Resignation calls grow as UK PM May’s final Brexit gambit bombs

LONDON,  (Reuters) – British Prime Minister Theresa May’s final Brexit gambit was in tatters today  as lawmakers in her own party rejected a compromise offer and called for her to resign immediately.

Nearly three years since Britain voted 52% to 48% to leave the European Union, the beleaguered May made one last pitch on Tuesday to get her divorce deal approved by the British parliament before her crisis-riven premiership ends.

She offered a parliamentary vote on whether to hold a second Brexit referendum – once her legislation passes the first stage – as well as closer trading arrangements with the EU in future as incentives to what she called the only way to prevent a disruptive “no-deal” Brexit.

But the backlash was swift and fierce.

Theresa May

Both ruling Conservative and opposition Labour lawmakers criticised May’s Withdrawal Agreement Bill, or WAB, legislation which implements the terms of Britain’s twice-delayed departure.

Some intensified their public efforts to oust May and there were reports that her own cabinet ministers could move against her.

“There is one last chance to get it right and leave in an orderly fashion. But it is now time for Prime Minister Theresa May to go – and without delay,” Conservative lawmaker Tom Tugendhat, chairman of parliament’s Foreign Affairs Select Committee, wrote in the Financial Times.

“She must announce her resignation after Thursday’s European (Parliament) elections.”

The protracted impasse in London over the terms of Brexit means it is unclear how, when or even if Britain will leave the European club it joined in 1973. The current deadline to leave is Oct. 31.

May’s latest offer has enraged eurosceptics opposed to a second referendum, and fails to go far enough for those who want to give the public another say in the hope of stopping Brexit altogether.

Despite the criticism, May stood firm during more than two hours of questions in parliament, urging lawmakers to back the bill and then have a chance to make changes to it, so they can have more control over the final shape of Brexit.

“In time another prime minister will be standing at this despatch box,” May said, acknowledging that her leadership was drawing to a close.

“But while I am here, I have a duty to be clear with the House (of Commons) about the facts. If we are going to deliver Brexit in this parliament we are going to have to pass a Withdrawal Agreement Bill,” she told MPs.

May has so far fended off attempts to oust her by promising to set out a departure timetable once parliament has had a chance to vote on the legislation.

Asked by eurosceptic lawmaker Jacob Rees-Mogg whether she really believed in the new deal she had proposed or whether she was simply going through the motions, May said:

“I don’t think I would have been standing here at the despatch box and be in receipt of some of the comments I have been in receipt of from colleagues on my own side and across the house if I didn’t believe in what I was doing,” she said.

“GOT TO GO”

Britain’s marathon crisis over Brexit has stunned allies and foes alike. With the deadlock in London, the world’s fifth largest economy faces an array of options including an exit with a deal to smooth the transition, a no-deal exit, an election, a second referendum, or even revocation of the Article 50 notice to leave the EU.

The pound was on track for its longest ever losing streak against the euro as some traders said they saw the rising chance of a no-deal Brexit. Those fears pushed investors into the relative safety of government bonds – particularly those that offer protection against a spike in inflation.

There were some signs of support for May in parliament, but swathes of empty Conservative benches during Wednesday’s debate reflected the fact that many of her fiercest critics had decided to stay away.

“The proposed second reading of the WAB is clearly doomed to failure so there really is no point wasting any more time on the prime minister’s forlorn hope of salvation,” Andrew Bridgen, a Conservative lawmaker, told Reuters. “She’s got to go.”

More Conservative lawmakers handed over letters to the 1922 Committee, a Conservative group that can make or break party leaders, to demand a no-confidence vote in May.

Asked about the pressure to resign, her spokesman said: “The PM is focused on the job in hand and what the last 24 hours or so have proved, it is a big one.”

Thet FRIG up Africa, Asia Guyana and many more so is time to FRIG themselves up!!!!!!

If they didn’t frig up Guyana some people would still be minding cow in Bihar or drinking goat blood for breakfast in Africa.  But yes, her days are coming nigh.  Democracy in Action.

