries and territories by their perceived levels of public sector corruption, according to experts and business people. It uses a scale of zero to 100, where zero is highly corrupt and 100 is very clean.  The 2019 report said that more than two-thirds of the countries surveyed scored below 50 with an average score of just 43.    The top countries are New Zealand and Demark, with scores of 87 each, followed by Finland, 86, Singapore, 85, Sweden, 85 and Switzerland which also scored 85. The countries at the bottom this year are Somalia, South Sudan and Syria with scores of 9, 12 and 13 respectively. These countries are closely followed by Yemen, 15, Venezuela, 16, Sudan, 16, Equatorial Guinea, 16 and Afghanistan also 16.

The research also showed that several of the most advanced economies cannot afford to be complacent if they are to keep up their anti-corruption momentum. Four G7 countries, TI said in a release, scored lower than last year: Canada (-4), France (-3), the UK (-3) and the US (-2). Germany and Japan have seen no improvement, while Italy gained one point.

According to TI more than two-thirds of the countries – along with many of the world’s most advanced economies – “are stagnating or showing signs of backsliding in their anti-corruption efforts” as is seen in the recent report.

It stated that countries in which elections and political party financing are open to undue influence from vested interests are less able to combat corruption.

“Frustration with government corruption and lack of trust in institutions speaks to a need for greater political integrity,” said Delia Ferreira Rubio, Chair of Transparency International.

“Governments must urgently address the corrupting role of big money in political party financing and the undue influence it exerts on our political systems,” she added.

For countries to reduce corruption and restore trust in politics, TI recommended that governments:  Reinforce checks and balances and promote separation of powers.Tackle preferential treatment to ensure budgets and public services aren’t driven by personal connections or biased towards special interests;

Control political financing to prevent excessive money and influence in politics;

Manage conflicts of interest and address “revolving doors”;

Regulate lobbying activities by promoting open and meaningful access to decision-making; Strengthen electoral integrity and prevent and sanction misinformation campaigns; and Empower citizens and protect activists, whistleblowers and journalists.

Transparent?  What does this mean they found the $18 million or

they know how much oil and gas Exxon found?

Wasn't that found years ago ? deposit have more than one signatures including the Governor of the Bank of Guyana.

Are you aware Guyana also oversees the amount of oil pumped from the storage vessel into the transport vessels. Regarding gas when the time come for extraction ,the amount will be known.

Wasn't that found years ago ? deposit have more than one signatures including the Governor of the Bank of Guyana.

Are you aware Guyana also oversees the amount of oil pumped from the storage vessel into the transport vessels. Regarding gas when the time come for extraction ,the amount will be known.

Shouldn't the amount already extracted be already known? Isn't that transparency? Regarding the $18M, it was vigorously denied by every Coalition member asked about it after it was exposed by Ram. It was not until after Ram provided a copy of the document that they started to slowly walk toward the truth but even after more than 2 years, they have not yet reached the whole truth regarding it.

Here is the audio interview when Jordan said " he thought it was a gift" . He never declare the 18M in the budget for 2017, 2018, 2019 and it was kept outside of the consolidation funds.

https://fbwat.ch/14APlxi5AIwFgqtV

Here is the audio interview when Jordan said " he thought it was a gift" . He never declare the 18M in the budget for 2017, 2018, 2019 and it was kept outside of the consolidation funds.

I was stated in Parliament ,the money was set aside for legal fees with pending border claims ,money disbursed to the legal team ,will be place in the consolidated fund , then payments will be made.

Bai Dave, even as the focus of that clip is on Jordan stating that he thought it was a gift, there is a bigger message that directly affects this incorrect Transparency International index. That KN Radio interview was in September 2019, more than three years after the nus was received and Jordan still claiming that he doesn't know WHO came up with the 18 million amount. Still lying after three years and our brother Django wants us to believe everything is honky dory with that 18 mil. 

I was stated in Parliament ,the money was set aside for legal fees with pending border claims ,money disbursed to the legal team ,will be place in the consolidated fund , then payments will be made.

Why Jordan still saying in September 2019 that he still doesn't know who came up with that amount? Isn't heads supposed to be rolling over that given what Suriname received for even less prospects?

It [corrected added the "t"] was stated in Parliament ,the money was set aside for legal fees with pending border claims ,money disbursed to the legal team ,will be place in the consolidated fund , then payments will be made.

Rass you a wan MP now ... gud gud fo you man

This report just placed the Granger administration ahead of the Jagdeo led PPP. Allyo wasting time talking about money that has been accounted for.

The only thing transparent is corruption. Go figure.

The easiest place to dump funds are in professional fees (legal fees included). But I am not supposed to understand that given that Leonora has stated so clearly that I am just an ordinary bookkeeper.

Rass, like me ah wan book keeah too. I kept lots of college books. Does this count or I have to know to count from 1-20 without taking out my shoes?

Send the books to UG Corentyne. I collect children story books and send them.

I hope you can follow the story in dem story book...dey have lots of pics to make it easy for you.... 

I said "college books". You won't be able to read past the first sentence.

It's exam time here.

Why some of you so unhappy that Guyana is less corrupt?

Would you prefer that they be more corrupt?

yall some weird people

The same reason some ayuh crabs don't like the fact that Dr_Ifraan Ali_PhD is a Dr_PhD.  Sheer envy!

Dave ,the post with the comments from Stabroek News are not in order, what should be done ?

Transparency International report ,got a lot of folks dazzled ,there are big players in the group.

Dave ,the post with the comments from Stabroek News are not in order, what should be done ?

Transparency International report ,got a lot of folks dazzled ,there are big players in the group.

Huh What - I see u edit the I ( It) sooo quick on the closed thread and pretended to be innocent... u remember wah happens yesterday with me ... # transparency # hypocrite # dazzled # dictatorship. 

I do not see how their score has improved when dictatorship replaced democracy. When the President and his party refused to give up power after an NCM democracy. When $18 million was hidden from the people and a member of the dictatorship was caught saying he thought it a gift to the PNC. When the two negro justices tried to rewrite the constitution with 'absolute'. When the dictatorship advocates hiring their own kind. When the dunces cannot comprehend that 33 is greater than 32. When Granger and Vulga Vulva built multi-million dollar mansions after being in office 3 years. Aw laad gaad.