Just over six years after the 1823 Demerara Revolt monument was unveiled, the caretaker APNU+ AFC Coalition is moving to spend millions more on a new monument.

In August 2013, the 1823 monument located opposite the Guyana Defence Force’s Headquarters on the Sea Wall road, was officially unveiled in commemoration of the 190th anniversary of the 1823 slave revolt.

This historic slave revolt took place on Plantation Success, East Coast of Demerara on August 18, 1823 and quickly spread to other estates. It was led by freedom fighters such as Quamina, Parris, Hamilton, Achilles and many others, who struck a mighty blow against the system of plantation slavery.

It was the second of only two major slave revolts in Guyana’s history, occurring 60 years after that of 1763 in Berbice, then a Dutch colony. The monument was sculpted by Guyanese, Ivor Thom.

A ground breaking ceremony for the second 1823 monument is set for Sunday, September 8, 2019, at Parade Ground, Georgetown. The caretaker Coalition government has not explained its decision to construct a second 1823 monument – more so at a time when it has fallen with the passage of a no-confidence motion.

• mceclip0

These government Black ppl missing the significance about the 1823 Demerara Rebellion. And Quamina was never involved in it, he tried talking them out of it. In the end, he agreed. But he was never involved in the Rebellion, his son was. Quamina had the last name of Gladstone, the same Gladstone who introduced indentureship to British Guiana.

It was a rebellion started by Church going slaves and was also put down by Church going House Slaves. What's to celebrate about that? 

However, it was the punishment meeted out to the slaves at the Parade Grounds and the murder of John Smith that irated the British Public, boycott of West Indian product and the opening of markets to Indian products that forced the British Parliament to consider ending of West Indian Slavery. 

How about spending some of that money on education, health care and providing employment for the disadvantaged? Let the damn monument go to hell with it. Where are the priorities of the Kim Jung Un????

Do not insult Kin Jung Un. Those bastards are beyond retarded!!!

These government Black ppl missing the significance about the 1823 Demerara Rebellion. And Quamina was never involved in it, he tried talking them out of it. In the end, he agreed. But he was never involved in the Rebellion, his son was. Quamina had the last name of Gladstone, the same Gladstone who introduced indentureship to British Guiana.

It was a rebellion started by Church going slaves and was also put down by Church going House Slaves. What's to celebrate about that? 

However, it was the punishment meeted out to the slaves at the Parade Grounds and the murder of John Smith that irated the British Public, boycott of West Indian product and the opening of markets to Indian products that forced the British Parliament to consider ending of West Indian Slavery. 

Can you source this information about Quamina and the rebellion? 

Thank you.

Can you source this information about Quamina and the rebellion? 

Thank you.

Most of that information was assembled by me back in 1979. I did a West Indian History Course as an Elective. The University Library had a collection of books on the Colony. I did a study beyond what was necessary, looking for information and putting it together.

Maybe Google would have something. I believe Odeen Ishmael may have written on the Demerara Rebellion. He wrote extensively on Guiana.  

Hey hey hey...PNC tekkin care of dem mattie...bTW how come PPP na deh put de monument there? dat is where dem should it from de begining. It look like one of dem pushers and hustler deh give BJ de wrong advice and he open heself foh criticism how he na like blackman...hey hey hey. 

Caretaker Govt guh do WTF the want.  Dem gatt the GDF and 600 US troops and oil on the horizon.  And ayuh PPP gatt good friends in Iran!  Ayuh run deh fun help!!

PPP is just one fked up bunch!  Ayuh contrarian, ayuh does pick dogs and hope you get a pony!

The metamorphosis has begun

Or maybe exxon knows how to deal with black leaders. They have lots of experience from their dealings in Africa. Just like Africa only a few will get rich, the rest get screwed.

I actually meant Baseman doing his change over, slowly from red coat to green.

Nah.. he went deep green then  to red, then to light green, then back to red and now like he swinging .. 

give he sometime if Shuman doesn’t wanna take his advice.. we gon see 

Images (2)
  • mceclip1
  • mceclip0

The Base always go with the flow. Path of less resistance. Either that or a woman’s influence. 😀

Dah solfish story maybe true nuh

The Base is the real McCoy. 😀

This is the story of you cane cutter class.  That’s why Ayuh run like fools for two generations behind jackass Jagan chanting death to America, long live the Almighty Soviet Union!! Meanwhile America put Blackman to rule you dunces.  Then all Ayuh run from Blackman into the arms of the “Great Satan”.  Then the Americans released you from PNC prison and ayuh seh thanks America.  Then Ayuh get lil wings and start flirting with America’s enemies....AGAIN!!  But the Blackman staan easy and watch you big mouth dunces go over the cliff with the PPP..... AGAIN!!

Now Ayuh watching PNC hauling Ayuh by Ayuh asses, and Ayuh hoping the “Great Satan” ride into the rescue....AGAIN!

Keep hoping Ayuh ingrates!  Ayuh stupid, they cooperated with kicking the PPP in 2015, why will they put them back with the same anti-American Cabal!

You dumb fools, tek duh bubu out Ayuh eyes and start smelling the coffee!

PPP did ayuh cane cutters in.....AGAIN!!!

