Virgin Atlantic exploring Guyana route

…as KLM introduces new Europe route with Trans Guyana

As the local aviation sector continues to expand with the influx of traffic heading Guyana’s way as a result of the budding petroleum sector, United Kingdom-based Virgin Atlantic Airways is the newest airline to express interest in expanding its service to Georgetown.
This was revealed by Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson, who recently engaged top officials from Virgin Atlantic.
“They were on a Skype call to myself and Minister of Finance (Winston Jordan) on them coming here… This was the Director of the airline [with oversight for] routes. He’s going into a meeting and he would like to know what is Guyana’s position, saying he would like to put Guyana on their route for 2020,” the Minister said on Friday at the sod-turning ceremony for the construction of a new Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) headquarter at Providence, East Bank Demerara.
According to the Public Infrastructure Minister, there are two other major international airlines looking to expand their routes to Guyana.
However, on Friday, domestic carrier Trans Guyana Airways announced that it teamed up with KLM Royal Dutch Airlines – the flagship carrier of the Netherlands – to introduce a new route to Europe through Amsterdam.
The new arrangement will connect passengers to the Amsterdam International Airport Schiphol from Eugene F Correia International Airport at Ogle, East Coast Demerara, through Johan Adolf Pengel International Airport in Suriname.
With an estimated travelling time of just 12 hours, and no United States or Suriname visas required, travellers can save time when travelling to the Netherlands with further connections to other parts of Europe and Asia.
Online booking will be available from August 20, while flights will commence on September 1, 2019. Trans Guyana Airways will operate two flights weekly (Sunday and Monday) departing Ogle at 14:00h to the Paramaribo Airport. The KLM flight will then depart Suriname at 17:30h for Amsterdam.
KLM is just one of several new airlines wanting to expand their route service to Guyana.
Already, American carrier JetBlue had announced its intention to operate here, but Director General of the GCAA Egbert Field said that nothing official is before him from that airline.
With regards to Guyana Airways, he is also awaiting a formal application from the operator.
“They have been pushing back the date for the submission of that formal application so we are awaiting that. We had the pre-application meeting which is part of phase one of the five phases when it comes to certification… and the pre-application is just to say what they intend to do and we advise them on what the requirements are and then we await the formal application after they digest that… [JetBlue is] supposed to submit their formal application to us and it has been some time now we’ve been waiting for that,” the GCAA Head posited.
Meanwhile, another US carrier, American Airlines, which is already operating from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA), is schedule to expand its services here in December, with daily flights to New York City.
Only in February, Guyana signed Air Service Agreements with 16 countries at the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Air Services Negotiation (ICAN) event. The agreements are provisionally applied, meaning airlines from any of those countries can commence flights to Guyana at any time provided that the airlines are operating by the conditions outlined in the ASAs.
Agreements were signed with Luxembourg, Democratic Republic of Congo, Burkina Faso, United Kingdom, Mozambique, Sri Lanka, Cameroon, Oman, Malaysia, Jordan, Zimbabwe, Colombia, Morocco, Gambia, Rwanda, and Tanzania.

Virgin Atlantic is an upper class airline. I don't think Guyana fits in with their philosophy.

Virgin is not an upper class airline.  I think the last time Guyana had a European route was back in the days of BOAC.

This is what an upper class aircraft look like. Soon, these will be used in Guyana like how bicycles were used during the Burnham days. But native Guyanese will not be allowed to use them.

• mceclip0

Virgin Atlantic is an upper class airline. I don't think Guyana fits in with their philosophy.

Virgin is not an upper class airline.  I think the last time Guyana had a European route was back in the days of BOAC.

Do u remember what BOAC meant?

British Overseas Airways Corporation.

Dondadda posted:

Dah bai. Lol

Virgin Atlantic is upper class. They don't have business class. First class and business class is combined and called Upper Class. Their economy delux is first class

Dondadda posted:

I left Guyana in 1970 on a BOAC flight. Stokley Carmichael and Miriam Makeba were also on that flight.

Dondadda posted:

I left Guyana in 1970 on a BOAC flight. Stokley Carmichael and Miriam Makeba were also on that flight.

Lucky you.  So you missed out on the Burnham time when we had to line up for food items.

Dondadda posted:

Lucky you.  So you missed out on the Burnham time when we had to line up for food items.

I experienced some of the racist overtures before I left. Getting a job with 7 subjects GCE at a primary school was an experience. I had to ask a black fellow worker to pull some lines and eventually I got a job at the primary school(Church of Scotland) I attended.

When I took my final flight out of Guyana on Guyana Airways I sat next to Rashleigh Jackson on the plane.  We talked most of the flight but now I don’t remember what we talked about other than his son who I went to school with.

Our country will continue improving and going upwards as we progress. Many international concerns will want a piece of the pie.   This is all thanks to the capable leadership of Cde Granger and Cde Nagamootoo.  The majority of Guyanese people see this and will vote the Coalition into power in 2020.  There is no other to take Guyana forward into the future.

Zara posted:

Our country will continue improving and going upwards as we progress. Many international concerns will want a piece of the pie.   This is all thanks to the capable leadership of Cde Granger and Cde Nagamootoo.  The majority of Guyanese people see this and will vote the Coalition into power in 2020.  There is no other to take Guyana forward into the future.

Do you know the PPP is the party responsible for spearheading the oil exploration? Even the diehard PNC supporters on GNI wouldn't guarantee a PNC win this early. I believe you are an overcooked turkey for a person. 

