A SALUTE TO INDIAN GUYANESE

May 15, 2019 News, Kaieteur, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-to-indian-guyanese/

By Donald Ramotar, Former President

Donald Ramotar is no historian like Rodney and Jagan.

I once did a term paper on this topic, out of curiosity, a year ago. I think Donald made some fundamental mistakes....maybe the historians here can correct me...

1) It was not the BGEIA that first advocated for universal adult suffrage. There were other organizations and political leaders like Critchlow and other African leaders who formed the first labor union (I believe) and who advocated for adult suffrage. The BGEIA, and later the PPP took on this challenge.

2) Ramotar paints a history of the race problem as if the Europeans are to be blamed for perpetuating this problem in Guyana. Thats what idiotic Marxists do...he ignores the 28 years and the 23 years when both the PNC and PPP perpetuated the problem and neither party mde serious attempts to solve the problem.

3) He provides a bias view of history which paints the PPP and its leaders as the saviors of Guyana...and the PNC totally to be blamed for the current problems between Indos and Afros...

jes my 2 cents....

This fecal nonsense written by Ramotar just shows why I call the PPP the Indo Nazi.  It confirms that when 4 years ago they called themselves the "coolie people party" (Rohee confirmed this based on comments made by Jagdeo) this is their thinking.

1. The BGEIA was an elitist Indian organization that wanted dominance of Guyana by encouraging more Indian indentures to arrive.  They painted lies attempting to hide the harsh conditions that indentures lived under as India wanted to ban this based on reports of adverse working and living conditions.  The BGEIA didn't care a gif about Indian indentures aside from wanting to use them as they attempted to dominate Guyana.

2. While Critchlow started by helping workers in the Afro dominated menial jobs in GT and elsewhere he soon began to help the estate workers to establish their own trade unions.  No credit given to him for that.  So bad that the PPP even wanted the Critchlow educational institution to fail by not funding it.

3. Anyone reading his piece of fecal racism would think that the elites in GT entertaining themselves to the exclusion of others were all Africans instead of the tiny mainly Indian elites.  One would think that Africans didn't suffer all manner of abuse from all the post independence political parties, and therefore as bad (if not worse off) than the Indian population.

But the PPP is a Indian Rights group so I expect no better from them.  They will sell blacks snake oil, and spread panic about blacks to Amerindians as they know that they cannot win anymore just based on the Indian vote.

But the PPP is now as racist as they once accused ROAR of being.  It turns out that ROAR won that battle in the end.  The PPP doesn't even pretend to be multi ethnic in its interests since 2015.

Ramotar screams about Africans being made to feel "unjustifiably" (so he says) of the PPP.  Why wouldn't they when they read his lies and the fact that he shyts of the black population.  No attempt at balance.  No attempt to reflect that maybe Guyana has perspectives diverse as its ethnic groups and geographic regions and social classes.

But its good that he wrote this piece of Hindutva drivel, just in case anyone thought that the PPP was trying to change its hostility to blacks.

I am reading two books right now...

Rodney's History of the Guyanese Working People and Seecharan's Mother India...so my responses below are based on those two sources and what little I know about Guyana's history...

I make the following points...

1. The BGEIA was elitist, yes. But there was no other way that an Indo organization that represented Indians could have been formed without the elitists. Many of these so called elites were from rural areas who traveled to GT (and abroad) in search of opportunities. Many who were educated or returned from abroad settled in GT. The program of the BGEIA was broad and they made attempts to unite, protect and serve the interests of all Indos, in the city and the rural areas. For example, the founders of the BGEIA were from Berbice. Its program to register Indians to vote and fight for universal adult suffrage (for those over 21, elimination of property and literacy requirements, etc) were genuinely designed to help all Indians, just like African, Portuguese, and Chinese organizations that existed at the time. 

To suggest that the BGEIA was racist is simplistic and ignores the broader goals of the organization. Its goals mirrored those of the League of Colored People (of which Burnham was a supporter).