Why do you say that? The only advantage Europeans had was gunpowder and the vicious temperament to use it with intent to subdue or destroy whatever they could not get. Culture was more advanced in India and Africa than in Europe.

antabanta posted:

Why do you say that? The only advantage Europeans had was gunpowder and the vicious temperament to use it with intent to subdue or destroy whatever they could not get. Culture was more advanced in India and Africa than in Europe.

In the case of Britain they had the power of the pound, shilling, and pence and those universities called Oxford and Cambridge. The rest of Europe had places like the palace of Versailles and the Winter Palace and similar iconic structures.  The Industrial Revolution in Britain placed them way ahead of India and Africa at that time.

Churchill rightfully said, “The sun never sets on the British Empire.”

The Limeys sucked the resources out of the Colonies!! Bloody Bastards!!! Enslaves the citizens for cheap labor and As Market for their products!!!

True. But Guyana has Independence now for 53 years and what have they done for themselves? 

antabanta posted:

In the case of Britain they had the power of the pound, shilling, and pence and those universities called Oxford and Cambridge. The rest of Europe had places like the palace of Versailles and the Winter Palace and similar iconic structures.  The Industrial Revolution in Britain placed them way ahead of India and Africa at that time.

Bibi is right.  Now Guyanese got to line up at the British High Commission to get UK visas and the Guyana Government has to beg Britain to buy our sugar. Guyana should opt for status similar to Anguilla.

The Limeys sucked the resources out of the Colonies!! Bloody Bastards!!! Enslaves the citizens for cheap labor and As Market for their products!!!

True. But Guyana has Independence now for 53 years and what have they done for themselves? 

Gal, dat is a different story Well, now the PNC doing the sucking

All that wealth was stolen from colonies by vicious application of military force and via slavery. When Britons were living in mud huts and bashing each others head for food, our ancestors wore silk and were studying the stars. The British Empire consists of devastated colonies. Nothing for us to celebrate. We are the victims not the beneficiaries.

India was also a colony of Britain and they are now on their way to becoming a superpower through pure brain power.  After 53 years of Independence Guyana still sit down waiting for Exxon to show up and offer them lil 2% Royalty.

antabanta posted:

All that wealth was stolen from colonies by vicious application of military force and via slavery. When Britons were living in mud huts and bashing each others head for food, our ancestors wore silk and were studying the stars. The British Empire consists of devastated colonies. Nothing for us to celebrate. We are the victims not the beneficiaries.

You don't have to line up at the British embassy to get visas or beg Britain to buy your sugar ( so you can get foreign currency) that they could easily get from beets. You are in North America having a good time.

India was also a colony of Britain and they are now on their way to becoming a superpower through pure brain power.  After 53 years of Independence Guyana still sit down waiting for Exxon to show up and offer them lil 2% Royalty.

You are possibly unaware of the massive differences between India and Guyana? Forget about the ancient civilization, just look at the overwhelming advantage of 1.3 billion people vs 800 thousand. India and China should be ruling the world, not just becoming a superpower.

You don't have to line up at the British embassy to get visas or beg Britain to buy your sugar ( so you can get foreign currency) that they could easily get from beets. You are in North America having a good time.

Thank you for updating me about me. Other than that, is your response supposed to mean anything?

You understand it is the devastation in the wake of colonialism that is responsible for the poverty of former colonies, especially the ones populated by non-whites?

Last edited by antabanta

An extremely narrow perspective.

India was an advanced country, despite being colonized by Britain.

India in those days included Pakistan and Bangladesh.

antabanta posted:

Thank you for updating me about me. Other than that, is your response supposed to mean anything?

You understand it is the devastation in the wake of colonialism that is responsible for the poverty of former colonies, especially the ones populated by non-whites?

As an East Indian.  For me the British Army's presence in British Guiana helped to prevent more East Indian and Dougla women from being savagely raped with glassed bottles by racist antikoolie Uncle Thomas crackers. 

Nearly three years since Britain voted 52% to 48% to leave the European Union, the beleaguered May made one last pitch on Tuesday to get her divorce deal approved by the British parliament before her crisis-riven premiership ends.

She offered a parliamentary vote on whether to hold a second Brexit referendum – once her legislation passes the first stage – as well as closer trading arrangements with the EU in future as incentives to what she called the only way to prevent a disruptive “no-deal” Brexit.

