Again, I am an outsider, born in the U.S Virgin Islands and married to a Guyanese (wife). I have been to Guyana 7 times now, and as I have done with other places I have visited, I make observations and I discuss them (with civility) with people of that place or country, as I love dialog.

Now, I keep an eye on news out of Guyana and while I know much has been made about the high suicide (per capita) in the country, I don't know if I am seeing things, but it appears Guyana has a very high incidence of not just domestic violence, but deadly domestic violence. Is this truly the case or am I really just seeing things. Is there a culture of this type of violence in the country?

Domestic violence, yes, can be found all up and down the Caribbean, UNFORTUNATELY and SADLY, but for some reason, it seems like a higher proportion of it ends in fatality or gross violence in Guyana. Is there countering measures in place to combat this? 

Talk to me.

Makari posted:

Again, I am an outsider, born in the U.S Virgin Islands and married to a Guyanese (wife). I have been to Guyana 7 times now, and as I have done with other places I have visited, I make observations and I discuss them (with civility) with people of that place or country, as I love dialog.

Now, I keep an eye on news out of Guyana and while I know much has been made about the high suicide (per capita) in the country, I don't know if I am seeing things, but it appears Guyana has a very high incidence of not just domestic violence, but deadly domestic violence. Is this truly the case or am I really just seeing things. Is there a culture of this type of violence in the country?

Domestic violence, yes, can be found all up and down the Caribbean, UNFORTUNATELY and SADLY, but for some reason, it seems like a higher proportion of it ends in fatality or gross violence in Guyana. Is there countering measures in place to combat this? 

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Who? Clue me in, please. I have NO idea who that is.

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Hear nah man, how much time yo have to remind abe you a wan outsider .. let we say a true you nah wan Guyanese . So we gon go back to yo question about domestic violence  rite. 

Guyanese wifeee done tek yo 7 times nah .. gud . Mek sure yo treat a lady gud yo know . Is only 20,000 G fo them boys  .. and yo name can appear on the missing list. 

Now coming back to yo real question about domestic violence. Them Guyanese women like the beating... so it nah gone change. 

Now tell abe how much time yo wifeee belnay yo rass.

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Hear nah man, how much time yo have to remind abe you a wan outsider .. let we say a true you nah wan Guyanese . So we gon go back to yo question about domestic violence  rite. 

Guyanese wifeee done tek yo 7 times nah .. gud . Mek sure yo treat a lady gud yo know . Is only 20,000 G fo them boys  .. and yo name can appear on the missing list. 

Now coming back to yo real question about domestic violence. Them Guyanese women like the beating... so it nah gone change. 

Dave, I do/did that just that I don't sound out of place making hard commentary on the country when I am not from there. SOME people tend to get edgy when you are not from a place but have things to say about it. In other words, I add the disclaimer just so we are clear off the top. After being here for a while, I will have no reason to make that disclaimer I am sure.

"Missing list?" LOL...nah, man. My Guyanese wife is a gem of a woman. I love her like I love cook food and she loves me just the same. We have a beautiful marriage and  would marry her a million times over and over. Best woman I have EVER been with.

As for Guyanese women liking 'the beating,' not sure if that is sarcasm, but I will take it as such.

"Belnay?!?" Asked my wife what that means and she is not aware. :-)

As for the use of the creolized word "abe," I find it quite interesting. Do you know that in Nevis, where my mother is from, they use the same identical word and it means the same thing: "All of us/we." 

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Dave, I do/did that just that I don't sound out of place making hard commentary on the country when I am not from there. SOME people tend to get edgy when you are not from a place but have things to say about it. In other words, I add the disclaimer just so we are clear off the top. After being here for a while, I will have no reason to make that disclaimer I am sure.

"Missing list?" LOL...nah, man. My Guyanese wife is a gem of a woman. I love her like I love cook food and she loves me just the same. We have a beautiful marriage and  would marry her a million times over and over. Best woman I have EVER been with.

As for Guyanese women liking 'the beating,' not sure if that is sarcasm, but I will take it as such.

As for the use of the creolized word "abe," I find it quite interesting. Do you know that in Nevis, where my mother is from, they use the same identical word and it means the same thing: "All of us/we." 

Hey was just joking around when I mentioned the “ missing list”.

Guyanese are very hospitable people. Regarding the Guyanese dialect “ abe “ it seems to be a common word on some of the Caribbean island. 

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Guyanese are very hospitable people. Regarding the Guyanese dialect “ abe “ it seems to be a common word on some of the Caribbean island. 

I took it as such, man. No worries, but indeed, Guyana is a HUGE place with lots of places to "lose" somebody. LOL

You know of another place in the Caribbean that uses that word. I was surprised when I first heard it in Guyana because I grew up hearing my Nevisian family saying it.

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Ahbe" (Nevis/Guyana)
"Yinna" (Bahamas)
"Ahwe" (St. Kitts)

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

I took it as such, man. No worries, but indeed, Guyana is a HUGE place with lots of places to "lose" somebody. LOL

You know of another place in the Caribbean that uses that word. I was surprised when I first heard it in Guyana because I grew up hearing my Nevisian family saying it.

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Ahbe" (Nevis/Guyana)
"Yinna" (Bahamas)
"Ahwe" (St. Kitts)

I heard Belize speaks the same dialect as Guyanese.

https://belize.com/

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Ahbe" (Nevis/Guyana)
"Yinna" (Bahamas)
"Ahwe" (St. Kitts)

I heard Belize speaks the same dialect as Guyanese.

https://belize.com/

So I've heard. 

