Expired voters’ list should be revised, no need for “new ‘ list- GECOM’s legal adviser tells Commission

Desmond Trotman taking the oath of office as Elections Commissioner before President David Granger at State House on Friday, November 24, 2017.

The Guyana Elections Commission’s (GECOM) Legal Adviser, Excellence Dazzell has told the bipartisan seven-member commission that the voters’ list that expired last month-end  should extended and the law does not provide for a new voters’ roll to be created,  advice that at least one pro-coalition commissioner has condemned as an act of “deceit”.

The opinion, which was seen by Demerara Waves Online News, recommends that the seven-member commission advises the Commissioner of Registration, Keith Lowenfield, who is also the Chief Elections Officer, to put the machinery in place to extend the life of the voters’ list.

“I, therefore, advise that procedures be put in place to ensure the revision of the list, otherwise the commission would be acting in defiance of the law and may prejudice any by-election that may become necessary,” she told the GECOM Chairman, Commissioners and the Chief Elections Officer.

In her opinion, Attorney-at-Law Dazzel does not see the need for a new voters’ list. “The use of the word “revise” suggests that the process in not one where a “new’ list is generated but one where the most recent list is updated or amended.,” she said.

Her opinion, dated May 13, 2019, comes at a time when the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) is preparing to hand down its decision on the validity of the December 21, 2018 no-confidence motion that might necessitate early general elections.

Pro-coalition elections commissioner, Desmond Trotman has since accused Dazzell of deceit, claiming that she had never before informed the Commission that she had drafted a legal opinion. Trotman, elections commissioners Vincent Alexander, Charles Corbin and Chairman of GECOM, James Pattterson have agreed that house-to-house registration must be conducted to extract a new voters’ list by November, 2019.

Trotman noted that pro-opposition elections commissioner, Bibi Shadick had long called for Dazzell to issue an opinion, but the commission had never collectively decided that she should have done so.

Attorney-at-Law Dazzell has said based on the law, the list must be updated twice per year by adding persons who are now qualified to be registered to that list and those who are no longer qualified to be taken off that list.

Shadick and fellow pro-opposition commissioners, Sase Gunraj and  Robeson Benn, as well as their People’s Progressive Party, are oppossed to house-to-house registration for a new voters’ list. GECOM’s move to conduct the registration has been challenged by an overseas-based Guyanese, through her lawyers who include Anil Nandlall of the PPP.

This is a major victory. Someone should send this to the CCJ judges. 

Looks like jackass Rumjhaat is the only one in denial. 

I am sure they will, and the ABC countries will take note. 

Not only Rumjat in denial, but them supporters, especially them GNI propagandist. 

FREEDOM !! FREEDOM !! 

He is sound asleep until for a very short time on pay day.

Why is the ABC needs to take note in Guyana internal affairs? The ABC is a bittersweet deal when their attention is needed. No wonder all you get American bamboo in all you rear when its sweet or bitter. Collie doesn't understand wanting from needing foreign intervention.  

Not only Rumjat in denial, but them supporters, especially them GNI propagandist. 

FREEDOM !! FREEDOM !! 

There will still be a fight for freedom.

Looks like the PNC will refuse to adhere to CCJ orders. 

Why is the ABC needs to take note in Guyana internal affairs? The ABC is a bittersweet deal when their attention is needed. No wonder all you get American bamboo in all you rear when its sweet or bitter. Collie doesn't understand wanting from needing foreign intervention.  

The BAMBOO in your rear was so painful, you lost focus on the ABC comments/ interest in GECOM. 

Click on the link to educate yourself.

https://www.pressreader.com/gu...0222/281479277695584

You only know the ABC countries as being good when they support your PNC dictatorship. If it was the PPP pulling this nonsense you would call for the US to send the USS Abraham Lincoln to Guyana to kill all the coolies. Right bai Princess? And what does the US give you in you mouth and rear? Greenheart in one and wallaba in the other? One day you guh hold gadaha ke laar.

Coalition rule coming to an end. No matter what delay tactic the employ the will of the people will triumph. Refusing to go along with the constitutional mandate of holding elections within 90 days of the NCV has only made the coalition government more unpopular. More and more their thievery, vindictiveness, and downright undemocratic nature are being exposed to the young generation who can only remember PPP's time in government.  

