paid $36M for one drone, could have bought five for same price

The Guyana Government recently unveiled five drones it had recently purchased at $36M each.
But it turns out that these drones were acquired from a start-up tech company that is located in a business incubator.
Investigations by this publication have found that the company—Skyfront Drones—is in fact a start-up drone company located in a business incubator.
Compounding the situation is that government paid as much as five times more than the cost of a similar drone for similar specifications.
In fact, the one purchased by the Guyana Government is one that the company only managed to finish designing and testing in August last.
Earlier this year, the company while seeking to employ a ‘Drone Flight Test/ Electromechanical Technician’ described itself as a growing, early-stage startup.

GDF, Government and company officials looking at the $36M drone during the recent demonstration

The responsibilities of the person being sought in February this year, was described as “a detail-oriented individual with manufacturing/assembly experience to help build and fly long range hybrid powered UAVs capable of 5+ hour flights.”
The company said “in this role, you get to test the latest in drone technology and travel to remote locations to aid customers…This is an opportunity to get in on the ground floor of a company that is changing the face of the commercial/military drone industry.”
Investigations by this publication found that the actual business location for Skyfront, is a small 1,100 square feet, rented unit, inside of a warehouse.
The unit, located at 4499 Edison Drive, Melno, North Oaks, California, USA is in fact a shared space for a number of other tech start-up companies.
The facility is called Edison Technology Park, named after the street on which it is located.
Other businesses sharing the space, includes a flower company, Acuity Technologies and Mountain View Pharmaceuticals—other start-up companies.
Skyfront was founded in 2014 by its Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Troy Mestler, who accompanied two other partners to Guyana recently for a demonstration for the GDF.
Investigations by this publication found that the $36M price tag for one of the drones could have purchased up to five similar ones from reputable companies, or more improved types used by the military for long range high altitude surveillance.
The drone purchased by Guyana uses a hybrid gas engine that has been tested for just over four hours but advertised to have a flying time beyond five hours. It flies up to 100 metres in height.
Among its features, is the ability to fly in extremely cold conditions ‘outside of the line of sight.’ It was also touted to be able to withstand temperatures of up to 40 degrees Celsius.
Guyana’s average temperature is 31 degrees Celsius.
A demonstration of the capabilities of the drones were recently conducted before a final decision for the purchase was made.
Chief-of-Staff of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF), Brigadier Patrick West, at the time lauded the acquisition of the drones, saying it will significantly enable the Force to fulfill its functions and mandate, particularly as it works towards effective transformation for total national defence.
“Based on that programme, we have the acquisition of technology to enhance communication and to ensure that we can improve security as well. We are happy that the Defence Board did approve of this acquisition and that the demonstration was successful. It will be used not only to patrol our porous borders, but we will also be able to monitor close shore and we would be able to do some amount of anti-piracy patrols as well.
“It will also support the whole Smart City Solutions as well, because wherever there are blind spots in the system, the drones will be able to pick up there,” he said.
Additionally, Commander of Signal Corps of the GDF, Lieutenant Colonel Roger Nurse, said the purchase also caters for training, capacity building and knowledge transfer.
“As part of the acquisition, training is part of the package. As a policy in the GDF, as part of the acquisition of specialised equipment, we generally want to have three crews trained in its operation. There is no exception in this case. So we are looking to have three crews or about 12 persons to operate the equipment as well as provide transfer of knowledge and sister agencies as well,” he said.
Commander Nurse further noted that the drones are long endurance and can last for as long as five hours, while the cameras attached to the drones can be used in daytime and nighttime situations as well as search and rescue operations.
“One of the major considerations we have been looking at is its endurance and the time it can fly for. This is a world leading drone and can fly for about 5 hours without payload. With payload, it can fly between 2 to 4 hours. In addition to that, it has the ability to manoeuvre small spaces, ability to hover, track targets, and so these were some of the considerations we looked at. Then there is also the technology on the drones like collision avoidance.
Colonel Godfrey Bess, Quarter Master General of the Force, who was integrally involved in the procurement of the drones, said Guyanese can be assured that the drones are top quality, since extensive research was conducted before the proposal was put forward.
“Having done our research, we are confident that it is value for money,” he noted.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...om-start-up-company/

The Guyana Government recently unveiled five drones it had recently purchased at $36M each.

That's approx US$180,000 at an exchange rate GUY$200.

Saw the article a few day ago , first that stands out is the price , Guyanese don't seem to understand pricing and the value for goods. They amount of money paid for one drone, could have purchase a small plane.

Clearly  middleman made some money in that deal. There are some Guyanese leeches in the USA who are fattening themselves from Guyanese tax payers money. I can get some info , will dig in.

