Mr. Granger being a professionally trained historian, obviously understands the history of his people and the legacy of slavery. He speaks, when necessary, for the upliftment of Africans. He has written a number of books on the army, and Guyana's history.

Sitting at the head of the table above are prominent members of the African Guyanese community. One of them is Vincent Alexander (of GECOM fame). 

Mr Granger lets his house be used (as per Freddie Kissoon) for a number of museums dedicated to his mentor, Forbes Samson Burnham. He should be credited for his understanding of his people's history.

Mr. Alexander has dedicated much of his time to the preservation of Burnham's legacy...and he is wholly determined to ignore the transgressions (including rewriting history) of the person he believes is the father of Guyana's independence (again, see Kissoon's articles on this). 

So, who in Guyana speaks for the Portuguese, Amerindians, Indos, etc?

From what I have heard, Indos dont like to talk about the history of their people because they are afraid of being called "racist".

Perhaps some of you can help me here: I have researched much of the writings of Cheddi Jagan but I cannot find in any of his writings where he express pride in being an Indo (except for the little section in his book), much less understand his people's history. I think I know more about Indo history that Jagan. 

Worse yet, Neither have I seen anything written by Jagdeo or Ramotar....Ramotar is the worst of them all...a real dunce...to call a spade a spade. 

So I raise this question again: Does the PPP leaders really care about the plight of the Indos who loyally support them OR are they using them as a vote bank? 

Do any of you Indos here feel proud to have a young punk, with limited or fake education, whose only claim to fame was his association with the PYO and being a housing minister (with 19 corruption charges against him), and a leader who has not been tried and tested for the complex world after 2020? 

Is this the best the largest political party in Guyana can offer Guyanese?

AND, are you Indos so stupid to expect that Africans will allow a punk like Irfaan (and Jagdeo) to hold a hammer over their lives knowing fully what is at stake? Worse, Jagdeo will make it worse by picking an "Uncle Thomas" as Irfaan's running mate.

Are you people so NAIVE as to believe that the PNC, now in power, will take a chance and make the terrible mistake of "losing" power to a party they see as responsible for their plight, for killing Africans, for aligning with a drug lord, for making stupid statements about Africans (Jagan's bottom of the barrel and Jagdeo's Babu John come to mind)?

You Indo are in for a very very rude awakening....

Firstly, maybe  Jagan (as well as other PPP leaders) didn’t care to make race or religion any consideration for why they were in politics. Secondly, no matter who in the PPP is the presidential candidate, they will be scrutinized or criticized as you did above. I don’t remember anyone asking if any of the PNC presidential candidates were the best the PNC had to offer. It is widely believed that Granger has blood on his hands from the 1973 elections. Where is the blood on Ali’s hands? Fake certificates don’t come anywhere close to murder. The 19 charges against Ali are no more than charges until he is actually convicted of them. It seems like everyone expects the PPP presidential candidate to be sinless like Jesus but is willing to accept even an alleged murderer as the PNC candidate.

It is not a question of whether the PPP wants to make race an issue or not, it is an issue that currently divides the country. This does not make PPP, the more superior party. The PPP, if it wins the election still has to content with the fact that a large part of the opposition will not see that party as legitimate and will do everything in its power to hand over power, or allow the PPP to govern effectively.                     

It is precisely because of the race issue that it does not matter who the PPP (or the PNC) presidential candidate is. The PPP or PNC can pick any candidate and their supporters will blindly vote for them. Note how Africans are loyal to Granger despite his transgressions and how Indians are falling over themselves for Jagdeo.  To that extent, Irfaan’s fake certificates does not matter.

However, who wants to have this as a stain on their presidency (assuming the PPP wins). We have now set a very low bar for a country that is going to be on the spotlight. And everything I have heard and read so far, indicates that this reality is a creation of the PPP’s own doing. Is that the kind of leader young Guyanese should emulate or strive to be?

People should not be blinded by the fact that a lower bar has already been established by the PNC...assuming that that is what you are implying.... 

It is not a question of whether the PPP wants to make race an issue or not, it is an issue that currently divides the country. This does not make PPP, the more superior party. The PPP, if it wins the election still has to content with the fact that a large part of the opposition will not see that party as legitimate and will do everything in its power to hand over power, or allow the PPP to govern effectively.                     

It is precisely because of the race issue that it does not matter who the PPP (or the PNC) presidential candidate is. The PPP or PNC can pick any candidate and their supporters will blindly vote for them. Note how Africans are loyal to Granger despite his transgressions and how Indians are falling over themselves for Jagdeo.  To that extent, Irfaan’s fake certificates does not matter.

However, who wants to have this as a stain on their presidency (assuming the PPP wins). We have now set a very low bar for a country that is going to be on the spotlight. And everything I have heard and read so far, indicates that this reality is a creation of the PPP’s own doing. Is that the kind of leader young Guyanese should emulate or strive to be?

People should not be blinded by the fact that a lower bar has already been established by the PNC...assuming that that is what you are implying.... 

In the end, 95% of Afros vote PNC and 80% Indians vote PPP. So who’s falling in line?  Both parties have their base.  If the Indians follow the PPP as blindly as the Afros follow the PNC, then the PNC stand no chance in a free and fair election!

The ppl should decide.

However, the distrust doan mek dem see clearly.

There is a small percentage of Blacks and Indians who are of the thinking of a Guyanese nation.

The electorate do not care to canvass on their own. So the assumption is the Black is Black and the Indo are Cup followers one hundred percent.

The masses do not want to move into a camp of ideas, they prefer suffering with crime, violence and political blackmail.

Granger is not a historian, he is a bigot. Historians are impartial. The Bible has scores of details on those who worship false gods. Granger choose the worse leader Guyana will ever have to idolize. Burnham fate was terrible.

