Tola posted:
Amral posted:

Heheheheee....and this all started with a book.

Cain, imagine if i post a picture of my uncle old bukta

Or worse still, if someone decide to eat dem shorts. 

Have you ever tried edible underwear?   Comes in many flavours!😁

Me know about edible arrangements, because I send it anonymously to relatives. But which  edible underwear flavour is the best ?  

Burnham was actually ahead of his time in many ways. For the ignorant and uninformed, RICE FLOUR is actually preferred today primarily because it is gluten free. It is also considered healthier and widely used in Asia and India.

Instead of screaming decades later how Burnham committed "genocide" because alyuh couldn't get flour, read what REAL Indians, you know, the ones in India that alyuh hussling to align yourselves with, have to say about rice flour. Y'all should listen to them. Especially y'all big belly drunkies in Richmond Hill who are prone to liver disease.

https://timesofindia.indiatime...tostory/71049095.cms

Gluten free is a marketing phrase these days to convince the unwary and silly that rice flour is better than wheaten flour. Gluten free is of benefit only to those afflicted with the autoimmune Celiac disease. Comparatively, speaking, rice flour, ( refined and unrefined) match up easily with wheaten flour nutrition wise. Wheat flour, because of gluten, is a better platform for baking. Rice flour has its preferred usage in many Asian cuisine. Your article referenced this well.

Burnham was a loud mouthed ignoramus whose only memory should be as a template for what depravity the urge to power can befall those seduced by it. He left nothing worthy behind and any pretenses to his ingenuity and astuteness is akin to a trumpeter claiming the orange orangutan is good for this world. Both would be better served as bad memories of what accrues to the obscene baser instincts of our specie.

Hey hey!!  Hold your horses!  Me like Burnham.  He gi me good headukashun!  Mi even drop out turd farm from a shittabatty country Skool and tun CPA in Amerika!  Burnham mek suh!!

Suh shut yuh rant!!

Bai, yuh CPA and CMA was due to yuh American education, not Guyanese. Give respect to your American schools for that. 

Burnham was more interested in having school children assemble at the National Park to glorify him. He was the pure definition of a despot.

Ksaz, u sure was National park? I remember in school we had time of to go marching exercise at National park. He gave a speech one time at the Cultural center. I attended.

National Park was more frequently used by Burnham for self glorification.

Burnham gave us free education and free books. What did Jagan give us ?

He also gave us rice flour and white mouth. 

Sean, wah you nah shet you rass close? Don't let met reckon down pun you now.

Like you farget Jagan gee abie free high skool. Widout dah free high skool plenty abie rass would dead from chirosis. So, nah guh taaak rasss about Dr. Jagan.

Sean does not know Dr. Jagan, he a lil boy.

Skelly, as you know Dr. Jagan  was the first to inform farming families to educate their children and he built schools when he was in the government.

Even last night I was scanning pictures I took of his 60s election campaigns, including  his brother Oudit at their house at PM, with Cheddi's picture on the house.

Dem young kids on GNI, seem to know little about the struggles and sacrifices of the PPP under Dr. Jagan. Jail time and threats on their life, with their siblings  staying at friends near our house.    

Tola posted:

Skelly, as you know Dr. Jagan  was the first to inform farming families to educate their children and he built schools when he was in the government.

Even last night I was scanning pictures I took of his 60s election campaigns, including  his brother Oudit at their house at PM, with Cheddi's picture on the house.

Dem young kids on GNI, seem to know little about the struggles and sacrifices of the PPP under Dr. Jagan. Jail time and threats on their life, with their siblings  staying at friends near our house.    

Tola if you have those photos then post them up here.  The PPP would have been a much better organization without the Jagans.  This is spoken from an East Indian perspective.

Mr.T posted:
Amral posted:

Image1I found one my mother old exercise book

You had an exercise book?? I man had to make do with  black slate and lead pen, which I then had to clean with spitt when I wanted to write on it again. You guys were lucky.

Banna, this was before PNC time when the country was the envy of the Caribbean. Your slate and spit wipe was because Burnham had started destroying the country. The 50 something was Jagan time.

