http://www.guyana.org/features/wismar_report.html

CHAPTER 2

RECENT DISTURBANCES AT WISMAR-CHRISTIANBURG-MACKENZIE

I. Background

The Colony of British Guiana was in a state of unrest during the time of the disturbances in the Wismar-Christianburg-Mackenzie area - May 1964.

A strike had been called in the sugar industry by the Guyana Agricultural Workers Union [G.A.W.U.] to enforce their demand for recognition as the bargaining agent for the majority of the workers in that industry. The Sugar Producers' Association [S.P.A.] had for many years recognised the Man Power Citizens' Association [M.P.C.A.] which refused to agree to the holding of a poll among sugar workers to settle the question.

This strike must be regarded in the context of the division which had developed in recent years between the East Indians, the majority of whom supported the People's Progressive Party [P.P.P.] led by Dr. Cheddi B. Jagan and the majority of the Africans in the population who supported the P.N.C. [People's National Congress] led by Mr. Forbes Burnham. While the G.A.W.U. was the "industrial arm" of the P.P.P., the President of the M.P.C.A., Mr. Richard Ishmael, was against the P.P.P. and seemed to enjoy the mutual confidence and support of the P.N.C. and Mr. Burnham.

Although the strike which commenced in February 1964 was peaceful at first, as time dragged on with no solution in sight tempers flared, and there were clashes between strikers and non-strikers, especially after the employment of Africans as strike breakers. When two non-strikers were killed by a bomb blast at Tain on the Corentyne Coast, and a G.A.W.U. supporter squatting at the entrance of Leonora Sugar Factory was crushed to death by an estate tractor, both sides claimed their martyrs. Following these incidents, the violence was intensified over the greater part of the East and West Coast of Demerara. Many people were murdered and there were numerous cases of arson and bombings.

The murder of a negro couple at Buxton on Thursday 21st May [the Sealeys] had its repercussions in attacks on East Indians and their property in the streets of Georgetown on the afternoon of Friday 22nd May. Violence had reached such a pitch that Your Excellency was advised by the Government to declare a state of emergency on that evening. Three days later, on Monday 25th May, the violence which had until then been confined to the coastal strip was extended to the Wismar-Mackenzie-Christianburg area resulting in widespread disturbances which it has been our task to investigate.

http://www.guyana.org/features/Day_1.pdf

Part of Transcripts–Day 1

SUGRIM SINGH: Prior to 25th May, 1964, you having been there since November last year, do you recall any racial or other disturbances in Wismar?

BENDER: No, I don’t recall any.

SUGRIM SINGH: Do you agree with me that the residents in that area, Indians and Africans, lived in complete harmony up to around the 25th May?

BENDER: Yes.

SUGRIM SINGH: Do you agree with me, Mr. Bender, that in the social field –I am talking about clubs, debating societies and other social amenities in the district –Indians and Africans were together? Could you of your own knowledge living in that district at the time give this Commission any reasons in the light of the background you have admitted of complete harmony, any reason for this sudden outbreak of violence, Africans attacking Indians on the 25th May?

BENDER: It was surprising to me.

SUGRIM SINGH: My instructions are that there was an allegation of an adult Indian kicking a Negro boy. Did you hear of this?

BENDER: Yes I heard.

SUGRIM SINGH: And my instructions are that this touched off the occurrence of the 25th May. Do you agree with this?

BENDER: Yes, I heard so.

SUGRIM SINGH: Again, I promise not to ask you what you heard. Now, let us come back. Mr. Bender, is it within your knowledge that it is usual for the Mackenzie area to be visited by ex-convicts and people of questionable reputation ?

SUGRIM SINGH: Do you remember seeing any outstanding criminals on the relevant date, May 25th, 1964?

BENDER: Yes, I had heard there was an abnormal influx.

SUGRIM SINGH: Mr. Bender, do you remember seeing strange faces from Georgetown? Crowds of young men, strangers in the district in white shirts and dark trousers?

BENDER: I heard about this.

SUGRIM SINGH: Are you aware of the fact that bombs were used in the destruction of houses?

BENDER: There were loud explosions.

SUGRIM SINGH: Are you aware, Mr. Bender, of men, women and children seeking shelter and this request was refused by their immediate neighbours of African descent? In a population of eighteen thousand people, two thousand were attacked by a comparatively speaking small crowd of unruly people? Are you aware of any efforts by the rest of the population in that area to intervene to avert this catastrophe?

BENDER: No.

SUGRIM SINGH: Mr. Bender, are you aware of any effort by the local authority, the Churches and prominent individuals in that area to intervene to avert the atrocities at Wismar?

