population ethnic grp

population chart

East Indians under PNC and PPP Government of Guyana.

It’s interesting from observation of data of the population of East Indians in Guyana,from 1960 to 1980, the population increased from 47.8 percent to a peek of 51.9 percent. Those were tough years of oppression and economic decline under the PNC started around 1970 .From 1980 the population decrease to 48.6 percent in 1991.From 1992 the PPP came to power, the population decrease further reaching 39.8 percent in 2012.There is a possibility to date, the population further decreased.

The strange phenomenon, the population grows up to 1980 and the decrease to date.

Images (2)
  • population ethnic grp
  • population chart

population ethnic grp

population chart

East Indians under PNC and PPP Government of Guyana.

It’s interesting from observation of data of the population of East Indians in Guyana,from 1960 to 1980, the population increased from 47.8 percent to a peek of 51.9 percent. Those were tough years of oppression and economic decline under the PNC started around 1970 .From 1980 the population decrease to 48.6 percent in 1991.From 1992 the PPP came to power, the population decrease further reaching 39.8 percent in 2012.There is a possibility to date, the population further decreased.

The strange phenomenon, the population grows up to 1980 and the decrease to date.

Django...you are missing the most important years....the last 7 years. You have that data?

Naah don't have any info.

Need the sages to explain, the East Indian population growth in the tough days and the decrease in the good days.

Because if you are less simplistic in your thoughts you will understand lots of people put in papers in the late 70s and began actual migration in the 80s.  Many then sponsored families who got their visas and left.  People waited years and did not want to risk regretting an the dark shadow of the PNC still loomed.  

During the latter part of the PPP reign, the US started granting lots of holiday and visitors’ visas as people were not overstaying. Those people were no longer desperate to move. 

Need the sages to explain, the East Indian population growth in the tough days and the decrease in the good days.

Because if you are less simplistic in your thoughts you will understand lots of people put in papers in the late 70s and began actual migration in the 80s.  Many then sponsored families who got their visas and left.  People waited years and did not want to risk regretting an the dark shadow of the PNC still loomed.  

During the latter part of the PPP reign, the US started granting lots of holiday and visitors’ visas as people were not overstaying. Those people were no longer desperate to move.

Banna you fumbling  thinking too much of PNC.The East Indian population was still growing up to 80's, although they were sponsored by migrating relatives in the 70's, clearly the population was not stagnant.

By the 80's  and to date people started to migrate, due to sponsorship and those who overstayed their visitors visa. You are correct during the PPP years, more visitors visa was issued, than the PNC years,many overstayed their visa hence the decreased to date.

Look at the data of Africans, their numbers are pretty stable.

Abie pot tap!

Not for long bro...Douglas gon be on top....

RAINBOW POWER  Image result for rainbow power fist pump

That’s LGBT colour or the ANTIMAN colour .. Gay bhai Vish on top. 

Ya...we supporting Big Tent politics...all are welcome...this aint going to an Indo or an Afro party banna...if you with the LGBT community...you welcome too! 

I have been saying this for a very long time. DJ and Vish don’t comprehend this very fact that most family sponsorship processs takes bout 8 - 10 years for the USA. 

Dem rass can’t do simple math. Dem doing PNC match as you correctly identified. Dem saying 32 + 34 = 65. 

Ow me laard.

I have been saying this for a very long time. DJ and Vish don’t comprehend this very fact that most family sponsorship processs takes bout 8 - 10 years for the USA. 

Dem rass can’t do simple math. Dem doing PNC match as you correctly identified. Dem saying 32 + 34 = 65. 

Ow me laard.

That may be so....but there are other push and pull factors that motivate people to leave Guyana.

Most people left because they were in search of better economic opportunities.

But, why does the Afro population remain stable compared to Indos over the years?

...yall were a majority at one time...

Django, this was seven years ago. Lots of blacks also migrated since then. We need to see a snapshot of the current census. Remember, most of the people(poor coolies) who came here early in the 70s and 80s sponsored their relatives and these people have already migrated. There is a reduction of migrating Indians and maybe an increase at home. I have seen many blacks migrating now.

Ow me laard.

That may be so....but there are other push and pull factors that motivate people to leave Guyana.

Most people left because they were in search of better economic opportunities.

