Some of the APNU+AFC supporters at the public meeting held last night at Kitty Market Square

January 20 2020

Supporters of the APNU+AFC coalition must be prepared to play their part at the close of polls on elections day and be ready to guard against any interference during the counting of ballots at polling stations, Chair of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Volda Lawrence told a gathering at Kitty Market Square last night.

Lawrence told supporters that after voting for the general and regional elections is closed at 6 pm on March 2, they must be ready to work the “nightshift” and be watchful during the tabulation of ballots.

“And after 6 o clock hit, comrades, you should already have your bath and put on your nightshift clothing. You understand what I am saying comrades? This is not a time to be caught sleeping; they must not catch us sleeping. At 6 o clock, you return to work at the places of polling and you will remain out there and let our staff inside know you are out there; just let them know everything is covered APNU+ AFC,” Lawrence said. The PNCR is the largest constituent of APNU.

The party chairman informed supporters that they must not leave polling stations until the Statement of Poll (SOPs) with the results of the voting at those locations is posted outside of the building by the returning officers.

A jubilant group of supporters dancing to one of the APNU+AFC campaign jingles played during the public meeting yesterday. (APNU+AFC photo)

“Comrades, you have to remain there until they get it right, until they have counted all ballots and the returning officer comes outside and paste up the statement of polls and then our nice strong men will be mobilised to follow that ballot box for it to go into that container and have the APNU+AFC padlock and chain placed on that container to protect our ballots,” she emphasised, while noting that it is important for them to have a smooth process.

“Joke ah joke but them votes we na mek no joke, no joke we ain’t mekking with them ballots,” she further informed the crowd which roared its approval.

The party chairman shared the instructions while she emceed the public meeting, which saw a large gathering of supporters. While Lawrence did not address the crowd like other speakers, at intervals, she highlighted some of the APNU+AFC government’s achievements over the last four years.

She also used the opportunity to educate voters on how they should vote on elections day and urged them to be cautious as votes can be easily spoiled.

“I want you to take note, I don’t want any spoil votes like the last time. Each one must teach one; you must remind your friends and family that they have to vote two times. An X at the top and at the bottom at the palm and key,” she iterated to the upbeat supporters.

Lawrence also cautioned that they should not write anything on the ballot papers as the votes will be counted as spoiled.

“The last time, they wrote all sorts of things because they were filled with emotions. They wrote love letters but we don’t want any spoiled votes. We want everyone to know how to vote,” Lawrence said.

She further told supporters that they must not make the mistake to discourage anyone from voting, especially persons who are mentally challenged since it is their democratic right to do so.

Lawrence also used to opportunity to preach a message of unity and announced that persons from any walk of life are encouraged to join the coalition. “I want you to know that APNU+AFC is for everyone. Our arms are open, our doors are open…come in to the family of APNU+AFC; we want to bring this country, we want each and every Guyanese feel as if they belong here,” she emphasised.

Meanwhile, Mayor of Georgetown Ubraj Narine, who delivered a fiery address, said that under the David Granger-led administration, the city has seen development and transformation. He contended that more was done for the citizenry of Georgetown in four years than when the People’s Progressive Party was in power.

Narine highlighted that millions were spent on cleaning up the city’s drains and alleyways and Georgetown has been on a progressive path of transformation. He stated too that through grants from central government via the Ministry of Communities, the city council have been able to improve the infrastructure at the La Penitence, Albouystown, Bourda and Kitty markets.  He also boasted of the free Wi-Fi hotspots available at the markets and at City Hall.

With such developments, Narine told the gathering, they should vote for the APNU+AFC government to allow progress to continue.

The mayor stated that should this government remain in office after March 2, they will undertake the restoration of the City Hall building and return it to its glory days. Despite its nearly five years in office, APNU+AFC has made no progress towards the restoration of City Hall. Narine  also stressed that there will be more creation of public green spaces and improved drainage works.

While at the podium, Narine took the opportunity to respond to the PPP/C’s Dr Vindhya Persaud regarding her claims of drug shortages in the health sector.

He said that while Persaud is claiming that there have been drug shortages, it didn’t stop her from requesting assistance from the Ministry of Public Health to conduct her medical outreaches.

Other speakers of the night included Minister of Communities Ronald Bulkan, Nicola Trotman and Imran Khan of the AFC, and Trade Unionist Eslyn Harris, who highlighted the progress delivered by the APNU+AFC government and urged voters to give the administration a second chance.

Volda Lawrence urges supporters to be vigilant at close of polls

January 20 2020,  Source

Supporters of the APNU+AFC coalition must be prepared to play their part at the close of polls on elections day and be ready to guard against any interference during the counting of ballots at polling stations, Chair of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) Volda Lawrence told a gathering at Kitty Market Square last night.

