Jagdeo’s attorneys Anil Nandlall and Sanjeev Datadin were with him during the meeting and agreed to prepare a statement. [Photo: Facebook]

Police on Wednesday morning turned up at the Office of the Leader of the Opposition, Bharrat Jagdeo, on a complaint that he called the President, Prime Minister and another person “jackasses” at an event on March 10 at Babu Jaan in Berbice. 

The Police officers also asked Jagdeo to reply to complaints about his statement to “chase them out” after March 21, the date when the life of the Government would have expired if the Court of Appeal did not overturn an earlier ruling by the High Court.

Two officers from the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) showed up at Jagdeo’s Church Street office to seek the reply to him over the complaints.

Jagdeo’s attorneys Anil Nandlall and Sanjeev Datadin were with him during the meeting and agreed to prepare a statement.

Jagdeo is expected to speak on the issue at a press conference on Wednesday afternoon.

https://newsroom.gy/2019/04/17...sident-pm-jackasses/

• mceclip0

Come In Django... tell we about your comprehension. 

Bhai, Sophia Graduates will tell you no prablem man

It turns out Django is mischievous and wicked. 

Wait, it is only now that Moses and Granger realize that they are Jackasses ?

Addressing them as jackasses is actually paying them a compliment !

Come in DJ, you were saying that this development was a lie when it first broke. Congress Place got you busy mopping floors.

It’s proven, PPP has a informer within GPF/ Congress Place/ APNU/ AFC. 

Jagdeo have them under control. 

Jags allegedly has informants at all levels in the PNC including Congress Place. 

Tell DJ to report this back to Congress Place. 

It’s proven, PPP has a informer within GPF/ Congress Place/ APNU/ AFC. 

Jagdeo have them under control. 

Police question Jagdeo about Granger and Nagamootoo.

Tradewinds  roaring: "Who's de ass and who's de jackass?!"

And Charles Dickens bin write: the Law is an ass.

Come In Django... tell w

I believe Ronan also said yall Indos jumping the gun..

Yes bro.. thanks for the reminder. 

Come In Django... tell w

Ronan just calling us Indos, but from you it sound racists.

Suh....dis a wan serias event...

...and it look like all dem Indo radicals here really acting up and jumping up like colorful dancing female peacocks...

I gon give my 2 cents

FOR THE RECORD....I dont think any politician should use words like "jackasses" or "chase dem out"...it only shows the crudeness of Guyanese politicians...

One of my professors always said his class "politics sometimes mean putting your feet in the opponent's shoe and walk a mile in those shoes to understand that person so that you can deconstruct the  unrealistic world that simply exist in your head".

This is good advise for the lot of you here... 

I always start off by looking at my small feet and asking myself "What would the other leader do if this was done to them"?

So, my simple question is this: 

Would a Cheddi Jagan, Donald Ramotar or Bharrat Jagdeo dare to do this to Forbes Burnham or Desmond Hoyte or Hamilton Green or David Granger of Volda Lawrence?

I dont think so...here's why...

a) those Indian leaders would be terrified of the possibility or consequences of street protest, political pressure, violence, etc,   which they know very well they cannot control. Remember Hoyte's threat to his kit and kin to make the government ungovernable?  (despite Hoyte changing his name to Desmond Persaud...)

and,

b) those leaders would be scared of being accused of being a "racist".

Notice the difference with the coalition leaders, simply sailing along and never mindful of how undemocratic their actions might be. They will do anything to stay in power...and they control the power and means to do so. 

And for those of you who believe the CCJ will swoop in and save the day....think again...its an old boy's network, in fraternal cahoots with their friends in the PNC....just like dem 2 justices who said that 34 is the midway of 65. 

AND, here is my conclusion:

The hard core elements within the PNC feel no compunction of doing this to an INDO opposition leader (despite his imperfections) because of 2 basic reasons:

1) they know that there will be no consequences and there will simply be a tepid response from Jagdeo's supporters .

There will be no street protest

2) The ABCs are fully in line with their support for the coalition (even if it means turning a blind eye to these kinds of actions).

This simply shows the level of disrespect the coalition leaders have for Jagdeo, a former President, and the extent they will go to belittle him....

This will only change when Indos are willing to take actions that will earn them respect...

So this is my rant for the day...lets hear what de usual suspects on GNI have to say to my opinion....

Come In Django... tell w

Ronan just calling us Indos, but from you it sound racists.

Dude....unless you suffering from Foot and Mouth disease, take your thumb from out your mouth...

There are differences between "Arrest"  and seeking reply over  complaints.

LMFA to your response  ... i will not answer you because 

1)  “Arrest” wasn’t the subject word regarding the last paragraph we spoke about yesterday. 

2) they say our brains age as we gets old 

Cops visit Jagdeo over `offending’ statements

April 17 2019

Two senior policemen earlier today visited Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo at his Church Street office about alleged offensive statements he made about government officials inclusive of the president, in March.