Mr.T posted:
Amral posted:

Image1I found one my mother old exercise book

You had an exercise book?? I man had to make do with  black slate and lead pen, which I then had to clean with spitt when I wanted to write on it again. You guys were lucky.

Mr. T, only  a warped mind would bring politics into the story of using a slate and pencil in school. It was issued by the missionaries in the outlying areas and had nothing to do with Burnham or Jagan.   

The slates were  used in the first classes at school, while higher grades used the British exercise books, before  Guyana independence.  

Burnham was actually ahead of his time in many ways. For the ignorant and uninformed, RICE FLOUR is actually preferred today primarily because it is gluten free. It is also considered healthier and widely used in Asia and India.

Instead of screaming decades later how Burnham committed "genocide" because alyuh couldn't get flour, read what REAL Indians, you know, the ones in India that alyuh hussling to align yourselves with, have to say about rice flour. Y'all should listen to them. Especially y'all big belly drunkies in Richmond Hill who are prone to liver disease.

Gluten free is a marketing phrase these days to convince the unwary and silly that rice flour is better than wheaten flour. Gluten free is of benefit only to those afflicted with the autoimmune Celiac disease. Comparatively, speaking, rice flour, ( refined and unrefined) match up easily with wheaten flour nutrition wise. Wheat flour, because of gluten, is a better platform for baking. Rice flour has its preferred usage in many Asian cuisine. Your article referenced this well.

Burnham was a loud mouthed ignoramus whose only memory should be as a template for what depravity the urge to power can befall those seduced by it. He left nothing worthy behind and any pretenses to his ingenuity and astuteness is akin to a trumpeter claiming the orange orangutan is good for this world. Both would be better served as bad memories of what accrues to the obscene baser instincts of our specie.

The gist of my post is not about the benefits of rice flour that you spend a lot of time wailing about. Even the article I cited said it's a matter of preference. Here is the main point

Gwana man posted:

Instead of screaming decades later how Burnham committed "genocide" because alyuh couldn't get flour, read what REAL Indians, you know, the ones in India that alyuh hussling to align yourselves with, have to say about rice flour.

Banna, you cleverly side stepped the bolded red above to impress us with your wide ranging flour skills. Then you proceed to mumble about "orange orangutan" and engage in a psychoanalysis of Burnham.

Tell us how Indians from India who eat the same roti and baked items widely use rice flour while the ones in Guyana act as though Burnham was starving them to death by the mere mention of rice flour! Not interested in all yuh lil red herrings and strawmen.

It was because he bankrupted the country and couldn't afford the $50k per week price tag on imported wheat flour.

Sheer ignorance and revisionist history from an immoral, bigoted, jackass. The Feed, Clothe, House (FCA) was in the early 70's, long before any bankruptcy. Part of the FCA was the promotion of local produce and products for:

a. the growth of local businesses and industry
b. The conservation of foreign currency, vital to the nation's interest. History has shown that the need to import everything was instrumental in the nation's eventual bankruptcy later on.

Talking shit about Burnham is passe. No one is claiming he was virtuous. This need to get off on the failings of Burnham, even to the extent of revising history speaks to the sparse intelligence of those engaging in it.

The gist of my post is not about the benefits of rice flour that you spend a lot of time wailing about. Even the article I cited said it's a matter of preference. Here is the main point

Gwana man posted:

Instead of screaming decades later how Burnham committed "genocide" because alyuh couldn't get flour, read what REAL Indians, you know, the ones in India that alyuh hussling to align yourselves with, have to say about rice flour.

Banna, you cleverly side stepped the bolded red above to impress us with your wide ranging flour skills. Then you proceed to mumble about "orange orangutan" and engage in a psychoanalysis of Burnham.

Tell us how Indians from India who eat the same roti and baked items widely use rice flour while the ones in Guyana act as though Burnham was starving them to death by the mere mention of rice flour! Not interested in all yuh lil red herrings and strawmen.

First, rice flour is not preferred by anyone except those with celiac disease. I have never heard of a pizza with rice flour crust...maybe in some avante garge circle outside of my domain. The point is that Burnham as intending through his good sense to offer us rice flour instead of wheat is bunk.

