GECOM Chairman Claudette Singh flanked by (left to right) PPP-aligned election commissioners Robeson Benn, Bibi Shadick, and Sase Gunraj and pro-coalition commissioners Charles Corbin, Vincent Alexander and Desmond Trotman

President David Granger is Thursday scheduled to meet with the seven-member Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), ahead of a possible announcement of an elections date in December, officials confirmed.

A well-placed official said the talks are slated for 10 am at the Ministry of the Presidency and is linked to his imminent naming of an election date.

Demerara Waves Online News has learnt that Guyanese might be going to the polls around mid-December.

That’s three months later than September 18, the date the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) says the elections must now be held since the Caribbean Court of Justice validated last December’s no-confidence motion. That political party is maintaining that it would not give its support for a two-thirds parliamentary extension of the life of the government.

Noting that the parliamentary recess lasts from August 10 to October 10, Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon, said the naming of an election date this month depends on the political situation. “Whether in fact the President will do anything with respect to the Parliament will be determined by the issues which arise politically and which will be addressed at the appropriate time,” he said.

Indications are that the Guyanese leader will be seeking an update from the Commission and the Chief Elections Officer, Keith Lowenfield on the status of house-to-house registration and preparations for general and regional elections.

GECOM had already stated at the start of house-to-house registration that preparations for an early poll had also begun.

It is unclear whether the pro-coalition election commissioners will back down from their original position that the registration exercise is absolutely necessary for a credible voters list and free, fair and transparent elections or they will agree to reactivate and scour the existing list of registrants through an intensive claims and objections period.

After their first meeting with recently-appointed GECOM Chairperson, Retired Justice Claudette Singh, the pro-coalition trio did not commit itselfto clinging to house-to-house registration as the only means of cleaning up the voters list. “The issue of sanitisation of the list is not a matter in question. At the moment, whenever the issues reach the table, the commissioners will look at all the factors at that point in time and determine what is the best way forward. At the moment, that matter is in progress, being executed, and at the time when we are faced with making a decision, all the factors will be taken into consideration at that time…The Chairman will make a determination of that,” elections commissioner Vincent Alexander has said.

Earlier Wednesday, Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon gave no immediate indication of whether he envisaged an appeal if the High Court next week rules that the house-to-house registration exercise will collide with the holding of electionsby September 18, 2019 timeframe within which Chief Justice Roxane George-Wiltshire has already said elections should be held.

Attorney General Basil Williams said if the PPP does not support an extension of the life of the government, the President would remain in office until general and regional elections are held.

President Granger has acknowledged, in keeping with the Caribbean Court of Justice’s decision that validated the no-confidence motion, that his administration is in “caretaker” mode and would not, among other things, pass a National Budget for next year.

Since coming to office in May, 2015, the Granger-led administration has tabled and passed the next year’s national budget late in the last quarter of the preceding year.

Harmon on Wednesday said the interim status of the government has also seen a cut in non-essential overseas travel by the President ministers and no signing of new deals that would bind the administration after the next general elections.

I saw on the PPP FB page that BJ learned of this meeting from the media. The Chairwoman of GECOM never saw it fit to inform the opposition nor offer a similar invitation!

what you think?

It seems GECOM reaches its target with the H2H registration in helping this hapless Government rig the election. 

The new Chairwoman has not suspended the registration pending a review, but sat in office for almost a week and allowed the illegal registration to continue. 

While all this is going on. PNC is busy spending millions in Linden and forget Berbice is part of Guyana. 

I saw on the PPP FB page that BJ learned of this meeting from the media. The Chairwoman of GECOM never saw it fit to inform the opposition nor offer a similar invitation!

what you think?

Interesting. First slap in BJ face. 

The kick in his balls coming soon. 

When I say Guyana is on the precipice of a crisis never witnessed before, people (like Prince) say nuff talk!

I tell you this, the stakes have never been higher and the conflict in Guyana will take of regional and international dimension.  Prepare for the long haul!

The PNC have the GDF as their strategic hedge however, I do not believe the PPP are without options.

I don’t blame BJ except for having a donkey for President, which turned off a lot of swing voters.  This makes Granger’s job easier!

When I say Guyana is on the precipice of a crisis never witnessed before, people (like Prince) say nuff talk!

I tell you this, the stakes have never been higher and the conflict in Guyana will take of regional and international dimension.  Prepare for the long haul!

The PNC have the GDF as their strategic hedge however, I do not believe the PPP are without options.

I don’t blame BJ except for having a donkey for President, which turned off a lot of swing voters.  This makes Granger’s job easier!

Base, in your view, what options does the PPP have now.

Not only is the swing voters BJ turning off, but PPP supporters will stay away from the polls, that’s the vibes from the PPP strong hold areas. 

Why is that fool Alexander calling Singh Chairman? Doesn’t he have enough common sense to know she is a chairwoman? 

No he does not. He studied at sophia university!!

Why is that fool Alexander calling Singh Chairman? Doesn’t he have enough common sense to know she is a chairwoman? 

