We have become a nation of imagination and assumptions to carve pictures to tell stories of what might have happened (if). That "IF" will have a long-term devastating effect on our ability to hold the truth (or what we believe to be the truth).

The Miss Cleo theory is hard at work where investigative journalism and fact-finding took a back seat. This is one of the many issues I came across in recent times that I am getting off my chest. 

If you can't think for yourself, someone will tell you what to think. If you can't believe in yourself, someone will tell you what to believe. Food for thoughts.

We have become a nation of imagination and assumptions to carve pictures to tell stories of what might have happened (if). That "IF" will have a long-term devastating effect on our ability to hold the truth (or what we believe to be the truth).

The Miss Cleo theory is hard at work where investigative journalism and fact-finding took a back seat. This is one of the many issues I came across in recent times that I am getting off my chest. 

If you can't think for yourself, someone will tell you what to think. If you can't believe in yourself, someone will tell you what to believe. Food for thoughts.

Do you not think that you have made a significant contribution to this?

Dondadda posted:

NO. In the past, I have contributed the same shit of rambling politics as most are doing at present. Now I am contributing hardcore materials that are hard to digest. If you could have digested it, you wouldn't have reason to question me. 

What are you rambling about now? πŸ˜€

He just wake up and need his milk. 

Bottle of milk as he "chups, chups, chups" while babbling in his crib.

I am sure you realize that I do not desire to get into baby talks to my fellow members. It only serves to distract from the real issues. 

Dondadda posted:

NO. In the past, I have contributed the same shit of rambling politics as most are doing at present. Now I am contributing hardcore materials that are hard to digest. If you could have digested it, you wouldn't have reason to question me. 

What material? You've yet to cite an example for this unnecessary braying. As i see it, u appear to be looking for lil attention.

Some people are still self-centered on how to take away attention and intrude where they do not belong. WTF. 

Self-centered person ...

... meaning and specifically to ...

--- pseodonym for Princess the Guyanese Princess.  

When I said when the PPPites complain about PNC they should suffer 10 folds for being stupid, I was being polite. If the PPP loses, I will be celebrating the ignorance of its supporters. 

. But the PNC is the worst.

And others will say that the PPP is the worst and intent in stirring up ethnic tensions.  This indicated by their current wailing about Haitians, the majority of whom leave Guyana as soon as they can arrange travel to Suriname.  If Jagdeo wants to find those Haitian "APNU supporters" he will have to travel to French Guiana or to the Suriname border with that country.

Why will a Haitian settle for APNU crumbs when FG offers them wages paid in euros?

As you said we mistrust each other and this leads to different analyses of the problem.

The reality is that the PNC started this shit between 1962 and 1992 with the way they shamelessly discriminated against the Indian masses. They are mostly the blame for the mistrust in Guyana.

Actually in 1992 the PPP discriminated massively against blacks when they won.  In 1957 the PPP campaigned an "apan jhat" and insulted black people in 1961 when they won that election.

The reality is that the PNC started this shit between 1962 and 1992 with the way they shamelessly discriminated against the Indian masses. They are mostly the blame for the mistrust in Guyana.

Actually in 1992 the PPP discriminated massively against blacks when they won.  In 1957 the PPP campaigned an "apan jhat" and insulted black people in 1961 when they won that election.

So people were only looking at one side of the big jill?   

Tola posted:

The mistrust might have started in 1838, when indenture labourers first arrived to replace the slaves.

The labourers accepted less payment for similar jobs,  that was paid to the free slaves. This  create tensions between the groups.

This mistrust was partially  shown in the film 1838. 

Welcome back, Tola. If that's the case, when did any politician in modern history tried to change that? If I am talking about this today, it means that it benefited politicians to play a mind game with its supporters. Instead of blaming politicians, what should we say about the supporters who buy into the politicians thinking and beliefs? Are they brained washed or are they simply making a world of their own likeness by denying the truth? 

Tola posted:

The mistrust might have started in 1838, when indenture labourers first arrived to replace the slaves.

The labourers accepted less payment for similar jobs,  that was paid to the free slaves. This  create tensions between the groups.

Welcome back, Tola. If that's the case, when did any politician in modern history tried to change that? If I am talking about this today, it means that it benefited politicians to play a mind game with its supporters. Instead of blaming politicians, what should we say about the supporters who buy into the politicians thinking and beliefs? Are they brained washed or are they simply making a world of their own likeness by denying the truth? 

