With the passage of December 2, 2019, Guyana moved into the threemonth period, within which Parliament must be dissolved ahead of the March 2, 2020 General and Regional Elections, in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana.

However, the APNU+AFC Coalition continues to shy away from a definitive date for this to take place. During a televised interview on Sunday (December 1, 2019), the Coalition leader, David Granger, when pressed on a date for the dissolution of Parliament, said, “I don’t have to decide on a date now. I will be advised by Attorney General on a date.”

Article 61 of the Constitution of Guyana:

An election of members of the National Assembly under article 60 (2) shall be held on such day within three months after every dissolution of Parliament as the President shall appoint by proclamation.

Notably, last week, Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon, when asked the same questioned, used the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) as the excuse for the non-committal to a date for the dissolution of Parliament – saying the additional funds needed by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) for the holding of General and Regional Elections in March 2020, will have to be provided before the dissolution of Parliament.

“Maybe the National Assembly has not met, but Parliament is functioning. We have said that it is important that GECOM gets all of the resources it needs to ensure that we have credible elections on March 2, 2020,” Harmon had said. However, GECOM has since made clear that it does not need additional financing. The government-nominated GECOM Commissioner, Vincent Alexander, has said, “We do not have a problem with funding, as far as I know…I don’t think any concern about finance has been brought to us recently.”

Additionally, Opposition- nominated GECOM Commissioner, Sase Gunraj, when pressed on the issue of funding of GECOM, said, “As far as I am aware, yes, GECOM has eight billion dollars at its disposal.” With the excuse of GECOM needing funding being removed from the Coalition, there has still been no move towards dissolution. In addition to concerns about Parliament not being dissolved, there are also concerns about the spending of taxpayers’ monies by the APNU+ AFC Coalition.

When asked the concerns related to abuse of state resources, Granger said, “We feel that this is an opportune time to exploit the relationship we have with the people…contact with the masses is always important. It is not extraordinary.” In May 2019 alone, the Coalition returned to the National Assembly for over $300M to pay for ministerial outreaches.

https://citizensreportgy.com/?p=13611

• mceclip0

Granger said he would be advised by that notorious bungler Basil Williams on when to dissolve parliament. That mean-spirited brute Basil will hold out as long as he can.

Not true frenno, on Hits and Jam ,San Goveia talk show ,earlier this week Granger said ,he will be advised by his cabinet ,regarding dissolution of parliament.

Granger said he would be advised by that notorious bungler Basil Williams on when to dissolve parliament. That mean-spirited brute Basil will hold out as long as he can.

Not true frenno, on Hits and Jam ,San Goveia talk show ,earlier this week Granger said ,he will be advised by his cabinet ,regarding dissolution of parliament.

That's even worse. All ah dem in de cabinet mean-spirited rass.

@ Django,

David Granger fail to dissolve parliament as require by the constitution to hold election on March 20/2020. 

Is Granger  violating the constitution and acting like a Dictator.  

@ Django,

David Granger fail to dissolve parliament as require by the constitution to hold election on March 20/2020. 

No Sir , read the article in the Constitution.

Guyanese need to be more briefed  about the Laws and Constitution of Guyana. There are free copies on line , every home should have a copy.

That's even worse. All ah dem in de cabinet mean-spirited rass.

The cabinet will seek the advice of the AG and AG will deliver based on the advice of the illegal president. 

@ Django,

No Sir , read the article in the Constitution.

Guyanese need to be more briefed  about the Laws and Constitution of Guyana. There are free copies on line , every home should have a copy.

I am not surprise, currently the government is taking everyone for a joy ride by violating the rules of law, so everyone has their own interpretation of the constitution. 

Is the former clerk of the National Assembly wrong in saying this. 

President must dissolve Parliament – fmr National Assembly Clerk

… says it demonstrates sincere intent to hold early elections

Prior to the holding of a General and Regional elections, Parliament has to be dissolved by a proclamation from the President with a set date for elections. Despite the passage of a No-Confidence Motion against his government over seven months ago, however, President David Granger has failed to do anything.

