By Colby Itkowitz

June 29

Sen. Kamala Harris, one of only two black candidates in a field of two dozen, had a history-making moment on the debate stage Thursday night when she challenged former vice president Joe Biden over racial issues.

But as the reaction to her debate performance poured in, so did the racist attacks on social media, where some accused the California Democrat of not being black enough, and others suggested she was not really American.

On Twitter, some commenters suggested Harris was unfairly portraying herself as African American, since she is the daughter of a Jamaican father and an Indian mother.

By Saturday, Harris’s campaign spokeswoman had retweeted nearly a dozen comments and articles defending her boss, and Harris’s 2020 Democratic challengers forcefully condemned the attacks on social media.

“This stuff is really vile and everyone should speak out against it,” Lily Adams, Harris’s spokeswoman, wrote on Twitter.

“The attacks against @KamalaHarris are racist and ugly,” Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) tweeted shortly after. “We all have an obligation to speak out and say so. And it’s within the power and obligation of tech companies to stop these vile lies dead in their tracks.”

A heated exchange on race with former vice president Joe Biden was among Sen. Kamala D. Harris’s standout moments during the first Democratic debate June 27. (Drea Cornejo/The Washington Post)

“@KamalaHarris doesn’t have s--- to prove,” tweeted Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.)

Washington Gov. Jay Inslee called the attacks “racist and vile.”

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (Minn.) wrote: “These troll-fueled racist attacks on Senator @KamalaHarris are unacceptable. We are better than this (Russia is not) and stand united against this type of vile behavior.”

Caroline Orr, a behavioral scientist who studies the spread of disinformation online, noted on Twitter a surge of related anti-Harris tweets that posted within minutes of each other during the debate.

“Efforts to attack Kamala Harris’ race have been around for a while, but a huge volume of tweets pushing this manufactured narrative appeared tonight right after Kamala pointed out that she was the only Black woman onstage,” Orr wrote, with images of the tweetsquestioning Harris’s racial credentials.

At Thursday’s debate, Harris told Biden that his past stance against federally-mandating busing black students to white schools was personally hurtful because she had benefited from that educational opportunity as a little girl. Afterward, some people on social media falsely claimed that Harris couldn’t lay claim to the afflictions of African Americans.

President Trump’s son, Donald Trump Jr. retweeted, and then deleted, an alt-right commentator named Ali Alexander, stating, “Kamala Harris is implying she is descended from American Black Slaves. She’s not. She comes from Jamaican Slave Owners. That’s fine. She’s not an American Black. Period.”

In sharing that message to his millions of followers, Trump Jr. tweeted: “Is this true? Wow.”

“This is the same type of racist attacks his father used to attack Barack Obama,” Adams said in email to The Washington Post. “It didn’t work then and it won’t work now.”

Two of Harris’s Democratic primary opponents reacted to Trump Jr.’s comment. Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) tweeted: “Donald Trump Jr. is a racist too. Shocker.”

South Bend, Ind. Mayor Pete Buttigieg wrote: “The presidential competitive field is stronger because Kamala Harris has been powerfully voicing her Black American experience. Her first-generation story embodies the American dream. It’s long past time to end these racist, birther-style attacks.”

Other fringe social media accounts echoed the birtherism conspiracies fueled by Donald Trump before he was in politics regarding President Barack Obama’s citizenship. Now they are questioning whether Harris was eligible to run for president, calling her an “anchor baby” because she was born in the United States to immigrants.

When Harris is asked how she identifies herself, she will often say, as “an American.” But recently, she’s leaned in more to what it meant to grow up black in the wake of the civil rights movement — Harris was born in October 1964, just months after the Civil Rights Act had been signed into law.

At a recent campaign event sponsored by Planned Parenthood, Harris spoke about growing up and realizing that people treated her mother with less respect because of the color of her skin.

“I remember people looking down at my mother, assuming she was somebody’s housekeeper and treating her like she was a substandard person,” Harris said. “She was a housekeeper, she kept our house, and happened to be a breast cancer researcher. There was an assumption that this woman had no power and should be given no power.”

“I realize now that I made a decision at a young age,” she said, “that I’m not going to let anybody do that to anybody else.”

I thought she went very low with that race card nonsense. Biden did not deserve her attack but my guess is she felt desperate enough to go that low. I liked her better when she was prosecuting people who were appearing before the Senate but she must already know that this president run things isn't going to get her elected so she desperately lashed out at Biden who is well liked more people than she is.

This is all bullshit. What has she really done to prevent anyone from treating anyone from being discriminated from?

