https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...ity-minister-sharma/

According to Minister within the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Jaipaul Sharma, different aspects of the constructive works are between 80 percent and 97 percent complete, but there are several issues pertaining to quality of materials and work that need dire attention.
At this juncture, the Minister said that even though there are still so many quality issues, it wouldn’t make sense to terminate a contract when the project is almost complete. What Government is trying to do, he said, is to make sure it provides as much support as necessary to fix the issues.
“Whatever the contractor needs, we have to help them.”
In one case, the contract listed a sprinkler system for the Departure terminal, but Sharma said that it did not consider the fact that the top of the terminal consists of wood, which could rot very quickly if sprinklers are installed there.
Another issue, he said, is that if a particular aspect of the works requires steel rods at certain quality standards, the contractor would bring rods from China that are not up to the set quality standards. In cases like these, more rods would have to be bought than originally intended to provide the sort of strength the better quality steel would provide.
Government has found that the contractor spent more money on particular aspects of the project than what was laid out in the contract. It is unclear whether the Contractor has spent more than the total contract sum.
Minister Sharma told Kaieteur News that the Government is still in possession of some of the funds set aside for the project, and that it will not release the funds to the Contractor until the project is completed and properly done.
Government is involved in regular meetings and is in constant contact with the Contractor, its parent company in China, and the Chinese Ambassador
The contractor has agreed, he said, to hire an American company to do testing and verification of its work.
The company is expected to assess the work and send a report to Government’s consultant.
Minister Sharma said that Government will not take over the entire facility immediately, but that it will try to take over the completed sections in parts. He said that Government intends to leave some work to local contractors, like the construction of an area for offices, duty free shops, etc.
The last reported visit to the airport by Minister Sharma, according to the Ministry of Public Infrastructure’s Facebook page, was July 22 last. He had been taken on a tour by CJIA Engineer, Carrissa Goodings, and the contractor, China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC), to inspect the progress.
It has been undergoing renovations for eight years, under three administrations. The completion date has been pushed back many times. The last completion date, according to Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, was supposed to be June 30.
With US$150M (and counting) going into a renovation that some contractors say could have been done for just US$5M, Government has a lot to answer for, on that airport renovation.
It’s awful enough that the original design excluded a cargo facility, a parking lot, an office space for airlines, and a commercial centre. The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has accepted some criticism for that since the original contract was inked by Jagdeo’s administration.
He has claimed that those facilities were left out so that the construction works could be procured locally.
But now, even what was left inside that original design isn’t all there. The government claimed that when it assumed office in 2015, it noted several issues with the plan as it was.
Senior Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson, said that Government found a mere seven percent of the work done with China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC) laying claims to more than half the money –US$90M. It claimed that drastic changes needed to be made. It then made those changes and didn’t even announce them until recently.
Instead of a brand new terminal building for the Arrivals and Departures along with a longer runway, there was renovation of the old terminal buildings and a smaller structure for the Arrivals.
The number of passenger bridges has been reduced from eight to four.
The Opposition insisted that Government illegally modified the fixed price contract with CHEC.
It seems that time after time, the airport encounters some new issue. One day, it was flooding. Another, it was air bridges that were out of order. Just recently, the runway lighting system experienced failure, due to a slack cable connection.
And throughout this, travellers have been required to pay an additional fee, which is automatically included in the ticket price, and has been that way since July 1, 2019.
Minister Sharma said that a meeting will be held today, and from that, he will be able to provide a progress update, as well as the funds that have already been disbursed.

In one case, the contract listed a sprinkler system for the Departure terminal, but Sharma said that it did not consider the fact that the top of the terminal consists of wood, which could rot very quickly if sprinklers are installed there.

Lard of mercy, Guyana Politicians prapa brite..  this banna is more concern  that the fire sprinkler will damage the wood and not the fire.

I bet he doesn't know the purpose of a fire sprinkler.

Lard of mercy, Guyana Politicians prapa brite..  this banna is more concern  that the fire sprinkler will damage the wood and not the fire.

I bet he doesn't know the purpose of a fire sprinkler.

Bai, yuh know what dem seah. One rotten apple spoils de whole barrel. When yuh get too close to de PNC, yuh does get schubeedee like dem. 

Perhaps unlike the proper procedures, the PNCR government does not have its representative crew on site to continually supervise and approve works before and after each part is completed.