2. Nathaniel Critchlow was indeed the father of trade unionism. However, according to Seecharan, whatever assistance Critchlow provided to sugar workers in the rural areas was limited in scope. He concentrated his efforts in Georgetown organizing the stevedores, ship workers, hospital workers, etc. He does not have a strong record assisting sugar workers or rural Indians.

In fact, some would also consider Critchlow a hypocrite. All his life he supported universal adult suffrage. However, he took a 360 degree turn and opposed it, giving a ridiculous reason as to why. Critchlow opposed universal adult suffrage when he realized that too many Indians were entering the political space and were becoming eligible to vote. He felt a greater number of Indos who could vote was a threat to Afros. 

3. I dont disagree that the PPP is a de facto Indian organization. But we cant act like the other major organization, the PNC, is a multiracial organization either. 

4. I would not place too much faith on what Ramotar is saying. He is a simpleton, a Marxist ideologue, and probably the worst President Guyana has has. His "analysis" is biased in favor of the PPP.  

:In the time of Critchlow, voting was not carried out in the entire colony, only in GT. Mainly between the Coloreds, Putagees and Negro elites of GT. The slogan was vote for your own, Stopped short of "kind." 

Bharat Mata Ki Jai.  WE WILL OVERCOME!!!

wha ayuh gon overcome...ress yuh rass

In spite of the many difficulties East Indians generally faced during the indentureship period , they improved their standard of living. They continue to do so to this day. From where they were when their fore parents left India, and where the ancestors are now. You are in US others are successful in other countries. The struggle for a better life and future continues.

Z

Cribby can't contribute anything positive to Guyana or even his own race. All he is adept at doing to generating anti-Indian sentiments to feed those insecure and gullible Afros who wants to place the blame on someone else. 

You couldn't have said it better.

Dave, many years ago I sent an email to a VIP with a font size like this by mistake. I don't know how it happened, guess I pressed something by mistake. That's when I learned huge font and bolding mean shouting. Then boss replied the person and told him sorry, etc.   

Cribby can't contribute anything positive to Guyana or even his own race. All he is adept at doing to generating anti-Indian sentiments to feed those insecure and gullible Afros who wants to place the blame on someone else. 

Dave, many years ago I sent an email to a VIP with a font size like this by mistake. I don't know how it happened, guess I pressed something by mistake. That's when I learned huge font and bolding mean shouting. Then boss replied the person and told him sorry, etc.   

Dave is GNI's rude boy.

Thought the BOLD meant awareness. Thanks for the insight.

antabanta posted:

A very good article by President Ramotar.

What's good about it?

Everything.

No idea what you're talking about, eh? Come-on, take at least this one opportunity to prove you're not the idiot most of us think you are.

Now the man will seh you and Keffer double teaming up on him.

Rodney's History of the Guyanese Working People and Seecharan's Mother India...so my responses below are based on those two sources and what little I know about Guyana's history...

1. The BGEIA was elitist, yes. But there was no other way that an Indo organization that represented Indians could have been formed without the elitists. Many of these so called elites were from rural areas who traveled to GT (and abroad) in search of opportunities. Many who were educated or returned from abroad settled in GT. The program of the BGEIA was broad and they made attempts to unite, protect and serve the interests of all Indos, in the city and the rural areas. For example, the founders of the BGEIA were from Berbice. Its program to register Indians to vote and fight for universal adult suffrage (for those over 21, elimination of property and literacy requirements, etc) were genuinely designed to help all Indians, just like African, Portuguese, and Chinese organizations that existed at the time. 

To suggest that the BGEIA was racist is simplistic and ignores the broader goals of the organization. Its goals mirrored those of the League of Colored People (of which Burnham was a supporter).

