Carter Center interested in ‘credible elections’

-AG says after meeting with team

Attorney General Basil Williams SC [left) with members of the Carter Center delegation.
Attorney General Basil Williams SC (left) with members of the Carter Center delegation.

Six months after its last visit, the Carter Center has returned to Guyana with a four-member delegation, hoping to gain insight into the country’s current political situation.

Led by Associate Director Brett Lacy, who was here with another team in March, the delegation has met with Attorney General Basil Williams and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo as part of planned meetings “with the different actors.”

“We [are] here from the Carter Center and we are happy to have the opportunity to meet with the Attorney General; to hear from him about the laws of Guyana and his various arguments relating to the current circumstances in Guyana so we are happy to have this opportunity to hear from him, from his perspective,” Lacy told reporters following yesterday’s two-hour long meeting with Williams.

Or

Oh shit. Williams doesn’t know shit about the laws of Guyana. They would fare better talking to Nandlall. Speaking of Nandlall, when is Ali going to step aside so Nandlall can be Guyana’s next president? There hasn’t been a legal president of Guyana since 2015.

Aren't we all interested in 'creditable elections'.  But, is the PNC/R interested?  In my well informed opinion, I say "NO".  

Don't hold your breath Guyanese.  The PNC is the architect of rigged elections, in Guyana.   

Reza R.  Rahaman

Carter Center interested in ‘credible elections’

-AG says after meeting with team

September 12 2019

Attorney General Basil Williams SC [left) with members of the Carter Center delegation.

Attorney General Basil Williams SC (left) with members of the Carter Center delegation.

Six months after its last visit, the Carter Center has returned to Guyana with a four-member delegation, hoping to gain insight into the country’s current political situation.

Led by Associate Director Brett Lacy, who was here with another team in March, the delegation has met with Attorney General Basil Williams and Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo as part of planned meetings “with the different actors.”

“We [are] here from the Carter Center and we are happy to have the opportunity to meet with the Attorney General; to hear from him about the laws of Guyana and his various arguments relating to the current circumstances in Guyana so we are happy to have this opportunity to hear from him, from his perspective,” Lacy told reporters following yesterday’s two-hour long meeting with Williams.

“I can say that from the Carter Center, we are really just here to listen and are hoping to meet with different actors to understand everyone’s perspectives on current events here in Guyana,” she added.

Jagdeo would only confirm that he met with the team on Tuesday. When contacted, he told Stabroek News that he did not want to “go into any detail” of the meeting.

Meantime, Williams said that he could not speak for the Carter Center representatives but informed that they requested yesterday’s meeting to discuss the current political situation. He indicated that they wanted to meet him again after they have wrapped up meetings with others. “I think the Carter Center has always been, and are interested in, [that] the rule of law prevails and that the way we are situated now, we take advantage of our situation and enable all the people of the country to benefit from it,” Williams said.

“And of course, one of the things that would be vital for that is the question of distributing the wealth. In fact, it is an overarching consideration. Many countries, some in the Congo as they mentioned, have the wealth but it doesn’t go to the people,” he added. He said that he assured them that he believes that “President David Arthur Granger and Sandra Granger, they are people who are very capable of ensuring that the wealth is distributed in accordance with a good life for every Guyanese.”

He said too that the Carter Center is “obviously interested in elections and obviously interested in credible elections.” He gave them government’s position. “I said that to them that the government has absolutely nothing to do with the conduct of elections or the conduct of registration. It is entirely the remit of GECOM and as the president has repeatedly said, he wants early elections and as soon as GECOM announces its readiness, he will announce a date.”

Williams said that he was pleased to address the Carter Center team on a number of matters and one of the positions was that government was awaiting an appeal on a part of the ruling by Chief Justice Roxane George-Wiltshire in the legality of the house-to-house (HtH) registration matter.

In addition, he said, he informed that government was “waiting on GECOM, to announce the elections date, dissolve parliament and move to the elections.”

Williams had “partially appealed” the August 14th ruling by the acting Chief Justice which upheld the legality of the HtH registration exercise but also declared that existing registrants cannot be excised from a new voters’ list unless they are deceased or otherwise disqualified under Article 159 (2), (3) or (4).