He had no foreign exchange having squandered it all beginning with his first five year plan. He then took the convenient route that he was encouraging local production by banning certain things. It would be a reasonable strategy if only we grew wheat. There are stories about him having his astute minds develop a rice flour substitute for wheaten flour but lacking gluten there was no way to make puffy dough.

I do not pretend to be smart. I am smart. I did not intend to cleverly do anything. I spoke to the truth of it. I also understand why indians felt slighted. while he was eating the choicest pastries of the wheaten kind he denied them a staple diet given rotie was a morning and evening thing. Worse, the Berbice region never felt a shortage since the merchants could bring in whatever they want. His security forces avidly sought to curtail that access. He could have placated them, if he was as smart as you insist, by letting them have their flour and dhal. It cost him nothing but it cost them a lot. 

I am sure indians from India have their preferences. But if they want to eat rice flour chapati ( and few does as far as I know and having asked my Indian daughters, they never had rice flour rotie of chapati!) Maybe, baseman can enlighten us as to this habit of Indians using rice flour routinely. But then again, that is their choice. I have no necessity or urgency to answer why ( if they do) the were satisfied with rice rotie and Guyanese Indians were not. 

You seem to think one readily manufacture grievance to malign Burnham. Sorry, his excesses were many and his reputation in and among many as a brute and a thug and a very nasty critter was well earned. I also care little to respond to those who misuse the word genocide. I never used the word carelessly. I do affirm he was a worthless, piece of crap, a waste person as far as I am concerned and nothing in the historical record I know of rehabilitates him from such a shit smear status.  

Indians from south India have rice flour roti.  Amazon.com sells 38 different brands of rice flour.  The problem was South Indian rice flour roti does not fall apart when you pick it up.  Guyana rice flour roti would fall apart easily when you pick it up from the plate.  More research  into rice flour should have been done in Guyana before implementing rice flour.  

....More research  into rice flour should have been done in Guyana before implementing rice flour.  

This was the crux of the failures!

Remember, wheaten flour needs baking soda or it becomes rubbery when cooked!  They should have mandated blending and reduce imports of wheaten flour!

I remember my dad critical on this point.  Though he supported the local food drive, it was not well planned out.  Local substitution was not an overnight thing.  It took time to pilot, then ramp up. The process should have been phased and use duties to drive people to local alternatives as they became available!

I believe the PPP should have used this approach during their tenure and more food would have come out of Guyana.  Now Guyana imports almost everything and local small farmers live in abject poverty.  

Indians from south India have rice flour roti.  Amazon.com sells 38 different brands of rice flour.  The problem was South Indian rice flour roti does not fall apart when you pick it up.  Guyana rice flour roti would fall apart easily when you pick it up from the plate.  More research  into rice flour should have been done in Guyana before implementing rice flour.  

Fair point! And yes, while the intention may have been good, the execution of the plan was flawed, which continues in everything there today.Guyanese arrogance!

I can understand these objections, not the nonsense that "black man killing ahwe by tekking away ahwe flour". Foolishness. As though black people didn't bake too.

First, rice flour is not preferred by anyone except those with celiac disease. I have never heard of a pizza with rice flour crust...maybe in some avante garge circle outside of my domain. The point is that Burnham as intending through his good sense to offer us rice flour instead of wheat is bunk.

He had no foreign exchange having squandered it all beginning with his first five year plan. He then took the convenient route that he was encouraging local production by banning certain things. It would be a reasonable strategy if only we grew wheat. There are stories about him having his astute minds develop a rice flour substitute for wheaten flour but lacking gluten there was no way to make puffy dough.

I do not pretend to be smart. I am smart. I did not intend to cleverly do anything. I spoke to the truth of it. I also understand why indians felt slighted. while he was eating the choicest pastries of the wheaten kind he denied them a staple diet given rotie was a morning and evening thing. Worse, the Berbice region never felt a shortage since the merchants could bring in whatever they want. His security forces avidly sought to curtail that access. He could have placated them, if he was as smart as you insist, by letting them have their flour and dhal. It cost him nothing but it cost them a lot. 