SUGRIM SINGH: I am sure you will unhesitatingly agree with me that had the other fifteen thousand people intervened they would have averted this happening?

"two non-strikers were killed by a bomb blast at Tain"

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Dude...

you have an obsession and a fetish for this race thing...now you gone "nit-picking" for terrorism....

First you invoke a dead man, Daley Bisnate, now you referencing an old man who probably have faint memory about that event.

Who cares if it was "PPP" or "PNC" bombs?

We know what your sole purpose here is...

you representing the Black KKK views trying to incite the Indo KKKs into reinvoking another cyber race war reflective of the one that took place 60 years age...most of us were not even born yet...

Indos got their Wismar, Afros got Son Chapmann...let it rest...a COI was done...why you starting shyte after several threads were dedicated to this already?

You should focus your energy on how to prevent such a tragedy....

If you got nothing useful to do....go watch the Memorial Day Parade...thats where I am going...

Posters should let this thread die a slow death...useless dribble.

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Dude...

you have an obsession and a fetish for this race thing...now you gone "nit-picking" for terrorism....

First you invoke a dead man, Daley Bisnate, now you referencing an old man who probably have faint memory about that event.

you representing the Black KKK views trying to incite the Indo KKKs into reinvoking another cyber race war reflective of the one that took place 60 years age...most of us were not even born yet...

Indos got their Wismar, Afros got Son Chapmann...let it rest...a COI was done...why you starting shyte after several threads were dedicated to this already?

If you got nothing useful to do....go watch the Memorial Day Parade...thats where I am going...

Write his name on a banner and wave em at the parade in his memory.

http://www.guyana.org/features/Day_1.pdf

Part of Transcripts–Day 1

SUGRIM SINGH: Prior to 25th May, 1964, you having been there since November last year, do you recall any racial or other disturbances in Wismar?

BENDER: No, I don’t recall any.

SUGRIM SINGH: Do you agree with me that the residents in that area, Indians and Africans, lived in complete harmony up to around the 25th May?

SUGRIM SINGH: Do you agree with me, Mr. Bender, that in the social field –I am talking about clubs, debating societies and other social amenities in the district –Indians and Africans were together? Could you of your own knowledge living in that district at the time give this Commission any reasons in the light of the background you have admitted of complete harmony, any reason for this sudden outbreak of violence, Africans attacking Indians on the 25th May?

BENDER: It was surprising to me.

SUGRIM SINGH: My instructions are that there was an allegation of an adult Indian kicking a Negro boy. Did you hear of this?

BENDER: Yes I heard.

SUGRIM SINGH: And my instructions are that this touched off the occurrence of the 25th May. Do you agree with this?

BENDER: Yes, I heard so.

SUGRIM SINGH: Again, I promise not to ask you what you heard. Now, let us come back. Mr. Bender, is it within your knowledge that it is usual for the Mackenzie area to be visited by ex-convicts and people of questionable reputation ?

SUGRIM SINGH: Do you remember seeing any outstanding criminals on the relevant date, May 25th, 1964?

BENDER: Yes, I had heard there was an abnormal influx.

SUGRIM SINGH: Mr. Bender, do you remember seeing strange faces from Georgetown? Crowds of young men, strangers in the district in white shirts and dark trousers?

BENDER: I heard about this.

SUGRIM SINGH: Are you aware of the fact that bombs were used in the destruction of houses?

BENDER: There were loud explosions.

SUGRIM SINGH: Are you aware, Mr. Bender, of men, women and children seeking shelter and this request was refused by their immediate neighbours of African descent? In a population of eighteen thousand people, two thousand were attacked by a comparatively speaking small crowd of unruly people? Are you aware of any efforts by the rest of the population in that area to intervene to avert this catastrophe?

SUGRIM SINGH: Mr. Bender, are you aware of any effort by the local authority, the Churches and prominent individuals in that area to intervene to avert the atrocities at Wismar?

