I cannot believe that a country  of approximately 800,000 citizens and a potential electorate of about 400,000, cannot get its act together and have elections by March of 2019.  The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) is dragging its feet on such a critical issue.  Certainly,  if GECOM was efficient, it would have gotten its act together and set about getting its wheels in motion since in December, when the no confidence motions was passed, in The National Assembly.  There is still enough time to call an election by March of this year. 

Start working on a March 2019 National and Regional Elections.  

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

I cannot believe that a country  of approximately 800,000 citizens and a potential electorate of about 400,000, cannot get its act together and have elections by March of 2019.  The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) is dragging its feet on such a critical issue.  Certainly,  if GECOM was efficient, it would have gotten its act together and set about getting its wheels in motion since in December, when the no confidence motions was passed, in The National Assembly.  There is still enough time to call an election by March of this year. 

Well you bloated the population. Spend some time to look at the Constitution about Elections.Were you vocal when Ramouthar porogue parliament and was holding on to government ? Elections in Guyana isn't a trivial matter, lots of voters can be disenfranchised. There are over 2000 polling stations to be manned, done by mostly school teachers, can holding of Election in 90 days looks plausible ? Guyana is no first world country. 

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Well you bloated the population. Spend some time to look at the Constitution about Elections.Were you vocal when Ramouthar porogue parliament and was holding on to government ? Elections in Guyana isn't a trivial matter, lots of voters can be disenfranchised. There are over 2000 polling stations to be manned, done by mostly school teachers, can holding of Election in 90 days looks plausible ? Guyana is no first world country. 

My brother, was anyone disenfranchised during the recent LGE. Secondly, did anyone who was not eligible to vote actually voted in those elections? Thirdly, did Ramotar violate the constitution when he prorogued parliament in 2014?

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

My brother, was anyone disenfranchised during the recent LGE. Secondly, did anyone who was not eligible to vote actually voted in those elections? Thirdly, did Ramotar violate the constitution when he prorogued parliament in 2014?

Well little brother,perhaps there were disfranchised voters in the recent 2018 LGE. The PPP stymied democracy by not holding local government elections and planting interim management for over two decades. The people having not understanding  the real intent of LG and the elections, not accustomed going to these polls, may have caused low turn out.

Ramothar used his Presidential power to suspend parliament, for his gov't to hold to power, he chose that  route to avoid the debate in parliament,  the ills practiced by the PPP running the gov't .In a nut shell his government didn't want the people to know. With that said,you can be the judge if there is any violation.

Government are elected to serve for five years. The life of the current gov't was cut short by frivolous accusations and circumstances that seems questionable, appears it's a grab for power by the opposition leader by whatever means possible.

There will be about  additional 82,991 legible voters in 2020, this group is the 10-14 yrs old. (Source 2012 Census) If elections are held this year, part of this group need to be registered, it's their democratic right.

Well little brother,perhaps there were disfranchised voters in the recent 2018 LGE. The PPP stymied democracy by not holding local government elections and planting interim management for over two decades. The people having not understanding  the real intent of LG and the elections, not accustomed going to these polls, may have caused low turn out.

Ramothar used his Presidential power to suspend parliament, for his gov't to hold to power, he chose that  route to avoid the debate in parliament,  the ills practiced by the PPP running the gov't .In a nut shell his government didn't want the people to know. With that said,you can be the judge if there is any violation.

Government are elected to serve for five years. The life of the current gov't was cut short by frivolous accusations and circumstances that seems questionable, appears it's a grab for power by the opposition leader by whatever means possible.

There will be about  additional 82,991 legible voters in 2020, this group is the 10-14 yrs old. (Source 2012 Census) If elections are held this year, part of this group need to be registered, it's their democratic right.

LGE and general elections are apples and oranges. No LGE for 21 years, Guyana did not become undemocratic during those years. General elections were still free and fair and held on time. NO one, except you and PNC backers harped on LGE.

Please explain further, awaiting your answer.

What's your thoughts on the registration legible voters.

Was this list good enough for the IMPORTANT LGE? What's wrong with it now? The list was checked house to house.

Is this a form of deflection ??

For your information the 2015 Voters List is padded with approximately 60,000 voters. (Source 2012 Census) mostly in PPP strong holds.

Django bhai, Good marning. May I remind you this .. right after the no confidence motion, the question was asked how can Election be held in 3 months. 

You jump in and say, Yes it can be held...  there should be NO ISSUES as the government has the list they just used for LGE and the machine is oil and ready to go ... just a few tweaking. 

You NEVER express any concerned. 

Since the government comes up with all them Nancy stories why election can’t be held , you back peddle and suddenly the same voter list you endorsed is not good. 

This is the hypocrisy of you, was skelly wrong to called you a S$&@ *** Hypocrite which you felt was insulting??? 

All I am asking is why new registration now when the current list was good for LGE? You want to tell me in a few months, thousands of people died or migrated or pickney aged so fast that they can vote? Come on brother, let's be honest and fair.

Django bhai, Good marning. May I remind you this .. right after the no confidence motion, the question was asked how can Election be held in 3 months. 

You jump in and say, Yes it can be held...  there should be NO ISSUES as the government has the list they just used for LGE and the machine is oil and ready to go ... just a few tweaking. 