The Attorney General, in his submission, has provided 16 points of appeal including the argument that Section 6 of the Registration Act provides for “residency” during the period of a qualifying date as a requirement for registration.

Sometime today or tomorrow, according to Williams, government will seek a stay on the CJ ruling.

Asked about the possible implications to the work of GECOM if the stay is granted, Williams said, “If GECOM said they were forced to merge because they were following the actions of the Chief Justice, I suppose if the court stays it, they will have to follow it. I mean, the CCJ (Caribbean Court of Justice) said it won’t give directions to GECOM so we would hope good sense prevail. We want the matter to be heard by the full court, the Court of Appeal, quickly.”

He said that he also discussed with the Carter Center team, government’s concern that with GECOM merging the persons recently registered during the HtH registration process and the old list, it could mean that persons overseas would still have their names on the voters’ list and that was something they had objected to.

Discussions, according to Williams, were had on previous works of the Carter Center here, dating back to 1991 and their visit earlier this year.

Last March, a Carter Center team, comprising Jason Carter, who is the grandson of former US President Jimmy Carter, David Carroll and Lacy, had proposed that General and Regional Elections could be held in August, provided that regulations, which are part of the National Registration Act, were used in lieu of HtH registration to cleanse the list of electors of non-resident Guyanese.

“I think ultimately our role here of course is limited. We’re not Guyanese [but] we care about this country. The Carter Center has been here for many, many years, almost 30 years. This country is important to my grandfather. It’s important to me and my family as well but ultimately the issues that are being confronted right now [are] going to require the cooperation of political leadership of this country and we are optimistic, and we have had a very productive meeting with GECOM,” Carter said before leaving.

Government-nominated commissioner Vincent Alexander had told reporters after that meeting about the issue of non-residents being taken off the list.

“What has surfaced is the National Registration Act which provides for people who are non-resident to be taken off of the list… I’m not unprepared to explore the possibility of using the law that already exists but would need some regulations for it to be operationalised,” he had said.

Since that time, there has been just over a month of HtH registration and GECOM is merging the data collected from the process with the National Register of Registrants.

The GECOM Secretariat has also proposed March 2020 as the earliest date for elections.

As described on its website,  the Atlanta, Georgia, US-based Carter Center, “in partnership with Emory University, is guided by a fundamental commitment to human rights and the alleviation of human suffering. It seeks to prevent and resolve conflicts, enhance freedom and democracy, and improve health”.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Aren't we all interested in 'creditable elections'.  But, is the PNC/R interested?  In my well informed opinion, I say "NO".  

Don't hold your breath Guyanese.  The PNC is the architect of rigged elections, in Guyana.   

Mr.Reza, get the times, can the PNC pull that again  with  observers ?

The voters list need to be cleansed , check the stats on migration posted on the other thread.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

The voters list need to be cleansed , check the stats on migration posted on the other thread.

Huh! So what was GECOM doing since 2015 elections brother? Looks like they have a Hindu orchestra there beating dholak, playing the harmonium and knacking jhaanj. Who's doing the singing?

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Huh! So what was GECOM doing since 2015 elections brother?

Looks like they have a Hindu orchestra there beating dholak, playing the harmonium and knacking jhaanj. Who's doing the singing?

The plan was H2H registration for a new voters list for the 2020 Elections, Jagdeo wanted the same , suddenly he had a different take.

Them bhais at Freedom House was gaming the electoral system. My suspicion was confirmed after running into the info on migration.

Words have consequences. The Carter Center representatives went out of their way to point out what is taking place in Africa where the people don’t benefit from their leaders’ actions. This is strong reprimand to the PNC that the Carter Center regard them as usurpers.

Meanwhile, Williams still sounds like an idiot 😀.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Huh! So what was GECOM doing since 2015 elections brother? Looks like they have a Hindu orchestra there beating dholak, playing the harmonium and knacking jhaanj. Who's doing the singing?

Them bhais at Freedom House was gaming the electoral system. My suspicion was confirmed after running into the info on migration.

Bai, GECOM is comprised of PNC and PPP members. Please include Congress place too. PNC is no altar boy.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Huh! So what was GECOM doing since 2015 elections brother?