“I remember people looking down at my mother, assuming she was somebody’s housekeeper and treating her like she was a substandard person,” Harris said. “She was a housekeeper, she kept our house, and happened to be a breast cancer researcher. There was an assumption that this woman had no power and should be given no power.”

“I realize now that I made a decision at a young age,” she said, “that I’m not going to let anybody do that to anybody else.”

I dont think Biden will survive. If he does, Trump will crush him. Biden has too much baggage due to his longevity in politics. His competitors will exploit his record. 

This whole issue about busing as a way to integrate neighborhoods in America has been a failure. This does not excuse Biden's tacit accommodation with southern racist congressmen. 

I find it interesting that Ms. Harris, who I like and believe might be the democratic nominee, see herself as "Black". Her mother, I believe was Indian, while her father is Jamaican. I believe emphasizing her "blackness" is a political move to steer Blacks away from Biden. She is therefore exploiting her "blackness", but this is all well and good in politics.

She will not make it.  Attacking Joe Biden and going after him for positions which could split trump base is a bad move.  

White people prefer to let Trump continue.

I don't think that Trump will be re-elected but all the Democrats still have to show me more before I will buy into any of them. I am not bought on any of them yet. I like Biden but there should be someone who is not nearly as old as god who can take the Democratic flag. 

She ain’t going to make it beating up Biden and playing the Black card.  White democrats are already turned off.  

She has zero appeal in middle America and with the Blue collar.  California Liberal elitists will not give her the White House.

This whole issue about busing as a way to integrate neighborhoods in America has been a failure. This does not excuse Biden's tacit accommodation with southern racist congressmen. 

It is my belief that if Harris had a bill that she wants passed and she needs one or two more votes for its passage, she will have no trouble accepting the votes of any southern racist congressperson. That is what legislators do everyday. Harris is being hypocritical in her fake indignation. She has done nothing to help minority people so what is she talking about.

She ain’t going to make it beating up Biden and playing the Black card.  White democrats are already turned off.  

She has zero appeal in middle America and with the Blue collar.  California Liberal elitists will not give her the White House.

I don't understand how these Democratic candidates (including Biden) hasn't realized the damage that Hillary did to her campaign with her basket of deplorables comment. People don't give a shit about those victimhood cries anymore and while white people will grab their wheelchair and oxygen tank and go out to vote, black and brown people don't even care enough to drop a vote by mail ballot in the mailbox much less go out to vote. People get two weeks early voting in Florida where they can go anywhere and vote and yet they don't care to do so. So Harris can continue on that losing path.

The people are right.  I probably got more African black slaves in me than Harris with Caribj and may be Hinds and the Linden Trade Unionist  seeing me as just another koolie.

I don't understand how these Democratic candidates (including Biden) hasn't realized the damage that Hillary did to her campaign with her basket of deplorables comment. People don't give a shit about those victimhood cries anymore and while white people will grab their wheelchair and oxygen tank and go out to vote, black and brown people don't even care enough to drop a vote by mail ballot in the mailbox much less go out to vote. People get two weeks early voting in Florida where they can go anywhere and vote and yet they don't care to do so. So Harris can continue on that losing path.

These people are so much into themselves and their liberal agenda, they don’t get what Biden is trying to do.  So they try to shoot him in the head, while they shoot themselves in the foot.

I thought the Biden approach of niceing up to the NRA, the White Conservatives and the blue collar is the way, along with the Black agenda.  This is a threat to Trump.

However, they don’t get it.  If he nice-up to them, then he bad-up to us. 

Trump will maul them!

She will not make it.  Attacking Joe Biden and going after him for positions which could split trump base is a bad move.  

I don't think that Trump will be re-elected but all the Democrats still have to show me more before I will buy into any of them. I am not bought on any of them yet. I like Biden but there should be someone who is not nearly as old as god who can take the Democratic flag. 

Speaks volumes when Ayuh have to reach back to a 1984 VP candidate to save your bacon in 2020!

Wallaping on the way!

I like Biden but I wish he was younger. I am hoping that someone younger will begin to blossom. Maybe Swalwell will. I don’t care for Harris anymore given her latest theatrics. Gillibrand lost my interest quickly as she should have bowed out of the senate race since her mind had to have been made up about running for president already given how soon after the elections she announced her candidacy. She isn’t doing any senatorial work the next two years so should have demonstrated more decency last November and let another person who was actually going to work take that job.

Imagine, I had to stop wearing my MAGA hat due to Liberal insults.  I watching my cap gathering dust, it painful 😣😢!