Former Clerk of the National Assembly, Frank Narine

In an interview with Guyana Times on Sunday, longstanding former Clerk of the National Assembly, Frank Narine asserted that indeed the President was supposed to dissolve Parliament before an election date could be set – if elections are to be held.
“Everyone seems to be interpreting the Constitution in their own way,” he asserted. “The Constitution says what must happen. Article 106 says that when a No-Confidence Motion is passed, the President and Cabinet have to resign. And it goes on to say elections must be held in three months after the passing of the motion, unless the National Assembly extends the time.
“The President has to proclaim a date for elections. And it is the President who will have to dissolve Parliament before elections. The President has to formally issue a proclamation dissolving Parliament, so the National Assembly can’t meet. Members cease to be members … I think if it’s dissolved, it means he’s serious: he’s going to have elections. But the President hasn’t done anything.”
Narine noted that when the No-Confidence Motion was passed, the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) should have been getting its systems ready for the possibility of holding elections and not idling. He likened it to staff knowing what they have to do, but failing to carry out their mandate.
“It means they were sleeping. If the President has a member of staff and he says I want this report by the end of the month, and that staff member fails to give it, what must the President do? It means the President has the wrong staff member. Did they get directions not to (get ready to) hold elections?”

President David Granger

Already, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has ruled out his side supporting any extension of the life of the Government through Parliament. According to Article 106 of the Constitution, such an extension requires a two-thirds majority of all members of National Assembly.
Article 106 (6) of the Constitution states: “The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.”
Meanwhile, Article 106 (7) states: “Notwithstanding its defeat, the Government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two-thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly determine, and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election.”
Such a No-Confidence Motion was passed on December 21, 2018 and according to Jagdeo, during a previous press conference, Government sought to delay election preparations rather than comply with the Constitution. As a consequence, the Opposition Leader said that the window for his side to agree to extend their time in Government has closed. Meanwhile, GECOM has no Chairman.
Since the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) ruled that former GECOM Chairman, Retired Justice James Patterson was appointed unconstitutionally, he has resigned. As such, Jagdeo and Granger have been trying to find a replacement to carry out the necessary early elections. In keeping with this, Jagdeo submitted a list of 11 nominees gleaned from the lists he submitted in 2017, before Patterson’s unilateral appointment.
On the other hand, President Granger’s informal list includes Retired Justices James Patterson, Claudette La Bennett and Stanley Moore as well as economist Aubrey Armstrong, Attorney Kesaundra Alves and former Solicitor General Kim Kyte. The President also proposed known People’s National Congress (PNC) affiliates Stanley Ming (a former PNC parliamentarian) and Kads Khan.

Dave , why do you with hold SOURCE of the article posted ?

Why does it matter in this case, when it stated  In an interview with Guyana Times. 

I would assumed you did not read the article.

Why does it matter in this case, when it stated

In an interview with Guyana Times. 

Source of articles are justified  and i think it's a requirement of GNI.

I read it ,at first glance i knew it's from Guyana Times. Their journalism are poor and slanted.

You ***** .. so you saying  Guyana Times is not a source. Now you jump to GT journalism been poor and slanted.. call the Frank Narine and ask him about such interview. 

what exactly is the purpose of you stupid comment. Do you think it can and will achieve anything beside making you look childish?

In journalism, a source is a person, publication, or other record or document that gives timely information. Outside journalism, sources are sometimes known as "news sources". …

@Django

Frank Narine was Clerk of the National Assembly during the Burnham and Hoyte PNC regimes. Isn't he credible? You think Guyana Times would put words in Mr Narine's mouth and risk a libel suit?

You ***** .. so you saying  Guyana Times is not a source. Now you jump to GT journalism been poor and slanted.. call the Frank Narine and ask him about such interview. 

what exactly is the purpose of you stupid comment. Do you think it can and will achieve anything beside making you look childish?

In journalism, a source is a person, publication, or other record or document that gives timely information. Outside journalism, sources are sometimes known as "news sources". …

GuyanaTimes is a rag , plain and simple, most of the times lies are printed. Please don't try to teach about Sources. Read the idiotic language in your response. At the least i am not arrogant type.

Sources of articles needed to be posted , you have a habit posting articles as rebuttal without showing where they originate.

@Django

Frank Narine was Clerk of the National Assembly during the Burnham and Hoyte PNC regimes. Isn't he credible? You think Guyana Times would put words in Mr Narine's mouth and risk a libel suit?

Frenno , i don't trust the RAG GUYANA TIMES.

There is no breach currently dissolving parliament. It will be dissolved  in due time for  Elections on March 2nd.

@Django

One man's rag is another man's news mag. If Dave's news mag is rag to you, your news mag can be rag to someone. 

@Django

One man's rag is another man's news mag. If Dave's news mag is rag to you, your news mag can be rag to someone. 

Duh can be true !!!

No election on March 2.

So when ?  heard Granger said he signed a proclamation designating March 2 .

What if the cabinet says no dissolution? They are capable of colluding to remain Putin/Kim Jung UN type democracy. Then all you uninformed people who brand the PPP as communists should start to rub black pat un your shameless faces.

