US Congressman urges key colleagues to keep Guyana from falling off democracy pathway

…says loss of democracy in Guyana could impact regional stability
…writes congressional foreign affairs committees

A United States (US) Congressman Vincente Gonzalez who heads a key committee has written to two senior colleagues who head a committee and subcommittee in the US Congress, urging them to keep Guyana on the path of democracy, even as the country meanders on several months overdue for elections.

Chairman of the Subcommittee on Western Hemisphere, Civilian Security and Trade, Albio Sires

In the letter which was seen by this publication, US Congressman Vincente Gonzalez, a representative of the 15th District of Texas, wrote to Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee Eliot Engel and Chairman of the Subcommittee on Western Hemisphere, Civilian Security and Trade, Albio Sires.
Gonzalez warned in his letter that a loss of democracy in Guyana could have disastrous effects on regional stability. He also said that as the US has worked to bring democracy around the world, Guyana should be no exception.

The Letter sent by the US Congressman

“The United States has maintained a friendly relationship with Guyana since 1992, after then Guyanese President Desmond Hoyte decided to reform the country’s electoral laws and held free and fair elections. Any reversal of these efforts could impact regional stability and endanger the well-being of the Guyanese people.”
“I request that the Committee continue to keep a watchful eye on Guyana moving forward. It is imperative that we continue to bring democracy (globally) and Guyana is no exception. I am available to work with you and the Committee on legislation for the betterment of the Guyanese people,” Gonzalez also wrote.
The Congressman pointed out in his letter that President David Granger lost a no-confidence vote in December 2018 and that after six months of legal challenges, the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) unanimously upheld the no-confidence vote.
He noted that even though the regional court had recognised that elections should have been held by March 21, 2019, the Guyana Elections Commission had insisted on preparing for elections in a lengthy House-to-House Registration process.

President David Granger

“The People’s Progressive Party has requested that elections be held within 90 days of the CCJ’s June 18, 2019 ruling or September 18, 2019. CCJ’s internal counsel has advised that the House-to-House Registrations would be an act of contempt against the CCJ,” Gonzalez advised Engel and Sires in his letter.
This letter will go some way in showing that while sections of society have been critical of the diplomatic community’s silence as Guyana heads down the road of constitutional violation, events are happening behind the scenes.
When questioned in July of this year after the CCJ’s rulings, Caricom Secretary General Irwin LaRocque had sought to deny reports that Caricom has not been active enough in trying to ensure Guyana remains a democratic and not authoritative State.
“There’s a process ongoing since the no-confidence vote. The process has worked so far, in the sense that the CCJ delivered a judgement and its consequential orders. And the CCJ, in my view, was very, very clear that all the actors concerned, must play their part,” LaRocque had told the media.

Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, Eliot Engel

“As I understand it, there continues to be dialogue among the parties. We continue to monitor everything very closely. I have met with both the President and the Leader of the Opposition on more than one occasion. Following the ruling, I’ve met the Opposition Leader and spoken to the President. So I’m in touch, I’ll continue to be in touch.”

US Congressman Vincente Gonzalez

The Secretary General had added that the Chairman of Caricom, St Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Dr Timothy Harris, was being briefed regularly on the situation and had reached out to leaders in Guyana. But LaRocque stayed on the side of caution as it relates to taking a more proactive role.
“We’ll continue monitoring this. We remain available to assist if we’re asked to assist. But Caricom does not interfere unless the democratic and judicial process breaks down. It doesn’t mean we don’t care. It doesn’t mean we’re not engaged. We are fully engaged,” he had stressed.
So far, the diplomatic community has not publicly renewed its position on respecting the Constitution and the CCJ’s ruling. Representatives of the United States, United Kingdom, and the European Union observed the July 12 pronouncements and later acknowledged that this adherence must be done expeditiously.

In fact, the petition I signed about a month ago addressing this issue and was sent to Eliot Engel and Vincente Gonzalez. 

