Suspected foreign strippers detained following night club raid

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter
The Diamond Hotel and Night Club

FIFTEEN foreign nationals, believed to be strippers at the Diamond Hotel and Night Club were, on Tuesday, February 05, 2019, detained by ranks of the Guyana Police Force (GPF) following a raid at the George Street, Werk-en-Rust building.

The raid was prompted following a video circulating on social media, which showed a woman jumping over a locked gate to get into the Diamond Hotel and Night Club compound.
The woman was being assisted by four of ‘her friends’ who were on the other side of the fence. They were holding up the security barbwire so that the woman could have gained entry.
Hours after the video ‘hit’ social media, police raided the compound and detained the 15 women, who the investigators suspect to be trafficking in persons (TIP) victims.

Meanwhile, the proprietor of the night club and hotel, Freeman Fordyce, was last week, handed a four-year suspended sentence by Principal Magistrate Faith McGusty, after being found guilty of gun and ammunition charges.

Fordyce is currently on trial for assaulting a police officer and resisting arrest.
He was charged after a video footage showed him (Fordyce) resisting being searched and then punching one Inspector Narine in the face.

The Police subsequently removed a number of women, including Venezuelans, from the premises. The ranks reportedly searched Fordyce’s club while conducting a TIP investigation.

Last month, Fiona Hopkinson, an employee at the night club, was charged for trafficking four Venezuelan women and forcing them to work as strippers at the entity.
She was also charged for withholding the women’s travel documents.
In 2018, Hopkinson and Rodwell Dempster, another employee of the entity, were jointly charged for trafficking five Venezuelans for sexual exploitation at the same night club and hotel.

Last month, Fiona Hopkinson, an employee at the night club, was charged for trafficking four Venezuelan women and forcing them to work as strippers at the entity.
She was also charged for withholding the women’s travel documents.
In 2018, Hopkinson and Rodwell Dempster, another employee of the entity, were jointly charged for trafficking five Venezuelans for sexual exploitation at the same night club and hotel.

Seem this was forcible and not consensual

Really? Oh man.

Bai, I would look on those 16-year-olds as grandchildren. I guess we all have our own morals.

Bannas is good money being paid

I have to take you and Cain to PUNTA CANA, the real action there

You rass nah frikken you pick up some terminal disease? You want me wife kill me rass nah. I am good. 

Really? Oh man.

Bai, I would look on those 16-year-olds as grandchildren. I guess we all have our own morals.

Bannas is good money being paid

I have to take you and Cain to PUNTA CANA, the real action there

Seriously. Imagine that 16 year old was a relative and was being forced to prostitute herself or himself for those of you who so inclined.  

I am not an animal to screw relatives, I am human. I eat Beef from grass fed Cows only, I always do my homework. I do not engage with Prostitutes, my have enough CHARM and LOOKS to attract opposites. I feel sorry for some Al Yuh. is UGLY Al Yuh UGLY so

I do not engage with Prostitutes

really?

so, what exactly do you call those unfortunate 16-year old girls trafficked to satisfy the decadent compulsions of dribbling old men like you?

i point to the boastful recruitment stuff you post here on the regular

like on this thread . . . an alarming example of you promoting the sexual exploitation of children

smfh

I am NOT Gay

so, to prove 'prove' your lack of "Gay[ness]" you come on here promoting the sexual exploitation of little girls

uh huh

carry on

I am NOT Gay

Banna, I don't even know how to reply to this one. On one hand you claim you don't engage with prostitutes and on the other hand your reply to Ronan's post implies that you do. Before you go off on a tangent please note I said IMPLIES.

so...you would encourage this type of lawlessness under PPP

It's the oldest profession.  Once there is a demand who will supply.

this business has the dubious reputation of one of its owners being before the court for human trafficking. This is serious business. I also agree that the "strippers" should not be locked up if they are. They are the victims

Listen to Nehru. Banna res yuhself eh.

Tell them Sheik, no wonder you in GT every 6 months

Not for that purpose bai. Been a couple times thats true. Drank some beers. but not my thing. Don't like seeing people being exploited like that. Desperation is a terrible thing.

I was going to visit Guyana BUT I changed my mind. Venezuelan Girls are pretty at 16 and 17

If at your age you desire teens you are what is technically defined as a pervert....no a predator. If for example you are known by the US officials to have been in places where children at this age are exploited they can arrest and charge you with a sex crime. They do that all the time with places like Thailand where this is a pervasive form of sex tourism

I am not an animal to screw relatives, I am human. I eat Beef from grass fed Cows only, I always do my homework. I do not engage with Prostitutes, my have enough CHARM and LOOKS to attract opposites. I feel sorry for some Al Yuh. is UGLY Al Yuh UGLY so

you were once a good looking man. You are now in the distinguished elderly man phase. Behave yourself.

Bhai D2 the headline said "Strippers" we all know in Guyana what strippers mean. I went to a Strip Bar in Schenectady you could not even touch.

I went to the zanzibar in toronto once but on invitation of the pianist who met me playing my guitar in the street. The owner kicked me out for being too young. I also did not see any 16 year olds. It have no objections to these places but the government ought to regularize them and have strict rules that if broken cost the owners their business license.