Granger invites Jagdeo to general elections-related talks

http://demerarawaves.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/jagdeo_granger_gail_anil.jpg(L-R) Attorney Anil Nandlall, Opposition Chief Whip Gail Teixeira, President David Granger and Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo. (file photo)

President David Granger has invited Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo to meet with him next week Wednesday to possibly explore extending the deadline by which general elections should be held and also funding for the polls.

Neither Jagdeo nor Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira could be reached to ascertain whether Jagdeo would back down from his so far known reluctance to meet with the President.

In a letter dated February 25, 2019, Minister of State Joseph Harmon invited the Opposition Leader to meet with the President on March 6, 2019 at 11 am at the Ministry of the President.

Down on the proposed agenda are the National Assembly’s constitutional role in the current situation, and the Guyana Elections Commission’s (GECOM) readiness and requirements for poll funding to enable it to conduct general and regional elections.

The Minister of State informed the Opposition Leader that the President has already written to the Chairman of GECOM, James Patterson telling him that the seven-member elections management authority should get ready to conduct the elections.

“The President wishes to advise that he has written to the Chairman of GECOM urging him to initiate arrangements for the conduct of general and regional elections and committing to support his request for financing those elections,” Harmon told Jagdeo.

Unofficial estimates are that GECOM needs about GYD$2.2 billion to finance the conduct of the polls that should have been held by March 19 or 20, 2019 following the National Assembly’s approval of the no-confidence motion on December 21, 2018.

However, the GECOM Secretariat had said it did not receive the green-light from the commissioners to begin preparations for the polls, claims and objections or house-to-house registration.

Eventually, a controversial vote among the commissioners saw them by majority deciding that GECOM should continue its routine work for 2019, inform the President that money was needed for the elections and that no election could be held in March.

The Guyana Constitution provides for the 90-day deadline to be extended by a two-thirds’ vote of the National Assembly.

Jagdeo has so far refused to lend his People’s Progressive Party’s support for extending the deadline because he said his party and commissioners were not to be blamed, but that the responsibility should be borne by a section of the commission and the governing coalition in the Granger administration’s quest to hold on to power.

But the governing coalition and its commissioners have been demanding house-to-house registration to remove the names of deceased, migrants and also those who have changed their places of residence in Guyana.

The last house-to-house registration was conducted more than seven years ago.

Granger invites Jagdeo to general elections-related talks

President David Granger has invited Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo to meet with him next week Wednesday to possibly explore extending the deadline by which general elections should be held and also funding for the polls.

The specific issues are of substance.

Explore extending the deadline!!!!

HE Granger skonting around with Jagdeo!  Is weh Irfy deh?

Dat is an old picture. 

Irfaan taking a lil break, he having roti and dhall for dinner. 

Granger got Jagdeo right where he wants him. Believe me, he is a better strategist than Jagdeo is. Granger is playing with Jagdeo like a little boy. Remember that it was Jagdeo who first up the GECOM readiness and extension matter in the first meeting with Granger.  He should have never done this because they ought to have known this. Now that the 90 days period is closing in, he wants to discuss election and extension. When I first wrote here that Jagdeo should not meet with Granger unless Dissolution of Parliament was on the agenda, some on GNI did not agree with me. Will Dissolution of Parliament be on this agenda? I doubt it. 

Mark my words Jagdeo will not negotiate anything but will giveGranger everything he wants. 

Rass de deadline approaches and Jackass Granger finally shuffling his feet. 

Probably, he now realise that 19/20 March 2019 is fast approaching.

While you all might bow and grovel to "Lord Bharat" not all of us do.  So tell Jagdeo to go select his black slave to be the PM candidate if indeed he is ready for the election in 3 weeks!

Just to show that Jagdeo isnt God he selected Irfaan as his stooge sending many in the PPP into rage. Daily we see letters from PPP supporters about this.   A letter writer today alleges that at a meeting with diplomats Irfaan said nothing and Jagdeo dominated the show.

Rass de deadline approaches and Jackass Granger finally shuffling his feet. 