How about “Chairperson”. This is neutral language for both genders.

It seems GECOM reaches its target with the H2H registration in helping this hapless Government rig the election. 

The new Chairwoman has not suspended the registration pending a review, but sat in office for almost a week and allowed the illegal registration to continue. 

While all this is going on. PNC is busy spending millions in Linden and forget Berbice is part of Guyana. 

GECOM Chairwoman, awaiting the Court verdict of Ram's challenge to H2H.

Ok . Thanks. 

what you think?

On Granger’s feet rests Jagdeo’s head. My predictions are coming true, one by one.

Not only is the swing voters BJ turning off, but PPP supporters will stay away from the polls, that’s the vibes from the PPP strong hold areas.

Dave, I do not agree with your assessment. I have travelled Guyana extensively since the ncv and I think that the support of the ppp has solidified in spite of having Irfan as the candidate.  Things are bad for lots of people, the afc has lost credibility and has lost its supporters, some of the undecided have come to the PPP because of the government’s response to losing the ncv, and they do not trust a new third party, in spite of the supposedly guarantees offered. My opinion.

Z

You asking a PNC man to give PPP options? Well that’s audacious.

Dondadda posted:

what you think?

On Granger’s feet rests Jagdeo’s head. My predictions are coming true, one by one.

Guys please don’t listen to lies.  The PPP Commissioners led by Bibi Shadick are involved in this meeting.

Giving pep talk to a women’s group about “Women in Wall Street”, when you are just the coffee maker.... that’s audacious!

A coffeemaker is still a job. Once you make an honest living, there is nothing to be ashamed about. No job is too menial. Someone has to do it.

Why u always on dat guy bone. Yuh like mek trouble nah?

what you think?

It’s on the PPP FB page where BJ said he “read the Demerara Waves report” and he will also be requesting a similar meeting!

I cannot post it from work!

what you think?

Jagdeo is no longer a logical person. Everything in his mind is suspicious. Then he injected his belief in the media and his dhall belly supporters on GNI accepted it as words inspired by God. The coolie mentality kicks in.

what you think?

Jagdeo is no longer a logical person. Everything in his mind is suspicious. Then he injected his belief in the media and his dhall belly supporters on GNI accepted it as words inspired by God. The coolie mentality kicks in.

A moron analyzing coolies and politicians in Guyana. God help us. Hope he doesn't try to run for public office.

A coffeemaker is still a job. Once you make an honest living, there is nothing to be ashamed about. No job is too menial. Someone has to do it.

??

She miss the big bone!!   That’s why!!

Still? Nahhhhh!

what you think?

A moron analyzing coolies and politicians in Guyana. God help us. Hope he doesn't try to run for public office.

The banna right.

what you think?

The banna right.

Goes to show your putagee hate for coolies.

what you think?

The banna right.

If that is how you see it then you are one of those dhall belly skonts he mentioned.

what you think?

The banna right.

If that is how you see it then you are one of those dhall belly skonts he mentioned.

I might be a dhall belly skoant in your head. However, I was never a dope addict or crack head. 

what you think?

The banna right.

I might be a dhall belly skoant in your head. However, I was never a dope addict or crack head. 

Good for you I am neither of the three, you are the first one though, got me beat.

??

Why are you people even bothering with this piece of shit who has nothing to do with his life but hangs out here on GNI to pass the day.

??

Why are you people even bothering with this piece of shit who has nothing to do with his life but hangs out here on GNI to pass the day.

Hey coffee girl.  Have you checked how much posting you do here all day vs me.  I do stop in and make short posts on my phone.

You better thank god for GNI or you would be six feet under.  

I have been on GNI and left after 15 years.  Hardly impacted me either way.  Had it not been for you posting lies about me, I would not be back here.  Other than that, I could care less, coffee girl!  Seems GNI was your missing link to fame!

Talking about 6 feet under, how’s the guy with the broken neck?

what you think?

This was the FB post I read indicating BJ was unaware of this meeting.  Why would he respond that way if the PPP rep had attended the meeting!

Peoples Progressive Party/Civic
16 hrs ·

The Leader of the Opposition offered the following comment to a reporter when pressed for a response to the Demerara Waves article attached:

"I read the Demerara Waves story that you alluded to. I am glad that the entire Commission is meeting with the President. As the holder of the constitutional office of Leader of the Opposition I intend to request a meeting with the Commission. I expect the Chairperson and Commissioners will want to hear our views too.
As regards the President naming a date in mid December for elections, that would mean that the President will be acting in flagrant disregard of the CCJ’s ruling and in violation of Article 106 of our Constitution. If this is true it would seem that it is designed to influence the use of what we know would be flawed list, emerging from a rushed, unscrutinized house-to-house registration exercise that will deregister tens of thousands of Guyanese voters. This will result in chaos in Guyana.
GECOM should be guided not by the unilateral action or unconstitutional desire of the President but by the Primary law of our country."

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, people standing and text