The future for Guyana is not promising. One day it will be South American and not the Caribbean. They are in a sea of previous slave masters.

The ppl should decide.

There is a small percentage of Blacks and Indians who are of the thinking of a Guyanese nation.

The electorate do not care to canvass on their own. So the assumption is the Black is Black and the Indo are Cup followers one hundred percent.

The masses do not want to move into a camp of ideas, they prefer suffering with crime, violence and political blackmail.

Granger is not a historian, he is a bigot. Historians are impartial. The Bible has scores of details on those who worship false gods. Granger choose the worse leader Guyana will ever have to idolize. Burnham fate was terrible.

The future for Guyana is not promising. One day it will be South American and not the Caribbean. They are in a sea of previous slave masters.

I wont say Granger is a bigot. Wikileaks referred to him as an “Indian racist”.

He is a historian who understands the history of Guyana. As an African, he wants to ensure their history is intact.

There is nothing wrong with that. 

In the end, 95% of Afros vote PNC and 80% Indians vote PPP. So who’s falling in line?  Both parties have their base.  If the Indians follow the PPP as blindly as the Afros follow the PNC, then the PNC stand no chance in a free and fair election!

Dude...I take back my comment about your previously “smart” comment. You are falling back into your old silly ways.

Whats the point to your comment, which we know?

AND, how is this going to promote harmony and social development in the country?

Its simply not a question of who is the majority.....this only allows the majority to continue to win, and win....thus creating further divisions...no?

The ppl should decide.

He is a historian who understands the history of Guyana. As an African, he wants to ensure their history is intact.

Blacks are Pan-Africanist, that is a hinderance to their economical growth and by being that they discriminate against Indians. 

Selfishness is a disease of the mind.

This is my Sunday evening musings....just finished a bunch of PPP's PAC bulletin...this Jagan fellow was a real hard core Marxist-Leninist...and very confused...so was his American-born wife....no wonder Guyana is in such a mess.  

Jagan was building what he called "scientific socialism"....go figure.

Further reading, see attachment or click here PPP_Book_GNI.pdf

Refreshing to see that Indians can still be introspective. Blacks are more focused on getting what they want regardless of if they deserve it or not. Lewis is proving that again with his comments in yesterday’s chronicle. They never ask what is wrong with their leaders the way Indians ask what is wrong with PPP leaders.

Which Indo is known for questioning PPP leaders like Jagdeo and Jagan....AND were still able to stay in the party and make changes to the party? 

Moses and Ramjattan are examples of coolies that was thrown out for questioning the PPP...can you name a PNC black who even question their leadship....

Banna, why did you feel it necessary to move the goal post? I pointed to Indians in general, not only those in politics. How do you think the PPP ‘lost’ the 2015 elections if many Indians didn’t support the mostly black Coalition?

The ppl should decide.

When a coolie does this he is a racist. A Good Way of defending a negro racist. Why?

The ppl should decide.

When a coolie does this he is a racist. A Good Way of defending a negro racist. Why?

Name me 5 “coolies” who tried to do this...

sachin_05 posted:

Moses and Ramjattan are examples of coolies that was thrown out for questioning the PPP...can you name a PNC black who even question their leadship....

Moses and Ramjattan were never thrown out... read it up. 

You probably missed this also .. it happened at Congress Place. And Granger vehicle almost flip over, with him inside... google is free. 

Gunshot allegedly fired at PNC Congress; Lindeners prevented from voting

www.inewsguyana.com] – As things spiral out of control at the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), it is being alleged that the bodyguard of incumbent Leader, David Granger fired a single shot in the air to bring calm to the final day of the Congress at Sophia, Greater Georgetown.

iNews was reliably informed that majority of Lindeners, who are in support of Aubrey Norton, were allegedly prevented from voting today [Sunday, July 27] and as such, began to protest.

The protest by the Linden faction resulted in a pause of the voting process. One elderly delegate, Cyrilda Da Jesus, who was obviously frustrated with the situation, left the Congress without voting.

“I going home man. I got better things to do,” the woman told iNews.

The Linden delegation is claiming that they are under constant verbal attack by Granger’s supporters. One of the delegates, who prefers to remain anonymous told iNews that last evening, all the cards for the Linden delegates were secured and everything was in place for voting today.

However, when the Linden faction turned up to vote, the majority of cards for Lindeners could not be found, and as such, they could not vote.PNC

Some of the Norton supporters are outside Congress Place, some in tears and obvious frustration with the voting process.

The results of the voting will determine whether Norton or Granger will lead the PNCR.

iNews is following the situation closely and will provide more details as it unfolds.

Images (2)
  • mceclip1
  • mceclip0

Dude...I take back my comment about your previously “smart” comment.

Well, thanks for the flattery.  But I have nothing to take back.  You always talking stupidness!

Thanks Dave. Those are the photos I was asking about the other day when the PPP method of selecting their presidential candidate was being criticized. So how legitimate is Granger’s selection again? 😀

Come in Django Come in, you are one of the big critique of Freedom House selection. I hope you wouldn’t try to butter this one. 

A few things to note. The Indos did their selection in a civilized way. 

No attempt of overturning the leader vehicle.

No Guns were drawn. 

Thanks Dave. Those are the photos I was asking about the other day when the PPP method of selecting their presidential candidate was being criticized. So how legitimate is Granger’s selection again? 😀

Come in Django Come in, you are one of the big critique of Freedom House selection. I hope you wouldn’t try to butter this one. 

A few things to note. The Indos did their selection in a civilized way. 

No attempt of overturning the leader vehicle.

No Guns were drawn. 

Ayuh leff Django alone. He struggling with the shenanigans!  Everyday he digging deeper and deeper!