It had a top page as this with an addendum highlighting historical context. 

In fact, the petition I signed about a month ago addressing this issue and was sent to Eliot Engel and Vincente Gonzalez. 

The petition can't be read , it's blurred, GUYANATIMES need a good scanner.

That was done on purpose so people won’t see that Baseman put CPA next to his name when he signed the letter to Eliot Engel.  

I am sure Base should have a copy of the petition he signed, let’s see your quality nah base.  

That was not our letter.  He wrote his own. 

A few of us might be traveling or maybe just one member!

I am sure Base should have a copy of the petition he signed, let’s see your quality nah base.  

It’s on my home computer.  Will check

It is about time someone put fire on these fvckers asses. By now one would think the PNC would have relented to civilization and do the right thing. Instead they continue to choose the uncivilized path.

Take note that the US has maintained a friendly relationship with Guyana since it became democratic. Gonzalez pointing that out is important as he seems to think the mostly PNC Coalition is moving towards an undemocratic goal.

It is about time someone put fire on these fvckers asses. By now one would think the PNC would have relented to civilization and do the right thing. Instead they continue to choose the uncivilized path.

Bhai, Gadahas can never be civilized!!!

Take note that the US has maintained a friendly relationship with Guyana since it became democratic. Gonzalez pointing that out is important as he seems to think the mostly PNC Coalition is moving towards an undemocratic goal.

Is Ayuh coolies cause datt!!

Django that’s the best I can do,, I screenshot it. 

Thanks, i was able to read.

Nothing much to cheer about.  Elections are in GECOM hands, in Guyana situation there should be fair play , due to election results are close.

Uncle Sam is watching the PNC tricks, they already have 1000 soldiers based in Guyana ready for regime change. So Granger can go and stay in Cuba, no need to come back, wah America no good for treatment,

Is Ayuh coolies cause datt!!

Is a Neemakaram Crabdag Parasite who was willing to sell his most prized possession for wealth and POWA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Take note that the US has maintained a friendly relationship with Guyana since it became democratic.

Gonzalez pointing that out is important as he seems to think the mostly PNC Coalition is moving towards an undemocratic goal.

Where in the letter states that ?

Nothing much to cheer about.  Elections are in GECOM hands, in Guyana situation there should be fair play , due to election results are close.

The cheering will come when the PPP wins if Ayuh don’t rigggg!!

Then you will be crying like Hilarious on Nov 6 2016!

Uncle Sam is watching the PNC tricks, they already have 1000 soldiers based in Guyana ready for regime change. So Granger can go and stay in Cuba, no need to come back, wah America no good for treatment,

Nothing wrong to keep hopes high !!!

Take note that the US has maintained a friendly relationship with Guyana since it became democratic.

Gonzalez pointing that out is important as he seems to think the mostly PNC Coalition is moving towards an undemocratic goal.

He implies it!

I must say, as a ONE man band, you making nuff noise.

The cheering will come when the PPP wins  Ayuh don’t rigggg!!

Then you will be crying like Hilarious on Nov 6 2016!

Good for the PPP , the USA will support Irfaan Ali and the Puppeteer.

I mentioned many times there is no need for the "coalition of parties"  to rig elections to win.

I meant to ask, what happened to Ronan?  He was a good poster!

Banna i man can battle any storm.

He implies it!

No where in the statement implied such.

He implies it!

Read it again!

He implies it!

Read it again!

Don't be jokey banna, read again.

Gonzalez letter

• Gonzalez letter
Gonzalez letterBaseman posted:

He implies it!

Read it again!

Gonzalez letter

Django are you sure you’re reading the correct letter. 

Gonzalez letterBaseman posted:

He implies it!

Read it again!

Gonzalez letter

Django are you sure you’re reading the correct letter. 

So DJ  in all due respect, you don’t quite understand Kaz reference to the Congress man words eh .