https://www.inewsguyana.com/ja...political-situation/

While international organisations and other stakeholders have joined the resounding call for democracy to prevail in Guyana, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) has remained noticeably silent on the situation, which can have far-reaching consequences for other Member States.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo today called out the regional organisation for not commenting on Guyana’s situation, where a caretaker government is still functioning in its full capacity, even despite a ruling handed down by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

“I am surprised I have not even seen a statement coming from CARICOM as yet,” Jagdeo contended.

“If the region cannot respect that decision of a superior court that it created as an organ of regional integration, then the region would be found lacking.”

“We cannot be busy sending missions to Haiti when they have an interruption of constitutional rule, or Venezuela when they have a breakdown of democratic order, and here in Guyana – which is the headquarter State of CARICOM – [where] you have a government now in office that is illegally there … [CARICOM] just sits by and not say anything about it,” the Opposition Leader asserted.

“Frankly speaking, I am very, very disappointed in CARICOM,” he posited.

Only a few days ago, former government minister, Leslie Ramsammy called out CARICOM for being completely silent ever since the passage of the No Confidence Motion on December 21, 2018.

Ramsammy maintained that the Caribbean body would intervene whenever democracy is threatened and its silence in this case brings disrepute to the organisation and will also impact its position on future matters.

Already, heads of the diplomatic communities in Guyana like the USA, UK and the EU have called for the respect of the Constitution and the CCJ ruling.

CARICOM being a political organization understands the Black/Coolie divide better than non-political organizations, i.e. the CCJ. Therefore it is not surprising that they will remain silent as they would tend to look away more when a mostly black government violates the constitution than when a mostly coolie government does it. I am sure they would have been using bullhorns to scream out their condemnation if the PPP was doing even a percentage of what the wicked PNC is currently doing.

Afro unity will always defeat koolie crabdog fight up of their fellow koolie. C. Jagan is the perfect example of this. The individual had crabdog fight up of Balram to Boysie.

Indeed. A house divided is a house defeated.

Kascz, Caricom had a mouthful to say in 2015!! Those Bastards are shameless. I am pissed that Kamla and Panday and others like some Caribbean Statesmen who are not blinded by RACE being quiet!! Shame on all of them. Maybe the US Republican disease spread to the Caribbean!!

maybe they don't trust PPP either....

What trust has to do with speaking out against INJUSTICE, Disrespect for Rule of Law, insulting the Judiciary and integrity of the Caribbean. So every Caribbean Country can now disrespect the CCJ??? Thing, take a pause then write Bhai. I hope how things can get complicated for you.

Afro unity will always defeat koolie crabdog fight up of their fellow koolie. C. Jagan is the perfect example of this. The individual had crabdog fight up of Balram to Boysie.

Indeed. A house divided is a house defeated.

Can't help but agree with the man. Afros have a unity amongst them regardless if they know each other or not.

Koolie people on the other hand.....well rass bai, what can I tell yuh. Always in some dispute with each other. If is not the houseland or riceland is something tho. 

Nothing wrong with not trusting the PPP but CARICOM should not allow that to distract from a current constitutional violation. No one or party should be above the law. They should at least try to appear fair and balanced. Not like the FoxNews fair and balanced though. 

Dear Editor,

Caricom should ensure that Governments have abiding respect for human rights, the rule and law, and take action to ensure social and economic justice, should also provide proactive, visionary leadership for promoting and reinforcing the spirit and commitment to regional integration, emphasizing transparency, accountability and operational excellence within all organs and institutions of Caricom countries.

Caricom rests on four main pillars: economic integration; foreign policy coordination; human and social development; and security. “However I was shocked when Mr Pat Robinson was trying to protect Caricom for their silence and reluctance to speak out on the present political situation in Guyana.

The Caribbean Court of Justice is a creation of Caricom, despite which countries may use it as their final Court, as such Caricom must ensure that the CCJ is not being made ineffective, as such must ensure that judgement issued must be honoured and respected by all stakeholders.