@ Django,

Bai, Granger is an evil human being and I am using that term human being quite liberally. In normal everyday circumstances, people get accustomed to things that expected normally. That would have seen the Coalition holding elections by March 21, 2019 and then going forward from then. Toady, two weeks from a year since the fall of this Coalition government, the people of Guyana are still not able to accept that things are expected to be a certain way. That is because Granger and the rest of his illegal group have decided to resort to their natural instincts of denying civilization the opportunity to permeate their souls. But then again, they are behaving like they are devoid of souls.

What if the cabinet says no dissolution?

They are capable of colluding to remain Putin/Kim Jung UN type democracy. Then all you uninformed people who brand the PPP as communists should start to rub black pat un your shameless faces.

Why would such decision be made ? do you think the international community sit idle ?

Perhaps Granger and his cabinet are completely unaware of the Guyana Constitution.

The specific issue of the no confidence vote in parliament in December 2018 which was upheld by the CCJ in mid-2019 is that the government must resign, remain in power specifically to effect elections within three months.

The three-month period has expired; thus the government is illegitimately in office.

The key steps from the Guyana Constitution on the process to follow when a government is defeated by a no-confidence vote in parliament ---

1. Government MUST resign.

2. President remains in office to effect the elections within three months.

3. The three-month period may be extended with the approval of two-thirds or more of all members of parliament.

Granger remains non-committal on date for dissolution of Parliament

With the passage of December 2, 2019, Guyana moved into the threemonth period, within which Parliament must be dissolved ahead of the March 2, 2020 General and Regional Elections, in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana.

However, the APNU+AFC Coalition continues to shy away from a definitive date for this to take place. During a televised interview on Sunday (December 1, 2019), the Coalition leader, David Granger, when pressed on a date for the dissolution of Parliament, said, “I don’t have to decide on a date now. I will be advised by Attorney General on a date.”

Article 61 of the Constitution of Guyana:

An election of members of the National Assembly under article 60 (2) shall be held on such day within three months after every dissolution of Parliament as the President shall appoint by proclamation.

Article 61 does not apply when a valid no-confidence vote in parliament is passed in parliament.

Article 61 applies when a government voluntarily decides to hole an election before the five-year period.

Article 106, subsections (6) & (7) apply for this specific situation.

DG , you shooting blanks !!!

Perhaps, you can show clearly which applies --

-- Article 106, subsections (6) & (7), or ..

-- Article 61 plus specific part(s) ..

when a government is defeated by a non-confidence vote in parliament.

Can you provide your analysis in your own words why you think Granger has not violate the constitution and there is no need to dissolve parliament.

Gud Gud, lets see his rebuttal. Interesting to see his explanation how the government is complying with the constitution. 

Cant wait to see Djanjo rebuttal. 

What you are saying ,government falls by CM  vote, Parliament dissolve on the same day of vote , and elections kicks in . If it's such as claimed , why the clamor for dissolution of parliament.

You certainly don't have a clue how a country runs or comprehend Guyana Constitution .No time to waste with you further.

HInt: When Elections are called and during any time within 3 months ,an emergency occurred ,what happens ?

Gud Gud, lets see his rebuttal. Interesting to see his explanation how the government is complying with the constitution. 

Eh Eh, is weh Djanjo  gone. 

Must be getting his life line Basil wille on the phone .. let’s see . 

You need to avoid being a jerk.

What you are saying ,government falls by CM  vote, Parliament dissolve on the same day of vote , and elections kicks in . If it's such as claimed , why the clamor for dissolution of parliament.

You certainly don't have a clue how a country runs. No time to waste with you further.

HInt: When Elections are called and during any time within 3 months ,an emergency occurred ,what happens ?

Specific section that applies when the government is defeated on a vote of confidence in parliament ...

Article 106, subsections (6) & (7); Guyana Constitution

(6) The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.

(7) Notwithstanding its defeat, the Government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two-thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly determine, and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election.”

Is that all you can come up with. 

You certainly don't have a clue how a country runs or comprehend Guyana Constitution .No time to waste with you further.

No emergency condition applicable.

Emergency has not occurred in any for or shape in Guyana.

What !!!!

Finally no time to waste with you.

Is that all you can come up with. 

Why the goading ??

What !!!!

Finally no time to waste with you.

Haaa haaaa haaaaaaaa

Emergency ... ???

Perhaps the emergency relates to the PNCR being unable to understand and follow the constitution on the process for the no confidence vote.