SOCU Deputy resigns after Magistrate requests her qualifications

A British specialist investigator who is second in command of the police’s Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU), has resigned after questions over her qualifications.
Her resignation would raise deep worry over the advancement of several multi-billion-dollar cases being investigated and before the courts, including ones with the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB) and the Guyana Bank For Trade and Industry (GBTI).
According to lawyers attached to the cases, Special Superintendent of Police, Sheronie James, tendered her resignation last week with her date effective February 1.
From indications, James, who is here to assist SOCU, on a loan from the United Kingdom, was in court being questioned about her credentials to give expert testimony.
She reportedly declined.
She reportedly did not tender the qualifications to her seniors at SOCU and to the Ministry of Public Security, when asked to present it.
The matter reportedly came to a head and she tendered her resignation, stating that her qualifications were a matter of national security.
In fact, it was in July last year that the issue of her qualifications was first raised.
SOCU had called James to testify in the contempt trial of several high ranking officials from GBTI.

A number of SOCU’s cases are under questions after a top official resigned after she did not produce her qualifications.

The case involves Chairman, Robin Stoby S.C; and Directors, Edward A. Beharry, Suresh Beharry, Richard Isava, Carlton James and Basil Mahadeo, along with Chief Executive Officer (ag) Shaleeza Shaw and Kathryn Eytle-McLean.
They all denied the charge, which alleged that on September 7, 2017 at Georgetown, they failed to comply with production order granted by Chief Justice (ag) Roxane George, for them to produce certain documents to head of the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU), Sydney James. As it relates to the trial, James, a Forensic Analyst, was called by SOCU Special Prosecutor Attorney-at-Law Patrice Henry to the witness box. She gave testimony with regard to an investigation at GRDB which led to her uncovering several bank accounts.
The prosecutor had wanted the court to deem James an “expert witness.”
Consequently, the court conducted a Voir Dire (trial within a trial) to determine whether or not the witness could be deemed an expert in the field for which she was being called to give evidence.
However, Chief Magistrate Ann Mc Lennan ruled then, in July, that the court was not satisfied that James is sufficiently/properly qualified to give evidence in the area of Financial Forensic Analysis, and as such, cannot be deemed an expert on the field.
This was although the witness had said that she is the holder of a Masters Degree in Business Administration.
James had also told the court that she worked in 15 countries looking at corrupt organizations and dealing with banks. Taking all these into consideration, the Chief Magistrate ruled that although James possesses these qualifications and experience, she had no tertiary education neither did she publish any writings, in the area of Financial Forensic Analysis.
Allowing her to continue her testimony in the trial, the Chief Magistrate said that James will not be permitted to give opinion evidence.
Lawyers yesterday said that they will be examining other cases where James may have been involved in and which could have been “tainted by her expert testimony. This is serious. Where someone’s qualifications may not be right yet we have people being charged in a high profile manner and before the courts.

Typical hapless PNC clowns, hiring someone with zero qualifications ! No wonder these chaps can't prosecute anyone ! This is serious stuff !

but yuh believe in Roti ALi fake certificate...double standards?

Hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey 

hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey 

hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey ........................Dis is wan ole PNC operation. It goh back since Burnham time. Fake yuh mattie qualifaction...pass dem through Critchlow. Is all bout dominating dem coolies in Guyana. Coolies cant seh look dem na gat papah. Status wh0res...hey hey hey. Wonder what dem one lovers gat to say...hey hey hey. 

Typical hapless PNC clowns, hiring someone with zero qualifications ! No wonder these chaps can't prosecute anyone ! This is serious stuff !

Balahoo bai na talk too hard...ayoo cucu na less smelly. See de danger Jagdoe is to coolie peopkle? De man he put up cyant travel to yuh own kuntry foh meet ayoo in Brampton...hey hey hey. 

hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey hey ........................Dis is wan ole PNC operation. It goh back since Burnham time. Fake yuh mattie qualifaction...pass dem through Critchlow. Is all bout dominating dem coolies in Guyana. Coolies cant seh look dem na gat papah. Status wh0res...hey hey hey. Wonder what dem one lovers gat to say...hey hey hey. 