2. Nathaniel Critchlow was indeed the father of trade unionism. However, according to Seecharan, whatever assistance Critchlow provided to sugar workers in the rural areas was limited in scope. He concentrated his efforts in Georgetown organizing the stevedores, ship workers, hospital workers, etc. He does not have a strong record assisting sugar workers or rural Indians.

In fact, some would also consider Critchlow a hypocrite. All his life he supported universal adult suffrage. However, he took a 360 degree turn and opposed it, giving a ridiculous reason as to why. Critchlow opposed universal adult suffrage when he realized that too many Indians were entering the political space and were becoming eligible to vote. He felt a greater number of Indos who could vote was a threat to Afros. 

3. I dont disagree that the PPP is a de facto Indian organization. But we cant act like the other major organization, the PNC, is a multiracial organization either. 

4. I would not place too much faith on what Ramotar is saying. He is a simpleton, a Marxist ideologue, and probably the worst President Guyana has has. His "analysis" is biased in favor of the PPP.  

Aye.... Mouthoprekke.... throw away dem books and go to Guyana. Find one old person of each race and sit down and gyaff with them. One hour with each will teach you more about Guyana than all them books. Unless is just hard yuh head hard. Of course, maybe you've convinced yourself your redundant comments stating what most people here already know make you look smart.

Tola posted:

Animals will be Animals. Those who are still suffering of Slavery will forever feel inferior!!!

And Indians who suffered from being treated as slaves, did not feel inferior ?

Bai, go talk to you Nana how 'nice' the British were to Indian Indenture Labourers.   

For a guy who is always looking out for the scholars from India who read GNI, this is a brilliant statement coming from you...

This is like saying that the slave master was "NICE" to the field slave....

Stchupid man... Tola's sarcasm was lost on you, eh? Bai... you ain't easy. Yuh head like it really hard.

antabanta posted:

Cribby my brother, your analysis of the piece is longer than the piece itself.  Peace!

Carib subscribes to the belief if you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshyte.

So...you saying that Carib is all about BS?

I thought you had some smarts in you....try reading dem papers and books before shredding them...

Knucklehead...you aint funny.

Stchupid man... I KNOW Carib is all BS. I never shred books. Ah gon shred you if you have the courage to stick around.

antabanta posted:

Aye.... Mouthoprekke.... throw away dem books and go to Guyana. Find one old person of each race and sit down and gyaff with them. One hour with each will teach you more about Guyana than all them books. Unless is just hard yuh head hard. Of course, maybe you've convinced yourself your redundant comments stating what most people here already know make you look smart.

Dude...I know you have a short attention span....ADD?...dem call dat Attention Deficit Disorder...

You have anything smart to say about the information above ...or you just cant just move beyond the one liners...?

antabanta posted:

Cribby my brother, your analysis of the piece is longer than the piece itself.  Peace!

Carib subscribes to the belief if you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshyte.

I thought you had some smarts in you....try reading dem papers and books before shredding them...

Stchupid man... I KNOW Carib is all BS. I never shred books. Ah gon shred you if you have the courage to stick around.

Shredder....dont move....stay here and wait...I gon be back soon.

antabanta posted:

Really?

You are not known as a person who engages in any kind of debates here...all you do is trolling and shredding...

antabanta posted:

Dude...I know you have a short attention span....ADD?...dem call dat Attention Deficit Disorder...

You have anything smart to say about the information above ...or you just cant just move beyond the one liners...?

Stchupid man.... one-liner means literally one line. I have more education and qualifications than you probably ever will. What information above? I see no need to say anything about your mediocre, albeit long, post. It was a waste of your time to write.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

Really?

You are not known as a person who engages in any kind of debates here...all you do is trolling and shredding...

Is that a fact? You are worthy of debating????

antabanta posted:

Really?

Is that a fact? You are worthy of debating????

Knucklehead....told you to WAIT RIGHT HERE....

whe you gaan...looking for paper to shred?

Tola posted:

Animals will be Animals. Those who are still suffering of Slavery will forever feel inferior!!!

