It's nice to see Irfaan Ali in African garbs amidst Afro-Guyanese on Emancipation Day. He seems to be likable as Jagdeo did in his past to receive hugs and kisses but all votes go to Granger.   I believe it is nice to take a swipe at the funnies.   

Did you notice that when Ali picked up the child and she brought her dress up, Ali immediately instinctively reached out and pulled her dress down. That is the sign of a decent man. It was so automatic to him. 

Hmmm.  No votes for Irfaan from black people. He walks through the crowds with no one looking at him.  He reaches out to shake hands and they politely do so while NOT looking at him.

Really sad.  They say if one continues to do what one has always done the results will remain the same.  Minutes before an election the PPP parades through throngs of black people, pretending as if they care about them.  Blacks refuse to support them.

And now they do so just at a time when the PPP is screaming that Haitians are taking over Guyana when it is more likely the Chinese who are! It was the PPP who allowed those built Marriott to only hire Chinese.

Where are the Haitians on Guyanese jobsites?  They are NOT there because they are NOT staying in Guyana!

My opinion is just for gigs. I supported Ali from inception, but as days go by, he doesn't seem to be connected with the masses. I believe if he is of his own free will, he can do much better. 

Are we criticizing his decision to wear an African garb?

Its one thing to put on a traditional garb of another culture and try to bond with them.

I believe this has more meaning and will be seen as more genuine if the person doing so respects his own tradition and culture. For example, Granger is a religious person. When he puts on an Indian shirt and go to a Indo church, he seems genuine because the Indos appreciate the fact that he is a religious man, and he is not being seen as a counterfeit or seen as awkward when he does so.

So this begs the question:

What is there that is religious and cultural about Irfan?

Is he a proud Christian, Hindu or Muslim?

jes my 2 cents

Its one thing to put on a traditional garb of another culture and try to bond with them.

I believe this has more meaning and will be seen as more genuine if the person doing so respects his own tradition and culture. For example, Granger is a religious person. When he puts on an Indian shirt and go to a Indo church, he seems genuine because the Indos appreciate the fact that he is a religious man, and he is not being seen as a counterfeit or seen as awkward when he does so.

jes my 2 cents

You're overanalyzing the guy for wearing a Dashiki. Ease up. He's a politician and does what all politicians do. 

If Granger is a religious man then so too was Hitler and I am the Lord Jesus Christ!!!

He is a Christian and a churchgoer.

So was Saddam, Jeffrey Dhamer and others!!!

If Granger is a religious man then so too was Hitler and I am the Lord Jesus Christ!!!

Nehru, can you arrange for free tuition for VishnMahabir @ La Guardia College?  

jes my 2 cents

You're overanalyzing the guy for wearing a Dashiki. Ease up. He's a politician and does what all politicians do. 

OK...

He is a Christian and a churchgoer.

If death were the penalty of sins, Granger would be dead by now. So stop with the Church going BS.  

jes my 2 cents

Bai, no one is more ultra religious than a Muslim. We are trained to pray 5 times a day regardless of what is going on around us. We fast for long hours in Ramadan just because we regard it as our responsibility. And that ‘we’ is the vast majority of Muslims all over the world. And think about this regarding ultra religious. Muslims have a prayer for everything. When they go to sleep, when they wake up. When they begin eating, during eating and after eating. When they see another Muslim, hear about what another Muslim did or what happens to another Muslim. The rituals are endless. Heck, Muslims even have a prayer for before they shit and after they finish shitting. No doubt Granger can be more spiritual than Ali but he can never be more religious than Ali.

Consider this observation I made earlier. When that child’s dress got raised up, Ali immediately instinctively reached for it and pulled it back down. That is a sign of a decent man.

Lastly, Granger is turning out to be a wicked hypocrite. No one is fooled anymore that Granger is a good person.

jes my 2 cents

Bai, no one is more ultra religious than a Muslim. We are trained to pray 5 times a day regardless of what is going on around us. We fast for long hours in Ramadan just because we regard it as our responsibility. And that ‘we’ is the vast majority of Muslims all over the world. And think about this regarding ultra religious. Muslims have a prayer for everything. When they go to sleep, when they wake up. When they begin eating, during eating and after eating. When they see another Muslim, hear about what another Muslim did or what happens to another Muslim. The rituals are endless. Heck, Muslims even have a prayer for before they shit and after they finish shitting. No doubt Granger can be more spiritual than Ali but he can never be more religious than Ali.