But, why does the Afro population remain stable compared to Indos over the years?

...yall were a majority at one time...

Aww me laard. Guyana is not Central America that the people will just get up and decide to join the caravan. They go looking for a better life, but just cannot jump on a jackass cart and go to Trinidad or come to America. 
You need to take a whole credit per semester next registration and you might, just might learn fuh tink lil bit kallege bai.

The tuff PNC days it was difficult for people to leave Guyana, one, you could not get foreign currency to buy, two, it was not easy to get tax clearance and passports. There was the fear to leave your family all alone in the era of kick down door robbery, families would only leave all together.

In the PPP time it was economic prosperity, new businesses, no banned items, free trade, Chinese were coming,Brazil and Venezuelans were coming. With foreign currency, Guyanese were travelling to buy stuff to trade, Houses , Hospitals, roads and Schools were built. Foreign Guyanese were returning for vacations, and yes, the barrels and overseas money were pouring into the country. Today, there are many unfinished projects that started just before this government took office, these last few years under the PNC many more people have left because of political uncertainty.

From my experience, the Indian population has not decreased. 

Indians return from Suriname and Venezuela. 

The last GE shows a mere 5000 votes went to AFC .  All these votes plus the unhappy APNU supporters coming back to PPP. 

PPP has a better business strategy than APNU/ AFC . The country is at a standstill, there is no motivation from residents. 

Currently APNU/ Jordan is taking loans from everyone. The same shit PNC did. 

Regarding this chart, I don’t know what Django is hoping to achieve. 

Every fkt day, this collie man coming up with some under achievement by Indians. 

The tuff PNC days it was difficult for people to leave Guyana, one, you could not get foreign currency to buy, two, it was not easy to get tax clearance and passports. There was the fear to leave your family all alone in the era of kick down door robbery, families would only leave all together.

In the PPP time it was economic prosperity, new businesses, no banned items, free trade, Chinese were coming,Brazil and Venezuelans were coming. With foreign currency, Guyanese were travelling to buy stuff to trade, Houses , Hospitals, roads and Schools were built. Foreign Guyanese were returning for vacations, and yes, the barrels and overseas money were pouring into the country. Today, there are many unfinished projects that started just before this government took office, these last few years under the PNC many more people have left because of political uncertainty.

Absolutely true. 

Abie pot tap!

Do you know that there is another site for Gays? Don't expose yourself here.

Its OK...come out the closet...and join...

There is nothing wrong with gay people. If we believe in God, we should not alienate them. If God did not want them, he/she would not have created them. They were born that way.

What is also not considered, Guyana endured severe economic hardship with long lines, no baby food, stealing what ever little they had.  This caused Indians to reduce their family size to cope. People started having 1/2 kids instead of 4/5.  This was a clever way to rein in the Indian number.  And it worked!

DJ knows this but playing stupid!

Valid point. I don’t quite understand why DJ is anti Indian when he is one himself. 

Mind boggling. It might just be a matter of very low self esteem. 

I think he fooling us, he has Black in he , so he is more Black than Indian. If he post anti Black the Brothers gun buss he rass.

I know one of the reasons but prefer to keep it clean and non personal. 

Talking name and speculating. I am not anti Indian detest the one who hate other people, so i man does keep far from them.

What is also not considered, Guyana endured severe economic hardship with long lines, no baby food, stealing what ever little they had.  This caused Indians to reduce their family size to cope. People started having 1/2 kids instead of 4/5.  This was a clever way to rein in the Indian number.  And it worked!

PNC also banned Indo protein based foods like dhall etc to break down Indos. Bai. Those chaps did everything to wipe us out and diminish our numbers. 

The last GE shows a mere 5000 votes went to AFC .  All these votes plus the unhappy APNU supporters coming back to PPP. 

PPP has a better business strategy than APNU/ AFC . The country is at a standstill, there is no motivation from residents. 

Every fkt day, this collie man coming up with some under achievement by Indians. 

You talking nonsense, word from business sector, there are no major problems. Everyday the country progressing. Alyuh haters aren't happy, the party supported got kicked out, added  to that wan dud selected to be alyuh new leader.

Life got to be good in Guyana for people to return from Suriname, Venezuela is different story, the economic conditions have caused people to head to Guyana.