And Indians who suffered from being treated as slaves, did not feel inferior ?

Bai, go talk to you Nana how 'nice' the British were to Indian Indenture Labourers.   

In fact the curse of the plantation still ail both the descendants of the slaves and the Indian indentures.  No one speaks of a suicide epidemic among Guyanese of Chinese or Portuguese ancestry, likely because they got off the plantation quickly.

So these assertions of Afro inferiority by some are quite laughable when they ought to focus on why Chinese/Portuguese came to Guyana on the same terms as did Indians, and their descendants are yet much better off.

Its funny how you two Indo Nazis view me through your own racist lenses.  I am not a slavish House Negro stooge like Sam Hinds and Juan Edghill so of course I am "no use".   You don't know me nor do you know what I do.  Its best if you don't repeat with such enthusiasm the lies about black people that racist whites tell you, because they don't speak well of you either.

Btw if I am so "useless" why would blacks listen to what I have to say.  You know what is responsible for their views against Indians.  The Indo Nazis like you two who use the same curses against them that the KKK does, then you wonder why they hate you.  And yes they read GNI so know exactly what you all think of them!

antabanta posted:

OK so you agree 100% with what Ramotar wrote.  Well that puts you alongside Dave, Skeldon, Yuji, Ksazma, Prashad and the others.  Because they definitely agree with Ramotar.

I call it as I see it!

Tola posted:

A piece of Peace is indeed a Peaceful Peace.

Powerful stuff, me gotta include it in my ongoing memoirs. 

If Caribny is a historian then he is piss pot of a historian. He better off taking lessons from Kean.

Of course I expect you to endorse yhe BGEIA which had as its goal the complete Indianization of Guyana planning to turn it into a de facto colony of India.  So intent that it lied to the government of India pretending that no abuse of indentures occurred on the estates.

Political domination by an Indian elite was the sole goal of the BGEIA.  NOT crafting a multi ethnic society where all could feel fairly treated.

But Anta agrees with you so that's OK.

1. No one said that the PNC wasn't as racist as the PPP is.  Ramotar focuses on the racism of the PNC and ignores the fact that the PPP is as racist.  He then blames black people because they see the PPP as anti black and he ignores the fact that black people spent 23 years under PPP rule so don't need to be told by anyone what the PPP is.

Like most racists he considers blacks to be stupid animals unable to think for themselves. Well even a dog knows when they are being badly treated. No one needs to tell them this so blacks know exactly what happened to them under the PPP and have as much right to be vocal against this as do Indians have a right to complain about PNC racism.

But your Indo bias as usual gives Indians the right to critique PNC racism but denies blacks equal rights to complain against the PPP.  Even your premise about "Indians turning the other cheek".  Well I can say the same about blacks tolerating that Jagdeo blood bath and about Ramotar shooting them down in cold blood.

2.  The BGEIA's SOLE goal was about Indians so why would Critchlow NOT have become suspicious of them?  The BGEIA did NOT state as its goal and intent to unite the Indo and Afro working classes against colonial rule.  You might query the extent to which Critchlow helped sugar workers but what you CANNOT debate is that he did provide some help.

What did the BGEIA do for blacks, aside from threatening to subdue them to domination by BOTH whites and Indian elites?  THAT is why Critchlow became suspicious of the BGEIA.  He did NOT struggle to uplift the black masses to see them succumb to domination by an immigrant elite. And yes in this era the vast majority of Indians were either foreigners or the children of foreigners and did NOT have any alliance or loyalty to Guyana.

Please itemize what the BGEIA did to assist African workers?  Did they attempt to dialogue with the LCP who was struggling against colonial abuse? Why would Critchlow struggle to improve the lot of all Guyanese workers to see the BGEIA arriving with a selfish agenda of caring only about Indians.

I will await your response because I know it will be the usual hypocrisy that Indos can be only about Indos but Afros must be for everyone.