You mean like how Scampman Roti Ali fake he degrees?

Ayoo gat online fakie dactarates in ayoo group too...hey hey hey. Ayoo cucu na less smelly...hey hey hey.

I'm a group of one. My degrees are all earned the old fashioned way. 

stupid man

the woman is apparently a police Superintendent in the UK, seconded by the British Government to assist SOCU . . . you know, the "on loan" part

what's this got to do with "coolies" and "PNC operation"?

your rabid racism and loathing for Black people boil your brains and mek the lil education you earned evaporate

shame on you

same for the other antimen posting shyte on this thread

smfh

stupid man

the woman is apparently a police Superintendent in the UK, seconded by the British Government to assist SOCU . . . you know, the "on loan" part

your rabid racism and loathing for Black people boil your brains and mek the lil education you earned evaporate

shame on you

smfh

Na de LABBA know bout de empowerment style of PNC and now PPP pick up de same ting. Hey hey hey...

Amral posted:

I got a PhD I wonder if I will get a job in Guyana. I am a qualified plumber handyman and desiginer hence my   Phd

I am a custodial engineer. I might get a teaching job at UG.

stupid man

shame on you

smfh

Na de LABBA know bout de empowerment style of PNC and now PPP pick up de same ting. Hey hey hey...

Agouti man, you tink dem expert PNC peeple like Granjah, Harman, Kanwa, and Dr. Naggah wood ah look into dis lady kagaj b4 dem bring dis fraud in. Worse dan Irfan. Irfan nah seh he ah expert.

stupid man

shame on you

smfh

bigot . . . you full of sh!t

this thread is about a British Police investigator on loan to SOCU deemed to be not qualified as an Expert Witness by the judge because she lacks the University degree apparently claimed, despite having the requisite experience

"empowerment style of PNC" is all in your sick mind

haul your mediocre, propagandistic, racist rass!

stupid man

shame on you

smfh

this thread is about a British Police investigator on loan to SOCU deemed to be not qualified as an Expert Witness by the judge because she lacks the University degree apparently claimed, despite having the requisite experience

Hey hey hey...dis had to go to Granger desk and he buddy dem desk before de British pay foh she. Hey hey hey...is wan ole empowahment strategy...hey hey hey. 

Dem PNC bais ugly and stuphit both. The fools did not care. It's the massa mentality. She come from abie massa, so she muss be prappa smart. She get big, big univusity degree. Moe smaat dan alll abie ministah dem combine.

stupid man

shame on you

smfh

shimmy hea, den shimmy dere

dance idiot dance . . . SUNLIGHT!!

uh huh

stupid man

shame on you

smfh

shimmy hea, den shimmy dere

dance idiot dance . . . SUNLIGHT!!

uh huh

Snowie Rowie bai...yuh doan know even if de British dem pay foh yuh consultant yuh gat wan say in who yuh employ? Especial foh wan position so sensitive? Moss likely Granger pick wan far off family...or ole army fren pickney...hey hey hey...

When you have AHOLES and JACKASSES running a Country expect donkey shit all over. These people are the most INCOMPETENT and DUMB set of people on this Planet.

You mean dem peeple sthupit like ah rass? Me tink you ah gee dankey bad name. Dankey moe smaat dan dem peeple dis.