Theresa May

May may be gone by the end of May.

As an East Indian.  For me the British Army's presence in British Guiana helped to prevent more East Indian and Dougla women from being savagely raped with glassed bottles by racist antikoolie Uncle Thomas crackers. 

What's the matter, coolie champion, were you too terrified and hiding under your bed to help East Indian women? If the British Army was present in Guyana to help East Indians, how did the PNC gain power? If such simple truth poses difficulty for you what kind of leadership can you possibly offer your coolie nation?

antabanta posted:

Any how you look at it Guyana is a failed state where racial can kill you. Your belly is full of North American food so that you can preech to the poor. Compare Guyana to little Anguilla and you get the full picture.

So while my belly full with North American food  I can preach to coolies about segregation and getting a separate state?

antabanta posted:

What's the matter, coolie champion, were you too terrified and hiding under your bed to help East Indian women? If the British Army was present in Guyana to help East Indians, how did the PNC gain power? If such simple truth poses difficulty for you what kind of leadership can you possibly offer your coolie nation?

The last time Prashad checked he was well armed.  You should try it now and see what will happens.  They will have to search for years to find your head.

antabanta posted:

The last time Prashad checked he was well armed.  You should try it now and see what will happens.  They will have to search for years to find your head.

Two holla and you run. Prashad better check every five minutes. Idle threats are always amusing. I repeat my question. If the British Army was present in Guyana to help East Indians, how did the PNC gain power?

Last edited by antabanta

The British Army was in British Guiana to stop the rioting. I met a woman who fled Guiana because she saw what the British army did to PNC supporters when they were rioting on Regent Street. for example she saw one PNC supporter caught setting fire to a building had an army bayonet stab in his leg when he was brought to the Georgetown hospital.

One man stabbed with a bayonet in his leg?? That's it? Maybe you should look for someone who witnessed the savage raping of East Indian and Dougla women. The PNC still won. How did they manage to do that if the British were there on behalf of East Indians? You must have read The Prashad Version of Guyana's history. The British and Americans were in Guyana to support the PNC and prevent the PPP gaining power to forestall the spread of communism.

Theresa May

She pretty much gone already. 

She is leaving on the 7th June, what a failure as the 2nd woman Prime Minister. 

She started off fine, was getting good ratings, and was even compared to the Great Iron Lady, Maggie Thatcher. 

I don’t think she is a failure.  She was democratically elected and had the gall and decency to resign when the tides turn against her.

Maybe Granger should try to learn from her how decent politicians behave. 

Hope she didn't cause too much Cabinet mayhem. 

Naaaaahhhh, no mayhem at all.

They will say ... "Goodbye ... now go and join up with Thatcher."

Britain was powerless to stop the work of the CIA in installing Burnham as Prime Minister. Just as they were powerless to prevent Jewish covert organizations such as the Irgun from attacking and killing British soldiers. Read the declassified diplomatic cables. Britain was warned by the then  American government that it's relationship with America could be strained if it did not allow the CIA to do it's covert role of removing the Jagan government.

Mayhem is for the Guyana government.  Other countries respect the will of the people and know when they have outlasted their time so they do the honorable thing and resign.

Did you remind Jagdeo he should do the 'honorable thing' and let the will of the people decide instead of single handedly decicde Ifart is the best for them? 

antabanta posted:

One man stabbed with a bayonet in his leg?? That's it? Maybe you should look for someone who witnessed the savage raping of East Indian and Dougla women. The PNC still won. How did they manage to do that if the British were there on behalf of East Indians? You must have read The Prashad Version of Guyana's history. The British and Americans were in Guyana to support the PNC and prevent the PPP gaining power to forestall the spread of communism.

Reminds me of a dougla who had the coolie beaten out him. He pleaded, he was one of dem but they whipped him good demanding to know if he mother was coolie or black. Poor chap, he was between a rock and a hard place. An Indian mother, he was beaten because his black father was not a black racists. A Black mother meant she was a disgrace fuh teking an Indian. Licks like peas, dey keeping telling him, "we goan beat the cooolie out ah yuh." Granger called that period, "Disturbances." More like Disturbing it should be?

Last edited by seignet