😁😄

Good yuh dumped that cap bai. That cap is like a dunce cap. 😀

Speaks volumes when Ayuh have to reach back to a 1984 VP candidate to save your bacon in 2020!

Wallaping on the way!

We might still emerge with a good candidate. Anyone except Hannity is better than who the Republicans ended up with in 2016. 😀

I like Biden but I wish he was younger. I am hoping that someone younger will begin to blossom. Maybe Swalwell will. I don’t care for Harris anymore given her latest theatrics. Gillibrand lost my interest quickly as she should have bowed out of the senate race since her mind had to have been made up about running for president already given how soon after the elections she announced her candidacy. She isn’t doing any senatorial work the next two years so should have demonstrated more decency last November and let another person who was actually going to work take that job.

Wuh happan wid Tulsi?

I didn’t see the first night. Daughter’s birthday more important. 😀

I did like the writer as she seemed composed. I kinda liked Yang too as he seemed pragmatic. The politicians mostly seemed fake. Trump won because although he seemed stupid, he also seemed real unlike Hillary. Today he still seems stupid. 😀

In British politic, candidates go to great lengths in stressing their upper class upbringing. In America, Democrats strive to be in extremely close alliance to Black Americans-Bill Clinton actually thought he was Black. 

I doubt whether any person of color would be considered by Black Americans unless their forefathers felt the task master's whip. They learnt their lessons when they choose Obama, son of a white mother fathered by a Kenyan- a non-American. 

I doan think Blacks are going to make the same mistake twice.

AMERICA IS NOT GOING TO ELECT KAMALA HARRIS. Barack Obama was the only black president America will elect. Electing Obama was an eye opener for the whites. History is in the making. Democrats better be careful. Kamala Harris used the busing issue to get sympathy and raise funds. She was lucky she was not born in MS or GA.

I dont think Biden will survive. If he does, Trump will crush him. Biden has too much baggage due to his longevity in politics. His competitors will exploit his record. 

I find it interesting that Ms. Harris, who I like and believe might be the democratic nominee, see herself as "Black". Her mother, I believe was Indian, while her father is Jamaican. I believe emphasizing her "blackness" is a political move to steer Blacks away from Biden. She is therefore exploiting her "blackness", but this is all well and good in politics.

Why should she not see herself as black? She is not white so that is the counter point that proves the case. It is only the alt right that thinks black means coming from slaves. Black Jamaicans did not come in as plantation owners and slave holders.

She was active in school government and even then accepted by her peers at an HBCU for what she was; black and american who lived the reality of black culture and black life with all that it brings inclusive of segregation and busing.

We were not friends at school but she was always cordial and genteel. How the ***k can you exploit your blackness when that is what you are if you have black blood? White people had t he one drop rule for blackness when it was convenient to discriminate so now they chose to redefine what it is to be black. What a lood of bullshit! This is sheer Alt Right nastiness that Obama faced. 

Imagine if someone said an indian was not indian because their parents were from Fiji or Guyana? 

AMERICA IS NOT GOING TO ELECT KAMALA HARRIS. Barack Obama was the only black president America will elect. Electing Obama was an eye opener for the whites. History is in the making. Democrats better be careful. Kamala Harris used the busing issue to get sympathy and raise funds. She was lucky she was not born in MS or GA.

Kamala is on the ticket as President or VP. That is a fact jack given how this is playing out. Two white men cannot head the ticket. If Kamala does well as she will she will be the leading candidate for VP.

Busing for sympathy? It was a horrific era of segregation and white senators objecting and making their repetition in the south as anti black. How can confronting the history of that be about sympathy? The anti Busing protests was about whites wanting to maintain Jim Crow by any means necessary. 

Why was she lucky for not being born in Mississippi or Georgia? a million of more blacks were born there so what is unlucky about that? Your behind is lucky you were not born here in those times because you would be running around realizing you are part of the honorable designation as black for white people.

In British politic, candidates go to great lengths in stressing their upper class upbringing. In America, Democrats strive to be in extremely close alliance to Black Americans-Bill Clinton actually thought he was Black. 

I doubt whether any person of color would be considered by Black Americans unless their forefathers felt the task master's whip. They learnt their lessons when they choose Obama, son of a white mother fathered by a Kenyan- a non-American. 

You are imagining crap you do not know about as usual. Ask any indian including Eroll who went to an HCBU if they were not thought of as black by blacks students there? Blackness is not ethnicity for white Americans, it is not them. Arabs are sand ******s, Italians got their share of ****** designation for their complexion. It is not ethnicity, it is color. 