Consider this observation I made earlier. When that child’s dress got raised up, Ali immediately instinctively reached for it and pulled it back down. That is a sign of a decent man.

Lastly, Granger is turning out to be a wicked hypocrite. No one is fooled anymore that Granger is a good person.

Interesting...will  try and digest that info.

Now you sure Irfaan was not trying to lift the lady's dress up? 

Bai Vish, Granger had a golden opportunity back in December to show that he is a spiritual person and would rise above the petty politics of other Guyanese politicians. Instead, he demonstrated that he is a hypocrite of the worst type because so many people thought he was the second coming of Christ.

It wasn’t a lady bai. He picked up a little child and the child do what any child does. She raised her hand to her face and picked up her dress as she did it. Watch the whole video again.

will do...i saw parts of it

See. While everyone is distracted by the dashiki, I recognize the important things to assess one’s character. As subtle as that was, it is the kind of action that catches my attention. I am after all a parent so things like that is important to me.

What  is  so special about Ali doing this, will other parents not do the same ?

Because he is Jagdeo's selected, should he be placed on a pedestal ?

Be modest, he might win elections.  

Tola posted:

Bai, nothing special with what he did. Everyone does that. Just like how nothing special about the photos you take. Everyone takes photos too.

Tola posted:

Bai, nothing special with what he did. Everyone does that. Just like how nothing special about the photos you take. Everyone takes photos too.

Bhai, there  is special and unique  what photos people take.  Because everyone have  their own style  and could sell their copy for more than  others. Sometimes  thousands.  

Black people lives have really improved in Guyana over the last two decades. They can eat better, dress better, and live in better homes. Thanks to the hard work of our politicians. Guyana got out of the doldrums.

Bai, people like Tola drank too much Kool Aid. 😀

because BillyRamGoat the illiterate bigot seh suh

and it co-signed by "blacks are the scourge of the world" Indo-Klan 'salesman' Ksazma, so it must be true

hmmmm . . .?

jes my 2 cents

Correct! 

I would not doubt that Irfat banna at that moment is thinking of some fry chicken an mauby an gert like dat.

Tola posted:

Bhai, there  is special and unique  what photos people take.  Because everyone have  their own style  and could sell their copy for more than  others. Sometimes  thousands.  

So Tola Bhai, if you were to bid for a photography job and won base on price   and the highest bidder was a black brother.. would it be fair to say you are racist.. just asking 

Tola posted:

Similar to some politicians in Guyana.  When some on GNI  fail to find appropriate words to respond, they degrade and try to conquer with little effect. 

You do realize you do the same to right bai. None ah abee nah innocent. Remember only the other day I realized I was friends with a snake. But then again, I too am a snake. We all got we sins bai.

Tola posted:

So Tola Bhai, if you were to bid for a photography job and won base on price   and the highest bidder was a black brother.. would it be fair to say you are racist.. just asking 

Fortunately Dave, for decades I live at a  place of equality  and no bias regarding race. In fact there is deep respect for vehicle traffic  and no on blows  their car horn, NOT EVER.  Because we have mills that work shifts  and a 24 hour noise bylaw. 

I left Guyana around Independence and what some of you write on GNI is foreign to me. I do not understand the mistrust and hate shown on GNI and I have worked most of my free life to build lives instead of destroying it,  in Guyana and  in developing countries. 

Tomorrow I will freely video record a memorial service for a man I don't  know. This is not only me, but with the many camera clubs in my city, who will do the same.

I am a colored person in city of majority whites  and I am treated as their equal. No class and no racism.

With much respect, your question is not valid where I live. Because my best friend is an African  guy from Linden.     

Tell 'e deh Tola ma man. I see you hanging round, ever been back to T.O.?

Cain, Tanzania and a Canadian gyal been keeping me busy with the Massai. Not been back to TO.  

But me hear a big family wedding happening in TO next summer.  A Guyana fren will be present and I hope to spend a few weeks.

Rass, me cat TANK from 10 years ago jus showed up and me have to find a cat sitter.