Swing voter tarassss

SWINGER BASE!!

Cyaar Ayuh ungrateful rass.  Go invest in CGX!  Dookie will get a PNC contract and turbocharged it to $10.  But yuh guh still cuss Blackman!!

Base you make Iman feel lef out, what no cussin up for I? I hope dem guys take yo advice though.... dah coffee wake you up an now you bouncin like a kangaroo with excitement, hehehe

Who going to Guyana?  Jetblue have daily nonstop flights starting April.

Come leh we guh nuh Bibi gyal, come leh we guh Bibi gyal, come leh abie guh ah Demeraraaa!!

Base you make Iman feel lef out, what no cussin up for I? I hope dem guys take yo advice though.... dah coffee wake you up an now you bouncin like a kangaroo with excitement, hehehe

Ah coming pon yuh Putagee rass soon!  Me focus now izz deeze cane cuttahs!!

This is the story of you cane cutter class.  That’s why Ayuh run like fools for two generations behind jackass Jagan chanting death to America, long live the Almighty Soviet Union!! Meanwhile America put Blackman to rule you dunces.  Then all Ayuh run from Blackman into the arms of the “Great Satan”.  Then the Americans released you from PNC prison and ayuh seh thanks America.  Then Ayuh get lil wings and start flirting with America’s enemies....AGAIN!!  But the Blackman staan easy and watch you big mouth dunces go over the cliff with the PPP..... AGAIN!!

Now Ayuh watching PNC hauling Ayuh by Ayuh asses, and Ayuh hoping the “Great Satan” ride into the rescue....AGAIN!

Keep hoping Ayuh ingrates!  Ayuh stupid, they cooperated with kicking the PPP in 2015, why will they put them back with the same anti-American Cabal!

Sometimes I want to believe you have multiple personalities.

WTR you mean?  I always tell Ayuh that Ayuh hero Jagan put we up shit creek.  Same PPP wuh mek America prefer the PNC again!

Izz ayuh arrogance and stupidness cazz this!!

Using the same East West analogy to explain the fall of the PPP government in 2015 is way far-fetched. It's not applicable in this case.  If we can find evidence that the CIA used its financial resources and other subtle methods to remove the government then I would go as far to say that the PPP was pushed out of office. I would be more inclined to believe the oil companies provided funding for the AFC/APNU campaign to remove the government to get a sweeter oil deal.  The PNC's history does not say that capturing power at any cost is unacceptable to them.  

To harshly criticize the US once in two decades does not transform the county into anti-American State.  Ideology is no longer an issue for the US in Guyana. You can argue that it could be that the Obama administration wanted to see Blacks in power. 

What you have said if Bharat was receiving medical treatment in Cuba while president?  Why the US does not hate the PNC for having a very close relationship with the Cuba? The PNC supported Cuban intervention in Southern Africa and provided financial support to Communist parties such as SWAPO, ANC, and the one led by Mugabe. 

Ayuh could hide ayuh face in the mud and pretend yuh nah see nuttin'.

I'm sure the CIA killed that Iranian diplomat in Guyana.  It was done during the exploration for uranium.  That was some freaking bold-face antagonistic move by the PPP knowing full well how the US feels about Iran's nuke ambitions.

This is why PPP will make ayuh get kicked over and over. You talking just like them PYO Bannaz I went to school with.

Dem got nuff hot mouth and bold face with rice and dal.  Why would the US trust ayuh with a strategic resource like oil!  The US is counting on Guyana oil as part of "their" portfolio to control energy.  And that's a key mission of Trump.  They ain't guh put it at risk...and the PNC will allow the US to use Guyana as a base against Venez!

Ayuh cuss the White man more.  Dem guh put Black man to squat pon ayuh head!!

I'm sure the CIA killed that Iranian diplomat in Guyana.  It was done during the exploration for uranium.  That was some freaking bold-face antagonistic move by the PPP knowing full well how the US feels about Iran's nuke ambitions.

This is why PPP will make ayuh get kicked over and over. You talking just like them PYO Bannaz I went to school with.

Dem got nuff hot mouth and bold face with rice and dal.  Why would the US trust ayuh with a strategic resource like oil!  The US is counting on Guyana oil as part of "their" portfolio to control energy.  And that's a key mission of Trump.  They ain't guh put it at risk...and the PNC will allow the US to use Guyana as a base against Venez!

You better stop writing crap here before the CIA put you where you belong.

No honey dawling.  I’m a sovereign citizen in this great democracy run by the great DJ Trump!!   It was a professional job done on a top diplomat of a major country.  If not CIA, then Mosad.

Don’t bother with that cane cutter who liked your post.  He cuss Trump daily but likes flipping properties here because the economy is great.  He cuss the PNC but loves CGX. PNC inserted a Put under CGX so he will make money but still cuss the PNC.  Talk about eating yuh dal and boring the plate!!

Dawling, the PPP messed up that’s why the PNC is in power.  I have inside sources, the PNC had been hoodwinked.

You should not be like those cane cutters and coolies. You used to dress up and go to Horse Races when that was an elite event!  You are an Indian!  PPP messed with America again and our people will pay the price.

And don’t bother with that BRB banna, he sounds like a dunce!