AFC wants Opposition to support extension of election deadline in parliament; PPP says “No!”

Sep 21, 2019, News, Source -- https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...liament-ppp-says-no/

The Alliance for Change (AFC) is calling on the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) to head to Parliament and support an extension of the Constitutional deadline stipulated by the No Confidence Motion.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2019/09/AFC.jpg

[From left] AFC Treasurer, Dominic Gaskin; AFC Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan; AFC Executive Member, Cathy Hughes

Passed on December 21, 2018, the Constitution grants three months within which elections must be held, lest the country move into uncharted waters.

It has been six months since that deadline passed, and the President has finally been empowered by Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Chair, Justice Claudette Singh S.C., to declare a date for General and Regional Elections.

Minister of Public Security and Leader of the AFC, Khemraj Ramjattan, during a press conference yesterday, told reporters that the party is comforted by the fact that the joint statement issued to Guyana by the US, the UK and the EU, did not call the coalition Government an illegal one.

He continued, adding that the AFC welcomes the announcement by the GECOM Chair. Ramjattan said that there are two requirements to solve any unconstitutionality. The first, he said, would be for the President to name a date for elections.

The AFC is of the view that all Constitutional requirements have been adhered to by the Government and the President thus far.

“The next Constitutional requirement to ensure that the elections 2020 are held without being challenged is the requirement to get approval from a two-thirds majority of the National Assembly as is required by Article 106 (7).”

And for that, Ramjattan said, the AFC will urge the Opposition to ensure “full Constitutionality” of the upcoming elections, by granting its support in Parliament.

According to the AFC Leader, the Opposition “must not be seen to be frustrating this necessary Parliamentary support”.

But the PPP has no intention of granting that extension.

This was reiterated during a recent press conference of the Parliamentary Opposition yesterday, where Gail Teixeira told reporters that Parliament is “dead”.

She stated that the Parliament consists of the President, the Cabinet, the Executive, the Speaker and the National Assembly. Since the Constitutional deadline has long passed, Teixeira is of the view that there is no National Assembly with the power to grant such an extension.

She said that, if an extension were to be granted, it should have been done within the three-month period after the No Confidence motion was passed, adding that when the Opposition met with the President in early March, the Opposition delegation had informed the President that they were willing to grant the two-thirds vote needed in the National Assembly if he agreed to call an election date by April 30, 2019. But the President, according to Teixeira, ignored that.

“So there’s no recourse back to Parliament. It is over.”

AFC wants Opposition to support extension of election deadline in parliament; PPP says “No!”

Sep 21, 2019, News, Source -- https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...liament-ppp-says-no/

The Alliance for Change (AFC) is calling on the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) to head to Parliament and support an extension of the Constitutional deadline stipulated by the No Confidence Motion.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2019/09/AFC.jpg

[From left] AFC Treasurer, Dominic Gaskin; AFC Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan; AFC Executive Member, Cathy Hughes

The AFC is of the view that all Constitutional requirements have been adhered to by the Government and the President thus far.

“The next Constitutional requirement to ensure that the elections 2020 are held without being challenged is the requirement to get approval from a two-thirds majority of the National Assembly as is required by Article 106 (7).”

And for that, Ramjattan said, the AFC will urge the Opposition to ensure “full Constitutionality” of the upcoming elections, by granting its support in Parliament.

Perhaps the Jhaaattt just woke up and as usual blabbering nonsense here, there and everywhere.

He is absolutely unaware that since the CCJ had rendered its decision on the matter it is/was incumbent that the PNCR/AFC government MUST resign and the president remains in office to effect elections within three months.

Perhaps also the Jhaaatttt is unaware of the Article 106 (6) of the Guyana constitution.

I hope the PPP doesn't continue being the adult in the room and grant any extension. The Coalition does not deserve any assistance. It is time for the PPP to shun their inclination to be reasonable so that the Coalition can be punished for their wickedness. There is absolutely no brain power in the Coalition. Everyone else in the world was able to see where their wickedness was leading but the PNC was never able to have their evil get out of the way.

Regarding Ramjattan 'urge' above. Did he just realize that he along with all the members of the Coalition actions were guaranteeing breach of the constitution? Why didn't he urge Granger and all the other Coalition members since December 21, 2018 that they should do what is necessary to "ensure full constitutionality"?

The Coalition govt might get the extension by a delay process. NOTE: The end of February is NOT an official date. It's an open time frame. I would bet my last dollar that when February nears, it will be another issue for more time. 

Why fuss thing Sunday marnin’ soon as cak done crow, me have to point out cane cutter stupidness!

Ayuh muss stop talking and start thinking.  Jagdeo already throw coolies under the bus and got you all in a hissy fit over Granger!  

Jagan haul Ayuh by Ayuh behind for a generation and gi Ayuh shit and Ayuh merrily chatayed.  Now jagdeo doing the same and Ayuh, wid Ayuh Ivy League headukashun, pon the same shit!