“Comrades, you have to remain there until they get it right, until they have counted all ballots and the returning officer comes outside and paste up the statement of polls and then our nice strong men will be mobilised to follow that ballot box for it to go into that container and have the APNU+AFC padlock and chain placed on that container to protect our ballots,” she emphasised, while noting that it is important for them to have a smooth process.

= "APNU+AFC padlock and chain placed on that container" =

Indeed, indeed, indeeeeeed ....

Perhaps, ONLY the APNU+AFC ballot boxes that will be counted.

Again, cowardly coolies will digest fear over courage and let the PPP lose again. It's wise to stay under your bed on election day. India no longer sees non-violence as a way to peace and justice. They fight and die for peace and justice, neemakarams. 

When Jagdeo said "kick them out" that caused big Uproar, this is no different, Volda the Clown is inciting Violence.

Well, I also don’t think Jagdeo’s choice of words were helpful.  We know the type of sensitivities that exists in Guyana.  Politicians need to chose their words carefully lest it provides an opening for others to jump in. 

I see like someone trying to paste lipstick...a shame them nah gat.

“And after 6 o clock hit, comrades, you should already have your bath and put on your nightshift clothing. You understand what I am saying comrades? This is not a time to be caught sleeping; they must not catch us sleeping. At 6 o clock, you return to work at the places of polling and you will remain out there and let our staff inside know you are out there;

When Jagdeo said "kick them out" that caused big Uproar, this is no different, Volda the Clown is inciting Violence.

Well, I also don’t think Jagdeo’s choice of words were helpful.  We know the type of sensitivities that exists in Guyana.  Politicians need to chose their words carefully lest it provides an opening for others to jump in. 

Well the PNC should learn from Jagdeo's poor choice of words, but NO this is desperate Times, no rules.

Ok fellas, i must make a confession here, i misread the word " bath" for bat, my sincere  apology. 

It happens when you hurry to jump to a conclusion. It's the PPP way of life to be mistaken 9 out of 10 times. 

Ok fellas, i must make a confession here, i misread the word " bath" for bat, my sincere  apology. 

It happens when you hurry to jump to a conclusion. It's the PPP way of life to be mistaken 9 out of 10 times. 

Prince its not about jumping to conclusion, I misread  the word. It did not take away the fact that Volda is guilty on many occasion  choice of words is misleading and can lead to violence, just as she did last night. 

An apology is an Indian weakness. You ever see the PNC admit to their mistakes? Yall continue to give the PNC more ammunition of intimidation.  

An apology is admittance of error, it does not make any one a coward. 

Noticeably you are taunting a poster ,is that how topics are discussed ? There are always two sides to a story. Keep on trotting ,you are free to post any thing from the party supported ,some can be considered as spam .Seems members of this forum aren't free to do so, without some form of ridicule.

An apology is admittance of error, it does not make any one a coward. 

Try to break ranks with tradition. It helps. 

Noticeably you are taunting a poster ,is that how topics are discussed ? There are always two sides to a story. Keep on trotting ,you are free to post any thing from the party supported ,some can be considered as spam .Seems members of this forum aren't free to do so, without some form of ridicule.

GNI has spam?  As determined by who or what?  Django, Your high level of crotchetyness deem you unfit for this Moderator job.  Your one sidedness mek it worse.  Not to mention the fact that you are discussing posters personal business with other posters.  You do not have the personal integrity or business ethics to perform this task.  You should be fired.

GNI has spam?  As determined by who or what?  Django, Your high level of crotchetyness deem you unfit for this Moderator job.  Your one sidedness mek it worse.

Not to mention the fact that you are discussing posters personal business with other posters.  

You do not have the personal integrity or business ethics to perform this task.  You should be fired.

Yes Forum do have spamming .

Which Orbuculum consulted ?  Quite interesting in your last statement.

Django helps to balance the equation on GNI. If you have a mass of PPPies, its only fair to have one more from the opposites side. We can't have overwhelmingly PPP ideals to take precedent. Let's think about fair and balanced debates. We all cry for democracy. 

You are the PNC representative. 

This site is NOT a PPP nor PNC forum. Get your act together. 

Lawrence further noted that party members will follow the ballot boxes to GECOM.

And then our nice strong men will be mobilized to follow that ballot box until it go into that container and the APNU+AFC padlock and chain is placed on that container. Joke ah joke but them vote, we nah mek none joke wid them so we are prepared to do what we say we’re going to do,” Lawrence said.