https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...rding-to-ccj-orders/

The current process to select a chair for the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) has been throwing up one hurdle after the next.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo

There is another development now that is likely to pit the Coalition Government and the Opposition on another collision course.
GECOM, in a recent publication in the Official Gazette, announced that it will start house-to-house registrations from Saturday, July 20, 2019. The exercise is set to conclude on October 20.
However, Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo, last evening was adamant that GECOM cannot go ahead with the house-to-house registrations, which could take months and derail elections which the Opposition wants by September.
The issue has been a thorny one for the political parties.
The Coalition Government, facing early elections after a shocking defeat on the no-confidence vote on December 21, last, has been insisting that the Voters’ List, used in the 2015 elections and Local Government Elections, is filled with the names of dead persons and more than 200,000 incorrect entries.

GECOM’s CEO, Keith Lowenfield

It also claimed that thousands of voters, now of age, would be disenfranchised.
The Coaltion wants the list sanitized by conducting house-to-house registration.
However, the Opposition has been objecting, believing house-to-house registration was but a ploy to delay elections.
The Opposition said that any sanitization can be handled in a claims and objections period.
Last week, with respect to several court cases, the Caribbean Court of Justice ordered that parties adhere to the Constitution which says elections within three months after a government would have faced a successful no-confidence vote.
According to the Order made under the National Registration Act, GECOM said that the order shall come into operation on Saturday, July 20.
“Persons to whom this order applies shall in accordance with Section 6 of the Act, be registered under the process of house to house registration with reference to October 31st and the registration shall begin on July 20th, 2019 and end on October 20th, 2019.”
The order said that it shall apply to all persons who are qualified to be electors and on the qualifying date of October 31st, 2019 shall have attained the age of 14 years.
The order was made on June 11, 2019 by former Chairman, Justice (ret’d) James Patterson.
However, the Opposition Leader was clear last evening about the legality of that order by Patterson who resigned on June 24, days after that order was purportedly made.
According to Jagdeo, the order which suddenly appeared online after the CCJ orders last week, is what the GECOM’s Chief Elections Officer, Keith Lowenfield, has been using to push for house-to-house registration.
“It was not online; nobody knew about that Gazette notice. There was one on June 14, an addendum of the one of (June)11, about the (electoral) divisions. They kept this (order) quiet, while the cases were awaiting a decision before the CCJ. This only surfaced a few days ago when we saw a copy of it.”
However, Jagdeo said he is not worried.
“They obviously have been busy behind our backs with this order for house-to-house. That order has been overtaken by the orders of the CCJ. GECOM is bound to respect the Constitution of Guyana.”
According to the Opposition Leader, a former president of Guyana whose two terms ended in 2011, this late publication of the Official Gazette, strategically after the CCJ orders, would just shows how duplicitous the Coalition Government is.
“They just did this behind the back of the court. Elections are due in three months in accordance with the Constitution, they told the Court in their presentation that the earliest they will be ready for elections is December 25th. They want to go to house-to-house… clearly house-to-house is not acceptable.”
The Opposition Leader noted that fortunately, the international community has called on all the actors to respect the Constitution and the orders of the Court.
“We are not just gonna accept it. We are clear- the CCJ ruling overtook that order when it says that GECOM must comply with the Constitution and the CCJ enjoined them as a party to the proceedings.”
Kaieteur News has attempted to elicit a comment from GECOM, but was unable to make contact with anyone from the Public Relations department.

I believe the PNC will foul this up creating a mess in the end causing further delays.  Only a military coup will remove them.  They never intended to hold free and fair elections again once in office!

I see big trouble down the road!  The conflict in Guyana could become internationalize!

The idiot ( Jagdeo) who believes he knows everything, keeps digging holes for the opposition supporters.. like offering Granger to submit names for GECOM Chairman and parading a Selected Presidential Candidate ( Irfan)  who has dark clouds hanging over his head. 

Jagdeo fighting for election in 90 days, how the **** can a Presidential Candidate get elected when he is before the court with 19 fraud charges and the court rule he has to go to trail and Irfan mother skont can’t provide his certificate he claimed to have. 

Lets assume PPP win the election, Irfan cannot be sworn in as the President Of Guyana... so where this put the opposition. 

The idiot ( Jagdeo) who believes he knows everything, keeps digging holes for the opposition supporters.. like offering Granger to submit names for GECOM Chairman and parading a Selected Presidential Candidate ( Irfan)  who has dark clouds hanging over his head. 