Get this in ayuh mud head!  Jagdeo done give it away but smiling with shit on his face.  Think... Jagdeo already said he is confident Ms Singh will hold elections in Feb.  that’s a tacit approval for extending the mandate of the Coalition!   So all wash to tun down pun Ayuh Head.

And yes Prince, high probability it will go beyond Feb and BJ will still have “great confidence!”

Mi Daady bin seh, when me bin growing up, Jagan followers were a stupid bunch.  If he bin deh round today, he wudda seh, mi mumna, dem people pass dem stupidity to dem pickney and Jagan pass he shit onto Jagdeo. 

Happy Sunday marnin to all Christians, Hindus, Mohamadans, etc. 

Ayuh guh temple and ask Maha Durga to know some sense in Ayuh heads.  Me done fuh duh week!

Bai Base, ayuh funny tarass. Burnham, Hoyte and Granga did/doing wickedness and ayuh blamin Jagan and Jagdeo because they didn't/wouldn't descend into hell and bring down slo fiah mo fiah pun de Guyanese people like how Burnham, Hoyte and Granga did/do.

No shame in taking the civilized and humane road to resolving a cinflict with PNC hooligans. Slow process but still better than the violent slo fiah mo fiah PNC campaigns.

When ayuh gun stop blaming Jagan and Jagdeo fuh PNC wickedness?

Bai, mi went out to get couple pounds goat fun lil curry and get caught in a Mexican-day parade.  Dem invaders dancing around wid dem big hat and Mexican things.  Now I’m lil pisses. 

I wish I had my Trump costume and MAGA hat.  

Yes, they are to blame. Dem cuss America too much. Selecting Irfaan is a tell-tale hint at BJs plans.  This is why the outcry against the shenanigans of the PNC so muted. 

As I said, Ayuh no different from Jagan disciples!  BJ have accepted Feb so he done wid Ayuh.  Watch he will compromise on the list!

Bai, mi went out to get couple pounds goat fun lil curry and get caught in a Mexican-day parade.  Dem invaders dancing around wid dem big hat and Mexican things.  Now I’m lil pisses. 

I wish I had my Trump costume and MAGA hat.  

Yes, they are to blame. Dem cuss America too much. Selecting Irfaan is a tell-tale hint at BJs plans.  This is why the outcry against the shenanigans of the PNC so muted. 

As I said, Ayuh no different from Jagan disciples!  BJ have accepted Feb so he done wid Ayuh.  Watch he will compromise on the list!

Yuh rass shudda stuck around. No food nisah dan Mexican wan. 

Maybe GPF should arrest Granger and the rest of the Coalition members since they are all in violation of the law.

If they regard this as disorder, what would they regard the PNC trademark slo fiah mo fiah behavior as? Armageddon?

PPP plans protests until elections date set despite police warning over disorder

Riot police at the hotel on Thursday. (Terrence Thompson photo)

In the face of a warning by the police force that it would seek to prevent a recurrence of the disorder caused by the People’s Progressive Partys (PPP) protest against President David Granger last Thursday, the opposition party yesterday maintained that it did no wrong and would continue to stage such demonstrations countrywide until a date for elections is fixed.

The party’s made its position clear in response to a statement that was issued on Friday by the Guyana Police Force (GPF), which said the “peaceful conduct” of the Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association (GMSA) at the Pegasus Hotel was interrupted by the demonstrations. “While the Police Force respects the rights of all citizens to protest and has no objection to persons conducting peaceful protest, such acts will not be condoned,” it said, while adding that it will endeavour to prevent and respond whenever necessary to any such reoccurrence and warned that anyone found in breach of the law will be dealt with in a condign manner.

Why fuss thing Sunday marnin’ soon as cak done crow, me have to point out cane cutter stupidness!

Ayuh muss stop talking and start thinking.  Jagdeo already throw coolies under the bus and got you all in a hissy fit over Granger!  

Jagan haul Ayuh by Ayuh behind for a generation and gi Ayuh shit and Ayuh merrily chatayed.  Now jagdeo doing the same and Ayuh, wid Ayuh Ivy League headukashun, pon the same shit!

Get this in ayuh mud head!  Jagdeo done give it away but smiling with shit on his face.  Think... Jagdeo already said he is confident Ms Singh will hold elections in Feb.  that’s a tacit approval for extending the mandate of the Coalition!   So all wash to tun down pun Ayuh Head.

And yes Prince, high probability it will go beyond Feb and BJ will still have “great confidence!”

Mi Daady bin seh, when me bin growing up, Jagan followers were a stupid bunch.  If he bin deh round today, he wudda seh, mi mumna, dem people pass dem stupidity to dem pickney and Jagan pass he shit onto Jagdeo. 

Ayuh guh temple and ask Maha Durga to know some sense in Ayuh heads.  Me done fuh duh week!

Second smart thing you said in a week...going for a hat trick?

Jagan is responsible for the mess Guyana is in (Burnham too)...but the problem start with Jagan, who was confused over ideology and was a naive politician when it comes to international relations and race politics in Guyana. Jagan should have stuck with being a dentist. Burnham outsmarted him at every turn...

