ELeader of the Alliance For Change (AFC) Khemraj Ramjattan says many persons are of the view that the Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo can immediately submit six nominees for the next GECOM Chair to the President but this is not the case.

Speaking with the media on Wednesday, Ramjattan said his party – the Alliance For Change (AFC) – supports the consensual approach recommended by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) to be used to select the new GECOM head.

“It is not as if the Leader of the Opposition can go and put six names into the hands of the President. They must meet and they can deliberate on six names that are acceptable to the President and from those six, he can select one.”

“It is very important, a lot of people feel he can just throw six names and the President will have to give reasons why he don’t like them,” Ramjattan said.

Former Chair of GECOM, Justice (ret’d) James Patterson demitted office on Monday, June 24, one week after the CCJ ruled that the process by which he was appointed was “flawed.”

The retired Judge was unilaterally appointed by the President in 2017 after he rejected 18 names submitted by the Opposition Leader in accordance with the Constitution of Guyana.

James Patterson

President of the CCJ, Justice Adrian Saunders in delivering his ruling on June 18 suggested that the President and Opposition Leader meet and deliberate on the names before they are formally submitted –a process which Ramjattan said the AFC fully supports.

“I think that is extraordinarily a progressive move and so that should be abided by as the consensual approach,” Ramjattan told the media.

However, if this fails to bear fruit, Ramjattan said: “certainly the President will then utilise the proviso.”

The proviso of Article 161 (2) of the Constitution of Guyana allows for the appointment to be made unilaterally, where the opposition leader fails to submit a list “as provided for.”

The AFC in a statement on Tuesday said the process to appoint the new chair should be done within two weeks.

“The Party now believes that the process of appointing a new Chairman should be undertaken with the utmost urgency and concluded within two weeks,” the statement noted.

Further, the AFC expressed the view that this process is critical to public confidence in the outcome of the next General and Regional Elections “and that there is no shortage of fit and proper Guyanese persons acceptable across the political divide to fill this position.”

The Opposition Leader has sent a letter to President David Granger, announcing his availability to meet on the appointment of a new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

Jagdeo in the letter dated June 25th, said he is prepared to meet with the President at any time, and, on a daily basis if needs be, to address the new appointment.

The Opposition Leader’s letter came days after the President invited him to a meeting to discuss the current political situation.

The CCJ gave both sides until July 1st to present written submissions on what consequential orders should be taken.

On July 12th the court will issue those orders on the way forward.

https://newsroom.gy/2019/06/26...president-ramjattan/

Tell Rumjaat to carry his rass suh. Why he thinks he is qualified to be Prime Minister, when he can't see the country.??

I agree with what yuh say...but leave the man physical shortcoming alone nah

Doesn’t the discussion begin with the presentation of names to Granger? How is that so difficult for Ramjattan to grasp? Or is he just repeating that fool, Williams without thinking things through?

Granger should go back to the three rejected list and provide a explanation why one name could not qualify.. this is a start.  

Those lists are expired. Jagdeo can resubmit the same names but they may be rejected again. Granger has the right to satisfy with the chosen candidate he intended to pick. Someone who is clean as a whistle like Nagamootoo. 

Tell Rumjaat to carry his rass suh. Why he thinks he is qualified to be Prime Minister, when he can't see the country.??

I meant he can't Oversee the Country's crime problem.

He is overseeing the country's problem like Rohee. Excellent isn't it. 

Granger should go back to the three rejected list and provide a explanation why one name could not qualify.. this is a start.  

Those lists are expired. Jagdeo can resubmit the same names but they may be rejected again. Granger has the right to satisfy with the chosen candidate he intended to pick. Someone who is clean as a whistle like Nagamootoo. 

He has to provide an explanation why he rejected those names isn’t he.. cause it was established he ( Granger) wants to select his own when he violates the constitution as per CCJ. 

Please don't make sense to me chap. Thank you! 

Since Moses going to be out of a job,  why Jagdeo can pick him to be GECOM Chairman? Granger would have no problem to find him fit and proper. Lol  

Cde Nagamootoo will be the PM candidate.  People here are out of touch!  This will be the winning ticket!

A Neemakaram Crabdaag Parasite is good for empty Barrels like yourself. Guyanese do not need HOGS to lead them to the mountain TOP, they need the PPP, the only Party in the history to see Guyana during periods of PROGRESS and PROSPERITY. THe PNC ALWAYS turn Guyana to FILTH!!! Not that you would know that or expected to understand anything. So keep on YAPPING!!!

Zara posted:

Since Moses going to be out of a job,  why Jagdeo can pick him to be GECOM Chairman? Granger would have no problem to find him fit and proper. Lol  

Cde Nagamootoo will be the PM candidate.  People here are out of touch!  This will be the winning ticket!

As I said before, I don't care if Mr. Nagamootoo is the PM candidate or not, but I respect and salute him for his many years of service to Guyana. 

Zara posted:

Cde Nehru, maybe you left Guyana too long and don’t know what’s going on.  The Coalition has done good things and the people will remember. 

If anything they have done is demonstrate what was anticipated...just the flip side of the PPP coin. They show absolutely no difference...the same nepotism and crony capitalism. The first thing they did...Durban park renewal...was the most prescient example of uglification of a scenic area, a waste of funds and demonstrably lack of accountability for the funding not to mention friends and family handling the build out. There was no need for permanent structures. Plus temporary stands would look better. What we have is one large parade ground...maybe that was the original intent.

New GECOM Chair: ‘Jagdeo can’t just throw six names to the President’ – Ramjattan

Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC) Khemraj Ramjattan says many persons are of the view that the Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo can immediately submit six nominees for the next GECOM Chair to the President but this is not the case.

