Jagdeo hints at welcoming back Robert Persaud into PPP

PPP General Secretary, Bharrat Jagdeo (centre) flanked by presidential candidate, Irfaan Ali (left) and Robert Persaud.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo on Wednesday hinted that he would be willing to consider the return of his former Minister of Natural Resources, Robert Persaud into the People’s Progressive Party’s (PPP) fold.

While Jagdeo said the PPP would have to decide Persaud’s future in that political party, the former Guyanese leader suggested that it would be a contradiction to welcome traditional non-supporters of their party while excluding former associates. “I don’t want to say we are arguing at the party level that we embrace everyone and then in one case, we are going to exclude somebody so that is how I see it,” he said in response to a question posed by Demerara Waves Online News.

The PPP General Secretary noted that his party has been canvassing supporters of the People’s National Congress Reform, A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance For Change.

Jagdeo added that the PPP would have to decide in what capacity Persaud would serve if he decides to return to that political party.

Persaud had been among the first to have resigned in May 2015 after the PPP lost power but had appeared reluctant to accept the results of the general elections. Persaud subsequently left the party after some decades, saying he had gone on a political sabbatical.

He had subsequently raised eyebrows inside and outside the PPP when he appeared to have favoured the incumbent coalition administration. He had even publicly offered to pay market value for housing land at ‘Pradoville 2’ Housing Scheme at Sparendaam, East Coast Demerara, even as Jagdeo had publicly refused to do likewise.

However, in recent weeks Persaud has been seen in the company of PPP presidential candidate, Irfaan Ali in the United States and more recently in conversation with Jagdeo and Ali during this year’s Phagwah Day celebration.

On Wednesday, Jagdeo, however, refuted suggestions that he and Persaud had fallen out. “I don’t have to improve relations with anyone or not; not that we had a breakdown in relations. I didn’t realise that we had a breakdown of relations,” he said.

Jagdeo said, Persaud, before the 2015 general elections, had said he had wanted to take a break from politics, and described as “pure speculation” that Persaud and the PPP had experienced difficulties about campaign funds for the 2006 elections and that he (Jagdeo) had not fully disclosed details about ExxonMobil’s discovery of oil in commercial quantities. “There was never any issue of financial issues in the party, never an issue about money issues in the party and it had nothing to do with the oil find,” he said.

Isn't this grasshopper a soup drinker?

Very rich too.

I am surprised that the PPP doesn't see this blood-sucking bat as just an opportunist who will sell his mother for a dollar.

i guess his dual citizenship does not matter. Those PNC members with that status should just hang on.

I wonder if the timid, docile peace loving indians realizes that empowering Jagdeo is putting them in harms way. 

I can picture a civil war coming-Jagdeo is a bully. Just reading his words conjures up how he sounded.

Robert Persaud will play no role in elections campaign – Opposition Leader

Former Minister Robert Persaud

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo made it pellucid yesterday that former Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment, Robert Persaud, will have no role to play in the PPP’s election campaign efforts at this time.
The PPP General Secretary made these and other related statements at a press conference that was held at his office on Church Street.
There, the former President was asked if Persaud, who has been expressing nationalistic views on the oil and gas sector in some sections of the media, will be playing any role in the party’s campaign.
Jagdeo said, “Persaud has no role to play in the campaign at this time…He has not indicated that he wants to play a role in the campaign and so I will not speculate about anything.”
Asked if he would accept an offer by Persaud to help in this regard, Jagdeo said the party would have to decide on that.
The PPP General Secretary said, “…There is a place for everyone. What role he plays if he expressed that interest is a different matter for the party. Robert Persaud is right now not part of the PPP…He said even before the elections, that he wanted to take a sabbatical from politics and that’s it. He did. He said that pre-2015 elections.”

Very rich too.

I am surprised that the PPP doesn't see this blood-sucking bat as just an opportunist who will sell his mother for a dollar.

I think he and BJ are related.

Very rich too.

I think he and BJ are related.

Yeah his wife Kamini is BJ niece 

Most corrupted Minister in the PPP government.

Bibi, there are indeed big question marks about Robert. And I can imagine APNU+AFC and others salivating to launch corruption salvos at the PPP during the elections campaign if Robert is on the Party's list of candidates. They will say "partners in crime are reunited".

Lately the PPP has attracted bright new faces with clean slates. For example, the current city councillors in GT. While there is nothing wrong in renewing Robert's membership, the PPP should keep him away from positions of power.

BTW, does Robert hold dual citizenship?

