No visa to Ghana

Share on Facebook

Tweet on Twitter

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Karen Cummings, and her Ghanaian counterpart, Shirley Botchwey, signing the MoU in the presence of President David Granger and Ghanaian President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, during a bilateral meeting at State House on Tuesday (DPI Photo)

…Guyana, Ghana abolish visa requirement 
…emphasise need to ‘bridge ocean’ through air service pact

GUYANA and Ghana have signed an agreement to abolish the visa requirement for citizens desirous of travelling between the two countries.

The agreement, in the form of a Memorandum of Understanding, was signed by Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Karen Cummings and her Ghanaian counterpart, Shirley Botchwey, on Tuesday, in the presence of President David Granger and Ghanaian President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, during a bilateral meeting at State House. The MoU will also pave the way for increased cooperation, collaboration and trade.

Addressing journalists shortly after the signing of the MoU, Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon, explained that the agreement to abolish the visa requirement will pave the way for increased travel between the two nations.

“What it means is that persons who are holders of diplomatic, official and regular Guyanese passports can travel to Ghana and likewise, Ghanaians can come to Guyana without the requirement of a visa. In the initial stages, they will be entitled to at least 90 days [three months] without having to renew but after 90 days, then there will be a requirement for renewal based on the laws of the respective countries,” the Director General explained. He emphasized that this agreement intends to facilitate hassle-free travel between the two countries.

On the basis that most Afro-Guyanese identify with the Akan tribe, which is popular in Ghana, Harmon said the agreement also augers well for cultural exchanges. The Director General disclosed too, that President Granger and President Akufo-Addo also “spoke about bridging the ocean,” through the air service agreement.

Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Joseph Harmon, addressing journalists shortly after the MoU was signed at State House (Photo by Adrian Narine)

Using the case of President Akufo-Addo and his delegation as an example, Harmon said it took them approximately 13 hours to travel from Accra, Ghana to Georgetown, Guyana, noting that the journey took them through Europe.

“So this is the benefit of being able to rearrange trade routes, rearrange air routes to allow for better facility, to allow for better travel time for our leaders and for people of this region,” Harmon posited.

In May, Director General of the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA), Lt. Col. (Ret’d) Egbert Field and the High Commissioner of Ghana, Professor Abena Pokua Adompim Busia verbally agreed to explore the possibility of creating sustainable air linkages when they met at GCAA’s Headquarters.

In November 2018, Guyana and Ghana signed an Air Services Agreement at the Third African Diaspora Meeting held at the Arthur Chung Conference Centre.

Under this Agreement, airlines operating from Guyana or Ghana will be able to fly to any destination within both countries as well as provide any number of services between both countries and beyond to any third country, with no restrictions on capacity, frequency, aircraft type and routing. Further, in December 2018, Guyana also signed a Technical Cooperation Agreement with Ghana for the exchange of knowledge and technical expertise in the area of civil aviation.

The Director General said the State visit by the Ghanaian President and the signing of the MoU are geared at cementing the 40-year-old relationship which exists between the two countries but was never formalised until now.

“This visit is cementing the relationship, which was developed between our two countries. The diplomatic relations started in 1979 between Guyana and Ghana, but because the legal framework for getting things done was never firmly established, I believe that we are now in a better position to move forward,” Harmon told the media.

President Granger was accompanied at the meeting by Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo; Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman; Minister of Agriculture, Noel Holder; Minister of Social Cohesion, Dr. George Norton; Director General, Mr. Joseph Harmon; Minister of State, Dawn Hastings- Williams; Minister of Education, Dr. Nicolette Henry and Foreign Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Carl Greenidge.

The Ghanaian President’s delegation comprised Shirley Botchwey, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration; John Peter Amewu, Minister of Energy; Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Minister for Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts; Abena Pokua Adompim Busia, High Commissioner of Ghana to Guyana; Napoleon Abdulai, Ambassador of Ghana to Cuba; Michael Ofori Atta, Director for Regional Integration, Presidency; Yoofi Grant, Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Investment Promotion Centre; and Florence Akonor, Director, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Guyanese will no longer have to endure long lines and frustration, in the mad rush to get visas to travel to Ghana. Django, Cain, d2, Ronan, cribby, leonora and other world travelers will now sleep at night knowing that they are now allowed in Ghana by just flashing their Guyanese citizenship, no matter that it is a shytehole country.  

