Jagdeo, US President Carter in talks on Guyana’s political situation; Jagdeo says no double-standard on international help

carter donald

Former US President, Jimmy Carter, with other observers, with Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and former President Donald Ramotar (File photo).

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo on Thursday disclosed that he and former US President, Jimmy Carter of the Carter Centre held telephone discussions last week, but the former Guyanese leader declined to divulge details.

Jagdeo said he preferred to await another discussion with Carter after he and President David Granger had spoken. “I thought it’s necessary for Guyanese to know that I received a call and I spoke with him. I’d prefer to keep a little quiet about the contents at this point in time until I hear back from him as to whether he (had) in fact spoken with President Granger,” the Opposition Leader told a news conference.

Carter, Jagdeo and possibly Granger have spoken about three weeks after a fact-finding mission from the Carter Centre came to Guyana and held discussions with representatives of the governing coalition, the opposition, civil society and the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM).

The results of that fact-finding mission have not been made public.

Carter last year held separate telephone conversations with Jagdeo and Granger last year July on kick-starting high-level political discussions.

Meanwhile, the Opposition Leader welcomed remarks by newly-accredited US Ambassador to Guyana, Sarah-Ann Lynch that her country “supports genuinely free and fair elections”. “We are quite pleased about this as we were about other statements that emanated from different sources,” he said, in referring to comments by the British, European Union and United Nations envoys to Guyana.

Jagdeo, however, he said he was quite surprised by Granger’s position that “we have to have mutual non-interference in each other’s internal affairs”. He questioned why Granger, as Opposition Leader, in 2014 had called for international sanctions against Guyana if elections had not been held or parliament had not been reconvened to face the no-confidence motion. “Today he is lecturing about mutual non-interference in each other’s internal affairs,” he said. Jagdeo urged the President to examine the African Union’s pact that refers to non-indifference when there is a threat to legitimate order rather than non-interference.

FLASH BACK: Acting Foreign Minister, Priya Manickchand (left) and Presidential Advisor on Governance, Gail Teixeira walking out of the US Ambassador’s reception

Jagdeo, on the other hand, was at pains to defend his call or tolerance for for the international community, including countries and organisations, to get involved in Guyana’s political landscape. “It was not the concern about the statement about local government elections that triggered  what may seem a hard response from the government at that time. It was the personal comments about President Ramotar and that we take strongly….The international community has always been involved in Guyana on the democracy front from the involvement of President Carter, even President Bush at that time and throughout we have involved the international community. They have supported GECOM. Many of our democracy programmes have been funded by USAID and the Canadians and the others, they have supported the Parliament…,” he added.

“The international community has always been integrally involved in the democratic processes in Guyana so urging them to be involved now is nothing new,” he said.

President Carter, in 1990, had been instrumental in brokering with then President Desmond Hoyte and then Opposition Leader Dr. Cheddi Jagan key electoral reforms such a new voters’ list through house-to-house registration, a reformed GECOM and counting of the votes at the place of poll. Jagan emerged victorious at the 1992 general elections that had been certified as the first free and fair elections in almost 30 years.

While in government, then acting Foreign Minister Priya Manickchand had delivered what then Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr. Roger Luncheon had characterised as a “feral blast” to then American Ambassador, Brendt Hardt at  US embassy reception and walked out of the event. Manickchand had declared that the US has crossed the “red line” for finding numerous excuses for not holding general elections.

Jagdeo’s People’s Progressive Party (PPP) and its  three elections commissioners have been pushing for general elections to be held with the current voters’ list that expires on April 30, 2019. However, the governing coalition and its three commissioners are supporting house-to-house registration to remove the names of deceased persons and emigrants.

Interesting developments.

How so?  Doesn't seem as if anyone is taking sides here and you know that because if they were Jagdeo would have said so.

Of course you were reminded of the time when the PPP insulted a US ambassador.  Better believe that the US hasn't forgotten this either, nor the Roger Khan affair when Jagdeo refused to allow the USA to extradite him.