The claims of Mr Pat Robinson that Caricom will continue to remain silent because they are not political is “total garbage ” since Caricom was one of the first organisations that spoken out on political situations in Guyana after the 15th December 1997 elections. In fact the then PPP/C Government has committed itself in facilitating every effort by the Caribbean Community (Caricom) to have a successful intervention of a top-level CARICOM Goodwill Mission to Georgetown, to diffuse three weeks of tension that gripped the city after the PNC rejected the poll results. The Mission, comprising eminent Barbadian Sir Henry Forde, Guyanese Sir Shridath Ramphal, and Grenadian Sir Alister McIntyre, succeeded in getting minority leader Desmond Hoyte to agree to a poll audit, among other things, to agree with President Janet Jagan.

In a press release on the 1st June 1998, (Ref#:43/1998/868), Caricom committed in playing a major role in the implementation of the Herdmanston Accord it brokered with Guyana’s political parties post 1997 elections unrest.

So the question is why Caricom suddenly became dumb, deaf and blind on the present situation that is strangling Guyana’s democracy, but reacted in three weeks during the post elections unrest in 1997. Caricom silence may remain because the PPP/C is not destructive enough to get the attention of Caricom.

Regards,

Zamal Hussain

Kascz, excuse Riff he was bust with KSI

Bai, back in dem scarce commodities days, I wish I had someone like Ray's connections at KSI. 

Knowledge Sharing Institute.

Or was it Know Somebody Inside?

You forgot Ranji Chandisingh.  Anyone who was smarter and had more clout than him had to go.  

Mi tell Ayuh several times on this site, Granger and the PNC getting hoodwinked from someone.  Dem ain’t doing wah dem doing juss suh.

I don’t trust Caricom and I don’t trust the USA.  Remember how Exxon discovered Billions of Barrels of Black gold one week after PPP got White mouth 👄?

But BJ don’t help the cause when he appointed Irfaan and everyone knows it will be him running the show.  I don’t know if BJ so over himself that he don’t see how blatant he shows his hands.

Abie leaders, starting with Cheddi dozz shoot themselves in the foot!  BJ no different!

You forgot Ranji Chandisingh.  Anyone who was smarter and had more clout than him had to go.  

Not same with BJ?  Look how he kicked poor Cuz Ralphy to the curb!!  Ralphy was too smart!!

I'll never forget how BJ transferred Odeen from the US Embassy in Washington, DC to remote, far-off places because Odeen was outshining him.

Kascz, excuse Riff he was bust with KSI

Bai, back in dem scarce commodities days, I wish I had someone like Ray's connections at KSI. 

Knowledge Sharing Institute.

Or was it Know Somebody Inside?

Best if yuh know someone inside. 😀

I'll never forget how BJ transferred Odeen from the US Embassy in Washington, DC to remote, far-off places because Odeen was outshining him.

Heard there was procrastination with his pension.

You have a cousin name Ralphy???  No wonder you hate BJ so much.

Gyaal, meh love BJ!!  

And wuh happun wid cuzzy Ralphy, you think he was too smart for BJ??

"Caricom" is "silent" because they know that the PPP wants to coerce a fraudulent election on the Guyanese people

they and their 'civil society' enablers don't really care about the election date . . . it's a smokescreen

for Jagdeo, from day 1, every effort (NCV TOPS among such) has been about extending the life of the current list

memo to the shrieking Indo-Klan: nah tek worries, the stumbling, incompetent incumbents will likely piss away any opportunity to create an honest voters roll and "help" Jagdeo's tiefmen in their desperate push to rig elections

Gocool Boodhoo must be working overtime in the Freedom House basement

smh

"Caricom" is "silent" because they know that the PPP wants to coerce a fraudulent election on the Guyanese people

they and their 'civil society' enablers don't really care about the election date . . . it's a smokescreen

for Jagdeo, from day 1, every effort (NCV TOPS among such) has been about extending the life of the current list

memo to the shrieking Indo-Klan: nah tek worries, the stumbling, incompetent incumbents will likely piss away any opportunity to create an honest voters roll and "help" Jagdeo's tiefmen in their desperate push to rig elections

Gocool Boodhoo must be working overtime in the Freedom House basement

smh

What is the honest voting list? PNC staff will be conducting the H to H registration. They will dictate who register and who ain't register. Just like they contaminated the votes in the 2015 elections, tampering with the votes. Yall smart lakka rass thought. As long as ppp look to the white man to defend their rights, blackman will continue to hammer them rass. 

