Trump hits Macron for ‘non-answer’ on ISIS fighters, in tense meeting overseas

President Trump on Tuesday tangled with French President Emmanuel Macron in a tense exchange in front of reporters in London, where Trump asked Macron if he’d like to take back “some nice ISIS fighters” and then dinged him for his “non-answer” — just hours after he challenged the French president's rebuke of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

“I have not spoken to the president about that — would you like some nice ISIS fighters?” he asked Macron, when asked about ISIS fighters from Europe captured in Syria. “I can give them to you, you can take every one you want.”

TRUMP TALKS UP 'SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP' WITH MACRON, HOURS AFTER THREAT TO SLAP TARIFFS ON FRENCH WINE

After Macron’s answer, in which he urged Trump to “be serious” and called for a broader push against ISIS overall, Trump took another swipe.

“This is why he’s a great politician, because that’s one of the greatest non-answers I’ve ever heard,” Trump joked.

That exchange came hours after Trump criticized a “very, very nasty statement” about the NATO alliance — referring to comments Macron made that recent U.S. troop actions in Syria contributed to the “brain death” of the military alliance.

“Nobody needs NATO more than France,” Trump said, alluding to France being invaded twice during both World Wars. “It’s a very dangerous statement for them to make,” Trump said. “Frankly, the one that benefits the least is the United States. We are helping Europe unite and go against a common foe – may not be a foe – I can't tell you."

“It is a very tough statement to make when you have such difficulty in France when you look at what is going on," Trump continued. "They have had a very rough year. You just can't go around making statements like that about NATO. It is very disrespectful."

Macron’s remarks came weeks after Turkey – a member of NATO – invaded northern Syria.

FRANCE'S MACRON CLAIMS NATO EXPERIENCING A 'BRAIN DEATH' IN WAKE OF US TROOPS MOVEMENTS IN SYRIA

"What we are currently experiencing is the brain death of NATO," Macron told The Economist magazine in the wake of the United States' decision to withdraw troops from northeastern Syria. He said the U.S. appears to be "turning its back on us."

"So as soon as you have a member who feels they have a right to head off on their own, granted by the United States of America, they do it," Macron said, referring to Turkey's military offensive into Syria following the troop withdrawal. "And that's what happened."

But on Tuesday the two were more conciliatory, with Macron repeatedly saying they “agree” on Trump’s quest to get countries to stump up more in defense spending. As part of the NATO alliance, countries commit to spending at least 2 percent of their own gross domestic product (GDP) in the bloc's defense. A number of countries have spent less than that, including France and Germany, while the U.S. spends significantly more.

That push appears to work, with NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg telling Congress earler this year that it had a "real impact" and that allies are now adding billions — with European allies and Canada expected to have spent an additional $100 billion by the end of next year.

"NATO has come a long way in three years and it's become very, very powerful and it's become I think a much fairer statement in terms of the United States," Trump said Tuesday.

Macron noted that the U.S. has “overinvested” for decades and that he is a strong advocate of a stronger European component in NATO. But he also warned against putting too much emphasis on the cost, rather than the overall strategy.

“When we talk about NATO, it is not just about money, we have to be respectful with our soldiers,” he said. He also called for allies to unite on a definition of terrorism — noting that in the Syria conflict, Turkey has been fighting against the Kurds, which have traditionally stood alongside the West in fighting against ISIS.

Another issue between the two countries is Macron’s recent decision to impose a French digital services tax on American companies, including Facebook, Google and Twitter.

The White House this week announced that the tax, which it claims “discriminates” against U.S. companies, will be met with tariffs of up to 100 percent on $2.4 billion worth of French products such as cheese, yogurt, sparkling wine and makeup, The Washington Post reported.

“I’m not so in love with Facebook, Google, or Twitter — well, I do well on Twitter from the other side,” Trump said. “But I don’t want France taxing American companies.”

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

He repeated that sentiment in the press conference on Tuesday: “They’re not my favorite people because they’re not exactly for me — but that’s OK, I don’t care, they’re American companies and we want to tax American companies....that's not for somebody else to tax.”

This comes as Trump is set to meet with NATO members during a two-day summit in London. Trump would not confirm if he'll meet with Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan. Turkish media in late November quoted Erdogan's adviser saying the country was considering dropping out of NATO.

Fox News' Greg Norman and the Associated Press contributed to this report.

https://www.foxnews.com/politi...-alliance-brain-dead

The French need to focus more on their ageing nuclear power plants and those Islamists who have no loyalty to the West. Trump is drilling it into their heads. America needs another Ronald Reagan and I believe Trump is the man to fill his big shoes.

You have to be senile and naive.  TRUMP IS A SKONT!!!!!!!!

You better be careful what you wish for.  Those Democrats have plans to reduce immigration more or less the same as the Republicans. They are just downplaying it in ways so as not to alienate the immigrant vote.  If they win they will continue the trade wars with allies of the US and those seen as adversaries. Even worse is higher taxation to help those at the bottom who are mostly free -loaders.  

They may be right. Every Country has to control immigration. Higher Taxes on Bill Gates, FB, Chase and many more are necessary!!

Democrats play games with this thing about taxing the wealthy.  The wealthy find all sorts of loopholes to circumvent the tax laws.

Stricter government Smarter the Corporations. 

They may be right. Every Country has to control immigration. Higher Taxes on Bill Gates, FB, Chase and many more are necessary!!

This is what Trump been saying, and all ayuh Liberal Karpatwaris cuss di man!

