Anan posted:

And, by the way....judges are not above the law. People have a right to criticize their decisions. They make mistakes. Their judgment about the 34 absolute is not defended by any cases...at least they did not make a strong case for such. When the judges in the US Plessy v Ferguson made a decision that segregation was OK, it was wrong.

The fact that ONE judge dissented on the 3 panel court  is enough for the opposition to cry foul...and question the biased kith an kin decision made by these 2 judges....

its also amazing that people in Guyana seem to accept this outrageous decision.

Where is the outrage???

I don’t think people accept the decision, it goes to the CCJ.  You cannot jump the gun!

The decision by the appellate court Judges are flawed, what they did was to save the government.

The 'decision' by these so called judges mek Irfaan look like he gun definitely correct the facts of this bumbling, hapless coalition regime 

With the fella, sleeves fold up in the dark room,calling the shots.

However, government is the largest provider of jobs. Given the nature of Guyanese society and the racial problems, ESPECIALLY, in this climate, government has a clear responsibility to show that there is nothing underhanded being contemplated and there is no plans to rig the election. It does not have a great record in this area.

...otherwise it opens itself to more criticisms. These pictures, if true, tell a disturbing tale, of what might very well be a hidden agenda at work.

The PNC has delayed election because it has a plan to concoct. No amount of spin can change the fact that they are planning to rig.

Hogwash, there is no need for the coalition government to rig elections. Peddling words from Freedom House. Seems like one half of the genes kicking in.

Dude...for a smart guy well versed on politics in Guyana, you must be the most naive person here. 

We can only go by historical record, and previous behavior. The last election was a one seat majority, and with the stakes so high, and given the delaying tactic of the coalition, you come here with this BS to tell us that the plan to rig is PPP propaganda? 

Given previous concerns, the PPP look like they are trying to identify all possible areas where rigging might take place. 

BUT Everybody knows why the coalition is struggling so hard to delay elections...you think these politicians, on all sides, are angels, who will take a chance to loose everything in a closely contested election?

And, come to think of it, they will not have to RIG in a big way as in 1968, 1973, 1978, etc. All they need is a one seat majority...same thing for the PPP.

And, by the way....judges are not above the law. People have a right to criticize their decisions. They make mistakes. Their judgment about the 34 absolute is not defended by any cases...at least they did not make a strong case for such. When the judges in the US Plessy v Ferguson made a decision that segregation was OK, it was wrong.

The fact that ONE judge dissented on the 3 panel court  is enough for the opposition to cry foul...and question the biased kith an kin decision made by these 2 judges....

its also amazing that people in Guyana seem to accept this outrageous decision.

Where is the outrage???

I don’t think people accept the decision, it goes to the CCJ.  You cannot jump the gun!

The decision by the appellate court Judges are flawed, what they did was to save the government.

YES....and you really believe that kith and kin was not at play here...

The problem with you guys is you live in a society where Indos seem to tek what comes to them...If they were more aggressive and demanding like Afros, you would not sit here and simply say that the decision was flawed as if its an understatement....OF COURSE IT WAS FLAWED!!

Ask yourself if the tables were turned and if Afros would sit idly and accept this BS decision...

Like I said, the opposition (Amerindians, Indos, Chinese, Afros, etc) all need to call these judges and take to the streets...

Shame on you for intimating that this is hogwash from freedom house...

@VishMahabir, put some sense in my chota bhai head. He believes that because Indos population has dropped the PNC doesn't need to rig. He forgets that THOUSANDS of coalition supporters deserted and will either stay home or vote for PPP  and ANUG and SHUMAN on election day.

Don't you think thousands of PPP voters disinchanted with their actions won't do the same?

@VishMahabir, put some sense in my chota bhai head. He believes that because Indos population has dropped the PNC doesn't need to rig. He forgets that THOUSANDS of coalition supporters deserted and will either stay home or vote for PPP  and ANUG and SHUMAN on election day.

Don't you think thousands of PPP voters disinchanted with their actions won't do the same?

No. PPP has confidence in its supporters' good sense, notwithstanding Irfaan. We all know that our great thinker Bharrat Jagdeo will be doing the grunt work in a dark room adjoining Irfaan's office.

We can only go by historical record, and previous behavior. The last election was a one seat majority, and with the stakes so high, and given the delaying tactic of the coalition, you come here with this BS to tell us that the plan to rig is PPP propaganda? 