SUGRIM SINGH: I am sure you will unhesitatingly agree with me that had the other fifteen thousand people intervened they would have averted this happening?

a couple things of note:

Wismar at that time was mostly an unorganized squatting area with a deep reservoir of poor, unemployed people, unlike the situation obtaining in Mackenzie proper

same for Kara Kara which had sprung up in proximity to the mine of the same name

the institutions of governance, Law & Order, the hospital, the bauxite/Alumina operations all resided in Mackenzie, across the river . . . there was no bridge then

yes, Wismar was a nightmare in late May 1964 for any Afro sympathizing with Indian life and property under attack . . . in fact, many of them so inclined fled to Mackenzie for the duration of the pogrom along with many Indians whose properties were looted and destroyed

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Dude...

banna tek a seat . . . your bruised ego seeking a do-over

sorry, there is none on offer

i bring sanity and FACTS to shame the evil people engaged in a Hate Speech orgy these past couple of days on GNI

and somehow you vex

choosing ME of all people to cuss down as "KKK"

wandering, ignorant and exposed . . . you don't even have the good sense to examine the Kwayana quote and educate yourself

ahhh yes, the "1000 X 3" foaming at the mouth LIARDS  must be given space to defame Black people

it's a privilege exclusive to certain points of view on race relations in Guyana that must be fed oxygen here at all costs . . . decency and civilized discourse be damned

aritey den . . . dem bais (Dave, DrugB and others INVISIBLE to you), i am sure, welcome your bent back lugging wan oxygen tank

instructive that you wish my thread "die a slow death" but long life to dis wan freighted with race hate and BIG LIES! https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/w...assacre-commemorated

how dare RONAN pour TRUTH on their parade

hmmmm . . .?

Dude...

Banna, ah kno yuh gat ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder - I spelled it out just suh yuh wouldn't ask what it means), but you gotta be an idiot if you don't see the postings of the rabid indo kkk screaming and distorting hay.

Nobody denying the events in Wismar and the violence directed toward Indians by Afro Guyanese. But to describe it as a massacre where 3,000 indian people died is dishonest at least.

And here you come wid yuh numbskull ramblings, jumping pon de band wagon talking shit and admonishing people about use of words like "racist" whilst restraining yuhself from addressing the indian RACISTS busy sullying their mattie Indians by distorting facts.

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Can you explain what the indos of linden/wismar had to do with the bombing?

they had nothing to do with it

they also had nothing to do with the bombing of the Sun Chapman

what's your point?

Then why did your people murder, rape, beat and chase them out of linden/wismar? Were they not innocent and not deserving of the punishment inflicted by your pnc scumbags?

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Can you explain what the indos of linden/wismar had to do with the bombing?

they had nothing to do with it

they also had nothing to do with the bombing of the Sun Chapman

what's your point?

Then why did your people murder, rape, beat and chase them out of linden/wismar?

"my people" . . .??

if you want to have a conversation don't predicate it on stupid, sick-minded insults to me and my family

arite?

"my people" . . .??

if you want to have a conversation don't predicate it with sick-minded insults to me and my family

arite?

Don't get your panties in a bunch, you people refers to the folks of linden/wismar who you support in their "punishment" of indos for the sun chapman bombing.  Everytime a white cop shoots a black, do you go beat rob, rape and expel your white neighbors? Yall rass only tek yuh eyes pass indos, you bow down to the white man.    

"my people" . . .??

if you want to have a conversation don't predicate it on stupid, sick-minded insults to me and my family

arite?

Don't get your panties in a bunch, you people refers to the folks of linden/wismar who you support in their "punishment" of indos for the sun chapman bombing.   

the Sun Chapman bombing occurred more than a month after "Wismar"

try to keep up

"my people" . . .??

arite?

Don't get your panties in a bunch, you people refers to the folks of linden/wismar who you support in their "punishment" of indos for the sun chapman bombing.   

try to keep up

So that is even worse,  why your people did what they did? Seems like afro nazi, similar to the germans and the jews. 

a couple things of note:

Wismar at that time was mostly an unorganized squatting area with a deep reservoir of poor, unemployed people, unlike the situation obtaining in Mackenzie proper

same for Kara Kara which had sprung up in proximity to the mine of the same name

the institutions of governance, Law & Order, the hospital, the bauxite/Alumina operations all resided in Mackenzie, across the river . . . there was no bridge then

yes, Wismar was a nightmare in late May 1964 for any Afro sympathizing with Indian life and property under attack . . . in fact, many of them so inclined fled to Mackenzie for the duration of the pogrom along with many Indians whose properties were looted and destroyed

Thanks for the clarity, never visited the area, also in 1964, i  previously mentioned was in my early teenage years.

"my people" . . .??

arite?

try to keep up

So that is even worse,  why your people did what they did? Seems like afro nazi, similar to the germans and the jews. 

i started this thread to educate slow stupids like you about the context of Wismar May 25-28, 1964

study the section of the Wismar Report i posted [don't just skim and bray like before] and get back to me

ok?

a couple things of note:

to clarify just so Dem_Guy doan jump all over me

Kara Kara is on the 'Mackenzie' side of the river

the Magistrates Court for historical, anomalous reasons then (and today) is located at Christianburg, the oldest settlement (on the 'Wismar' side)

Dondadda posted:

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Ronan, why would you like to discuss terror when you are the face of terror. Tell me why? 

banna, if you have nothing grown-up to contribute, please go shakeabatty with Dave and drugb on the other thread

thanks

"my people" . . .??

if you want to have a conversation don't predicate it with sick-minded insults to me and my family

arite?