Ayuh nah know wuh ayuh want rass!

smarter accountants

This is what Trump seh he got, and ayuh Liberal Larpatwaris cuss the man!

If what they did was honest, then he should release his tax returns without any fuss

smarter accountants

If what they did was honest, then he should release his tax returns without any fuss

I would expect you to understand the tax code before you want anyone to release their tax returns for the world to see. Trump is not the only president that withheld his tax returns and the world didn't come to an end. 

smarter accountants

Here you go!  Pyooo shit talk!  

I agree not to release.  It’s a political gimmick!  None ayuh rass know more than the IRS but ayuh want play Tax Dactah!

His tax declarations are the domain of him, his accountants and the IRS, a Federal Agency!

Screw everyone else!  That’s the law!!   Ayuh tek ayuh big mouth and guh tell Granger about the Law!  See how qik ayuh rass run back to Trumpistan in bandages and bruk teeth!!

BTW, mi see ayuh hot gyaal Kamla gone fuh Channa!!

The French need to focus more on their ageing nuclear power plants and those Islamists who have no loyalty to the West. Trump is drilling it into their heads. America needs another Ronald Reagan and I believe Trump is the man to fill his big shoes.

Bai BRB dem GNI socialists na understand dat. Dem become de new  Democrat house slaves. Democrats use dem rass and Den dump dem like granger and dem still asking for more. 

Trump hits Macron for ‘non-answer’ on ISIS fighters, in tense meeting overseas

President Trump on Tuesday tangled with French President Emmanuel Macron in a tense exchange in front of reporters in London, where Trump asked Macron if he’d like to take back “some nice ISIS fighters” and then dinged him for his “non-answer” — just hours after he challenged the French president's rebuke of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

“I have not spoken to the president about that — would you like some nice ISIS fighters?” he asked Macron, when asked about ISIS fighters from Europe captured in Syria. “I can give them to you, you can take every one you want.”

After Macron’s answer, in which he urged Trump to “be serious” and called for a broader push against ISIS overall, Trump took another swipe.

“This is why he’s a great politician, because that’s one of the greatest non-answers I’ve ever heard,” Trump joked.

Fox News' Greg Norman and the Associated Press contributed to this report.

https://www.foxnews.com/politi...-alliance-brain-dead

Macron rebukes Trump to his face on live television at NATO summit

The conversation became pointed after Trump invited Macron to take back Islamic State captives held by U.S.-allied forces in Syria

Bloomberg News, Justin Sink and Helene Fouquet

Donald Trump and Emmanuel Macron sparred in front of reporters over Turkey’s future in NATO and other differences, hours after the U.S. president assailed his French counterpart for “very nasty” comments about the military alliance that’s celebrating its 70th anniversary in London.

The exchange was a vivid display of the sour turn in the relationship between the two men, who were once close enough that Trump made Macron the guest of his first state dinner as president.

During remarks to reporters at a meeting on the sidelines of the NATO summit, Trump and Macron began by gently outlining their differing views on the alliance. But the conversation became more pointed after Trump invited Macron to take back Islamic State captives held by U.S.-allied forces in Syria.

Source and Rest of the Article -- https://nationalpost.com/news/...on-trump-nato-rebuke

================================

Probably Emmanuel Macron, with his specially crafted words, told Donald Trump to continue playing with his toys in the kindergarten playground so that eminent world leaders can continue with serious discussions.

https://nationalpostcom.files.wordpress.com/2019/12/nato-summit_trump-macron.2-1.jpg?quality=80&strip=all&w=780U.S. President Donald Trump shakes hands with France's President Emmanuel Macron, ahead of the NATO summit in Watford, in London, Britain, December 3, 2019.Ludovic Marin/Pool via REUTERS

They all talking fat but want to abandon their problems to America.  Maybe they want America to take them to Gitmo at US taxpayers expense!

Trump mek all dem rass mess dem bukta today. He also took on de Blackface PM. It was Obama who endorsed the Blackface PM. He insulted all Blackman and Obama give him a hug and a kiss !

he is the only modern President not to release tax returns

Baseman, give Ray his ounce of medicine for me. 

See what shit these never Trumpers talk!!  Pyooo shit all the time!

WTF does “modern” mean?  Ayuh like dilly-dally and convolute the topic and claim victory at the janjhat ayuh does create!  Ayuh sounding juss like dem witnesses and Preet Barara!

No wonder Trump cuss ayuh rass!

Bai BRB dem GNI socialists na understand dat. Dem become de new  Democrat house slaves. Democrats use dem rass and Den dump dem like granger and dem still asking for more. 

Trump wants to put tariffs on wines, cheeses, and some other French imports in retaliation for high taxes on digital companies operating in France.  This is what driving Macron crazy. Trump is right. If they can tax American companies unfairly then we can retaliate to bring them in line. Free trade was never meant for one side to take advantage.

anyway...he will be just a one term Pres...anyone of those Dems will give him a beatdown and send him into retirement

Ayuh guh see.  If ayuh cannot mek Grangah one-term, no chance wid Trump!

anyway...he will be just a one term Pres...anyone of those Dems will give him a beatdown and send him into retirement

Grangah there till he die

Dat is why he already wasted 12 BILLION, YES BILLIONS on Farm subsidy and now the Farmers asking for more! DUMB FOOL!!!

and coal going down in the dumps...he was big on coal

Grangah there till he die

YUh putting yuh mouth on the Gadaha???