PPP party executive Anil Nandlall speaking to the media on Jagdeo’s behalf explained that he recently made contact with the Crime Chief after he received word that the police wanted to speak to Jagdeo. “The Crime Chief yesterday confirmed that the police wished to interview Jagdeo and we fixed a time and a venue mutually convenient.” That time was 11am and the place was Jagdeo’s office.

He said that Jagdeo opted to provide a statement in writing in which he outlined his responsibilities to speak publicly on matters of unconstitutionality, bad governance, misuse and abuse of political power by the government and public officers. He reserved his right not to comment further on the matter.

He said that the ranks did not specifically say what crime they are investigating and as such no allegation was put to Jagdeo.

“All they did was to solicit a response from him in relation to statements they alleged he has made,” he added.

Among the “offending” statements Nandlall said were the chase them out comments and Jagdeo allegedly calling the president, prime minister and Indigenous People’s Affairs Minister Sydney Allicock, ‘jackasses’.

Nandlall insisted that what has occurred is “an abuse of power on the part of the police force” and stressed that people should have a freedom to speak and criticize government officials.

He later informed that the party will now look at the “many” statements made by senior functionaries of the government including the president and “we will lodge reports to the police where we feel that graver statements have been made and we are going to request investigations as well.”

He singled out a minister who he claimed has called for ‘war’ if no house to house registration is done.

Party supporters and a number of attorneys were present during the brief engagement.

Dave,

here is article by SN, it's a more detailed than what you posted, Nanda baba was speaking on behalf of Jagdeo.

1)  “Arrest” wasn’t the subject word regarding the last paragraph we spoke about yesterday. 

You have a different take what was stated in the last paragraph.

Some folks do things to incite the people, Guyana doesn't need such statements. Anyway alyuh carry on smartly.

Anan posted:

More fiah slow fiah is kool though

presidency zombies did the above...did the police professionally stepped in?

They wouldn’t. Volda said racist remarks- nothing happens. 

They just rob another jewel and clothing store at Parika - arm gun men ... more to come . 

Anan posted:

That is Joey Jagan's problem not the PPP's problem.  Leave it on the ground.

These are the people that Mitwah is bending over for nowadays.

Bai, lef Mitwah alone nuh. He trying to assess the situation.

Brother Kaz, it is people like Mitwah who put Guyana in this unfortunate situation. So far, he has failed to condemn this PNC dictatorship. 

Some folks do things to incite the people, Guyana doesn't need such statements. Anyway alyuh carry on smartly.es, then they are jackasses

If they act like jackasses, then the metaphor is most appropriate. What is inciting about calling them that? This is politics, not kindergarten.

Also. The statement about chasing them out is a conditional one and not in any way calling for violence against them. They would have been holdingayse they sar it is a private matter power illegally and it is a citizen’s right, freedom of expression to express their displeasure verbally. Are you implying  that people should not have that right! I hope not!

The police is getting into areas that are troubling.  When people report that someone is cutting down their fence, they do nothing  became they say it is a private matter. Burn it seems that they want to suggest these are more serious. There  are political motives here in their action.

Z

Mitts needs to re-evaluate his position. This, to me anyway, is the PNC that forced many of us, including him, to move abroad. 

Z
Anan posted:

That is Joey Jagan's problem not the PPP's problem.  Leave it on the ground.

Joey’s only claim to fame is that he has the Jagan name. 

Z

Brother Kaz, it is people like Mitwah who put Guyana in this unfortunate situation. So far, he has failed to condemn this PNC dictatorship. 

I hear yuh but we all make mistakes and I believe the true AFC supporters are also disappointed by the performance of the AFC politicians. I believe that Mitwah is one of those supporters.

I can never find myself in that trap as I will never support the despotic PNC. Didn't as a child. Didn't as an adult and wouldn't as an old fart.

I think the PNC did more inciting by squatting illegally in office. Jagdeo's instruction was perfectly in line. The best way to deal with illegal trespassers is by chasing them out. What was so difficult for the PNC to once in their existence do the civilized thing by packing their bags and leaving?

Some folks do things to incite the people, Guyana doesn't need such statements. Anyway alyuh carry on smartly.

Django, I watched the entire episode. The two policemen went in there and were greeted cordially by Jagdeo. At the very onset of the interview, you could see the two black fellas did not feel comfortable. It seems like they were nervous and afraid. When they started questioning, BJ had to help them explain why they were there. After a couple of questions and explanation, Jagdeo took up their offer of responding in writing. They were given the written responses before they left. They looked like they did not want to be there and were in a hurry to get out.

Of coarse. Because they know they were asked to make a stupid trip to Jagdeo’s office. They already knew how that stupid lawsuit by Ram was adjudicated.

wan 'let's pretend' thread to satisfy Jagdeo Media's antiman thirst to shakeabatty at the drop of a hat

smh

Yo GNI shake Battie Antiman. Go wash you stink Beattie and hustle somewhere else. You on de wraang website.