Given previous concerns, the PPP look like they are trying to identify all possible areas where rigging might take place. 

BUT Everybody knows why the coalition is struggling so hard to delay elections...you think these politicians, on all sides, are angels, who will take a chance to loose everything in a closely contested election?

And, come to think of it, they will not have to RIG in a big way as in 1968, 1973, 1978, etc. All they need is a one seat majority...same thing for the PPP.

Most of the riggers gone beyond, no need to continue plastering.

What election delay ??   the appeal court gave a flawed decision on the NCV, GOV'T STAYS.

The situation in Guyana regarding the NCM to remove the government, is a political battle between the Multi- Party Coalition Government and Opposition PPP, to date the gov't is in the winning seat, also the gov't  have all rights to get an interpretation from the Courts.

Currently the PPP will file an appeal at the CCJ, probably before that appeal is heard,there will be Elections.

@VishMahabir, put some sense in my chota bhai head. He believes that because Indos population has dropped the PNC doesn't need to rig.

He forgets that THOUSANDS of coalition supporters deserted and will either stay home or vote for PPP  and ANUG and SHUMAN on election day.

Ha..ha.. i am aware of the ploys.

The NCM have strengthened the support of the thousands Multi-Party Coalition supporters. The buzz word for the loosing party is rigging.

@VishMahabir, put some sense in my chota bhai head. He believes that because Indos population has dropped the PNC doesn't need to rig.

He forgets that THOUSANDS of coalition supporters deserted and will either stay home or vote for PPP  and ANUG and SHUMAN on election day.

The NCM have strengthened the support of the thousands Multi-Party Coalition supporters. The buzz word for the loosing party is rigging.

Ploys?

Buzz word?

There is justifiably historical concern for this "buzz word".

You think the PNC suddenly had an epiphany in 2015 and became angelic?

Granger is an admirer of Burnham...he wants to bring the "good life" back.

Django...I think you are letting your hatred for the PPP cloud your judgment.

Ploys?

Buzz word?

There is justifiably historical concern for this "buzz word".

You think the PNC suddenly had an epiphany in 2015 and became angelic?

Granger is an admirer of Burnham...he wants to bring the "good life" back.

Django...I think you are letting your hatred for the PPP cloud your judgment.

Kiddo, Granger is no spring chicken, i wish him well to bring "good life"  to the people of Guyana in the remaining days of existence. Everyone have a choice whom they admire, that's their right.

I don't hate the PPP, i detest  the sleaze in the party,same goes for members of the other parties.

randolph posted:

Indos are applying for all jobs and opportunities that exist. The names stands out and are rejected immediately. 

Good so now you know how black people feel when they want a job in a company like Muneshwers.  How many black managers or professionals work in that company? You all keep us out of the private sector and we will do the same in the public sector.  That seems quite fair to me. 

Since I have appeared on GNI I have been talking about racist exclusion of blacks from mid and upper ranks in much of the private sector, especially where Indians either own or have decision making capabilities.

So you now know how the boot of exclusion feels.

The govt employs thousands of people and is the largest employer In Guyana.  How many people does a family owned business like Muneshwars employ?

Most people in Guyana work in the private sector so if the private sector entities like Muneshwers discriminates against blacks then blacks have to find work when they can.

Deal with discrimination in the private sector and then you will have a moral point on public sector ethnic exclusion.

Most of the riggers gone beyond, no need to continue plastering.

Seasoned riggers like Hamilton Green, Robert Corbin, Oscar Clarke and Amna Ally are still around. They will conduct crash courses in rigging methodology at Sophia University.

As are seasoned riggers like Kit Nascimento and Norman McLean.  In fact those folks were directly INVOLVED in the rigging.

Green is old and sick and I bet so is Oscar Clarke.  And where is this nonsense about Amna Ally being a rigger.  You are vexed because she is an Indian in a black party.

No. PPP has confidence in its supporters' good sense, notwithstanding Irfaan. We all know that our great thinker Bharrat Jagdeo will be doing the grunt work in a dark room adjoining Irfaan's office.

Based on the results of the last 2 elections where most voters didn't support the PPP I will suggest to you that the PPP has every motivation to rig.  In fact they did attempt to rig in 2015 so we dont even have to hypothesize on that.

The ethnic composition of the nation has changed and large numbers of the traditional bases of BOTH parties are disillusioned.  I dont know that either the Coalition or the PPP can assume that they are guaranteed victory.