Clearly someone middleman made some money in that deal. There are some leeches in the USA who are fattening themselves from tax payers money in Guyana.  I can get some info , will dig in.

Also some Politician also probably made some dough too. 

Amral
Amral posted:

Clearly someone middleman made some money in that deal. There are some leeches in the USA who are fattening themselves from tax payers money in Guyana.  I can get some info , will dig in.

There is no doubt.

Amral posted:

There is no doubt.

NO CORRUPTION!!!! PURE TRANSPARENCY.

I don’t believe all the crap you guys talking!

Django, you talking sheer stupidness. A drone is way more versatile and could get closer without being noticed than a plane!  It’s a stupid comparison!

I don’t know if the pricing is right but you cannot compare to hobby drones. Furthermore, I’m sure this has satellite feed communication capability and command and control not available in regular hobby version!

You people are talking heads just like those Monday morning quarterbacking the Oil contracts or UWI PhD program!

Ayuh nuh got nottin better to do?  Guh shovel some snow!

Amral posted:

Why does the army need drones? 

To watch guys like Django if they're meeting with PPP people in bars or restaurants. 

Don't you know the Guyanese politicians does knock glasses together.

Only the people are at each other throats, trying to prove which political party is better to serve the people.

That is quite steep for a lil drone but we know how business operates. Our schools receive funds to do repairs, rebuild etc, which is done mostly during school break. I was made aware of the cost to put in à two piece washroom (toilet and sink) in a nearby school ..it was a whopping $80k. That job is worth 10k at the most. I once ordered a box of twenty four bulbs (regular A base 60watt) and when the bill came it was for $1200.00. I called to let them know we will not honour that and the box is being returned, their cost. The banna asked me what do I think is a fair price to which I told him they cost about $5.00 per bulb..total 120.00,.we were given it for that price.

When the money is coming from "our" pockets we watch real close but when it's from elsewhere, such as taxes, who gives a hoot for the price...let's get it.

I don’t believe all the crap you guys talking!

Django, you talking sheer stupidness. A drone is way more versatile and could get closer without being noticed than a plane!  It’s a stupid comparison!

I don’t know if the pricing is right but you cannot compare to hobby drones.

Furthermore, I’m sure this has satellite feed communication capability and command and control not available in regular hobby version!

You people are talking heads just like those Monday morning quarterbacking the Oil contracts or UWI PhD program!

Ayuh nuh got nottin better to do?  Guh shovel some snow!

One doesn't have to be a rocket scientist , to figure drones can perform covert operations. Avoid the guess work , of satellite communication. The pricing seems exorbitant .

That is quite steep for a lil drone but we know how business operates. Our schools receive funds to do repairs, rebuild etc, which is done mostly during school break. I was made aware of the cost to put in à two piece washroom (toilet and sink) in a nearby school ..it was a whopping $80k. That job is worth 10k at the most. I once ordered a box of twenty four bulbs (regular A base 60watt) and when the bill came it was for $1200.00. I called to let them know we will not honour that and the box is being returned, their cost. The banna asked me what do I think is a fair price to which I told him they cost about $5.00 per bulb..total 120.00,.we were given it for that price.

When the money is coming from "our" pockets we watch real close but when it's from elsewhere, such as taxes, who gives a hoot for the price...let's get it.

You are another talking empty head! Guh tek a pull!!

Looks like pricing in Canada  is like Guyana. In my neck of the woods , there are laws that guide for , fair pricing for labor , services and mark up on goods used.

Talk about stupid, illiterate, slavish talk. Base, is des Banna fuh real

Saw the article a few day ago , first that stands out is the price , Guyanese don't seem to understand pricing and the value for goods. They amount of money paid for one drone, could have purchase a small plane.

Clearly  middleman made some money in that deal. There are some Guyanese leeches in the USA who are fattening themselves from Guyanese tax payers money. I can get some info , will dig in.

Why are you afraid to call the Coalition Government leeches, they signed the documents, or you want to tell us is PPP . 

That’s a lot of dollars for drones.      I don ‘t see the immediate need for drones compared to the need for electricity everyday.  Spend the money on the basic need, give the people electricity everyday.

Why are you afraid to call the Coalition Government leeches, they signed the documents, or you want to tell us is PPP .

You always seem to find faults with my statements.

alena06 posted:

That’s a lot of dollars for drones.      I don ‘t see the immediate need for drones compared to the need for electricity everyday.  Spend the money on the basic need, give the people electricity everyday.

The drones are to be used for surveillance of Guyana porous borders,where lots of illegal activities are happening.

Saw they working pun the Electricity.

