July 21 2019

Kashif comes from a family of Chefs and has always had an interest in fine cuisine. He remembers that his interest in the culinary arts started at a young age because his mother was always in the kitchen whipping up a dish for him and his siblings.

Guyanese Chef creating a stir at The White House

Life is sweet for Guyanese Chef Kashif Browne. At age 29, he is creating a stir and living his dream at The White House, the official residence of the President of the United States.

Kashif is the Executive Sous Chef at The White House.

He completed his secondary education at The Bishops’ High School and started a career in banking, but left all of that behind when he migrated to the United States just after completing a semester at the University of Guyana.

Kashif comes from a family of Chefs and has always had an interest in fine cuisine. He remembers that his interest in the culinary arts started at a young age because his mother was always in the kitchen whipping up a dish for him and his siblings.

His interest grew when he moved to the United States and got accepted into the International Culinary School at The Art Institute of Washington.

It was there that he was recognized as a “genius in the kitchen” who developed gifted hands for any dish that he cooked.

Upon the completion of his training, Kashif added more flavour to his credentials after the completion of a work and study stint in Italy.

Just another day at the office for Chef Browne

He embellished his culinary skills at The Zeppelin Ristorante in Orvieto and was also a member of the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society before graduating from this prestigious institution. 

Within seven years, Kashif traveled and worked at different corners of America, gradually becoming a culinary savant.

Some of his notable portfolio entries include Las Vegas, New York, the French Ambassador’s Residence, Cheryl Crow and Kid Rock concert and the Grammy’s Award Ceremony.

He said he has become increasingly grateful to the “erudite chefs” who taught him along the way. They shared the techniques, recipes and some of the great secrets of cooking.

Kashif always offers high praise for Christophe Tanneau-Kervran, Stephan Carter, Angelo Sosa, Lorenzo Polegri, Chris Beischer, Alicia Stewart, Cristeta Comerford, and Robert Gatsby.

Iron Chef, Masaharu Morimoto and Chef Browne

He said his extensive knowledge of various cuisines would not be possible without their instrumental efforts.

Over the span of his slice and dice career, Kashif has found himself moving up from being a Saucier to a Sous Chef, to Executive Sous Chef.

He now has a full-time job at the Residence of the White House where he caters to the First Family of the United States of America. 

While Kashif always raves over his French and Asian Cuisine, he said he also always ensure he delivers Caribbean, and more so, Guyanese flavour in all of his dishes. 

Kashif has always remembered his roots and often recalls growing up with his family in Carmichael Street, Georgetown, attending the St. Margaret’s Primary School and his enjoyable years at The Bishops’ High.

With an eye for detail and quality, Kashif has also been climbing the ladder to greater success, while building a family of his own.

He is married to Guyanese dental surgeon and his high school sweetheart, Dr. Sulan Fung and together they have two sons.

Over the years, he said he has lived his life through the philosophical words of Albert Einstein, who once said, “try not to become a man of success, but rather a man of value.’

Meet The Brownes

Give Trump some Guyanese curry chicken. Does the Chef knw to do dat.

Through these people, Trump learned there's a country called Guyana. 

Oh, and he has a few Guyanese Secret Service Agents too.

Oh Skont, I can smell that Curry Goat cooking and when I go in the yard the punjabi curry is so pleasing, dem people use a really strong Masalla

If this chef play his cards right and dash some good geera pan Trump, ICE might get instructions to stay out of Richmond Hill.  Trump would never want to send home dem gurls on Liberty Avenue who could handle dem geera.

Someone told me it today. My bad darling and thanks for the correction. Well, Flushing Park will be BUZZING cause Lusignan/Annandale Day is the same day.):

Don’t play with me. I created that flyer so I know the date.  I will pass round the Annandale crowd for lil salara and Mauby though.

You cannot miss me I will be wearing yellow Polo shirt and Red short Pants.

Yes yes yes.  That is the PPP color.

Nehru wutliss. You know what you get when you mix yellow with red 😀

Give Trump some Guyanese curry chicken. Does the Chef knw to do dat.

I wrote something on this on FB on the positive side.  People start talking shit about slavery.  

People take everything and make it negative.

Look how yall PPPites derail a good thread to talk bout drinking and getting on bad in the park

...and cursing up too. Why didn't Nehru start his own thread and do these things? The Chef's family are reading and they see the blatant racism.

Look how yall PPPites derail a good thread to talk bout drinking and getting on bad in the park

...and cursing up too. Why didn't Nehru start his own thread and do these things? The Chef's family are reading and they see the blatant racism.

What RACISM?? You full of shit!! Every bloody person quick to try and use RACISM as their intelligence!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fine dining, whenever I happen to treat myself to the delights of a good chef, I duz be sad to messup his dressing of the plate and the way he arrange the meat/fish, potatoes and vegetables with sauces.

Nothing can beat salt fish cake between two slices of white bread-better than fish and bread.

Gyal, yuh mek it sound like this chef is some world renowned saint. He cooks for the president of the US. He is not the first nor would he be the last to do so. And I am sure he and his family know about racism too. It is what everyone is harping on lately.

I think the big deal in this case is he is Guyanese...nobody calling him a saint

He is an outstanding Guyanese who did the right thing and achieved the American Dream. He is showing us that anyone who is willing can do it. He is sending a message that sitting back complaining and waiting for "handouts" is not going to get you to the American Dream!!