I resigned to avoid compromising confidentiality – SOCU’s Forensic Analyst

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...us-forensic-analyst/

Forensic Analyst of the police’s Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU), Sheronie James, says that her resignation recently had nothing to do with qualifications. Rather, it was to avoid compromising her personal and professional commitments to obligations of “Confidentiality and Non Disclosure”.
She insisted that her work at that entity which specializes in money laundering and fraud crimes was subjected to surveillance and there were threats against her and family.
The official, in a statement last evening, insisted that she has verifiable undergraduate and postgraduate degrees awarded by recognized UK universities.
“My academic qualifications meet and exceed the requirements for the work I was undertaking at SOCU.”
The official, said to be from the United Kingdom, had reportedly undertaken forensic work on the Guyana Rice Development Board shortly after the Coalition Government entered office in 2015. She was then hired by SOCU and afforded the rank of Special Superintendent of Police.
She was reportedly integral in several investigations of SOCU.
However, during the infamous contempt case against senior officials of the Guyana Bank For Trade and Industry last July, she was questioned about her qualifications and her being an expert witness.
She was deemed not to be an expert witness by the court after reportedly not producing her certificates. She also reportedly did not produce the certificates to her superiors at SOCU and the Ministry of Public Security, which hired her.
She resigned last week, after the matter reportedly came to a head.

Below is the statement of Special Superintendent of Police, Sheronie James, about her resignation.

Resignation of SOCU’s Forensic Analyst

In light of the fervent speculation on social media and the mainstream media about the reason for me tendering my resignation from the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) to the Minister of Public Security last week, I wish to begin and end my contribution to the whole matter with the following statement:
First, and foremost, I wish to make it clear that I possess verifiable undergraduate and postgraduate degrees awarded by recognized UK universities. My academic qualifications meet and exceed the requirements for the work I was undertaking at SOCU.
SOCU’s Head and the Minister of Public Security have both seen original evidence of my academic qualifications before my offer to resign and I have no reservations for their authenticity to be verified with the recognised British universities that awarded them.
To be clear: my resignation from SOCU, a carefully considered decision, is in no way related to my refusal to present my academic qualifications. To avoid compromising my personal and professional commitments to obligations of Confidentiality and Non Disclosure, I thought it best to tender my resignation from SOCU (effective 22 February 2019, inclusive of my contractual one (1) month’s notice).
In 2017, I was invited to assist SOCU’s forensic investigative capacity based on my solid international experience (spanning a number of countries). I never told anyone I worked concurrently in ‘22 countries’). My contract running to the end of January 2020 was renewed as recent as in November 2018.
Over the course of the intervening period, my skills and experience have enhanced the forensic investigative arm of SOCU to the point where it is now receiving significant Mutual Assistance Cooperation from three (3) countries in the pursuit of financial crimes committed against the people of Guyana.
Even in the face of reported surveillance and threats against me and my family, I have worked diligently to gather substantial and compelling evidence that led to the DPP instituting charges in several high profile matters currently engaging the courts.
My professionalism, impartiality, objectivity, completely apolitical and non-politically partisan manner to ensure clear conclusions to support fair justice have been hallmarks of all of the investigations I have dealt with at SOCU.
Anyone familiar with the pursuit of internationally complex financial crimes would readily recognise that its success requires diligence, an exceptional eye for detail, good understanding of how international banking systems and financial markets operate and last but not least enormous patience.
Notwithstanding this, my only concern now is that SOCU’s hard work is about to show fruit and SOCU is on the cusp of delivering hard financial evidence of a mind-blowing nature, this development has emerged that could very well affect the outcomes of several compelling matters presently engaging the courts.
It appears my relentless pursuit (with increasing success) of tracking the evidence of acts of international cross border financial crime does not sit well with my detractors as there appears to be an emerging high stakes, threatening and sinister plot beginning to be played out; of which I will play no part.
I wish to thank the many colleagues and stakeholders locally and internationally who have contributed to the SOCU’s fight against financial crimes and corruption and who have reached out to me to offer words of support and encouragement.
I will be making no further comments on this matter.
Ms. S. James
Special Superintendent
Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU)