Kamala is on the ticket as President or VP. That is a fact jack given how this is playing out. Two white men cannot head the ticket. If Kamala does well as she will she will be the leading candidate for VP.

Busing for sympathy? It was a horrific era of segregation and white senators objecting and making their repetition in the south as anti black. How can confronting the history of that be about sympathy? The anti Busing protests was about whites wanting to maintain Jim Crow by any means necessary. 

Why was she lucky for not being born in Mississippi or Georgia? a million of more blacks were born there so what is unlucky about that? Your behind is lucky you were not born here in those times because you would be running around realizing you are part of the honorable designation as black for white people.

I don't see them trying to get sympathy on TV. I know I am not considered being white. That doesn't bother me. I m not asking for a handout, I work and own everything I have. I never looked for sympathy and took the racists insults. It made me more determined to do well. What is wrong with hard work?

Do you think it is a lack of ability to work that has 60 million US folks on the margin? But where did hard work come in in the above discussion? The lady was lucky to come from educated parents, both physicians and so had a chance beyond most to be educated well. She also has a history of work as an attorney and as a prosecutor that is there for those concerned. I doubt  a lazy black person who can become a senator. Give her credit for her tenacity, her preparation, her erudition and her social conscience. 

You are imagining crap you do not know about as usual. Ask any indian including Eroll who went to an HCBU if they were not thought of as black by blacks students there? Blackness is not ethnicity for white Americans, it is not them. Arabs are sand ******s, Italians got their share of ****** designation for their complexion. It is not ethnicity, it is color. 

Don't bring that BS. Arabs are white people. Italians are white people.

I guess that is that is why they are called sand ******s and italians? some of them look like you and me.

Why should she not see herself as black? She is not white so that is the counter point that proves the case. It is only the alt right that thinks black means coming from slaves. Black Jamaicans did not come in as plantation owners and slave holders.

She was active in school government and even then accepted by her peers at an HBCU for what she was; black and american who lived the reality of black culture and black life with all that it brings inclusive of segregation and busing.

We were not friends at school but she was always cordial and genteel. How the ***k can you exploit your blackness when that is what you are if you have black blood? White people had t he one drop rule for blackness when it was convenient to discriminate so now they chose to redefine what it is to be black. What a lood of bullshit! This is sheer Alt Right nastiness that Obama faced. 

Imagine if someone said an indian was not indian because their parents were from Fiji or Guyana? 

I think she can be a presidential candidate, as well as a VP candidate.  The question is WHO will she be a VP for?

Since Biden is the popular candidate ahead of the others, I believe Harris's reference of Biden as a candidate of another era who worked with racist southerners will have some backlash on Harris. 

However, reaffirming her "blackness" may place her in good standing with Blacks, but I think she should emphasize the fact that she is a black person, as well as a multiracial candidate....which she is.

Try telling an Indian that Guyanese are Indians. The answer is not likeable.

Brown people like Prince, Baseman, and Nehru would want Trump to continue his mission as president. Let's check out DG to see if he changes his mind about Trump.   

Black ppl are not stupid, they know Black ppl. Cheddie tried telling Stokey he was a black man. Stokey replied, yuh aint.

There is no bond in just being anti-white.

The misconception between Guyanese Indians and Indians from India aka (South Asians) are Indians by nationality and Guyanese are Indian by race. 

I think she can be a presidential candidate, as well as a VP candidate.  The question is WHO will she be a VP for?

Since Biden is the popular candidate ahead of the others, I believe Harris's reference of Biden as a candidate of another era who worked with racist southerners will have some backlash on Harris. 

However, reaffirming her "blackness" may place her in good standing with Blacks, but I think she should emphasize the fact that she is a black person, as well as a multiracial candidate....which she is.

Then Trump is okay to White folks as a White Supremist. America goan crazy, all these damn modern day Americans want to shine their ethnicities.

There was a time when an American was an American, white or black.

The misconception between Guyanese Indians and Indians from India aka (South Asians) are Indians by nationality and Guyanese are Indian by race. 

There is no India race. It is something like Indo-European. Basically ppl are either Negroid, Mongoloid or Caussoid(sp). Mixture of the races brings another strain. Once, I was given a very old book on Human Georgraphy. Fascinating that the Japanese are a cross between white ppl and the mongols.

Brown people like Prince, Baseman, and Nehru would want Trump to continue his mission as president.

Let's check out DG to see if he changes his mind about Trump.   

Trumpdeeasski remains steadfastly as the DumdeedumbDonaldasskovy messing himself at every occasion. 

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/40/cb/65/40cb65e163750f65420631705c68c5af.gif