Probably, he now realise that 19/20 March 2019 is fast approaching.

While you all might bow and grovel to "Lord Bharat" not all of us do.

Quite interesting on the use of your words and descriptions of others.

In your line of thinking; perhaps you with others are on your knees, heads buried in the sand and praising your political "Lord and Saviour".

No I leave that for you. Reverence for Burnham because he created this sacred text that you revere and to Jagdeo who can do no wrong.

While on your knees and head buried in the sand ... 

Read s-l-o-w-l-y .. yet again ...

1. Burnham created the constitution when he "miraculously" secured more than two-thirds of the MPs for his political party.

2. Needed changes require as a minimum two-thirds of the MPs.

3. After the elections in 1992, the number of PPPC or PNCR/Others are in the 30's.

I believe this is a catch 20 situation to see how much Jagdeo can give until elections. At the end of an extended date, there would be another extension call by Granger. BTW, why the PPP is in a rush to lose? can someone provide reasons why the PPP will win again? Just plausible reasons. 

Granger jerking around with Jagdeo.  

Granger already told Jagdeo that unless GECOM gets money there can be no election.  Given that this wasn't budgeted prior to the NCV Jagdeo will have to agree and he cannot unless he meets Granger.

So he can continue to pout and think that he owns all of Guyana as he does the PPP.

Granger already told Jagdeo that unless GECOM gets money there can be no election.  Given that this wasn't budgeted prior to the NCV Jagdeo will have to agree and he cannot unless he meets Granger.

So he can continue to pout and think that he owns all of Guyana as he does the PPP.

Bold face liar.  The funds could be taken from the Contingency Fund!  Stop thinking people are fools!  I told you sometime ago, your arrogance will come back to haunt you!

Dear Editor:

The nation wakes up to a letter dated February 25, 2019 sent by Mr. Granger to Mr. Jagdeo in their respective capacities to discuss:

“(1) The National Assembly’s constitutional role in the present situation; and (2) GECOM’s readiness and requirement for funding to enable it to conduct General and Regional Elections (GRE)…”

The Government of Guyana financial architecture as prescribed by the law, provides GECOM with certain tools that it can use to do its work.  GECOM as a Statutory Agency and in compliance with Article 222A of the Guyana Constitution, has the power to "manage its subvention in such a manner as it deems fit for the efficient discharge of its functions".  In the 2019 Budget, G$5.371 billion was approved for GECOM to spend in 2019.  Isn't that enough funds to commence preparatory works for the 2019 Elections?  Are we printing gold lined ballot papers? Who does GECOM and Team Granger think they are fooling?

But just supposing that GECOM needs a billion or two more, the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act (Act No. 20 of 2003) has given GECOM the power to ask the Minister of Finance to release funds for a national contingent liability that has occurred because of a constitutional act that was given life by Article 106 of the Guyana Constitution on December 23, 2018.  This spending of public moneys is not a discretionary ask, but a mandatory one which the Minister of Finance must execute.  The Minister of Finance must approve the funding of this future commitment by way of the Contingency Funds because the entire financial commitment was unforeseen, unavoidable and urgent and is a matter of national importance that transcends party politics.  So there is no role for Mr. Jagdeo and Mr. Granger in this arrangement. GECOM does not  need Mr. Granger’s or Mr. Jagdeo’s permission to draw on the Contingency Funds to hold Elections?   

As to Issue No. 1 and the constitutional role of the National Assembly, Mr. Granger must be advised that such a role only becomes relevant once an elections date is publicly declared by him and only him.  This process does not need Mr. Jagdeo until a date is announced.  Again who does Mr. Granger think he is fooling?  

Between now and March 20, 2019, there is no need for the National Assembly to meet unless for the primary act of extending the life of the Government using a 2/3 majority of all the elected members (44 whole members).  But in the absence of an elections date what is Mr. Granger trying to do, force an after-life for his Government using these zombie tactics? I trust Mr. Jagdeo and his Team would not engage in parliamentary semantics by extending the life of a Government that has not yet committed to an elections date.  Enough time has passed since December 23, 2019 for all the power brokers in Team Granger to fully comprehend the gravity of the matter at hand.  We must at least credit them with some common sense.  