Where is the outrage???

I don’t think people accept the decision, it goes to the CCJ.  You  what they did ..

Ask yourself if the tables were turned and if Afros would sit idly and accept this BS decision...

L.

What did Afros do when two Indians collaborated to bring down a black gov't so once again they could be reduced to being 3rd class citizens and slaves as they were in the PPP era?

NOTHING.

Most Guyanese are docile and also increasingly disinclined to be used by unscrupulous ethnic elites and in fact Afros are LESS inclined to be used than are Indians. We dont have this Dalit mentality that many Indos do!

Look at what Jagdeo did to poor Berbice Indians with the destruction of Guysuco and forcing them to use the Berbice Bridge.  And yet they say NOTHING, or even blame blacks for that.  Under the PPP the Berbice population dropped by almost 25%!  Given that there was no natural disaster or state of war one can ponder about why this drastic population implosion under a party that they voted for.

Where is the outrage???

I don’t think people accept the decision, it goes to the CCJ.  You  what they did ..

L.

What did Afros do when two Indians collaborated to bring down a black gov't so once again they could be reduced to being 3rd class citizens and slaves as they were in the PPP era?

NOTHING.

Most Guyanese are docile and also increasingly disinclined to be used by unscrupulous ethnic elites and in fact Afros are LESS inclined to be used than are Indians. We dont have this Dalit mentality that many Indos do!

Look at what Jagdeo did to poor Berbice Indians with the destruction of Guysuco and forcing them to use the Berbice Bridge.  And yet they say NOTHING, or even blame blacks for that.  Under the PPP the Berbice population dropped by almost 25%!  Given that there was no natural disaster or state of war one can ponder about why this drastic population implosion under a party that they voted for.

Weren’t you in glee at the the fact that Trotman (AFC) conspired with Granger (PNC) against Nagamootoo (AFC)!

Talk about backstabbing and tribalism!

And Vish I dont know what your black family did to you but your anti Afro bias is quite blatant. No attempt to be objective!

I son't agree. Vish seems fair in his posts...he speaks out against all sides.

Vish's whole screams are that Indians are being abused. He NEVER discusses the racism by the PPP against blacks. He lacks objectivity.  He clearly is on the Indian side against the black side.

And Vish I dont know what your black family did to you but your anti Afro bias is quite blatant. No attempt to be objective!

I son't agree. Vish seems fair in his posts...he speaks out against all sides.

Vish's whole screams are that Indians are being abused. He NEVER discusses the racism by the PPP against blacks. He lacks objectivity.  He clearly is on the Indian side against the black side.

He probably see what people always say the PNC are capable of!   Dictatorship!

Weren’t you in glee at the the fact that Trotman (AFC) conspired with Granger (PNC) against Nagamootoo (AFC)!

Nagamootoo, like most Indians, cannot think outside of being Indian. So he was so interested in pandering to Indian fears of blacks that he didn't concede that blacks had fears of Indians.

I predicted that the Trotman faction of the AFC would conspire against Nagamootoo when the latter ran around screaming that if the Coalition didn't do as he said he would destroy it. I was at a meeting when he said that and I saw the faces of blacks when he did.

Now discuss what the PPP did to Civic. Yes those black people who allied with them against the PNC dictatorship and helped them to bring democracy back to Guyana. How many of these people are still with the PPP?  Only House Negro Sam Hinds. Most left when they saw that they were being used and not involved in the governance of the country.

He probably see what people always say the PNC are capable of!   Dictatorship!

Which makes my point. He focuses on the ills of the PNC and not on the PPP except that he advocates that Indos should run around attacking blacks.

You know fully well about my opinion of both Burnham and Granger.  In fact you screamed at me that I am unreasonable about them and lack gratitude.

Nagamootoo, like most Indians, cannot think outside of being Indian. So he was so interested in pandering to Indian fears of blacks that he didn't conce

Ungrateful Maaga dhaag. If wasn’t for him, PNC would never be in power.  

I said 100 times to the AFC bannas, don’t trust the PNC, deh gon turn around and bite yuh!!

The private sector OWNS the capital in their entities. The capital in the public sector is not owned by its controllers or its employees. It is therefore laughable for someone to say that if Indians wouldn’t hire blacks in the private sector then blacks have the right to exclude Indians from the public sector. Historically, blacks always behaved like they own those government businesses.

According to Cribby, they own Guyana!  Indians are just tenants!