You have to give the fool some credit. He didn't just do a crash course at Congress Place and then come running back to GNI to post his half baked propagandas. He actually took the whole week long indoctrination course as evidenced by his very warped posts. Claiming the PPP trying to steal elections when every decent person in the world is registering their angst at the PNC for moves that indicate they are trying to steal the elections (whenever they chose to have it).

When everyone in Guyana is forced to be out of their houses looking for ways to mind their families, who sits home and wait for a bunch of lazy people to show up to count heads present? The PNC took a 2015 situation in 2015 and regressed back to a 1985 situation in 2019. Only the wicked and incompetent PNC can pull that shit off.

You have to give the fool some credit. He didn't just do a crash course at Congress Place and then come running back to GNI to post his half baked propagandas. He actually took the whole week long indoctrination course as evidenced by his very warped posts. Claiming the PPP trying to steal elections when every decent person in the world is registering their angst at the PNC for moves that indicate they are trying to steal the elections (whenever they chose to have it).

instead of 'non-responding' to my posts

don't you have a Klan rally somewhere that you need to be preparing for banna?

now, go make yourself busy bleaching, starching and ironing your duds, and polish your presentation on "Blacks are the scourge of the world"

arite?

While international organisations and other stakeholders have joined the resounding call for democracy to prevail in Guyana, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) has remained noticeably silent on the situation, which can have far-reaching consequences for other Member States.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo today called out the regional organisation for not commenting on Guyana’s situation, where a caretaker government is still functioning in its full capacity, even despite a ruling handed down by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ).

“I am surprised I have not even seen a statement coming from CARICOM as yet,” Jagdeo contended.

“If the region cannot respect that decision of a superior court that it created as an organ of regional integration, then the region would be found lacking.”

“We cannot be busy sending missions to Haiti when they have an interruption of constitutional rule, or Venezuela when they have a breakdown of democratic order, and here in Guyana – which is the headquarter State of CARICOM – [where] you have a government now in office that is illegally there … [CARICOM] just sits by and not say anything about it,” the Opposition Leader asserted.

Only a few days ago, former government minister, Leslie Ramsammy called out CARICOM for being completely silent ever since the passage of the No Confidence Motion on December 21, 2018.

Ramsammy maintained that the Caribbean body would intervene whenever democracy is threatened and its silence in this case brings disrepute to the organisation and will also impact its position on future matters.

Already, heads of the diplomatic communities in Guyana like the USA, UK and the EU have called for the respect of the Constitution and the CCJ ruling.

Those Caribbean leaders are highly intelligent people. They are Blacks, not the average Indoes who cannot reason that the actions of Jagdeo and Irfaan are wrong for a multi-racial country. Jagdeo and Irfaan are bullies. No special reason why Granger should not be one as well.

Jagdeo wonder why Caricom doan sey something. Is he for real after he hand picked a crook for all the people of Guyana. Dem euro-centric afroes knows democracy and they much better than the African leaders of whom Jagdeo can be considered as one of dem-everything worthless.  

Those Caribbean leaders are highly intelligent people. They are Blacks, not the average Indoes who cannot reason that the actions of Jagdeo and Irfaan are wrong for a multi-racial country. Jagdeo and Irfaan are bullies. No special reason why Granger should not be one as well.

Jagdeo wonder why Caricom doan sey something. Is he for real after he hand picked a crook for all the people of Guyana. Dem euro-centric afroes knows democracy and they much better than the African leaders of whom Jagdeo can be considered as one of dem-everything worthless.  

Bai Siggy, yuh really think CARICOM isn't opining on the PNC mischief because Jagdeo "hand picked a crook for all the people of Guyana"? If you do, then you don't understand how much Caribbean blacks think Indians don't belong in the Caribbean. Heck, Caribbean blacks don't even think that whites and other races belong there too. That said, the PPP should reset and have Nandlall represent the PPP as their next presidential candidate. Look how the Coalition is still going with Nagamootoo even though Ramjattan is supposed to be their next PM candidate.