https://guyanatimesgy.com/pres...attention-to-youths/

as he officially opens FORCE

President David Granger on Thursday officially opened the Foundation for Real Christian Education (FORCE) located at Lot 4 Victoria Village, East Coast Demerara (ECD).

President David Granger receives the Village’s 177th anniversary commemorate stamp from Evelyn Bacchus, the oldest resident of Victoria Village

The President commended the Principal of the vocational centre, Desmond Saul, for his hard work in ensuring that the youth of Victoria Village benefit from skills training. The Head of State called for emphasis to be placed on youth not in employment, education or training (NEET).
“NEET is a person not in education, employment and training. We need to pay attention to persons who are not in education, employment or training and to some extent I expect FORCE is going to be committed to ensuring persons who are not in education, employment or training are given employment and education,” the President stated.

The Foundation for Real Christian Education (FORCE) located in Victoria Village, ECD

Further, Granger also committed to assisting the school with solar panels. He reminded that Victoria Village is regarded widely as Guyana’s first coastland village and that education, next to economic liberation, was the greatest gift freed slaves received.
“African-Guyanese embraced education as a means of providing a better life for themselves, their families and future generations. They supported the establishment of social institutions for education and religious instruction, including by providing lands for building churches and schools,” the President said.
He told the attendees that education “unlocks opportunities for employment, empowerment and enterprise, and promotes greater equality. It lifts people out of poverty. It inculcates values and teaches the skills necessary for economic development”.
The President called for the village to be restored to a central place in education. He noted that the raising of a child involves interactions with and the support of the entire community. “The village has an essential role in education,” President Granger said adding that “education is a shared responsibility”.

Principal of the Foundation for Real Christian Education Desmond Saul

“Villages, collectively, should bear and share responsibility for the education of children because the most important thing, apart from family, is the education of the child.
Villages should ensure that every child is in school. Government’s policy is to provide for every child to access to education, to attend school and to graduate from school. The foundational principle of this policy is ‘Every child in school (ECIS)’,” President Granger said.
It is the President’s vision to see a school in every village in the future and in order for this to materialise, he believes that there must be a model of education which imparts a greater role for entire communities, including churches, in the public educational system.
“The Foundation for Real Christian Education exemplifies that model. It embeds education in the community, holding classes in the community and offering courses that respond to the needs of the community; encourages village involvement in education to ensure school attendance and improve closer relations between teachers and parent; enhances village life with skills for economic empowerment and entrepreneurship; equips young men and women with practical skills to enable them to secure employment; and establishes partnerships with institutions such as the Board of Industrial Training and the Regional Democratic Council,” the Head of State said.
As he declared the Foundation open, the President said it enfolds households, imparts education and involves local stakeholders as he recommended the Foundation’s model of village, church and school collaboration to deliver education effectively.
He reminded the attendees that with the expected petroleum revenues, the Government of Guyana will ensure that free tertiary education is restored. President Granger reminded that Guyana must not only boast of universal primary education, but also universal secondary education.
Saul, in outlining the history of the Foundation, said he returned to Guyana in 2002 after living overseas for a number of years. A Victorian, Saul said in October 2003, he utilised the old GRECO building to provided remedial education to youth who were dropping out of the formal education system.
“I sought to make a difference in the lives of the underprivileged youths. I received support from the United Kingdom, Canada, the United States and that helped to pay the stipends given to volunteers,” he recounted.
Further, he thanked the Government of Guyana through the Ministry of Communities and the Board of Industrial Training (BIT) for providing support.
“Through this Foundation, we want to enrich the lives of youth as well as senior citizens,” Saul said while also thanking his family for their unwavering support. “This building is a monument to the love of God,” he said.
Meanwhile, the oldest resident of Victoria Village, Evelyn Bacchus, presented the Village’s 177th anniversary commemorative stamp to President Granger.
Students who attend the Foundation benefit from training in welding, motor mechanics, home economics, sewing and information technology. The courses last from 16 weeks to as long as one year. There are approximately 40 students enrolled in the short courses while approximately 25 are enrolled in the one-year courses.
Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Karen Cummings, Retired Justice Donald Trotman, and Brigadier Edward Collins, former Chief of Staff of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF), also attended the opening ceremony.