Robert Persaud will play no role in elections campaign – Opposition Leader

Former Minister Robert Persaud

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo made it pellucid yesterday that former Minister of Natural Resources and the Environment, Robert Persaud, will have no role to play in the PPP’s election campaign efforts at this time.
The PPP General Secretary made these and other related statements at a press conference that was held at his office on Church Street.
There, the former President was asked if Persaud, who has been expressing nationalistic views on the oil and gas sector in some sections of the media, will be playing any role in the party’s campaign.
Jagdeo said, “Persaud has no role to play in the campaign at this time…He has not indicated that he wants to play a role in the campaign and so I will not speculate about anything.”
Asked if he would accept an offer by Persaud to help in this regard, Jagdeo said the party would have to decide on that.
The PPP General Secretary said, “…There is a place for everyone. What role he plays if he expressed that interest is a different matter for the party. Robert Persaud is right now not part of the PPP…He said even before the elections, that he wanted to take a sabbatical from politics and that’s it. He did. He said that pre-2015 elections.”

"Persaud has no role to play in the campaign AT THIS TIME."

The highlighted phrase is open-ended and begs the question: will he play a role LATER? smh

All you na worry too much bout Persaud’s role in the PPP. He will not be a Minister. Me hear dis pun a reliable source deep down in de belly of de PPP. 

He cut and run so he can’t come in de cabinet ahead of dem loyal PPP bais. 

His capacity will be more of a consulting role since he knows many of the Exxon officials. 

Staap frettin and hurting all you head on dis warm and sunny Friday marnin.

All you na worry too much bout Persaud’s role in the PPP. He will not be a Minister. Me hear dis pun a reliable source deep down in de belly of de PPP. 

His capacity will be more of a consulting role since he knows many of the Exxon officials. 

It's Thursday and will be a gorgeous day. I'm going out lunchtime to get some sunshine.  

Friday fuh some abee gyal 😎

Which beach yo going .. I gon bring me binoculars 

R. Persaud is recycled politician, the PPP can promote someone better in Guyana. After Robert sold his land for BIG profit, he ran away to America and invested his money. Jagdeo is playing a Jackass now, smelling the oil money and wants to keep the wealth close to family.

The mere fact that he is running back to the PPP looks suspicious. PNC will use his presence in the PPP to preach Jagdeo's corruption and we will have 2015 all over again. It is best to cut all ties with him. He can support the PPP but should not be seen as a major player.

Which beach yo going .. I gon bring me binoculars 

Methink Leonora is fully grown. Yuh nah need binoculars. 😎

Is a laang weekend here. Nobody working tomorrow. Dat is why I called it Friday. 

You guys fly kites over there on Easter Sunday? I'm going to the National Mall in DC on Sunday with some family. 

Some of dem white people cant even hold a broomstick much less fly a broomie kite. 

I miss those days of flying kites at No. 63 beach in Berbice and liming dem nice looking GT girls in my young days.

I am entertaining guests from North Carolina for Easter. A nice vegan/vegetarian dinner will be served. Easter is special for me since I somehow respect Christianity and the teachings of Christ.

My guests are Christians. 

The mere fact that he is running back to the PPP looks suspicious. PNC will use his presence in the PPP to preach Jagdeo's corruption and we will have 2015 all over again. It is best to cut all ties with him. He can support the PPP but should not be seen as a major player.

Did he ever Really leave the PPP?  Think hard and Watch carefully.

Except the fools in Quebec. 😀

That’s exactly my point. He will not be part of the PPP campaign or any ministerial position. 

The fact remains that he orchestrated and successfully negotiated the Exxon project. No small change. 

And for the record, was he ever convicted of and wrongsoimg by SOCU ? I think not.

We cannot throw out the baby with the bath water. Screw the PNC and what they think !

I man going to Guyana for me oil share when oil starts flowing. I love my PPP.

When yuh get deh, seh hi tuh T fuh meh. He seh he ah guh fuh he aile tuh. 

According to T, the oil is THEM oil, Them meaning PNC.

Heir to the Jagdeo oil dynasty.

OMG. Please say you jesting.

No.

Seems like you know of some secret ownership of oil blocks or trying to score points as an insider.

No.

O me Lard! Gurl me na surprise foh hear bout Jagdoe/Roberto bisiness interest. Doh is well know. Dem coolie gettin lead to dem grave and dem doan know it. Hey hey hey. Yuh plesant surprise me dis marnin by being like wan enlighten ivy league lady. Hey hey hey...

No.

O me Lard! Gurl me na surprise foh hear bout Jagdoe/Roberto bisiness interest. Doh is well know. Dem coolie gettin lead to dem grave and dem doan know it. Hey hey hey. Yuh plesant surprise me dis marnin by being like wan enlighten ivy league lady. Hey hey hey...

Suh how come them Indo people want to juk you eye out, when the kleptos are exposed. Bicycle riders tunning  future billionaires.

No.

This is quite revealing. The rich are much placed to feed at the public trough. The poor get the crumbs; if lucky.