The Cribby is not going anywhere. He is still afraid that the Ghana people will sell him back into slavery.

Maybe you should ask your wife is she wants to investigate her roots. Ghana is the place. I do not care nor does my wife so your stupid need to validate your nonsense using my alias is not going to cut it. This is useless trolling by an idiot to appear relevant. It is what would automatically get a severe warning and a flag on a managed board. But this is a Guyanese board and as usual with things Guyanese we aim to be sub par in all things. 

BTW Ghanaians do not want to come to our country. They want to go to the US and Europe.  They have a booming economy, the second largest in Africa. It is the raggedy children of Guyana who may want to run there and the longing for Identity of some Pan Africanist who will see his as significant. 

The Cribby is not going anywhere. He is still afraid that the Ghana people will sell him back into slavery.

Another bit of useless, nonsensical trolling that does nothing to enhance the content on the board. As I said, we are where we are at the bottom rung of the development ladder in the west because we have slovenly minds as yours at work for us. 

Maybe you should ask your wife is she wants to investigate her roots. Ghana is the place. I do not care nor does my wife so your stupid need to validate your nonsense using my alias is not going to cut it. This is useless trolling by an idiot to appear relevant. It is what would automatically get a severe warning and a flag on a managed board. But this is a Guyanese board and as usual with things Guyanese we aim to be sub par in all things. 

BTW Ghanaians do not want to come to our country. They want to go to the US and Europe.  They have a booming economy, the second largest in Africa. It is the raggedy children of Guyana who may want to run there and the longing for Identity of some Pan Africanist who will see his as significant. 

Does that mean that you will not be traveling to Ghana to take advantage of the freedom of not being required to apply for a Ghanian visa?

PNC also built numerous arches around the country as well as the Durban Park monstrosity. The arches are actually mind control devices, whoever passes under one will automatically vote PNC.

Does that mean that you will not be traveling to Ghana to take advantage of the freedom of not being required to apply for a Ghanian visa?

I have no desire to travel in west Africa. Some parts of North,  East and South Africa have more lure to me. You seem to be interested to be my guest. 

Lucky for you. You are better off sticking to the European countries, less chance of food poisoning, contracting a virus or being robbed/killed. Druggie will see the world from his wheelchair, in front of a TV.

Europe is my backyard. Other areas are where I go to to see different cultures!

PNC also built numerous arches around the country as well as the Durban Park monstrosity. The arches are actually mind control devices, whoever passes under one will automatically vote PNC.

My favorite is the one at Mahdia.  

I once spoke to a woman from Africa and she told me that she belonged to a minority tribe. It's amazing to see that Tribalism in Africa works like racism in the western world.  There is always an "us and a them".   

I once spoke to a woman from Africa and she told me that she belonged to a minority tribe. It's amazing to see that Tribalism in Africa works like racism in the western world.  There is always an "us and a them".

why the need to go to “Africa” . . . and why is it “amazing”?

the caste system in India is more, shall we say, apropos, no?

India being a single country after all and Africa a land mass of a whopping 54 countries

rite?

I once spoke to a woman from Africa and she told me that she belonged to a minority tribe. It's amazing to see that Tribalism in Africa works like racism in the western world.  

India being a single country after all and Africa a land mass of a whopping 54 countries

rite?

Castism is bad. The state of Indian gives all the right to vote and policies are in place to help minorities with admissions to universities and jobs in the government.  Just think about the lower caste PM Modi

I once spoke to a woman from Africa and she told me that she belonged to a minority tribe. It's amazing to see that Tribalism in Africa works like racism in the western world.  

rite?

Castism is bad. The state of Indian gives all the right to vote and policies are in place to help minorities with admissions to universities and jobs in the government.  Just think about the lower caste PM Modi

your point . . .?

I once spoke to a woman from Africa and she told me that she belonged to a minority tribe. It's amazing to see that Tribalism in Africa works like racism in the western world.  There is always an "us and a them".

rite?

