Govt moves to amend GPL licence

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson

… to cater for company’s purchasing power
…citizens invited to make representation or objections

WITH the Guyana Power and Light Inc (GPL) seeking partnerships to remedy its shortfalls in power generation, the government through the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, is moving to amend a section of GPL’s licence to allow the purchasing of power from external sources.

In local newspapers on Sunday, a notice signed by Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, stated that GPL’s licence restricts the company from purchasing power from any person other than an Independent Power Producer (IPP) which produces power from renewable energy sources.

The IPP also does not include businesses whose main business is not the generation of power and which supply no more than 10 megawatts (MW).
Currently, GPL is in the process of finalising a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) with MCG Investments Inc. [Giftland Mall] to enhance its generating and reserve capacity and meet the needs of its customers.

While the legal and regulatory modalities are being completed, GPL’s board has given authorisation for the receipt of Expressions of Interest (EoI) from other potential power providers with immediately available generation capacity. Another such potential supplier is Banks DIH.

The company faces many challenges due to the shortfall in power generation in the Demerara-Berbice Interconnected System (DBIS).

Due to a defective transformer at the Onverwagt, Berbice Substation, GPL is unable to export 6.9MW of power to the DBIS. Additionally, a 5.5MW generator at the Canefield Power Plant is scheduled for maintenance, while a 4MW generator at the Garden-of-Eden Power Station is unavailable as GPL is currently awaiting replacement parts. To compound the situation, on September 3, one of GPL’s poles with two transformers was uprooted by contactors on the Sheriff/Mandela Road expansion project.

In the notice, Minister Patterson expressed that the government and GPL are serious about working toward the reduction of blackouts, as well as the supply of efficient power to Guyanese.

“There is much public interest (home-owners and private businesses) to supply their excess generation capacity to GPL’s grid. The government and GPL are desirous of facilitating distributed generation in a manner that is consistent with GPL’s generation and expansion plans, and with the country’s Green State Development Strategy (GSDS) which recommends the opportunity for consumers, small and large-scale businesses to supply their excess generation to public suppliers,” Patterson stated.

With this consideration, the minister has proposed the amendment of Section 15 of GPL’s licence in keeping with Section 13 of the Electricity Sector Reform Act, 1999.

It should allow the company to purchase the excess generation capacity of its consumers, self-generators and other businesses where feasible and consistent with the company’s generation requirements for connection to its grid.

The general public has been given no later than October 6, 2019, to make representations or objections to the Minister of Public Infrastructure at his Kingston, Georgetown office.

When PPP is back in office, the first thing they should do is bring back Bharrat Dindial to run GPL.

By then he could be 95yrs ole, or feeding worm.

Even if he is 200 years old he will do a better job than the dunce Jamaican who is in charge.

When PPP is back in office, the first thing they should do is bring back Bharrat Dindial to run GPL.

Yes, he up in the bronx aching fuh go back

What happened, with his qualifications, can't get a gob with Con Edison ? perhaps have enough dough to live comfortably in the USA.

Even if he is 200 years old he will do a better job than the dunce Jamaican who is in charge.

Bibi dawling, let it be!😘  PPP has a 50% chance or more, if no riggery.  Let Django sweat!

My sources told me the US will turn a blind eye to some rigging as long as there is no widespread violence and discrimination against Indians and other minorities!

America got we back dawling!

  Let Django sweat!

My sources told me the US will turn a blind eye to some rigging as long as there is no widespread violence and discrimination against Indians and other minorities!

No sweat bhai !!  "coalition of parties"  winning fair and square , no rigging , that's the mantra of the PPP.

Bibi dawling, let it be!😘  PPP has a 50% chance or more, if no riggery.  Let Django sweat!

The US turned a blind eye to the rigging of the 2015 election... and  PPP going to a election with a alleged fraudster and BJ opens his big mouth about reviewing all oil contracts, so what you think US will do. 

The international community is silent  to the constitution being violated, its enough to see the outcome of the coming election.  

The US turned a blind eye to the rigging of the 2015 election... and  PPP going to a election with a alleged fraudster and BJ opens his big mouth about reviewing all oil contracts, so what you think US will do. 

The international community is silent  to the constitution being violated, its enough to see the outcome of the coming election.  

When I speak the truth of the PPP and their behavior and why the US mistrust them and prefer the PNC, people say in PNC and all that shyte.  I’m just telling the truth.  Jagan caused the US to hedge with the PNC.  I saw the PPP cozying up to countries like Iran and allowing uranium exploration much to the dismay of the US.  Why would they now trust the an oil rich PPP.  What’s to stop them from cozying up with Russia, Venezuela etc and form an anti-US axis.  