I said years ago during the reign of the PPP regime that dem Chinamen are gonna take we fuh a ride. There is no such thing as an honest Chinese immigrant or contractor. The PNC should demand that the contractors rectify the mistakes, or else lock them up. There are loads more Chinese contracts on the horizon, and it is a foregone conclusion that each one will be of substandard quality. That's a guarantee.

And I thought there will be CHANGE!! Who stupid done stupid whether you live in England, America or Guyana.

The PPP hired these contractors and took their bribes. The PNC has been left with the mess. Unfortunately the PNC has so many other contracts in the pipeline with Chinese criminals, it is unwilling to force the contractor to correct things at their costs. The problem is that the PPP is not going to do any better, having seen the size of the grafts from such things like the Skeldon factory fiasco.

In China if you try to rob the state then the state will shoot you. That is why the Shanghai skyline look so nice. With the exception of sending RK after these crooks Guyana don't have that option when dealing with these China Chinaman nor for that matter those crooked India Indiamen.

Mr.T posted:

I said years ago during the reign of the PPP regime that dem Chinamen are gonna take we fuh a ride. There is no such thing as an honest Chinese immigrant or contractor. The PNC should demand that the contractors rectify the mistakes, or else lock them up. There are loads more Chinese contracts on the horizon, and it is a foregone conclusion that each one will be of substandard quality. That's a guarantee.

You are dead wrong.  The Marriott building is one of the finest modern day structure in Guyana. Chinese contractors are some of the best in the world putting up structures in Dubai, Sidney, and even the US.  I.M. Pei designed some of the best buildings in the US, including the Hancock Tower in Boston.  Most recently his oeuvre d’art is Le Grand Louvre in Paris.

The level of waste and incompetence I have seen the last four years is mind boggling. What makes it worst is that it’s acceptable by a sector of the Guyanese people.

You really think the skeldon factory under the PPP was better deal for Guyanese compare to the airport?

Mr.T posted:

You are dead wrong.  The Marriott building is one of the finest modern day structure in Guyana. Chinese contractors are some of the best in the world putting up structures in Dubai, Sidney, and even the US.  I.M. Pei designed some of the best buildings in the US, including the Hancock Tower in Boston.  Most recently his oeuvre d’art is Le Grand Louvre in Paris.

Where did I.M.Pei lived and got his education ?

The level of waste and incompetence I have seen the last four years is mind boggling. What makes it worst is that it’s acceptable by a sector of the Guyanese people.

Do you live in Guyana ? there are differences between "seen and heard" .

Mr.T posted:

Recently the care taker Finance Minister Jordon credit the Chinese contractor for completing the Marriot on time with efficient labor and technology... these same SOB like their supporters on this site said it was a white elephant when the Coalition was in opposition . Today that same Marriot is a gold mine. Bloody Hypocrites . 

Django, she is damn correct, this Coalition Government make the Burnham regime looks like king , compared to what’s going on currently. 

You got to be joking !!!

Mr.T posted:

Lady, you are in dream land. Chinese contractors are known for cutting corners with substandard products. The list of failed projects are more than you can count. We now have two. Skeldon Factory should come to mind. I cannot vouch for the integrity of the Marriott but if it was Chinese built you can damn well be sure it has some defects. China harbor for example  has a long list of failed projects in the Caribbean as well

BTW, I lived in and IM  PEI building in SW DC. He built four glass buildings on Main Avenue and 2 And first and second street. They are the most shitty buildings one can imaging. I lived at 110 3 street SW for 10 years. I stayed because it was cheap. Every year you had to compensate for the August heat. I survived because Sharper Image build indoor air conditioners  and creative reflecting curtains ( against regs) 

The ugly shitty buildings on the four corners of the blocks are still there. A company named Breslin owned them. They threaten to tear them down every year but they are still there. IM Pei does have lots of successful works and is a celebrated designer but using him as a measure of Chinese competency is quite illogical.

Mainland Chinese attached to the Chinese government loaning money and doing the build out for projects in the third world is a different matter. It is a racket to leave countries heavily indebted to the chinese so they can leverage other assets. Further can point to monstrosities all over the world that are gross failures because that is what they do, cut cost via substandard build out. Even their own buildings fail often enough.

Those of us who are old enough can remember the Chinese exhibitions in Georgetown in the early 1970s. Guyanese knew then that Chinese products looked nice but they break or stop working fast.

Ksazma did you go to the Chinese exhibitions in Georgetown in the early 1970s? Lots of stuff for sale. It looks nice but bad quality.

Banna, I ain’t old like some of y’all ole farts heah. I would have been under 10 back then. 😀