My presentation is to show the migratory trend of East Indians from Guyana and by  the way show where,i have come with up under achievement by East Indians.

So why the continuous migration trend ? the numbers are higher during the PPP tenure.

I believe we explained that already!

Family Reunion.

You talking nonsense, word from business sector, there are no major problems. Everyday the country progressing. Alyuh haters aren't happy, the party supported got kicked out, added  to that wan dud selected to be alyuh new leader.

Life got to be good in Guyana for people to return from Suriname, Venezuela is different story, the economic conditions have caused people to head to Guyana.

My presentation is to show the migratory trend of East Indians from Guyana and by  the way show where,i have come with up under achievement by East Indians.

I am one of the business owner- so I am speaking from experience .

Jagdeo have our support and that’s enough.

The Surinamese and Venezuelans return during PPP term in office NOT in the last 3-4 years I was speaking of. 

Cuttenty Blacks are fleeing the country .. Last month in Richmond Hill, on Liberty Ave.. two sets of Afro families I run into  take up residence in NY ... they have very unpleasant things to say about Granger Government. According to these families, more are leaving. 

I am one of the business owner- so I am speaking from experience .

Jagdeo have our support and that’s enough.

The Surinamese and Venezuelans return during PPP term in office NOT in the last 3-4 years I was speaking of. 

Cuttenty Blacks are fleeing the country .. Last month in Richmond Hill, on Liberty Ave.. two sets of Afro families I run into  take up residence in NY ... they have very unpleasant things to say about Granger Government. According to these families, more are leaving. 

Perhaps your type of business may be affected by increased competition and not primarily economic conditions.

Disaffection by people of government is nothing new, looks like it's much easier for Guyanese to flee their homeland,they can book a flight  settled in the US.

Can you tell what office Jagdeo is running for ?

Abie pot tap!

Define "dougla".  Do you mean of mixed Afro/Indo because if you think that it is there is no evidence that the majority of the mixed identified people fit into this group.  Mixed people are most evident in the interior, Region 4 and 10 and less so in the areas which are more Indo dominated.

In Trinidad only 1/3 of the mixed population is dougla, as identified in their census.  I don't see any evidence that it will be higher in Guyana given that Afro/Indo mixing only became a significant phenomenon over the past 20 years.  Old time Indo racists like Ksazma, Yuji. Nehru, and Skeldon used to disown any brat of theirs who touched a black person.

APNU supporters never supported the PPP.   What they do in this election is anyone's guess, but virtual all of the analysts project usual race voting.  Also factor that not every Indo is a devout Jagdeo worshipper. With Irfaan at the helm many threaten not to vote.

I don't think that either APNU or the PPP can take their base for granted as both are very upset.

If the Indo population has increased this happened after the 2012 census.  Wouldn't it be ironic if the Indo population is increasing under the Coalition.

Given that you admit that you hate blacks and think that they are lazy and ungrateful I just cannot imagine that they will trust you.

What abject nonsense.  Thousands of people fled under the PNC in thelate 70s and 80s and have continued to flee since.  A phenomenon which emerged after 2000 was large numbers of Indo Guyanese fleeing to majority black islands and taking their racist attitudes about black people with them. Even as they often toiled in jobs that the locals didn't want.

Prior to 2000 most Guyanese heading to the Islands were Afros, many of whom were descendants of earlier waves of migrants FROM those places and so were returning as the kids and grandkids.  This being especially true for migration to Barbados and St Lucia.  In the latter they were called "Guy-Lus".

So why did so many Indos flee if life under the PPP was so great.  It isn't as if this people were migrating to affluent societies unless you tell me that places like Barbados, St Kitts Nevis, Grenada, St Maarten and the BVI are great.  The point was that as bad as those places were they offered better income opportunities than did Guyana under Jagdeo.

If the PPP was booming then why did the population fall between 2002 and 2012?  This happened even as migration to North American tightened as visas became harder to get and both Canada and the USA have stated this.  It was the massive migration to the Islands that accounted for much of this population decline.

The fact is the economy was stagnant from 2000/6 after which high gold prices led to significant growth, this spilling over into the retail and housing sectors.  Jagdeo had NOTHING to do with this.  The man was a total failure and all that he touched turned to fecal matter. Look at Guysuco as an example.