That said, with all the poor people in Guyana, it makes no sense to bury someone with cold hard cash. They have no use for it.

Perhaps, they have use for the money. Maybe there is an underground economy involving cemetery networks. But, I think the donor of that US$300 needs psychiatric help.

No free ride to Heaven.

People propa stupid. Why the put $300 with a dead man?  What good does that serve?  Why did they not donate something to the poor villagers?

I don’t get how some people think. And they went from the USA.  So stupid...and selfish!

Dem poor people right, but they should have sealed up back the thing and no one would have known!

I would have given it to the poor. After all lots of people got very poor the past three plus years especially the laid off sugar workers.

Most sane...and even not so sane people would do just that.  Them head ain't good for putting money in a coffin!

Well, lucky for the poor, it was not a cremation!

Bannas,is wan ole ole tradition. Don't judge. Yuh ever heard about Rameses and all dem Egyptians who bury dem leaders with valuables.

Yall neva heard about de pyramids, most of them was opulent grave sites.  Glorified tombs for pharaohs. The valuables were meant for the afterlife for many cultures. 

In this case de 300$ was more of a symbolic gesture. I am sure many of you have seen people put bottle of rum and cigarettes in graves for the send off. When druggie gone yall could put whatever valuables yuh want in he grave. Meh jumbie gun haunt any grave robber, except fuh cain, dj, lilly and others who gun come fuh de shyte bag and goady sack.