Cribby, calm yuhself down bai before yuh buss a blood vessel. The article was a salute to indoGs.

And yet so much mention of AfroGs.  Why?  If the intent was to praise IndoGs then we should NOT have been mentioned!

Leave us out of your Hindutva dreams of Indo Supremacy.

Was it not for your modus operandi of debasing indos at every opportunity, I would actually believe you. However we all know how you hate indos and consider the only good indo is a dead indo.  Hatred will send you to an early grave. 

Cribby, calm yuhself down bai before yuh buss a blood vessel. The article was a salute to indoGs.

And yet so much mention of AfroGs.  Why?  If the intent was to praise IndoGs then we should NOT have been mentioned!

Leave us out of your Hindutva dreams of Indo Supremacy.

Caribj got kingkongtva dreams because he has king Kong trapped in his pants.

Was it not for your modus operandi of debasing indos at every opportunity, I would actually believe you. However we all know how you hate indos and consider the only good indo is a dead indo.  Hatred will send you to an early grave. 

Poor druggie. Apparently you couldn't find some nice long and thick black vegetables tonight.

Caribj got kingkongtva dreams because he has king Kong trapped in his pants.

I detect a strong sense of black penis envy from you. Apparently your deficiencies are the reason why you fear that white women dont want you.

But sssh.  I dont want druggie sniffing around as he loves to use these implements.

Prashad don't give a sh-t about white women. He never had and never will. The woman of color is what he is all about.

And yet all day he whines that black men have big king kongs and women like them.  Deeply jealous because of the midgets that he has.

In the USA black men are no more likely to marry a white woman than are Indians.  So what say you about that!  In fact a popular theme in films made by US born South Asians is that they want to marry a white person but their stupid parents bring some stranger from India/Pakistan instead.  How many movies made by blacks in the USA dwell on a desire to marry a white person.  Not sure how popular such a movie might be.

Prashad don't give a sh-t about white women. He never had and never will. The woman of color is what he is all about.

And yet all day he whines that black men have big king kongs and women like them.  Deeply jealous because of the midgets that he has.

In the USA black men are no more likely to marry a white woman than are Indians.  So what say you about that!  In fact a popular theme in films made by US born South Asians is that they want to marry a white person but their stupid parents bring some stranger from India/Pakistan instead.  How many movies made by blacks in the USA dwell on a desire to marry a white person.  Not sure how popular such a movie might be.

Rass bai, like yuh remember all them collie movies when yuh bin deh with the indo woman before yuh get kicked to the curb. 

Hey Carib, Africa is the the largest market for skin whitening cream. 

December 17th 2018

Nigeria’s Skin-Bleaching Epidemic

The arrival of an American reality TV star to launch her skin-lightening line in Lagos stirred up some controversy in the recent weeks, as people debated how harmful skin-bleaching is and if it’s appropriate for celebrities to promote such products.  

That said, if you take a stroll down the cosmetics section of any Nigerian market or superstore, there is a high chance you will come across a variety of skin lightening products ranging from soaps, creams, and serums. Blac Chyna’s arrival aside, Nigeria is one of the largest markets for skin-bleaching products.

Skin-bleaching is big 

The global market for skin lightening products is growing and is estimated to reach $20 billion by the end of the year, driven by strong demand among men and women across Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.

Skin lightening products are unbelievably popular in Nigeria. The World Health Organisation (WHO) published a report in 2011 estimating that 77% of Nigerian women use skin lightening products regularly. This is in comparison with 59% in Togo, 35% in South Africa, and 27% in Senegal. In fact, bleaching products are reportedly the fourth most sought-after household item by African women, alongside essentials like soap, milk, and tea. 