Prince it’s call business, like we does see every day but we don’t put races in front of the bargain  ... we say competitor- a more modernize word. 

Tola posted:

Thanks Prince.  Time does not permit me to read or post on GNI more often.

I remember well in the 1960s, how race was used for political gain, by both major parties, including the colonial masters. 

I grew up in an Indian community with strong links to CJ and Port Mourant and knew little about Africans.

Until the early 1960s, when I got involved in Scouter's Training near the airport. In an uncomfortable manner we were placed in mixed race groups to compete with other patrols. Here  I discovered Africans were no different from my Indian friends and I made many life long African friendships.

But similar to both races, I do not accept any of the 'unpleasant'  things they tend to do.      

Another example is like how we immigrants come at white man country and choose to wok fo less money to survive... unda cutting the white man pay. But I didn’t see any tension build up between the white and them immigrants.. cause they use wisdom .

Wisdom is a good quality and culture or the political system in some countries, did not allowed discrimination or mistrust.

In Guyana, politics and racial division  was used by all parties for political gain and voters were the pawn.

The country system either allowed  mistrust and  division, or it don't. Thus some countries are rated as the best to live in.   

Job is everyone livelihood and security. It's ok for blacks to feel insecure at that point in time. The ones who capitalize on that basis are responsible for creating the foundation for racial division. Remember, the slaves and indentured servants were uneducated but they acted on their instinct. 

It makes no sense shipping people across the Atlantic when there were blacks already in the territories willing to fill those jobs. The reality was that blacks didn’t want to work on the plantations anymore which presented the plantation owners with a dilemma. And Indians were not their first choice anyway. It is stupid to hate Indians for that.

Even if free, would anyone want to  remain and work for a master who previously  beat them to perform a job. Once a slave always a slave, in the eyes of the slave master. 

The free African slaves did not have a choice  who replace them.

Initially, Africans did not mistrust Indians until the Indians started undercutting them for less pay, for the same job.   

Tola posted:

Even if free, would anyone want to  remain and work for a master who previously  beat them to perform a job. Once a slave always a slave, in the eyes of the slave master. 

The free African slaves did not have a choice  who replace them.

Initially, Africans did not mistrust Indians until the Indians started undercutting them for less pay, for the same job.   

Bai, let me speak slowly so you understand. Africans didn't want the job so it wouldn't matter if the Indian took a small pay or a big one. Now I can understand if the Africans were mad at the Indians for taking the jobs if they (Africans) were hoping to extort the plantation owners. The work was there for the taking if the Africans wanted it. They decided that they don't so the plantation owners looked elsewhere to suitable labor and the Indian was chosen. Can't blame the Indian for that.

How did the Indian undercut the African for a job the African didn't want?

The only possible thing the Indians did by taking those jobs is thwarting the Africans attempt to extort the plantation owners.

Yuh understand now Tola? 

Watch movie Guyana 1838 and study Indian Indenture Labourers first interaction with free African slaves.  

Also investigate  York university 1988 Indo Caribbean/Guyana conference.    

Last edited by Tola

How did the Indian undercut the African for a job the African didn't want?

The only possible thing the Indians did by taking those jobs is thwarting the Africans attempt to extort the plantation owners.

Yuh understand now Tola? 

I read what these jokers write.  Indian labor under cut Blacks, so 150 years on the hatred continues.  Yet these same jokers said Americans who object to the flood of immigrants pushing down wages are racist.  Whites are racist, Blacks are victims!

I doubt the average Indian even knew his wage undercut someone else!

The only possible thing the Indians did was prevent the Africans from extorting the plantation owners.

I don’t think that was their agenda. Indians went to work for a better life than India.  No different than people do today, better their lives!

Maybe it was the Africans agenda to extort the plantation owners though.

Tola posted:

How will they not know, when their bid for a job at a lower wage, undercut  the previous wage paid to African slaves ?

Which part of the Africans didn’t want the job don’t you understand bai?

Bhai, as intelligent as you think you are. Why do you answer a question with a question ?  

Bai you mistake me fuh some body else. I iz wan low IQ banna.

Anyway Tola bai. I didn’t ask a question. I made statement that the Africans didn’t want to work on the plantation anymore so the poor plantation owners were faced with a dilemma for an alternative to the loss of their African labor force. The Indians provided a much needed relief to the owners. If the Africans realize afterwards that made a terrible decision, they should just bear their chafe and not blame Indians for their mistakes.