The Yankee PIGS must stay out of Guyana!!

And if Mad-uro decides to occupy Essequibo? Who will stop him? The enemy of my enemy is my friend. Every once in a while the means justify the ends.

GNI is famous for mouth men talking fart and pup year after year. What vital information has the PPP incorporated from you (mouth men) that is workable and good for Guyanese besides swimming in your own filth, causing racial division and pushing for coolie domination? 

You only know the ABC countries as being good when they support your PNC dictatorship. If it was the PPP pulling this nonsense you would call for the US to send the USS Abraham Lincoln to Guyana to kill all the coolies. Right bai Princess? And what does the US give you in you mouth and rear? Greenheart in one and wallaba in the other? One day you guh hold gadaha ke laar.

You shouldn't attempt to answer questions when you're unable to answer them. Sometimes things are better to be left alone, Kitchen_man. 

And if Mad-uro decides to occupy Essequibo? Who will stop him? The enemy of my enemy is my friend. Every once in a while the means justify the ends.

That is what the GDF gets paid to do!!

Think before you speak or write. What can the GDF do against a standing army/air force/navy of 350,000 and a reserve force of 2,000,000? And that's just manpower. I am sure however the GDF will try to do whatever it can.

DAMN.....Anybody catch this banna's name???

Excellence Dazzell

That banna is a girl, banna. 

thats even funnier!....must be a brilliant lawyer...

You mean like how those women who have names like Porsche or Mercedes must be beautiful women? 😀

You shouldn't attempt to answer questions when you're unable to answer them. Sometimes things are better to be left alone, Kitchen_man. 

After he left the bedroom and went out the kitchen. He was then known as the Bedroom_man, Princess gyal. It's a tough job but somebody has to do it.

GNI is famous for mouth men talking fart and pup year after year. What vital information has the PPP incorporated from you (mouth men) that is workable and good for Guyanese besides swimming in your own filth, causing racial division and pushing for coolie domination? 

You understand what you wrote here, Princess. Who's got a pup coming out of his/her mouth? You? Did you gave birth to a pup Princess gyal?

In suggesting expediency to elections if the CCJ ruled in their favor, the PPP's attorneys ought to have perused the regulations regarding a new voters list and inform the judges there was no necessity for it citing the necessary clauses. That ship has sailed. Presentations before the court is over. 

FREEDOM !! FREEDOM !! 

The ABC countries do not give a damn. International attention is only gotten when the interest of those countries are in jeopardy. They will select any side as it suits them. Further, the PPP has always been arrogant. They never thought they would be ousted and so did not actively seek friends in the right places. To anyone looking in, both parties are corrupt, and weak given they only operate with half of the national support at any time and both are consequently easily destabilized.

FREEDOM !! FREEDOM !! 

There will still be a fight for freedom.

Looks like the PNC will refuse to adhere to CCJ orders. 

Freedom for th e Guyanese people does not exist if they remain in the clutches of either of these racist parties. 

And you will beg them to stand on the wall if our neighbor from across the border decides to save himself using us as a distraction. It can happen. 

The BAMBOO in your rear was so painful, you lost focus on the ABC comments/ interest in GECOM. 

You are obviously a man of low morals so these kinds of insults come easily to you. I suggest you need an education on polite behavior. 

Who the fck are you to talk  about moral... you fcking  skont hole. The other end of the BAMBOO would be better fit in your arss.

FREEDOM !! FREEDOM !! 

The ABC countries do not give a damn. International attention is only gotten when the interest of those countries are in jeopardy. They will select any side as it suits them. Further, the PPP has always been arrogant. They never thought they would be ousted and so did not actively seek friends in the right places. To anyone looking in, both parties are corrupt, and weak given they only operate with half of the national support at any time and both are consequently easily destabilized.

It happens all the time. China, the US, Britain, and Russia as examples. It's exploitation of resources.

Who the fck are you to talk  about moral... you fcking  skont hole. The other end of the BAMBOO would be better fit in your arss.

The cream always rises to the top and the detritus stays at the bottom. 

Hang in, you gon rise up one day. 

It is quite clear where I am. 

Gud, keep taking to yourself.