Don't get your panties in a bunch, you people refers to the folks of linden/wismar who you support in their "punishment" of indos for the sun chapman bombing.  Everytime a white cop shoots a black, do you go beat rob, rape and expel your white neighbors? Yall rass only tek yuh eyes pass indos, you bow down to the white man.    

The reason no response is made is that the White Para military forces such as the KKK and the Neo Nazis will respond with letal force. 

hence y'all 'ambition'

what a sad little man you have become in your old age

begging around in diseased company for 'political' viagra to give your limpness "letal" force

smfh

Some of the post aren't the real Drugb, looks like an imposter.

The imposter is trying out for a Nobel Prize. See the 'Magistrate jails police inspector' thread where I was rolling on the floor laughing at the post immediately above where the imposter exposed herself about being ashamed if her black friends read the shyte she writes here.     

Dude...

Banna, ah kno yuh gat ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder - I spelled it out just suh yuh wouldn't ask what it means), but you gotta be an idiot if you don't see the postings of the rabid indo kkk screaming and distorting hay.

Nobody denying the events in Wismar and the violence directed toward Indians by Afro Guyanese. But to describe it as a massacre where 3,000 indian people died is dishonest at least.

And here you come wid yuh numbskull ramblings, jumping pon de band wagon talking shit and admonishing people about use of words like "racist" whilst restraining yuhself from addressing the indian RACISTS busy sullying their mattie Indians by distorting facts.

Dude...

I said this was an over-reach. AND, I noted this was not a "massacre". There was no massacre of 3,000 people. It was a pogrom that uprooted an entire village. Most sane people can gather this much from reading the COI. 

There is guilt on both sides....

What is the point in you and your sidekick belaboring this point?

PPP bombs or PNC bombs?

let's discuss terror

Dude...

i bring sanity and FACTS to shame the evil people engaged in a Hate Speech orgy these past couple of days on GNI

and somehow you vex

wandering, ignorant and exposed . . . you don't even have the good sense to examine the Kwayana quote and educate yourself

ahhh yes, the "1000 X 3" foaming at the mouth LIARDS  must be given space to defame Black people

it's a privilege exclusive to certain points of view on race relations in Guyana that must be fed oxygen here at all costs . . . decency and civilized discourse be damned

aritey den . . . dem bais (Dave, DrugB and others INVISIBLE to you), i am sure, welcome your bent back lugging wan oxygen tank

instructive that you wish my thread "die a slow death" but long life to dis wan freighted with race hate and BIG LIES! https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/w...assacre-commemorated

hmmmm . . .?

Knucklehead...

let  we  try  this  a  little  slowly...

this question you pose here about the TAIN "bombs" is inciteful...as far as I can tell TAIN is miles away from Wismar.

You have sailed away from the question of a "massacre" in Wismar to another issue....

Here you are....hard at work, looking for the aggressor who cast the first stone....I think Mr. Kawana's point is that there was no innocent race....that point seems to zoom over your big head...

...bawl all you want...this boils down one Afro KKK poster ...goading and instigating the Indo KKKs into a response...

we know how this is going to end....

The was in today's KN....

"The independent international media described the attack on Indians, who were an ethnic minority in the area, “as an orchestrated orgy of violence. It was an ethnic cleansing.”

We must not erase this important part of our history and effort must be made to bring reconciliation between victims and perpetrators (victors). Victims are still hurting and can’t bring themselves to celebrate independence. One must be sensitive to the remembrance of the victims and only join in celebrations of the victors.

It should not be forgotten that an official British government report on the Wismar Massacre  said, “ was politically and racially inspiredâ€Ķand the fact that the security forces were in no case able to apprehend arsonists forces us to conclude that the destruction was not ‘spontaneous’, but was organised, and well organised.”

Reports say the Indians were beaten and robbed; regrettably, some of their neighbours took part in the pogrom. Some 3,000 Indians were victims of terror, murder, physical barbarism, and psychological trauma. They were uprooted from their homes, other properties, businesses and jobs. They lost gold, money and other valuables in the tens of millions of dollars of value at that time (tens of billions in today’s value). They fled for their safety and were not allowed to return to their properties or recoup valuables. They received no compensation for their humongous losses.
At a recent conference on the Wismar Massacre in New York, eyewitnesses (survivors) said several Indians were murdered, hundreds of women raped (including children), over two hundred and twenty five Indian homes and dozens of businesses razed to the ground, and temples and masjids desecrated as Indians fled for their lives.