“It is not as if the Leader of the Opposition can go and put six names into the hands of the President. They must meet and they can deliberate on six names that are acceptable to the President and from those six, he can select one.”

https://newsroom.gy/2019/06/26...president-ramjattan/

Ramjattan seems to be dreaming-up a process.

Process is ...

1. Leader of the Opposition SUBMITS a list of candidates to the President.

2. President may select one or reject the list.

3. Process continues until a person is selected.

Note --- AFTER the list is submitted; indeed the two could but they do not have to sit down and then jointly select a person.

Zara posted:

Cde Nehru, maybe you left Guyana too long and don’t know what’s going on.  The Coalition has done good things and the people will remember. 

I noticed you are enjoying the good life in America yet defending these illegal imposters prancing as a government. What have they done regarding crime of which they promised to eliminate. what about health care, infrastructure, and education. guess nothing. They are thieving in bright day light, $18 M. US oil bonus, $5M Harmon collected, Airport over spending no accounting. I can go on and on . Your turn to show what they have done.

Zara posted:

If anything they have done is demonstrate what was anticipated...just the flip side of the PPP coin. They show absolutely no difference...the same nepotism and crony capitalism. The first thing they did...Durban park renewal...was the most prescient example of uglification of a scenic area, a waste of funds and demonstrably lack of accountability for the funding not to mention friends and family handling the build out. There was no need for permanent structures. Plus temporary stands would look better. What we have is one large parade ground...maybe that was the original intent.

Yes, they did some errors. You see only the big things. What you don’t see is the many things done with the poor people.  Cdes Granger and Nagamootoo has ordered a total connection to the poorest to improve their situation.  It is not eye catching and big so you don’t see it. 

When the Coalition is returned to office in 2020 a lot bigger things to come. 

Zara posted:

Yes, they did some errors. You see only the big things. What you don’t see is the many things done with the poor people.  Cdes Granger and Nagamootoo has ordered a total connection to the poorest to improve their situation.  It is not eye catching and big so you don’t see it. 

When the Coalition is returned to office in 2020 a lot bigger things to come. 

Granger is the president no one sees. He is insipid, uncreative and allowed his ministers to do some absurd things. His unilaterally re arranging our traditional ministerial structure into his virtual king Arthur round table is an absurdity. None knows what minister is responsible for what and ministry within ministry baffles the mind.

Are these mini ministers sub ministers of the ministers within whose ministry the are located? What abject nonsense. Show me a chart of lines of authority in this regime and I will be completely delighted since the ordinary person does not know a damn who is accountable for what. 

Where was he whine they played 3 card monty with our first touch with Oil money? Why did he not take time to meet the Amerindian council? Why did he place Amerindian titling into the same pool as supposed ancestral lands"?  

Then there is the matter of their complete forgetfulness t hat they promised constitutional reform!

I agree they are less nauseating than the PPP but not for trying. They actually are less apt at the dark arts of cronyism but as their tenure has shown to date they are quick learners.  I actually don't care if they are returned to office or not...as long as the winning party does not have an absolute majority. I hope some 3 party gets to hold the sword of Damocles over their perfidious  heads.

Zara posted:

Name the good things the coalition have done .

Zara posted:

Nah ask the Lil gal suh hard hard queston. Them still woking on the Plantain Chip Factory.

Zara posted:

Name some of the good things that they have done and tell us  how you have benefited from those good things and by how much?

Zara posted:

They gave the opposition a raise .

Zara posted:

Now you talking vulgar, guess them use Exxon Oil instead of Vaseline . maybe you right, them good at playing with Dick.

Zara posted:

Now you talking vulgar, guess them use Exxon Oil instead of Vaseline . maybe you right, them good at playing with Dick.

I see, the P in your handle is for Promiscuous. You would do even the one who liked your post. 

Last edited by Mitwah

Nominating Joe Govinda Singh for GECOM Chairman.

Keep him DUMB and STUPID forever, in that way he is a voter for the PNC for life!!

stop attacking posters! Everyone free to offer opinions without need for personal attacks

The economy is growing.  Business people are investing.  We have labor shortage for skilled people so the Government is investing in training and education. All areas of the economy is growing.  We are proud of our agriculture sector and these workers which has stabilize our food supply.

The Coalition is getting ready for big growth.  Under the competent leadership of Cdes Granger and Nagamootoo we will see much progress.  We will ensure all Guyanese share in the nation wealth.  

Guyanese have never been so hopeful. The NCV mean little to our citizens.  We will have election in 2020.

There is much progress but you don’t see. We taking the government to the people. You don’t see the true Guyana.  You come visit, have fun and mix with people you like.  You don’t care about the suffering bare foot farmer or fisherman and his family.  We are working for real Guyana.  Progress is with people, not glass building and shine car. 

NCV mean little to the average person. It means most to politics. Early election or normal election, most will vote for Coalition. 

We as Guyanese, I am with cde Nagamootoo. He will be PM. 

There has been progress in Guyana in the following areas:

(A) In new Math e.g 33=34

(B) High Youth unemployment

(C) Corruption in all the three Branches of Government

(D) High Murderation rate including in Prisons

(E) High increase in salaries for Parliamentarians while others get a pittance 

(F) Illegal squatting in the National Assembly by the Coalition

(G) Nuff Nuff High end vehicles for Nagamootoo and other Ministers.

(I) Breaking the Provisions of the Constitution of Guyana and squandering taxpayers money to appeal when they know they will lose.

(J) Defying the decisions of the CCJ

(K) Closing down sugar estates and putting sugar workers out of jobs

(L) Starvation while the poor sleep in the streets

(M) Reducing Old Age Pension and increase electricity and Water rates for Senior Citizens.

you want me to continue.