I am sure indians from India have their preferences. But if they want to eat rice flour chapati ( and few does as far as I know and having asked my Indian daughters, they never had rice flour rotie of chapati!) Maybe, baseman can enlighten us as to this habit of Indians using rice flour routinely. But then again, that is their choice. I have no necessity or urgency to answer why ( if they do) the were satisfied with rice rotie and Guyanese Indians were not. 

You seem to think one readily manufacture grievance to malign Burnham. Sorry, his excesses were many and his reputation in and among many as a brute and a thug and a very nasty critter was well earned. I also care little to respond to those who misuse the word genocide. I never used the word carelessly. I do affirm he was a worthless, piece of crap, a waste person as far as I am concerned and nothing in the historical record I know of rehabilitates him from such a shit smear status.  

A 418 word response and this is the only relevant part:

I have no necessity or urgency to answer why ( if they do) the were satisfied with rice rotie and Guyanese Indians were not......I also care little to respond to those who misuse the word genocide.

Cool. So you have no response to the main gist of my post. Why did you even bother to respond then?

Then there is this gem from you:

You seem to think one readily manufacture grievance to malign Burnham. Sorry, his excesses were many and his reputation in and among many as a brute and a thug and a very nasty critter was well earned.

Love your clandestine approachh to introducing your strawman arguments with "seem to think". You don't speak for me. The above is an insult to the 3 black men posting here, each of whom have written openly against Burnham and yes, even against Granger at times. Where have I, or any of us 3, sought to defend Burnham's "reputation????

My family were WPA people. While you and the Indian crowd here were behind Cheddi giving "critical support" to Burnham, we paid for being blacks who were against Burnham. Suh banna, give it a rest with your "on the bandwagon" anti Burnham wailing. Some of us were actually in the fight!

Amral posted:

yep at Leonora govt school we did under the leadership of Ben Moses. We learnt up to 25 times tables out of memory

We had to do up to 16 times only. You had to be on your feet when the teacher calls on you or else...

You had to learn those tables like a calypso song!

If learning those tables grew hair on your chest, we would have looked like a caveman. Damn, that developed some discipline in you. I was a good speller and arithmetic kid.

Amral posted:

yep at Leonora govt school we did under the leadership of Ben Moses. We learnt up to 25 times tables out of memory

We had to do up to 16 times only. You had to be on your feet when the teacher calls on you or else...

If learning those tables grew hair on your chest, we would have looked like a caveman. Damn, that developed some discipline in you. I was a good speller and arithmetic kid.

Some of us took pride in knowing these multiple tables and other things at school. Jus imagine, flawlessly repeating 1x1 to 15x15 tables, while all dem girls in the class watching and asking you to teach them during recess.  

Years after college in Canada, I had an issue with my car battery and the mechanic wanted to replace my good alternator.  When I told him about batteries that operated radio equipment, he said what do you know. I repeated from memory a long formula for the chemical action for a wet cell battery, that has now faded from my memory, with the hazards of life.

I first wrote a radio officer's  exam in 1969 with some subjects at 100% pass mark. All I wanted at the time was to pass, so I can work on ships. But it was not until recently, when I converted the license to an advance amateur certificate, that I was told I passed the subjects with honours. I was good at geography and other hands-on things.      

Tola posted:
Amral posted:

Some of us took pride in knowing these multiple tables and other things at school. Jus imagine, flawlessly repeating 1x1 to 15x15 tables, while all dem girls in the class watching and asking you to teach them during recess.  

Years after college in Canada, I had an issue with my car battery and the mechanic wanted to replace my good alternator.  When I told him about batteries that operated radio equipment, he said what do you know. I repeated from memory a long formula for the chemical action for a wet cell battery, that has now faded from my memory, with the hazards of life.

I first wrote a radio officer's  exam in 1969 with some subjects at 100% pass mark. All I wanted at the time was to pass, so I can work on ships. But it was not until recently, when I converted the license to an advance amateur certificate, that I was told I passed the subjects with honours. I was good at geography and other hands-on things.      