In Lagos, the skin lightening market has found a permanent home. The industry is so huge that it adequately caters to individuals of different social class. Product prices range from as little as â‚Ķ5,000 to as high as â‚Ķ150,000, depending on the brand and method of application. The amount of people who use skin lightening products is quite alarming in a country where the minimum wage is only â‚Ķ18,000. And, unsurprisingly, the exposure to popular western culture has also led to a demand for more expensive foreign products and consequently led to higher prices. 

Money is clearly being made here, but it is not an excuse to ignore the requirement for public education on the issue of colourism and the consequences of the skin lightening process.

To find out more information about the Nigerian beauty market Click Here

To read more Click Here

Source: Stears Business

 In fact a popular theme in films made by US born South Asians is that they want to marry a white person but their stupid parents bring some stranger from India/Pakistan instead.  How many movies made by blacks in the USA dwell on a desire to marry a white person.  Not sure how popular such a movie might be.

Rass bai, like yuh remember all them collie movies when yuh bin deh with the indo woman before yuh get kicked to the curb. 

Yes druggie I know that literacy isn't your forte but these films are in the mainstream and easily available on Netflix.

But I digress.  You need to get your daily diet of black vegetables.

Hey Carib, Africa is the the largest market for skin whitening cream. 

December 17th 2018

Nigeria’s Skin-Bleaching Epidemic

The arrival of an American reality TV star to launch her skin-lightening line in Lagos stirred up some controversy in the recent weeks, as people debated how harmful skin-bleaching is and if it’s appropriate for celebrities to promote such products.  

That said, if you take a stroll down the cosmetics section of any Nigerian market or superstore, there is a high chance you will come across a variety of skin lightening products ranging from soaps, creams, and serums. Blac Chyna’s arrival aside, Nigeria is one of the largest markets for skin-bleaching products.

Skin-bleaching is big 

The global market for skin lightening products is growing and is estimated to reach $20 billion by the end of the year, driven by strong demand among men and women across Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.

Skin lightening products are unbelievably popular in Nigeria. The World Health Organisation (WHO) published a report in 2011 estimating that 77% of Nigerian women use skin lightening products regularly. This is in comparison with 59% in Togo, 35% in South Africa, and 27% in Senegal. In fact, bleaching products are reportedly the fourth most sought-after household item by African women, alongside essentials like soap, milk, and tea. 

In Lagos, the skin lightening market has found a permanent home. The industry is so huge that it adequately caters to individuals of different social class. Product prices range from as little as â‚Ķ5,000 to as high as â‚Ķ150,000, depending on the brand and method of application. The amount of people who use skin lightening products is quite alarming in a country where the minimum wage is only â‚Ķ18,000. And, unsurprisingly, the exposure to popular western culture has also led to a demand for more expensive foreign products and consequently led to higher prices. 

Money is clearly being made here, but it is not an excuse to ignore the requirement for public education on the issue of colourism and the consequences of the skin lightening process.

To find out more information about the Nigerian beauty market Click Here

To read more Click Here

Source: Stears Business

Where do you see that Nigeria is a bigger bleaching market than India? 

 In fact a popular theme in films made by US born South Asians is that they want to marry a white person but their stupid parents bring some stranger from India/Pakistan instead.  How many movies made by blacks in the USA dwell on a desire to marry a white person.  Not sure how popular such a movie might be.

Yes druggie I know that literacy isn't your forte but these films are in the mainstream and easily available on Netflix.

But I digress.  You need to get your daily diet of black vegetables.

Why would a bigot like you purposely look at indo movies for everyday entertainment? Unless your hatred is so metastasized that you purposely spend your free time looking for ammunition to debase indos. 

Again I know that you are ignorant.  These movies are not made for you and the rest of your Indo Nazis.  In fact they are made by US born south Asian kids attempting to escape your narrow mindedness.

They are certainly NOT Indo movies given that they were made in the USA and are aimed at general audiences.

Druggie your expertise begins and ends with black baigans and aubergine noires and the degree to which an Indo would sell his principles once he becomes addicted.  I suggest that you stick to that topic given your massive expertise in that area.