India was a continent of many Kingdoms before the Raj. Likewise, so was Africa before they worked with Europeans to enslave the lesser tribes. And every body on the African Continent was the same unlike India with its diversity of ppls.

And every body on the African Continent was the same unlike India with its diversity of ppls.

unbelievable IGNORANCE!

this alone should make a compelling case for your institutionalization

smh

..The arches are actually mind control devices, whoever passes under one will automatically vote PNC.

Mind control!!  Well surprise us for a change!!

I once spoke to a woman from Africa and she told me that she belonged to a minority tribe. It's amazing to see that Tribalism in Africa works like racism in the western world.  There is always an "us and a them".   

During the African slave trade one tribe sold the other into slavery.

It is all us racist Indo Guyanese’s fault. We instigated it.

And every body on the African Continent was the same unlike India with its diversity of ppls.

unbelievable IGNORANCE!

smh

I know Africans discriminate along Tribal lines. For me, wan black person looks juss like the other black person. However, dey know the differences. I doan know, suh pardon my ignorance.

Doan consider North Africa, dem ppl dat ain Black. 

unbelievable IGNORANCE!

smh

I know Africans discriminate along Tribal lines. For me, wan black person looks juss like the other black person. However, dey know the differences. I doan know, suh pardon my ignorance.

???

It is all us racist Indo Guyanese’s fault. We instigated it.

Dem Black ppl had to be enslaved first before the Indian time came along. That is what happens to inteeligent ppl, dey overran by the backward whites. Smartness in selling ppl for beads and stained glass.

unbelievable IGNORANCE!

smh

???

Yuh lucky you living around Indoes otherwise yuh would have been discriminated. Yuh only have questions.

unbelievable IGNORANCE!

smh

???

Yuh lucky you living around Indoes otherwise yuh would have been discriminated.

huh?

I hope you didn't pass under that one. It's mind control sub module is programmed a little differently than the others. Hint, dj and Lillym passed under it and look at them now.

With the meeting of Granger and Nana Addo ,they were able to release two Canadian women that were held captive in Ghana. "They never eat a White Meat yet". Along with Uganda , there are cases of Ebola in Ghana, I don't know who would want to go there, even for FREE.

Also jackass Granger got Nana to pledge to help Guyana with energy sector. Surprising, considering what a wonderful job he is doing in his own country.

From usaid.gov

Ghana Energy Sector Overview
One of Ghana’s paramount constraints to economic
growth is the unreliable and inadequate supply of electric
power. The country has 2,450 mega-watts (MW) of
installed generation capacity, including 546 MW of
generation from independent power producers (IPPs).
But actual availability hardly exceeds 2000 MW. This
serves a population of 25 million that is growing at 2.1%
per year. An existing thermal power plant is being re-fitted
as a ‘combined-cycle’ facility that will run on natural gas
and oil, generating an additional 110 MW. Another IPP,
CenPower/Kpone, reached financial close in November
2014, and ultimately will produce 348 MW. These
increases in capacity aid the Government of Ghana
(GOG) to partly achieve its target of 5,000 MW of
installed generation by 2016, including 10% from
renewable sources.
Reforms across the power sector will be necessary for
Ghana to scale-up private-sector investment. Thus,
Power Africa and other partners focus on the following
priorities: (1) building a transparent framework for the
development and management of Ghana’s substantial
natural gas resources; (2) initiating a least-cost, transparent approach to generation expansion
including competitive bidding; (3) effective allocation and pricing of legacy hydropower; (4) integrated
resource and resiliency planning among the generation, transmission, and distribution sectors; (5);
improved energy efficiency and demand-side management; and (6) expansion of renewable energy
sources.

With the meeting of Granger and Nana Addo ,they were able to release two Canadian women that were held captive in Ghana. "They never eat a White Meat yet". Along with Uganda , there are cases of Ebola in Ghana, I don't know who would want to go there, even for FREE.

A shithole country or Another shithole country.

Afro Guyanese should never need a visa to go to their home country.  Many Guyanese and Jamaicans can trace their roots to Ghana.  Guyana national hero from Berbice, not Charandas, was born in Ghana in the mid 1700s

That's correct, unfortunately East Indians from the Caribbean have to get Visa to visit the motherland of their ancestors.

That’s because some of them behave as if they are black.