Again,

the use of "massacre" is overreach....but this is how one person described it in a letter..

and somehow you vex

hmmmm . . .?

this question you pose here about the TAIN "bombs" is inciteful...as far as I can tell TAIN is miles away from Wismar.

You have sailed away from the question of a "massacre" in Wismar to another issue....

the context is not mine you klowning jackass

the Tain bombing and murder of the Sealeys were put in the WISMAR Report for a very good reason

these were the Commissioners:

(1) Sohan Roopan Singh

(2) Dr. Harold Drayton

(3) Rev. Alexander Sutherland McDonald

(4) Dr. Subhan Ali Ramjohn

that you insist on being willfully ignorant . . . contributing the most unintelligent, inane, childish 'observations' all with common sense staring you down at every turn is, in the final analysis, your own disgraceful affair

smfh

the use of "massacre" is overreach....but this is how one person described it in a letter..

there were three official dead resulting from the terror at Wismar during May 25-28, 1964

styling this a "massacre" of 3 x 1000 is pure EVIL

3 x 3 is what you could call "overreach"

you live in a dutty pretend world . . . there is an ocean of difference

smfh

i started this thread to educate slow stupids like you about the context of Wismar May 25-28, 1964

study the section of the Wismar Report i posted [don't just skim and bray like before] and get back to me

ok?

I will not be spoon fed pnc propaganda. The events speak for itself, 3000 indos expelled from their homes by black pnc supporters like yourself, and you tell me to go study some crap you posted.  You have yet to tell us why you believe this action was justified. 

and somehow you vex

hmmmm . . .?

the context is not mine you klowning jackass

the Tain bombing and murder of the Sealeys were put in the WISMAR Report for a very good reason

these were the Commissioners:

(1) Sohan Roopan Singh

(2) Dr. Harold Drayton

(3) Rev. Alexander Sutherland McDonald

(4) Dr. Subhan Ali Ramjohn

that you insist on being willfully ignorant . . . contributing the most unintelligent, inane, childish 'observations' all with common sense staring you down at every turn is, in the final analysis, your own disgraceful affair

smfh

Banna...

you need to stop talking to yourself....

Dont waste people's time instigating a cyber race war here about an event that occurred a generation ago...

I know the TAIN bombing was put in the report....I can read...

BUT....I am referring to your comments below (which YOU conveniently deleted from your repost):

"two non-strikers were killed by a bomb blast at Tain                   "PPP bombs or PNC bombs?                                                                 let's discuss terror

Not everyone here is saying Wismar was a massacre...

If you want to talk "TERRORISM" go talk to drug kingpin Roger Khan or  the assassins of Walter Rodney....

Haul your racist arse...

there were three official dead resulting from the terror at Wismar during May 25-28, 1964

smfh

OK...suh....let me rephrase it...how does "pogrom" swing with you?

Like I said...you are here for one purpose...the obliteration of anything that smacks of a hint of anti-PNC....

suh...here on GNI we got the Indo KKK on one side, and the Afro KKK on the other side of the boxing ring....

Dave and Drugb dem are shaking their batty saying EXACTLY THAT here: https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/w...assacre-commemorated

and that's only one of many threads they and others are 'performing' on

however, they and that are INVISIBLE to you

while you yourself scrape like-a-rass at the sore that is our joint affliction  with your 'let's pretend' . . . and not-so-slyly join the PILE ON with the other racists dedicated to a DEMONIC identification of Black people

yes, i ask of "Tain" . . . "PPP bombs or PNC bombs"?

i ask to elaborate what the Commissioners were pointing to, that is . . .

the origins of the 1964 bloodletting reside in the bosoms of both Indo and Afro ethnic Godfathers

but my rebuttal to y'all EVIL offends you

what does that say . . . hmmmmm ?

smfh

OK...suh....let me rephrase it...how does "pogrom" swing with you?

i introduced that word to GNI years ago

what's your point?

while you yourself scrape like-a-rass at the sore that is our joint affliction  with your 'let's pretend' . . . and not-so-slyly join the PILE ON with the other racists dedicated to a DEMONIC identification of Black people

YES...like I said...here comes the ronanesque deflection...

Yall carry on...

From the Indo KKK: The only good black man is a "dead" one

From KKK Ronan: Every Indo, perceived Indo or any non-Afro is suspect ....

I wonder what you people will do and say about the Amerindians should one of them ever become President.... 

Shameful!