When I took my final flight out of Guyana on Guyana Airways I sat next to Rashleigh Jackson on the plane.  We talked most of the flight but now I don’t remember what we talked about other than his son who I went to school with.

Was that the son who is a Rastafari? I heard Babylon at one time raided Jacko house looking for dope.

Zara posted:

Do you know the PPP is the party responsible for spearheading the oil exploration? Even the diehard PNC supporters on GNI wouldn't guarantee a PNC win this early. I believe you are an overcooked turkey for a person. 

Cde Prince, I read your note very carefully.  You look a person of very limited intelligence!

Zara posted:

Cde Prince, I read your note very carefully.  You look a person of very limited intelligence!

I have no intelligence, but you do understand my statement, don't you? 

Please try again.

Do you know the PPP is the party responsible for spearheading the oil exploration? Even the diehard PNC supporters on GNI wouldn't guarantee a PNC win this early.

BTW, I am not a party loyalist so I have no agenda. 

Zara posted:

Oi Zara.  Did your niece get married to Jagdeo as yet?  

Was that the son who is a Rastafari? I heard Babylon at one time raided Jacko house looking for dope.

yes, Rashleigh Jackson’s son was involved with drugs

when it became a police matter, the man immediately tendered his resignation to Burnham

old school

Rashleigh Jackson departed public life with ONLY what he earned as a public servant

unheard of in the age of Jagdeo and his money laundering, narco-trafficking, terrorist gun running, mass murdering NEPS

when it became a police matter, the man immediately tendered his resignation to Burnham

old school

Rashleigh Jackson departed public life with ONLY what he earned as a public servant

unheard of in the age of Jagdeo and his money laundering, narco-trafficking, terrorist gun running, mass murdering NEPS

Yeah I remember when Burnham touch down with a chopper in a nearby black village his own black people ask him how could he come and ask people for support when they don't have even clean reliable electricity or water to drink. His response "I don't need your vote I already voted for all of you because yall to dumb figure out how to vote" that didn't make a difference to the Ronans and  blacks who still think he is the best thing since slice bread.... 

sachin_05 posted:

old school

Yeah I remember when Burnham touch down with a chopper in a nearby black village his own black people ask him how could he come and ask people for support when they don't have even clean reliable electricity or water to drink. His response "I don't need your vote I already voted for all of you because yall to dumb figure out how to vote" that didn't make a difference to the Ronans and  blacks who still think he is the best thing since slice bread.... 

Hey hey hey...Burnham sey he could shoot a Black in the middle of Buxton and he nuh guh lose no votes.  Dem Buxtonians jump up and bowe down and sing...yeeees maaassaaa daaah iiiizz truuuue.....and Ronan jump up and do a shakeabatty!

sachin_05 posted:

old school

Hey hey hey...Burnham sey he could shoot a Black in the middle of Buxton and he nuh guh lose no votes.  Dem Buxtonians jump up and bowe down and sing...yeeees maaassaaa daaah iiiizz truuuue.....and Ronan jump up and do a shakeabatty!

“Prashad” trying to smear Rashleigh Jackson pan de sly

i provide the context showing the difference between yesterday and today

enter 2 street walkers without underwear shaking their batties at gawd-knows-what irrelevance

smfh

sachin_05 posted:

enter 2 street walkers without underwear shaking their batties at gawd-knows-what irrelevance

smfh

Bai me nah know nuttin' wuh dem saying.  Me jess mekking lil joke with the Buxton shooting tingy.  Me know the banna was with the PNC and had some Jewelry business.  Besides that, I don't know much of him or anything!

sachin_05 posted:

smfh

Bai me nah know nuttin' wuh dem saying.  Me jess mekking lil joke with the Buxton shooting tingy.  Me know the banna was with the PNC and had some Jewelry business.  Besides that, I don't know much of him or anything!

“jewelry business” . . . huh?

stop peddling ignorance

the man was a career public servant and diplomat

banna please go ask Bibi

smh

smfh

stop peddling ignorance

banna please go ask Bibi

smh

See wuh mi mean, me nah know dem people.  Me hear the name and remember some jewelry tingy.

Banna, me can't ask dah gyaal nuttin'...she guh cuss me rass!!

sachin_05 posted:

old school

smfh

Prashad not trying to smear anyone. Two kaki dressed Babylon told Prashad that they raided Jacko backyard looking for herb.

sachin_05 posted:

smfh

stop peddling ignorance

banna please go ask Bibi

smh

Rashleigh is related to the Gaskin Jackson Jewelry establishment.  Dominic Gaskin (Granger son-in-law) is a nephew.

sachin_05 posted:

smfh

stop peddling ignorance

banna please go ask Bibi

smh

Rashleigh is related to the Gaskin Jackson Jewelry establishment.  Dominic Gaskin (Granger son-in-law) is a nephew.

the man is a career public servant . . . start out teaching Maths at QC right out of sixth form before studying abroad

what's your point?

Patterson seems to always be around when there is some kind of crookedness going on.

His brother who was arrested for drug trafficking in Grenada last year is walking the streets of Georgetown a free man. It's all about who you know and how much you can pay.

Glad you asked. My point is: In addition to him being Minister of Foreign Affairs, his family owned Gaskin Jackson Jewelers.

what on earth does "his family" mean?

he was NEVER in the jewelry business

"glad you asked" my ass