I don’t blame the US!   PPP are shallow non-strategic thinkers.  Sheer big mouth and fat talk.  They did more damage to the Indian cause than the PNC.  The facilitated it!

Oi Baseman when Iman speak out against the PPP, some of the members here along with you tell me I hate Indos, now ..."SHAZAM", quick change artist on the move. Doan worry Base, you seeing the light.

Speaking the truth that BJ is a hindrance to the PPP to some means I dislike PPP and Indos, well if that is the way some see it who the heck am I to argue with them? That banna is leaving the country in the hands of Granger.

What happened, with his qualifications, can't get a gob with Con Edison ? perhaps have enough dough to live comfortably in the USA.

How you know the man doesn’t have a job?

It all means that Guyana will continue to get fvcked. 😀

Kascz, those ANIMALS will keep roaming the Jungle!!!

I heard they can run cakeshops and the country altogether. In a recent piece by Mark Benschop, he praised the coalition govt and Granger for being fighters for Guyanese people during their short term in office. What do you say to that?  

It all means that Guyana will continue to get fvcked. 😀

Izz because ah Ayuh cane cutters!

I will say his head deep up the Gadaha kakahole!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I also hear that Sandra Granger is the next Imelda Marcos of Guyana. She has over 3000 pairs of shoes.    Who God bless no man curse.  The woman does bust dry coconut to commission all Granger "B" initiatives. 

Oi Baseman when Iman speak out against the PPP, some of the members here along with you tell me I hate Indos, now ..."SHAZAM", quick change artist on the move. Doan worry Base, you seeing the light.

Speaking the truth that BJ is a hindrance to the PPP to some means I dislike PPP and Indos, well if that is the way some see it who the heck am I to argue with them? That banna is leaving the country in the hands of Granger.

You don’t like us Indians.  

I love me brothers and love me  sistahs even more, cane cutters, coolies or Indians all!   I dozz buze dem because dem cazz dem own down fall.  Dem run behind stupid leaders!

And the PPP handle Buxton correctly!

I know Dindial, brilliant and honest  and down to earth dude.

APNU/ AFC is a Arss hole .. as usual.. they brought their own and Fck the system... 

I love me brothers and love me  sistahs even more, cane cutters, coolies or Indians all!   I dozz buze dem because dem cazz dem own down fall.  Dem run behind stupid leaders!

So you no longer support coolies and the PPP party? 

Still being a butthead eh? The other day someone posted about Gouveia being put down by Granger dem and if you read my reply you would know I doan like stupid ass people regardless of colour so if you stupid and you are an Indo does that make me racist? 

Anyway, keep on hoppin about, by Friday you gonna be changing your coat again,.

So where does Buxton fit in this conversation, you think it bothers me? Live by the gun, die by the gun.

Are you being a dummy?  

I always listen to everyone.  The PPP fked over coolies and Indians alike.  But I will give them critical support.  The PPP have much good, but they have to govern better.  And they have to exorcise themselves of the anti-American sentiments.   It destroys their good sense!

As for the PNC, if not for their racism, I don’t have any major differences I cannot work through.  They have good aspects, but they are out to displace and replace Indians.  

Are you being a dummy?  

I always listen to everyone.  The PPP fked over coolies and Indians alike.  But I will give them critical support.  The PPP have much good, but they have to govern better.  And they have to exorcise themselves of the anti-American sentiments.   It destroys their good sense!

As for the PNC, if not for their racism, I don’t have any major differences I cannot work through.  They have good aspects, but they are out to displace and replace Indians.  

When you drunk, yo PNC, when sober PPP, Swing me Boy.

Are you being a dummy?  

When you drunk, yo PNC, when sober PPP, Swing me Boy.

Nah, ayuh coolies mek Obama tek PNC over PPP!  Now we shittin' again!

APNU/ AFC is a Arss hole .. as usual.. they brought their own and Fck the system... 

True, Indians and coolies, even cane cutters are brilliant, but are we smart?  We know good how to score 99-100% and spell every word in the encyclopedia Britanica.  I contend that Blackman has demonstrated more smarts and they out witted Ayuh coolies in Guyana!

Where did my comments imply race? Like you need a eye opener. 

Good marning. 

Videos (1)
8C2BBCE6-9C3C-4D55-9BF1-20B5A150C336
@Mitwah posted:

Thought someone mentioned that he moved back to the Bronx.

Him and others are there for their perks and privileges. Other times they are back in another country, with the assets and families.