Since the government comes up with all them Nancy stories why election can’t be held , you back peddle and suddenly the same voter list you endorsed is not good. 

This is the hypocrisy of you, was skelly wrong to called you a S$&@ *** Hypocrite which you felt was insulting??? 

All I am asking is why new registration now when the current list was good for LGE? You want to tell me in a few months, thousands of people died or migrated or pickney aged so fast that they can vote? Come on brother, let's be honest and fair.

Please avoid the deflection, try to be fair.

I will try to find his comments and post it. He’s busted 😊

Please avoid the deflection, try to be fair.

I don't need to write a 500-word essay to explain my point. What is it that you cannot comprehend in the three sentences. Maybe I can learn to write in Swahili.

With all i have stated, that what you can come up with ?

Having taking a deeper analysis, is it not correct to change one stand ? There are no nancy stories, the ploy of the opposition leader is revealed. I mentioned it will back fire.

There you go with Jagdeo again without naming him. Leave the man alone and defend your statements.

I don't need to write a 500-word essay to explain my point. What is it that you cannot comprehend in the three sentences. Maybe I can learn to write in Swahili.

My comprehension is fairly good, no need for the language stated. What can be observed, you master deflection well. Then the other one Dave , trying to prop up.

Nothing is wrong to change, but you have been a very controversial person with your comments. 

Comrade Gill asked if you will respect about the court decision before the Chief Justice make her announcement ( and I knew where he was coming from ) lo and behold you back peddle on your comments again. 

Explains why dem Coalition supporters didn't waste time going out to vote in the LGE. They knew it was a farce and no different from the PPP not having any since 1994. Actually the PPP are looking better as they didn't throw away money on a meaningless exercise.  

LGE was a waste of taxpayers' money.

Nothing is wrong to change, but you have been a very controversial person with your comments. 

Comrade Gill asked if you will respect about the court decision before the Chief Justice make her announcement ( and I knew where he was coming from )

lo and behold you back peddle on your comments again. 

Now where is the controversy  and backpedaling ???  please note my statement.

Explains why dem Coalition supporters didn't waste time going out to vote in the LGE. They knew it was a farce and no different from the PPP not having any since 1994. Actually the PPP are looking better as they didn't throw away money on a meaningless exercise.  

Is it a meaning less exercise, in our neck of the woods ?

Weak attempt saying money are being wasted.

LGE was a waste of taxpayers' money.

simply amazing . . . the measure of y'all HYPOCRISY!

Law and Constitution buffet style

smfh

Wasted money if the list is inaccurate. If it wasn’t inaccurate then it shouldn’t be now. Suppose an employee spends money on something the business couldn’t use, what is spending that money considered?

What you deh pun, there are differences between business and Country Elections.

Well them bhais does waste a lot of money at the Guyana Elections Commission and still can't get the gob done, Guyana is wan backward country.

Check the neighbor T&T how they advanced   https://www.ebctt.com/

PNC cant even build a toilet. How can they be read for election ? They just want to sit on their lazy asses, collect a big fat salary and rig and frig. This is part of PNC’s DNA. 

Look how they are hopping from court to court. They have pepper on their balls and yet they sit on their lazy asses.

What you deh pun, there are differences between business and Country Elections.

Well them bhais does waste a lot of money at the Guyana Elections Commission and still can't get the gob done, Guyana is wan backward country.

Check the neighbor T&T how they advanced   https://www.ebctt.com/

I am still trying to reconcile why GECOM established that they had an accurate voters list for the LGE.

Reza R. Rahaman posted:

Donald Ramotar prorogued parliament according to the laws of Guyana.

By doing so, it was imperative that elections be held within a certain time period, which was done according to the constitution and laws of Guyana.

Ramotar was advised to do so, to avoid confidence motion tabled.

Indeed he was advised.

In 2015, the then parliamentary composition ---

32 seats -- PPPC

26 seats -- PNCR/APNU

07 seats -- AFC

In short - 32 seats - PPPC ... and ... 33 seats - PNCR/APNU plus AFC

A vote would have defeated the PPPC government; hence elections.

Elections were then held in 2015 resulting in the following ---

32 seats -- PPPC

33 seats -- PNCR/AFC/APNU

--- the PNCR?AFC then became the government.

On December 22, 2018, 33 members voted for the no-confidence motion and 32 against.

QUESTION ...

Is 33 greater than 32 ??

Ramotar was advised to do so, to avoid confidence motion tabled.

Indeed he was advised.

On December 22 [21] , 2018, 33 members voted for the no-confidence motion and 32 against.

QUESTION ...

Is 33 greater than 32 ??

Of course 33 is majority in a 65 member legislature. I have done my personal research, haven't  found 34 to be the majority, 33 is the number. Well some in Guyana believes 34 is the majority.

1. As far as I know, since 2005, a law was passed to allow for continuous registration. At the age of 14, a Guyanese can go in and get registered. That person is placed on the national register and receives a National Registration Card.

2. On attaining the age of 18 years, the person’s name is automically extracted from the national list and placed on the voters list.

3. In the event that that person’s name does not make it to the voters list, that person can get his name included on the list in the claims and objection period which happens just prior to the elections.

django just posting a lot of swine excrement to get you all excited.

Z