Looks like they have a Hindu orchestra there beating dholak, playing the harmonium and knacking jhaanj. Who's doing the singing?

The plan was H2H registration for a new voters list for the 2020 Elections, Jagdeo wanted the same , suddenly he had a different take.

ANY DOCUMENTATION TO BACK UP THIS STATEMENT?

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Bai, GECOM is comprised of PNC and PPP members. Please include Congress place too. PNC is no altar boy.

You fast in your reply, added is the above in post.

The plan was H2H registration for a new voters list for the 2020 Elections, Jagdeo wanted the same

Jagdeo would not have wanted this and knew he would get NCV motion. This statement doesn't hold any water.

The plan was H2H registration for a new voters list for the 2020 Elections, Jagdeo wanted the same

Jagdeo would not have wanted this and knew he would get NCV motion. This statement doesn't hold any water.

That was before he hatched the CM plan, the article was in Stabroek News.

Will look for it, had the bookmark on file on comp, too much docs to go thru to find. Any way  money was voted in parliament for H2H registration before 2020 elections.

alena06 posted:

Carter Center always has to keep the PNC in check!!

Gyal, just now the PNC is going to say that Carter center doesn't like black people.

Carter bin deh deh in 2015 too!

Dem PNC supporters on FB prapa mad Carter return. Deh seh he should focus on Trump. Me tell dem Carter know wuh limb to jump pun!  He old but he nah stupid!  Dem cuss me call me Jagdeo stooge!

Look how our care taker AG and SC  greeting a rep from Carter Center... they say a picture tells a thousand words. 

Images (2)
  • mceclip1
  • mceclip0

Now that Carter is here, election is before year end. Them have to, no more excuses.

See duh!!  White man come save ayuh coolies.  Ayuh should stop cussing White man.  Dem always saving abie coolies, cane cuttaz and Indians!!

Ayuh nah bore the plate again and kumbayah with America’s enemies!  Ayuh larn lil mannaz!!

Now that Carter is here, election is before year end. Them have to, no more excuses.

See duh!!  White man come save ayuh coolies.  Ayuh should stop cussing White man.  Dem always saving abie coolies, cane cuttaz and Indians!!

Ayuh nah bore the plate again and kumbayah with America’s enemies!  Ayuh larn lil mannaz!!

Siggy was right all along. White peoples know how to run things.

Look how our care taker AG and SC  greeting a rep from Carter Center... they say a picture tells a thousand words. 

Given those earlier sexual allegations she probably told him to stay the fvck away from her. 😀

Read Rodney's "How Europe divided Africa". Look what they did to Guyana, India, Pakistan and others!!!

another 'rodneyite' poser exposed

this kind of nonsense is what you post when you have a big semen-filled mouth but don't actually read real books

smfh

Read Rodney's "How Europe divided Africa". Look what they did to Guyana, India, Pakistan and others!!!

another 'rodneyite' poser exposed

this kind of nonsense is what you post when you have a big semen-filled mouth but don't actually read real books

smfh

You cannot read cause yuh head stuck up yuh Kakahole!!!!!!!!!! You enjoy the scent of raw sewage. ENJOY!!!

Yes they do. Read Rodney's " How Europe divided Africa". Look what they did to Guyana , India, Pakistan and others!!!

Guyana-communism done it.

India -muslims and Jinnah done it. Imagine if the British din give in to Jinnah there would be more muslims than hindus in India.

Pakistan -ignorance done it and backwardness.

Rodney was a real skont, along wid Cheddie and Forbes. The Blackman sold his own people. After close to 600 years, the whiteman still dividing Africa? Dem skonts gat bad spirits juss like dem ones in Guyana. Dey mek life hard.

I hear Charandas voting in the Canada elections on October 21. Hope they include him in the house to house registration.

The only place the wicked PNC wants to include Charandas is in the obituaries.

Trump is a SKONT , the Whiteman great. Remember he is an Orange Orangutan!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You see!  Ayuh coolies eazz haaad!    Ayuh rass hope Trump stay around.  Jagdeo should make a oil deal with Trump promising all Guyana oil at market price.

Trump is a deal maker. He fired Bolton so he can do a deal with Iran!