GPL taps CARILEC’s help to ease generation woes

-results expected to be seen soon, says executive director of regional body

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...ase-generation-woes/

Tell me exactly what you found stupid, illiterate, slavish talk in my post you fkin drunk ignorant moron. Baseman replied with sheer shit and you follow, neither probably read my post. Ignorant skvnts, that's the two of you.

alena06 posted:

them need drone fuh see where got blackout

alena06 posted:

them need drone fuh see where got blackout

Ray, remember how they used to need you to give flour and Ile to card members only

Tell me exactly what you found stupid, illiterate, slavish talk in my post you fkin drunk ignorant moron. Baseman replied with sheer shit and you follow, neither probably read my post. Ignorant skvnts, that's the two of you.

Cain, is dat u bai?

A report is surfacing that PNC bought this drone in anticipation that they will use it to find oil. Dem rass got conned big time. I heard dat Phagwali did the Research before approving the technical specs of this overpriced drone. 

Ramjattan also seh dat he will use the drone to prove dat Charandas took a bribe. 

School Boards are the worse for spending tax payers money.  They remind me of the coalition and free trips to the Caribbean court.

DUMB FOOLS, those thing will be in the Dumpster next year!!

At leads they are not buying them from a barber shop as the PPP when the planned to secure the barbers therein for the purchases of a few thousands of laptops computers in their highly suspect laptop for every child policy. The reality is our governments are practiced in the art of the graft. Every procurement act is a graft opportunity. Even welding rods ( at the sugar estates) were being unbundled and procured at exorbitant costs. They fired the guy who complained about the scheme!

These fellows built the machines. They obviously have talent to do what ordinary RC folks could do for years in this arena. Building drones is easy. The tech is adding functionality, mapping, remote viewing, distance control flying etc to them. These fellows seem to have been able to do all of that. The design however, is not scalable.  They deserve the 180K more than our PPP barbers in their time. 

Nehru, they are obviously not dumb if the are selling high priced toys to ur government. 

DUMB FOOLS = PNC Bhai

Stormy, I will forever protest arguments that PPP did this and that cause I spoke out vigorously against that deal and the Outhouse maker that was given 15 Million US!!

A report is surfacing that PNC bought this drone in anticipation that they will use it to find oil. Dem rass got conned big time. I heard dat Phagwali did the Research before approving the technical specs of this overpriced drone. 

Ramjattan also seh dat he will use the drone to prove dat Charandas took a bribe. 

Duh only oil deh guh find with duh is CBD Oil!

Cain, is dat u bai?

Yes, dear Sir...ohhhhh Yes...tis I!

You see, this morning as I sat there on the throne while checking GNI, I saw those dummies being their usual selves..asinine. I gave them both a swift tongue lashing and moved onto greater things.

Oh yeah, as I sat there on the throne, I imagined those fellas in general, just a tad below my butt.

GDF needs drones but $180M could have bought planes instead—Gerry Gouveia

December 5 2019

The Guyana Defence Force could have purchased several airplanes for the amount of money it used to purchase five drones, according to local aviator, Captain Gerry Gouveia.

The GDF needs drones but $180M could have bought several of these planes instead.

The local expert in an invited comment yesterday weighed in on the ‘drone debacle’ that has engulfed the GDF in recent days. He said that a twin-engine islander plane could have been purchased.Investigations by this publication have found that the airplane could be had for less than US$100,000. Speaking directly to the use of drones by the GDF and its decision to make the purchase, Captain Gouveia—himself a former high ranking officer—told Kaieteur News, “There are different levels and types of drone technology used for different purposes and missions.”
He said drones used as an eye in the sky above troops in operation allow the commanders to enjoy a commanding aerial view of his surroundings and even to allow him the advantage of seeing forward of his troop movement.

Local Aviation expert Captain Gerry Gouveia

The cost of drones like these could run to between US$3,000 and US$5,000.
He did note that there are unmanned drones with long range and long endurance capabilities to patrol the border regions of Guyana. These are controlled by satellites while transmitting high definition photos and video back to a command center hundreds of miles away. These types of drones, Gouveia noted, could run into the hundreds of thousands of dollars. He did note that the helicopters referred to by this publication in a comparison of the prices paid were not apt for military use but that the drones purchased could have certainly be had at a cheaper cost.
Investigations by Kaieteur News have revealed that the army could have purchased, alternatively, several helicopters for the price it paid for five drones.
One such helicopter, a Robinson R44 helicopter currently in use by at least one local operator can be purchased for a base list price of US$367,000. Guyana could have purchased three of these helicopters for the price it paid for the drones. Kaieteur News understands there are currently three pilots in Guyana qualified to fly such helicopters for the Army, and are without work.