You are right about the other thing too...PPP (JAGDEO AND IRFAAN) are out for themselves and dont give a hoot about Indos or Guyana....they are taking Indos down with them...

At this time, power-sharing should be a mantra for them...otherwise they looking at another 28 years... 

He skont was so anxious to announce the elections date. So much so that he was having sleepless nights over having to wait on GECOM. So where has his puss been since Thursday?

1:51:16 PM

Sun, September 22, 2019

GUYANA-POLITICS- President anxious to announce election date

Article Published: September 18, 2019

0 Comments

According to CANA, Guyana President David Granger says he is ready to head to the polls as quickly as possible.

Speaking with reporters on Wednesday, Granger said that he is set on having a clean list and credible elections in the shortest possible time.

President David Granger

“I’ve had several meetings with the Leader of the Opposition and no one can be more anxious than I am to ensure that elections are held as quickly as possible”.

The President said “it is very uncomfortable” for him as the Head of State to labour under the restrictions of an interim administration, pointing out that except for overseas travel for his health, he has not accepted invitations to go to other countries and the Prime Minister has also restricted his travels.

“We cannot plan a budget, we cannot bring a budget to Parliament, we cannot engage in certain types of projects which are regarded as irreversible and the whole business of Government has been slowed because we have been obedient to and compliant with the instructions of the CCJ (Caribbean Court of Justice) last July. So it is uncomfortable for me to remain in this condition”, Granger said.

The Government found itself in an interim status after the CCJ ruled that the no-confidence motion which was passed against the Government last December was valid.

Since that July ruling, the Opposition has been pressing the President to set a date for elections.

However, the President has insisted  that he can only set the date when the Elections Commission, which is an independent body, informs him of its readiness.

“Right now under the law, and in accordance with the Constitution, the Elections Commission has the exclusive authority in determining its readiness and I have publicly announced, I made a broadcast to the nation on Monday, that as soon as I hear from the Commission that it is ready, that it has the resources and staff and ballot papers are printed and all those requirements are complied with under the law, I will then consider making the announcement as soon as possible afterwards”, he said. 

Meanwhile, the Guyana Elections Commission is scheduled to meet on Wednesday to finalise a possible timeline for elections that could be presented to the President.

On Tuesday, the Chair and Commissioners met for over three hours, to examine several issues.

Government nominated Commissioner Vincent Alexander told reporters that the meeting will continue to examine the elections timeline in collaboration with the work programme. 

He skont was so anxious to announce the elections date. So much so that he was having sleepless nights over having to wait on GECOM. So where has his puss been since Thursday?

1:51:16 PM

Sun, September 22, 2019

GUYANA-POLITICS- President anxious to announce election date

Article Published: September 18, 2019

0 Comments

According to CANA, Guyana President David Granger says he is ready to head to the polls as quickly as possible.

Speaking with reporters on Wednesday, Granger said that he is set on having a clean list and credible elections in the shortest possible time.

President David Granger

“I’ve had several meetings with the Leader of the Opposition and no one can be more anxious than I am to ensure that elections are held as quickly as possible”.

The President said “it is very uncomfortable” for him as the Head of State to labour under the restrictions of an interim administration, pointing out that except for overseas travel for his health, he has not accepted invitations to go to other countries and the Prime Minister has also restricted his travels.

“We cannot plan a budget, we cannot bring a budget to Parliament, we cannot engage in certain types of projects which are regarded as irreversible and the whole business of Government has been slowed because we have been obedient to and compliant with the instructions of the CCJ (Caribbean Court of Justice) last July. So it is uncomfortable for me to remain in this condition”, Granger said.

The Government found itself in an interim status after the CCJ ruled that the no-confidence motion which was passed against the Government last December was valid.

Since that July ruling, the Opposition has been pressing the President to set a date for elections.

However, the President has insisted  that he can only set the date when the Elections Commission, which is an independent body, informs him of its readiness.

“Right now under the law, and in accordance with the Constitution, the Elections Commission has the exclusive authority in determining its readiness and I have publicly announced, I made a broadcast to the nation on Monday, that as soon as I hear from the Commission that it is ready, that it has the resources and staff and ballot papers are printed and all those requirements are complied with under the law, I will then consider making the announcement as soon as possible afterwards”, he said. 

Meanwhile, the Guyana Elections Commission is scheduled to meet on Wednesday to finalise a possible timeline for elections that could be presented to the President.

On Tuesday, the Chair and Commissioners met for over three hours, to examine several issues.

Government nominated Commissioner Vincent Alexander told reporters that the meeting will continue to examine the elections timeline in collaboration with the work programme. 

Bai, Granguh into tickling people balls!  How could Ayuh nah read dah banna yet?  

President David Granger

He skont was so anxious to announce the elections date.

So much so that he was having sleepless nights over having to wait on GECOM.

So where has his puss been since Thursday?

As usual, every minute busy everywhere servicing others.

That’s because you only started counting this week!

Hat trick!