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Look like we boy have dual citizenship.

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Look like we boy have dual citizenship.

I do?!?!

Wait, that reminds me. I need to get going on that. LOL 

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

There is an entrenched paternalism bridging all cultures in Guyana. Every other person's wife, mother, daughter, aunt is a whore, ****, slut or pig and everyone's wife, mother, daughter aunt, is a saint. Cultural entropy means all women end up being politically marginalized, socially, disrespected and culturally without social  or political support that is worth much. There is lots of talk about woman's rights but th ere is  little practice at it across the spectrum of the society. 

Makari posted:

'''''

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Take him for what he say he is and shut the f u ck up with who is who. Deal with the subject matter. 

Makari posted:

Talk to me.

There is an entrenched paternalism bridging all cultures in Guyana. Every other person's wife, mother, daughter, aunt is a whore, ****, slut or pig and everyone's wife, mother, daughter aunt, is a saint. Cultural entropy means all women end up being politically marginalized, socially, disrespected and culturally without social  or political support that is worth much. There is lots of talk about woman's rights but th ere is  little practice at it across the spectrum of the society. 

You should know this well, remember how you attacked Manichand over her weight, calling her all sorts of insulting names.

Makari posted:

As usual your Neanderthal genes come through every time you try to explain something. Where in the world is it stated tacitly or explicitly that women, much less any woman likes to be beaten?

Makari posted:

English creole across the planet from whatever substrate language are easily understood by creole speakers the world over with minor difficulty. It is so because of the way English phonemes decay or rather drift in pronunciation or in being re-lexified on a different grammatical structure. You would easily grasp west african creole as you do Jamaican or Guyanese creoles. 

Makari posted:

I took it as such, man. No worries, but indeed, Guyana is a HUGE place with lots of places to "lose" somebody. L

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Ahbe" (Nevis/Guyana)
"Yinna" (Bahamas)
"Ahwe" (St. Kitts)

Please edit the quote. It becomes unreadable with multiple indented replies

e spectrum of the society. 

You should know this well, remember how you attacked Manichand over her weight, calling her all sorts of insulting names.

Manickchand is a public figure and I am obliged to comment on every aspect of her public persona. Calling her "Plumpy" bears little relevance to the atrocious habit of Guyanese in general abusing women. You would rather deny your identity and pretend you are a cripple to cover the reality you have a black wife and Kid for fear your Indian friends here would ostracize you. 

What’s wrong with having a black wife and kid?

Bannas yuh gat me mixed up with some figment of your imagination. Possible in your  imaginary world of dungeons and dragons where you seek a respite from the drudgery of dollar store clerk reality.

He is de great pretenduh. 

Makari posted:

'''''

Talk to me.

You sound like VM. 

Take him for what he say he is and shut the f u ck up with who is who. Deal with the subject matter. 

Who we talking bout?

What’s wrong with having a black wife and kid?

Nothing...except if you deny their existence like DRugbeer

Bannas yuh gat me mixed up with some figment of your imagination. Possible in your  imaginary world of dungeons and dragons where you seek a respite from the drudgery of dollar store clerk reality.

Head floating foam and speaking of imaginary things...!

Makari posted:

o a 

Talk to me.

Not scientific but I have heard Islander women claim that Guyanese men are very controlling and that Guyanese women have a passive aggressive attitude that can trigger.  They claim that Island women will say "no" when they "no", whereas a Guyanese women saying "no" might mean "try harder".

I do agree that it seems more serious because even in NYC it appears as if Guyanese (both races) seem over represented among incidents of fatal domestic abuse.

Makari posted:

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Ahbe" (Nevis/Guyana) Usually rural, more likely Indo Guyanese
"Yinna" (Bahamas)
"Ahwe" (St. Kitts) Also urban (Afro Guyanese)

Think you are mixing up "all of us" with "all of you". 

"ahbe" (IndoGY) "ahwe" (AfroGY) means "all of us".  "Ahyo" means "all of you".  Colloquial American will be "y'all" or "yawl" for " all of you".

"Unnu" comes from a Igbo word meaning "you" or "all of you".  Wunna and I suspect Yinna is from the same root.

Makari posted:

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Yinna" (Bahamas)

"ahbe" (IndoGY) "ahwe" (AfroGY) means "all of us".  "Ahyo" means "all of you".  Colloquial American will be "y'all" or "yawl" for " all of you".

"Unnu" comes from a Igbo word meaning "you" or "all of you".  Wunna and I suspect Yinna is from the same root.

Ahwe pon tap!!  Tell him deh!

He seh he nah know wuh belna is.  He reminds me of another poster who play stupidy too.  

Makari posted:

Check this out:

"All of us" (America)
"Wunna" (Barbados)
"Ulyuh" (Trinidad)
"Ahyoh" (Virgin Islands)
"Unnu" (Jamaica)
"Yinna" (Bahamas)

Yes, I was mixing up the two.

Yes, in the Virgin Islands it is "Ahyoh" for (All of you) and "Allaus" (All of us). 

Makari posted:

Baseman, I have no idea what kind of trauma caused the paranoid minds  I've seen with a few folks here, but I am not some old member under some new name nor am I playing stupidy and stupidy with what exactly? 

Bai, no one paranoid over who you are.  Not that important.  Anyway, enjoy the show!  It’s funny!