Btw saying being in support of free and fair elections can be interpreted in many ways. Granger hasn't stated that he will not hold an election. He merely stated that these will be held when GECOM is ready and clearly a prerequisite for a free and fair election is when the entity responsible for this has indicated their ability to properly execute its tasks.

Interesting developments.

How so?  Doesn't seem as if anyone is taking sides here and you know that because if they were Jagdeo would have said so.

Of course you were reminded of the time when the PPP insulted a US ambassador.  Better believe that the US hasn't forgotten this either, nor the Roger Khan affair when Jagdeo refused to allow the USA to extradite him.

America has a white Republican president now.

Yes a man who doesn't like non Christians and those who embarrass the US publicly by refusing to allow the extradition of an immigrant criminal.

First photo --- Ambassador to Granger ...

"You are unaware of your duties to have an election????"

Second photo -- Ambassador to Jagdeo ...

"A pleasure indeed to meet with you."

Rass, de Ambassador frowning in one picture and smiling in the other. What does the PNC contingent here have to say? Silence as they continue to slop propaganda. 

First picture shows her intently and thoughtfully listening to what Granger is saying. Next pictures shows her nervously posing for a picture and hoping that she doesnt get a PPP cuss down which other ABC heads of mission have had to endure.

Granger is probably briefing Jagdeo in that man's penchant for befriending FARC connected drug dealers wanted by the US authorities.

--- Ambassador to Granger ...

"We need to make sure that jerk from the other side..what's it again..ohhh yeh, the PPP,  make sure they don't win. Oh and by the way, good wine."

Ambassador to Jagdeo :     "Blimey! What cologne are you wearing."

Jagdeo to the Ambassador:  "Seven Dwarves"

Ambassador to Jagdeo :       " You must check it, seems as though one of the dwarves has died.  Smile and say cheese"

How come abie puppy Irfaan doan tek out pictcha wid de ambassador? Weh abie puppy Irfaan deh? Hey hey hey...like abie coolie get cuss from God wid bad leader...hey hey hey. 

Tap daag putinisque in control.

How come abie puppy Irfaan doan tek out pictcha wid de ambassador? Weh abie puppy Irfaan deh? Hey hey hey...like abie coolie get cuss from God wid bad leader...hey hey hey. 

Man gat Irfaan like wan lil puppy daag foh true.

That fella thinks people stupid, hopefully there is a revolt and remove him as leader.

The PPP are in the peculiar position where the presidential candidate is not currently the leader of the opposition. Jagdeo is and until Ali becomes president or is declared the leader of the opposition, Jagdeo is doing exactly what the leader of the opposition must do. Take for instance the case of Granger. He was declared presidential candidate in 2015 but he was hardly ever seen in public prior to the coalition prevailing in that election. Even after Granger became president, all the shots were called by the hardline faction of the PNC. As we used to say back in the days, "this is Guyana and that is no big thing". 

The PPP are in the peculiar position where the presidential candidate is not currently the leader of the opposition. Jagdeo is and until Ali becomes president or is declared the leader of the opposition, Jagdeo is doing exactly what the leader of the opposition must do. Take for instance the case of Granger.

He was declared presidential candidate in 2015 but he was hardly ever seen in public prior to the coalition prevailing in that election.

Even after Granger became president, all the shots were called by the hardline faction of the PNC. As we used to say back in the days, "this is Guyana and that is no big thing". 

Banna you kidding, Granger was in the forefront, he was no second fiddle. On your other statement, Granger doesn't seem to micromanage, the ministers run the show.

East Indians need some balls, avoid being docile, call out their leaders when they goofed up.

That fella thinks people stupid, hopefully there is a revolt and remove him as leader.

Wishful thinking. He is the embodiment of our political dreams.

Me see wan poster saying  dat Jagdeo is Papa Doc and Irfan is Baby Doc.