Hey Tola, how much is 15x15!   No cheating, no calculator!

I read in a book that Burnham US foreign currency squeeze was so bad that he had to send physical Guyana gold to pay government employees at overseas embassies. He eventually took the US foreign currency of Guyanese insurance companies to pay for foreign imports (probably from the Soviet block) that could not be payed in Guyana gold.

Tola posted:
Amral posted:

Genuine Guyanese school dunce Prashad always had problems with the tables.  The only ones he did not have problems with were 1, 2, 3 and 10. Nevertheless, it is a very good way of giving school children a basic knowledge of math.

A 418 word response and this is the only relevant part:

I have no necessity or urgency to answer why ( if they do) the were satisfied with rice rotie and Guyanese Indians were not......I also care little to respond to those who misuse the word genocide.

Cool. So you have no response to the main gist of my post. Why did you even bother to respond then?

Then there is this gem from you:

You seem to think one readily manufacture grievance to malign Burnham. Sorry, his excesses were many and his reputation in and among many as a brute and a thug and a very nasty critter was well earned.

Love your clandestine approachh to introducing your strawman arguments with "seem to think". You don't speak for me. The above is an insult to the 3 black men posting here, each of whom have written openly against Burnham and yes, even against Granger at times. Where have I, or any of us 3, sought to defend Burnham's "reputation????

My family were WPA people. While you and the Indian crowd here were behind Cheddi giving "critical support" to Burnham, we paid for being blacks who were against Burnham. Suh banna, give it a rest with your "on the bandwagon" anti Burnham wailing. Some of us were actually in the fight!

The gist of  your post was burnham did something demonstrating genius...naught!

I suggest you examine the meaning of clandestine. No one has to use subterfuge to suggest Burnham was a bloody dunce. Smart people do not usurp the dignity of others for their personal self actualization. That bitch wanted power and all his vile practices ware a consequence of that will to achieve his desires. 

I am not responsible for who my family supported. I never supported any party until I supported Granger...and woe is me eternally for that mistake. The man was a complete definition of inanity. I should have known better. Clarissa Rhiel give us sufficient forewarning of his character. 

BTW I got beat  Burhham's regime  under the direction of Hammie and his  Rabbi Washington thugs using GDF vehicles at a WPA meeting. I was also at Freedom House when Rodney spoke there the first time. Granted I had no desire to be there or any inclination  of what was happening except. I went with Charles Cassatto. My mom lived near by knew him. She told me to meet him meet him at his house on lime street and he will take me to some thing memorable. It is my conversation piece of the era. 

I do not apologize for listening or being misled by politicos. I learn from the mistake. It does not reveal a lacking in me but a failure of those who earned their repetition being failures to our people. As I said my investment in these fellows were minimal. I do not rely on them for my understanding. I consider myself in many ways smarter, more moral and more empathetic to human needs than these bitches. I am on no one's band wagon. 

The gist of  your post was burnham did something demonstrating genius...naught!

Nah, you don't get to define MY arguments! Saying someone was ahead of their time in some respects can hardly be considered "demonstrating genius". He wasn't a bloody dunce either, else the clowns you hung around with would have had him out on his arse in short order.

Unfortunately his mind was outdone by his megalomania, the need to hang on to power at all costs. Some black Guyanese will argue he had reasons, but that is another topic entirely that I will not engage in.

Burnham had some good intentions - FCH to preserve foreign currency, Hydropower, etc. The flaw in each was not the intent, it was the execution, the existing corruption (from colonial days), the bigotry that gave rise to preference of some and the rejection of others.

His faults are there for all to see, decades later you spend hundreds of words on it, while NO ONE here is suggesting otherwise.

You are a perfect example of ONE of the things wrong with Guyana. The inability to analyze, understand and accept the good of a person/party and use it. Jagan, a flawed leader, had some good things he did. Learn from everyone, use the good, learn from the bad and ensure no repeat.

You do none of the above. You go for the low hanging fruit of demonizing everyone and everything, barking loudly about the irrelevant, while you have nothing constructive to contribute on your own. Easy to do, but sooooo immature and  lacking, no matter how well you dress it up.