....But says cost of closure outweighs cost of subsidy

Explaining the People’s Progressive Party’s plan to reopen three sugar estates, if the party wins the next General Election, Bharrat Jagdeo said that the cost to close the sugar estates is far greater than the cost to leave them open and subsidise them.
The PPP general secretary said that, prior to the government’s decision to close the estates, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) had indicated that several studies should have been done, and that the PPP had advocated for those studies to be conducted

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...e-profitable-jagdeo/

Explaining the People’s Progressive Party’s plan to reopen three sugar estates, if the party wins the next General Election, Bharrat Jagdeo said that the cost to close the sugar estates is far greater than the cost to leave them open and subsidise them.
The PPP general secretary said that, prior to the government’s decision to close the estates, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) had indicated that several studies should have been done, and that the PPP had advocated for those studies to be conducted

This is such an idiotic plan....to reopen the sugar states...the PPP leader is living in the stone age...and wants to keep Indians illiterate, unskilled and tied to a failing industry....the industry should be privatized, and land given to the workers who are willing to make use of it.

It will cost too much to bail out the industry every year its opened. It should be dismantled.

The government should provide for the laid off workers, with the oil money and train them and create programs that will give them skills for the future....

Only Sheldon-Man and KP can do this kind of Kane Kutta job today....

This is such an idiotic plan....to reopen the sugar states...the PPP leader is living in the stone age...and wants to keep Indians illiterate, unskilled and tied to a failing industry....the industry should be privatized, and land given to the workers who are willing to make use of it.

It will cost too much to bail out the industry every year its opened. It should be dismantled.

The government should provide for the laid off workers, with the oil money and train them and create programs that will give them skills for the future....

I am thankful for the cane cutters for me, my brothers and father were cane cutters. The sugar industry is responsible for the success of the majority of Guyanese who migrated.
I see some of your posts mention Skeldon_man. Bai dah buctah: Like dis ting get you mad. Do you sleep in nap sessions only? Don't go pounding your walls all night. Have your family nail down the windows so you don't jump out at night and hurt yourself. If there is anything I can do to help, please let me know.

Skelly yuh putting nonstop blows on our resident fake student.

The man's mouth like ah battie. Everything that comes out is just fart and shit. I should send him a lemonade bakkle fuh he latrine.

I want Jagdeo to go to Linden and Kwakwani and explain this to those who live there.

In fact Jagdeo should go to Linden and tell them that the PPP was the best thing for them and it is only because they are a bunch of racists why they voted PNC.

The "reception" that he will get will be the answer to his screams about wanting a debate with David Hinds.

Aye Carib.

It was President Granger who told blacks that are lazy and that they should stop hanging out at bars drinking beers and start selling plantain chips, cook up rice and foo foo to feed their families after they graduate from University !

Aye Carib.

It was President Granger who told blacks that are lazy and that they should stop hanging out at bars drinking beers and start selling plantain chips, cook up rice and foo foo to feed their families after they graduate from University !

At least he didn't shoot them down the way that Ramotar did.

Btw was you rant Volda is running around handing out cash, handing out jobs and groveling for their votes.

Jagdeo is saying "is OK for dem bauxite worker to starve but not ahbe sugar worker."

Aye Carib.

Btw was you rant Volda is running around handing out cash, handing out jobs and groveling for their votes.

Jagdeo is saying "is OK for dem bauxite worker to starve but not ahbe sugar worker."

Unknown-3

• Unknown-3

Aye Carib.

Unknown-3

Did Ramotar go to Linden after the shootings to apologize for what happened?  As far as Linden is concerned Ramotar shot to kill them and they came out in revenge in 2015 and the increased turn out was a huge part of the Coalition margin of victory.

The Bauxite Industry in the RIGHT hands now, The other day them Russians slap up some lazy workers. Dem people does run a tight ship

Yes, a few Russians slap up the workers and dem run for their lives ! 

Unknown-4

Dem Mouths stuck up their Ka ka H.

• Unknown-4

The bauxite industry failed when run by the Lindeners, the best thing ever happened was to close the damn plant, they were highest paid unskilled labourers in the country. Tell them to get an education or follow the Indians and toil the land.

And the sugar industry failed when run by Jagdeo.  The Skeldon fiasco was the final nail in the coffin. Even he admits that it isn't profitable and that it hasn't been for a long time.

I suggest that Jagdeo gives to Linden and tell them what you repeat here.   The man wants to debate black people so why doesn't he go to Linden to do so?

Na bai, Granger told Blacks to graduate and go sell plantain chips, cook up rice and foo foo !

So Jagdeo can go to Linden and debate all the wonderful things that happened in that town under the PPP. Starting with when 8k people were thrown into starvation.

He wants to debate black people so he should go to Linden to do so.  No security protection is needed.

Bai You are getting ahead of your self. Jagdeo and Ali will got to Linden and give you heartburn. Patience !

A few Russians slapped up the bauxite workers and their mouths stuck up their Ka ka H.  PNC can't defend blacks from Russian abuse !

Jagdeo ain't scared of anyone. He bussed the AFC PNC balls in Parliament !

Bai You are getting ahead of your self. Jagdeo and Ali will got to Linden and give you heartburn. Patience !