I therefore call on Mr. Jagdeo to write to Mr. Granger and politely decline the offer to meet for the simple reason that there is nothing to meet about this time until a date for the elections are publicly declared by Mr. Granger. This is serious business and Mr. Granger and Mr. Jagdeo are supposed to be serious people with serious responsibilities. There should be no time for games of deceit to outmaneuver each other. Attending this meeting without an elections date will only serve one purpose – to kick the bucket down the road.  Is this in Mr. Jagdeo and his team’s best interest?

Further this meeting helps no one – not the private sector who are seeing their business implode, the citizenry who live in a society of great uncertainty and the political opposition who will only be aiding and abetting an idle Government whose life expires on March 20, 2019.  This letter from Mr. Granger seek to serve the interest of one group – David Arthur Granger and his apparatchiks, who continue to live the high life on the back of the Guyanese people and expect to continue to do so with zero accountability.  Is Mr. Jagdeo so desperate for a fist bump with Mr. Granger that he will attend this meeting without a declared elections date?

We shall see!

Regards

Sasenarine Singh

Bold face liar.  The funds could be taken from the Contingency Fund!  Stop thinking people are fools!  I told you sometime ago, your arrogance will come back to haunt you!

Is Jaggy giving you a share of his oil money?  Where is the Negro stooge to be selected by him to be PM?   We dont even know if Irfaan meets the qualifications given his allegedly fake degree.

Now I know that the longer people see Irfaan the more they will realize that he is an idiot, but then that is Jagdeo's problems.

GECOM money is for House to House.  So Jaggy has to find more money.

You know full well that if you all lose the election you will whine about all the "dead people voting", so clean it up and remove that excuse.

In the meantime the closet support that the PPP has for Maduro has been noted.  Maybe Granger has been "ordered" not to cooperate with the installation of a Maduro friendly gov't.

According to dummy Williams, Granger has no authority to call elections so there is no reason for him to meet with Jagdeo. Jagdeo meeting with Granger will only legitimize Granger.

Williams might be a bad AG but at least he had the intelligence to pass exams. Apparently Irfaan couldn't.  We still await the results of Irfaangate.

Jaggy can refuse to meet with Granger and show the world that he doesnt want to discuss this issue. GECOM money is for House to House.

Jaggy can run off to the courts to block House to House if he wishes.

Seriously though, Irfaan needs to either present his school transcripts or step down from being the PPP presidential candidate. I am less concerned about whether he graduated from undergraduate school than I am about him being dishonest. The country has already had to endure the Coalition government's dishonest behavior for nearly four years now. That said, he is still way better than the PNC despots now in government.

Carib talking like if he made the certificates at Staples for Irfaan.

No Jaggy tried to get Staples to do that and they refused because Canada warned them about Irfaan.   Jaggy tried to beat up the Staples manager but was threatened with arrest.

Seriously though, Irfaan needs to either present his school transcripts or step down from being the PPP presidential candidate.

Cyar yuh rass. He is fit and proper as per the CC and BJ.  Now let the people decide!  He is better qualified than Granger!

Long Live Irfaan, long live Bharat, long live the PPP, long live The Donald and long live Modi!

Seriously though, Irfaan needs to either present his school transcripts or step down from being the PPP presidential candidate.

Cyar yuh rass. He is fit and proper as per the CC and BJ.  Now let the people decide!  He is better qualified than Granger!

Long Live Irfaan, long live Bharat, long live the PPP, long live The Donald and long live Modi!

I agree that anyone representing the PPP would be better qualified than anyone representing the despotic PNC. Lets face it. There is no APNU or no APNU/AFC. There is only the PNC and a few other parties who can't do much on their own clinging to the PNC.

Stop thinking?? When did he started and are you sure he is capable??