What a great remarks from a President identifying one race “ African “ in providing education and family values. A foundation that uses religion ‘ Christianity “  to built peace and love. 

Note the colour of the building “green “ same colour as the Coalition parties as well as all government ministries. 

The village next door, had a mosque that was bomb by Blacks in the 60s ... a few years ago, a collie man from Enmore rebuild that mosque from scratch with his own finances for the residence who are 99 percent blacks, no identity was given as to what race should empower themselves.

What a way to go Mr care taker President.  

“African-Guyanese embraced education as a means of providing a better life for themselves, their families and future generations. They supported the establishment of social institutions for education and religious instruction, including by providing lands for building churches and schools,” the President said.

The residents of Victoria Village should ask him why he doesn't follow his own advise instead of gravitating only to old people who have long passed their age of usefulness.

Wah de razz wrang wid yuh, yuh goan get ole wan day.

The residents of Victoria Village should ask him why he doesn't follow his own advise instead of gravitating only to old people who have long passed their age of usefulness.

Wah de razz wrang wid yuh, yuh goan get ole wan day.

Meh kno. Meh oney pointing out ole man Granger's hypocrisy.

What Mr Granger seh is fine. Is true black peopkle use education foh leave dem village foh de urban city. What wrong wid dat? De labba go pepper dem though when dem seh Indoes didnt gat right foh move in city and Indoes tek dem land. Me wonder who tek Ronnie Reflux and green sali land? Hey hey hey...

Me doubt dem ever had any land in Guyana. Based on dem arguments, dem land wuz in Afrika and dem wuz forcefully taken from dem land to another person's land dat dem know nuttin about?

Bai after emancipation free black peopkle save money and buy nuff, nuff land all over de east coast and berbice. Nuff land...dis is know fact.

sachin_05 posted:

I remember when PNC won the election in 2015 in the mad rush one a dem coolie bai trip ronan so he end up wid landd….. https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...hind-diamond-scheme/

Is dem WPA/PNC/ACDA activis who organise dem action. Dem seh how PPP only gee coolie land...hey hey hey...and how coolie peopkle tek dem ancesta land...hey hey hey. Dem ting dis gat wan reason behind...ask abie one love ronnie and caribJ...hey hey hey...

Bai after emancipation free black peopkle save money and buy nuff, nuff land all over de east coast and berbice. Nuff land...dis is know fact.

Okay. So dem buy land and Indos buy land tuh. So whah dem complaining about? Nobody tek dem land from dem.

In April 1840 Buxton Village was established on the East Coast, Demerara,British Guiana by 128 Africans who had been freed from chattel slavery on August 1st, 1838. The Africans pooled their money and bought a 500-acre plantation, New Orange Nassau from its owner James Archibald Holmes, for $50,000. They named the village Buxton in honour of abolitionist Thomas Fowell Buxton. Buxton was the second village established by Africans in British Guiana.

Victoria Village, also on the East Coast of Demerara was purchased in November 1839, by a group of 83 formerly enslaved Africans.    

https://guyaneseonline.net/201...ast-demerara-guyana/

This is only two, there are more.

In April 1840 Buxton Village was established on the East Coast, Demerara,British Guiana by 128 Africans who had been freed from chattel slavery on August 1st, 1838. The Africans pooled their money and bought a 500-acre plantation, New Orange Nassau from its owner James Archibald Holmes, for $50,000. They named the village Buxton in honour of abolitionist Thomas Fowell Buxton. Buxton was the second village established by Africans in British Guiana.

Victoria Village, also on the East Coast of Demerara was purchased in November 1839, by a group of 83 formerly enslaved Africans.    

Django,

I my great grandfather bought thousands of acres of lands from the Dobsons of London in the 1920s. My grandmother married a man in Paradise and later moved to Buxton.  My great grandfather raised over dozens black orphans and send them off with a couple of cattle when they became adults.  