Jagdeo fighting for election in 90 days, how the **** can a Presidential Candidate get elected when he is before the court with 19 fraud charges and the court rule he has to go to trail and Irfan mother skont can’t provide his certificate he claimed to have. 

Lets assume PPP win the election, Irfan cannot be sworn in as the President Of Guyana... so where this put the opposition. 

Hey hey hey.  You Jess shett yuh poke!!  You izz a trubblemaker!!

Like yo still hang over. 

Nah bai.  Duh gyaal mek meh bazidy early marnin’!!

The last three elections didn’t have H2H. And PNC had no problem with that.  

Babe, that got nothing to do with anything.  The aim of the PNC is to drag this out as long as possible.  Then at the end, one big mess as PPP strongholds got undercounted because the PNC cannot count.  Then the whole system is frozen and they have to start over.  

PNC wickedly ingenious!!

They want to be guardians over that oil money come hell or high tide!

He is correct

How come is always correct when someone criticizes BJ and the PPP (which is warranted), but when anyone criticize granger and PNC, you say good, let him stay. Legal or illegal don’t matter!

You are an anti-Indian racist skunk!!  Haul yuh ass daside!!!

He is correct

How come is always correct when someone criticizes BJ and the PPP (which is warranted), but when anyone criticize granger and PNC, you say good, let him stay. Legal or illegal don’t matter!

He is correct

You are a good one to talk about choosing sides. One day yo rass talk about breaking bread with Granger, next day you sucking up to BJ, so haul yo rass, we are well aware you playing both sides. I already said I dislike both parties but why remove a bunch of crooks (PPP)  and replace em with another set of crooks (APNU), now want the second set of crooks (APNU) removed to replace them with the first set (PPP)?

He is correct

You are a good one to talk about choosing sides. One day yo rass talk about breaking bread with Granger, next day you sucking up to BJ, so haul yo rass, we are well aware you playing both sides. I already said I dislike both parties but why remove a bunch of crooks (PPP)  and replace em with another set of crooks (APNU), now want the second set of crooks (APNU) removed to replace them with the first set (PPP)?

Baseman sucks up to no one.  I am critical and supportive of both.  You are on record here supporting anything the PNC does, even their illegal shenanigans!  As far as you are concerned, the PNC can do anything to hang on as long as the hang on.  

Sorry Guys! The Cainster is not Anti-Indian. I can vouch for him. Anti-PPP yes!

A sellout to the pnc vouching for a putagee racist who casually refers to us as coolie. What a bunch of crap, does lillym know you vouching fuh low life like cain?

Hey worm, a lowlife is one who doan craves attention by telling the world how he is paralyzed and loans his handle so a woman can do his dutty work for him.

But who will vouch for you Mits?   Just messing with you budday. 

I agree that the Cainman is not anti-Indian. I also agree that he just doesn't like what he sees with the PPP.

What I find is these fools always go after anyone who mention the PPP is an Indian party, now I speak against the PPP the fools now say I am anti Indian. Bloody idiots

Iz yuh own fault. The PPP is not an Indian party. According to Cribby, it is a Coolie party. He said that Rohee said that Jagdeo said so.

Dem seh wah he seh wah she seh wah dem nah seh. 

I whooped you because you always say is right when we criticize the PPP and BJ, then with the same breath you say, is good, let granger stay there even though he using all sort of illegal means.  

Check yuh logic!!

I don’t know if you are anti Indian or not, everyone has their biases. I’m just commenting on the positions you take here.  

The way I se it, the PPP messed up when they were in government and effectively they 'lost' the privilege to govern. The PNC were then given the opportunity and they too messed up and lost the privilege to govern. Do fuh do nah obeah. Now the PNC should do the right thing, stop all their straw clutching delay shenanigans and hold elections and then if given the opportunity to govern, correct their behavior or face the same fate. Same for the PPP. Let the government be a revolving door until Guyanese politicians face this disgrace until they stop being so wicked.

kASCZ, i FULLY AGREE, THE BIG PROBLEM IS THE PNC ARE EGG SUCKING DOGS THEY CANNOT HELP BUT BE UNDEMOCRATIC, BULLIES, INCOMPETENT, DISRESPECTFUL TO LAW, JUSTICES AND THE NATION. AND IN THIS CASE THE CCJ, THE CARIBBEAN AND THE WORLD!!

You know what they say about egg sucking dogs, once they suck, they never can stop.