Freedom in the World 2018

https://freedomhouse.org/repor...om-world/2018/guyana

Guyana

Freedom Status: Free

Aggregate Score: 74/100 (0=Least Free, 100=Most Free)

B3.      Are the people’s political choices free from domination by the military, foreign powers, religious hierarchies, economic oligarchies, or any other powerful group that is not democratically accountable? 3 / 4

Voters are largely free to make their own political choices. However, there is concern that the enduring political power of the Indo-Guyanese elite has resulted in the marginalization of some political positions.

No.

This is quite revealing. The rich are much placed to feed at the public trough. The poor get the crumbs; if lucky.

Bharrat's true love from childhood days is his current secretary, a Portuguese girl who he has a son with. That child is the heir. Bharrat goes to NY and Florida frequently because he bought food stores and other businesses and put his sisters to run them.   

Seems like he is not putting all his eggs in the same store. 

No.

Suh how come them Indo people want to juk you eye out, when the kleptos are exposed. Bicycle riders tunning  future billionaires.

Hey hey hey...is not only dem PPP coolie is klepto. Is dem PNC and WPA and AFC blackman and Moses/Khemraj and he family. Dem PNC and WPA blackman seh how coolie tek dem land (FALSE)...and how Jagdoe give he peopkle nuff nuff contract (TRUE) and now is dem time foh tek back. Dat bai Mr TK seh follow de logic of de land foh understand de tinkin of Granger and dem PNC and dem WPA...hey hey hey. 

The bigger question is when dem get de land, wuh dem gun duh wid it?

http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UF00099285/00059/5x

CARIBBEAN TODAY • FEBRUARY 2011

President Jagdeo leaving ‘tattered legacy’ in Guyana ~ U.S. think tank

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Aleading United States think tank believes Guyana’s

President Bharrat Jagdeo will leave a “tattered legacy” when he steps out of office later this year.“Stagnation, violence, cor-ruption, arch-sectarianism,and unfettered crime – this isthe heritage that President Bharrat Jagdeo will bequeath to his country”, the Council on Hemispheric Affairs(COHA) noted in a statement issued late last month.“Now that Jagdeo has announced that he will not seek a third term in the upcoming August election, he may well ask, as a New York mayor once did, ‘How did I do?’ The answer, in this instance, must be: ‘terribly’”,it added.Chosen by former President Janet Jagan to suc-ceed her in office, COHA said Jagdeo could only receive the lowest of marks from any independent evaluation.“Through his tolerance of crime, racism, and dismal social progress,President Jagdeo has turned in a fifth-rate performance as president of one of the poorest coun-tries in the hemisphere”, it stated.

As the Guyanese use every strategy,legal and ille-gal, to flee the dysfunctional country,Jagdeo will go Jagdeo down in histo-ry as a man who did almost nothing for his nation while in office”, it added.

CREDIT

But COHA noted that, to his credit, Jagdeo has led Guyana on a path of “consid-erable economic growth” inthe last 10 years, despite a devastating flood in 2005. It said the Guyanese economy,which is heavily dependent on the export of six main com-modities - rice, timber, gold,bauxite, shrimp and sugar -has expanded at an average rate of three percent over the past decade.“Sadly, however, despite this incremental improvement in the Guyanese economy,government officials have been either unwilling orunable to share this modest prosperity with average Guyanese citizens”, COHA noted.

Indicative of this trend is that the allocation for educa-tion as a percentage of gov-ernment spending is signifi-cantly lower than it was 10years ago, it stated. COHA also noted that public spend-ing one ducation dropped to 6.1 percent of total gross domestic product (GDP) in 2007, down from 8.5 percent in 2000.Because of this “lack of adequate spending on public education,” the think tank noted, the percentage of pri-mary school entrance-age chil-dren enrolled in such schools dropped from 91.8 percent to 62 percent.COHA warned that there could be “pernicious social consequences if education continues to take a back seat on the Guyanese agenda”.On healthcare, it noted there have been “some posi-tive results” including an increase in life expectancy and a notable decrease in infant mortality. But, it added,“many exigencies, however,remain unaffected”, stating,for example, that about a fifth of the Guyanese population still lacks access to clean sani-tation facilities.

The World Health Organization estimated that Guyana has one of the highest prevalence rates of HIV/AIDS in Latin America and the Caribbean.COHA said Jagdeo’s tenure will also be remem-bered for the “spike in violent crimes experienced through-out Guyana.“The violence in Guyana is all the bitterer for the ethnic undertones that color it.Guyana’s motto - ‘One People, One Nation, One Destiny’ - only seems a cruel joke in the face of the stark division that has long seized the country - a division that Jagdeo has done almost noth-ing to address”, it added.

On balance, COHA noted that Jagdeo has “failed during his  presidency to advance the freedom and fairness of Guyanese public life, or the inequities of the Indo-Guyanese-dominated society”.

- CMC

Here is the tattered legacy.