Django,I

my great grandfather bought thousands of acres of lands from the Dobsons of London in the 1920s. My grandmother married a man in Paradise and later moved to Buxton. 

My great grandfather raised over dozens black orphans and send them off with a couple of cattle when they became adults.  

That's good, kudos to your great grandfather.

Okay. So dem buy land and Indos buy land tuh. So whah dem complaining about? Nobody tek dem land from dem.

Doh is one hard matter foh understand. 

Based on whose arguments. There is a well known narrative that former slaved acquired failed plantations and built villages.   There is also another narrative that the colonial entities taxed them heavily and refused to provide drainage, and flooded out these villages, then refused to sell additional lands as the need for this was necessitated.  Indians did NOT go through this abuse.

So sit down, shut your swine mouth and learn something!

In fact the authorities did take the land away from them and wanted them to FAIL.  Your lot were given well drained lands in land settlement schemes.

Now make yourself useful and go feed the swine!

Victoria used to have a lot of Indos and Portuguese living there.  In the 1964 riots every single one of them was driven out.  Many of their homes and businesses burned to the ground.  There was the Sayroo family who had a huge bakery.  Giving food to many who couldn’t afford to buy.  Today they have survived and built another Sayroo bakery in Tampa, Fl.  The ashes of their home left far behind in Victoria.

Your story is not correct. I personally asked Sayroo about your story the last time you mentioned it. He said that you’re full of shyte.

The Sayroo  then move to Enmore and continue their business from there.

In fact the authorities did take the land away from them and wanted them to FAIL.  Your lot were given well drained lands in land settlement schemes.

Can you elaborate where or when coolies were given land? Post some facts like Dyango like how the Buxton and Victoria were obtain by blacks for cash. I can show  of copies transport, leases and grant  of all of more than 800 acres of my grandfather properties that was pass down to this current generation. None of it was "given"..

He use to tell us as kids how he started out with a bull cart and transport sea shells from the sea bank to build railway embankment. He eventually made enough money and bought a dump truck, burn clay bricks heap and supply not only rail but the public road at the time was red brick road. I am sure many here can tell their own success stories that does not include Government hand out.

If you know of any hand outs you are welcome to post it..

Last edited by sachin_05

What authorities take land from Africa. Some Africa’s sold their land to Indians and Burnham took the land away and give to blacks. It was Desmond Hoyte who instructed Col Chabby to have the land return to Indos. 

Now the only swine Kaz should feed is YOU. 

The Sayroo  then move to Enmore and continue their business from there.

That’s correct.  

sachin_05 posted:

Can you elaborate where or when coolies were given land? Post some facts like Dyango like how the Buxton and Victoria were obtain by blacks for cash. I can show  of copies transport, leases and grant  of all of more than 800 acres of my grandfather properties that was pass down to this current generation. None of it was "given"..

He use to tell us as kids how he started out with a bull cart and transport sea shells from the sea bank to build railway embankment. He eventually made enough money and bought a dump truck, burn clay bricks heap and supply not only rail but the public road at the time was red brick road. I am sure many here can tell their own success stories that does not include Government hand out.

If you know of any hand outs you are welcome to post it..

Cribby is always making shit up so it is never a good idea to expend too much time and energy on his statements.

What authorities take land from Africa. Some Africa’s sold their land to Indians and Burnham took the land away and give to blacks. It was Desmond Hoyte who instructed Col Chabby to have the land return to Indos. 

The land that Burnham Belfield house is built on was taken from a man from Victoria whose name is Kissoon Dyal. Their was also the popular Victoria Girls School which was built by the British.

What authorities take land from Africans. Some Africans sold their land to Indians and Burnham took the land away and give to blacks. It was Desmond Hoyte who instructed Col Chabby to have the land return to Indos. 

Why worry with what people like Cribby say? They are grossly irrelevant. With all their pontifications, they can't bring themselves to doing the decent thing of insisting that the PNC for once obey the law the way all civilized people do.