I resigned to avoid compromising confidentiality – SOCU’s Forensic Analyst

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...us-forensic-analyst/

Forensic Analyst of the police’s Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU), Sheronie James, says that her resignation recently had nothing to do with qualifications. Rather, it was to avoid compromising her personal and professional commitments to obligations of “Confidentiality and Non Disclosure”.
She insisted that her work at that entity which specializes in money laundering and fraud crimes was subjected to surveillance and there were threats against her and family.
The official, in a statement last evening, insisted that she has verifiable undergraduate and postgraduate degrees awarded by recognized UK universities.
“My academic qualifications meet and exceed the requirements for the work I was undertaking at SOCU.”
The official, said to be from the United Kingdom, had reportedly undertaken forensic work on the Guyana Rice Development Board shortly after the Coalition Government entered office in 2015. She was then hired by SOCU and afforded the rank of Special Superintendent of Police.
She was reportedly integral in several investigations of SOCU.
However, during the infamous contempt case against senior officials of the Guyana Bank For Trade and Industry last July, she was questioned about her qualifications and her being an expert witness.
She was deemed not to be an expert witness by the court after reportedly not producing her certificates. She also reportedly did not produce the certificates to her superiors at SOCU and the Ministry of Public Security, which hired her.
She resigned last week, after the matter reportedly came to a head.

Below is the statement of Special Superintendent of Police, Sheronie James, about her resignation.

Resignation of SOCU’s Forensic Analyst

In light of the fervent speculation on social media and the mainstream media about the reason for me tendering my resignation from the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) to the Minister of Public Security last week, I wish to begin and end my contribution to the whole matter with the following statement:
First, and foremost, I wish to make it clear that I possess verifiable undergraduate and postgraduate degrees awarded by recognized UK universities. My academic qualifications meet and exceed the requirements for the work I was undertaking at SOCU.
SOCU’s Head and the Minister of Public Security have both seen original evidence of my academic qualifications before my offer to resign and I have no reservations for their authenticity to be verified with the recognised British universities that awarded them.
To be clear: my resignation from SOCU, a carefully considered decision, is in no way related to my refusal to present my academic qualifications. To avoid compromising my personal and professional commitments to obligations of Confidentiality and Non Disclosure, I thought it best to tender my resignation from SOCU (effective 22 February 2019, inclusive of my contractual one (1) month’s notice).
In 2017, I was invited to assist SOCU’s forensic investigative capacity based on my solid international experience (spanning a number of countries). I never told anyone I worked concurrently in ‘22 countries’). My contract running to the end of January 2020 was renewed as recent as in November 2018.
Over the course of the intervening period, my skills and experience have enhanced the forensic investigative arm of SOCU to the point where it is now receiving significant Mutual Assistance Cooperation from three (3) countries in the pursuit of financial crimes committed against the people of Guyana.
Even in the face of reported surveillance and threats against me and my family, I have worked diligently to gather substantial and compelling evidence that led to the DPP instituting charges in several high profile matters currently engaging the courts.
My professionalism, impartiality, objectivity, completely apolitical and non-politically partisan manner to ensure clear conclusions to support fair justice have been hallmarks of all of the investigations I have dealt with at SOCU.
Anyone familiar with the pursuit of internationally complex financial crimes would readily recognise that its success requires diligence, an exceptional eye for detail, good understanding of how international banking systems and financial markets operate and last but not least enormous patience.
Notwithstanding this, my only concern now is that SOCU’s hard work is about to show fruit and SOCU is on the cusp of delivering hard financial evidence of a mind-blowing nature, this development has emerged that could very well affect the outcomes of several compelling matters presently engaging the courts.
It appears my relentless pursuit (with increasing success) of tracking the evidence of acts of international cross border financial crime does not sit well with my detractors as there appears to be an emerging high stakes, threatening and sinister plot beginning to be played out; of which I will play no part.
I wish to thank the many colleagues and stakeholders locally and internationally who have contributed to the SOCU’s fight against financial crimes and corruption and who have reached out to me to offer words of support and encouragement.
I will be making no further comments on this matter.
Ms. S. James
Special Superintendent
Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU)

It seems that she is in the wrong line of work. Because of the consequences to peoples' lives and properties, full disclosure is necessary in court proceedings. The judge can always call a sidebar for that disclosure which will shield it from the public.