The land that Burnham Belfield house is built on was taken from a man from Victoria whose name is Kissoon Dyal. Their was also the popular Victoria Girls School which was built by the British.

The kind of behavior that Guyanese blacks including the ones who post here wholeheartedly endorse.

Your story is not correct. I personally asked Sayroo about your story the last time you mentioned it. He said that you’re full of shyte.

Eh, eh...hey hey hey...yu know Miss Ivy too...wow dis GNI wurl is a small wurl...yuh defendin yuh PNC bais dem 

I was never a member of any political party in Guyana. I'm not like you and Uncle DG kissin PNC ass fuh lil wuk. So you runnin back home to the PPP this time around in a last ditch effort to get lil ministuh wuk? Yuh really desperate bhai, especially with oil money lying around. Miss Ivy is a serial liar like a few others here. Always making up some Anansi story and scandalizing people name. What is there to be gained from telling lies on a nondescript internet site? The last time she mentioned this, I was in Sayroo's bakery shortly afterwards. He told me that none of their property was ever burned. They moved to Enmore but it had nothing to do with a loss of property. The only thing he said that was burned was probably a few cheese rolls he left too long in the oven.

Cheese Roll eh. I wasn’t born in the sixties, but I recall early 80s, cheese was a scarce item. I never see cheese roll at the Saroo bakery. 

Gonna asked my dad about this Sayroo bakery bun down thing .. check me back tom marning fo wan update. 

Cheese Roll eh. I wasn’t born in the sixties, but I recall early 80s, cheese was a scare item. I never see cheese roll at the Saroo bakery. 

Gonna asked my dad about this Sayroo bakery bun down thing .. check me back tom marning fo wan update. 

Not only was cheese scarce in the early 80's but so was butter, flour, oil, gasoline, cooking gas, peas, and the list of scarce and unavailable commodities go on endlessly. Heck even things that Guyana produced like rice, sugar, fruits and vegetables were scarce. PNC boastful record that they are repeating now.

Cheese Roll eh. I wasn’t born in the sixties, but I recall early 80s, cheese was a scare item. I never see cheese roll at the Saroo bakery. 

Not only was cheese scarce in the early 80's but so was butter, flour, oil, gasoline, cooking gas, peas, and the list of scarce and unavailable commodities go on endlessly. Heck even things that Guyana produced like rice, sugar, fruits and vegetables were scarce. PNC boastful record that they are repeating now.

I would have believed Mars if he had said the end of the buns, ( called scraps)  which we would buy in plastic bags and have it with milk. 

The Sayroo were two brothers, know one of the son .. name Mitra and a daughter Sharda ( Sharda in my class at Primary School) sweet fair skin chick .  

I would have believed Mars if he had said the end of the buns, ( called scraps)  which we would buy in plastic bags and have it with milk. 

The Sayroo were two brothers, know one of the son .. name Mitra and a daughter Sharda ( Sharda in my class at Primary School) sweet fair skin chick .  

I don't know the Sayroos  but if Nagamootoo can pretend the PNC didn't bust he ass good a proper back in the 60's and 70's why wouldn't a Sayroo do the same?

You don't believe that Sayroo's bakery was baking cheese rolls in the 60's because there was a shortage of cheese in the 80's. Do you understand how stupid of an argument that is? You do realize that there is a 20 year difference between the 60's and the 80's and there was an abundance of cheese in Guyana during the 60's? The man still makes a good cheese roll today. In any case, I know what Mr. Sayroo told me and I'd believe him any day over Bibi who's known to be a compulsive liar. She didn't even challenge what I said because she knows that she was caught in a lie. She posted in this thread afterwards and ran away with her tail between her legs without even a little whimper. 

Anyone know Sterling Products was making "Cheese" ? now what so difficult for producing that product in Guyana ? seems folks always thinks foreign products are better so banana republics becomes importers.

Cheese was scarce unless you had contacts in KSI or was a PNC somebody.  I collected a 5 lb slab every month from my KSI buddy!   But I openly supported Liberator.  I also got 25 lb wheat flour, but that was a different story!

I thought even the KSIs were scarce by the early 80's.