A few Russians slapped up the bauxite workers and their mouths stuck up their Ka ka H.  PNC can't defend blacks from Russian abuse !

They normally find some Amerindian village on the highway and then claim its in Linden.

They should go to Linden and debate in a town hall format about life for the Afro Guyanese under the PPP.  No walks through the market forcing people to take pictures. Straight town hall format.

If Jagdeo isn't scared he should go to a bar in Linden and scream 'ahyou black man stupid fuh vote PNC".

I am thankful for the cane cutters for me, my brothers and father were cane cutters. The sugar industry is responsible for the success of the majority of Guyanese who migrated.
I see some of your posts mention Skeldon_man. Bai dah buctah: Like dis ting get you mad. Do you sleep in nap sessions only? Don't go pounding your walls all night. Have your family nail down the windows so you don't jump out at night and hurt yourself. If there is anything I can do to help, please let me know.

Jagdeo is biting off more than he can chew when he said he will re-open the closed sugar estates. Now he is saying it may not be profitable. His next move is to tell Indo-Guyanese it was just a coolie promise to get votes. Your family cane-cutting days are over. If Jagdeo promise comes to fruition, he must invest in modern machinery to plant and harvest cane and get rid of cane cutters in general. Offer them alternative jobs. If they refuse, pay them off their severance pay and leave them to drink rum and kill themselves. You alone don't know about cane cutters and sugar factories. I believe this chapter should be close rather than beating old drums in modern time. Guyanese must adapt or get out of the way.

The bauxite industry was the only industry that demanded skilled workers. It had a complete workshop that could fabricate practically any replacement part. You are simply being a bigot for no reason. Note, most Indians do not have land to toil on.  Further, small scale agriculture is living hand to mouth. That is why they are catching their ass now sugar is gone.  We need to diversify the work force there. And it is in the area of agri that we have t he most unskilled work force. We need to begin a program that moves away from the region dependent on sugar to small manufacturing and craft.

and here is the village idiot making noise as usual. You alone are the measure of why this place is not productive of better levels of discourse. 

Jagdeo is biting off more than he can chew when he said he will re-open the closed sugar estates. Now he is saying it may not be profitable. His next move is to tell Indo-Guyanese it was just a coolie promise to get votes. Your family cane-cutting days are over. If Jagdeo promise comes to fruition, he must invest in modern machinery to plant and harvest cane and get rid of cane cutters in general. Offer them alternative jobs. If they refuse, pay them off their severance pay and leave them to drink rum and kill themselves. You alone don't know about cane cutters and sugar factories. I believe this chapter should be close rather than beating old drums in modern time. Guyanese must adapt or get out of the way.

No one wants Guyana sugar as it is too expensive.  The EU buys almost no sugar from the Caribbean now and what it does get is at prices way below Guyanese costs.

Maybe he should force feed them sugar.

I don’t know why people always compare the bauxite industry to sugar.  The economic and industrial realities are very different.  

The bauxite industry did not produce ingots, but raw Alumina, which then needs to be sold to refineries/smelters.  Many of these companies have their own supply chain.  Demba  used to be part of Alcan while Bermine used to be part of Reynolds, now part of Altria, I think.  

These operations were integrated in their supply chains.  Nationalization took them out and these companies sought other sources.  

Notwithstanding that, Aluminum is the most recycled metal, as such, demand was robust as long as the need expanded.  Composites and other alternatives mitigated much of this new demand. 

Sugar, on the other hand, was a fungible consumed finished raw ready to be used in a variety of industries. It’s easier to sell raw sugar than raw alumina.  Booker sold raw sugar as a commodity.

So the future of bauxite is best served being part of a integrated supply chain, thus the Chinese and Russians.   Raw Sugar can be sold as is!

No one wants Guyana sugar as it is too expensive.  The EU buys almost no sugar from the Caribbean now and what it does get is at prices way below Guyanese costs.

Maybe he should force feed them sugar.

Bull shit!!

I don’t know why people always compare the bauxite industry to sugar.  The economic and industrial realities are very different.  

"Of course they are different. Most of the sugar workers are Indians, so their livelihoods matter.  Most of the bauxite workers are blacks so do not matter.  Black laziness is legendary so its likely that they didn't work any way".

Yes this is what you really meant to say because sugar is a huge loss maker and Guyana can no longer afford to subsidize its losses.

"Of course they are different. Most of the sugar workers are Indians, so their livelihoods matter.  Most of the bauxite workers are blacks so do not matter.  Black laziness is legendary so its likely that they didn't work any way".

Yes this is what you really meant to say because sugar is a huge loss maker and Guyana can no longer afford to subsidize its losses.

I suspect you’d reach for the lowest common denominator! You left out everything I said?  You are an impossible skont!

These were not real losses!

I suspect you’d reach for the lowest common denominator!

These were not real losses!are

are there fake losses

Baseman posted:.

I suspect you’d reach for the lowest common denominator! You left out everything I said?  You are an impossible skont!

What you say is irrelevant as it is just a mask to pretend to hide your clear ethnic bias.  

There many sugar producers, all considerably cheaper than Guyana.  Even CARICOM agro industrial companies are demanding that they be allowed to buy cheaper non CARICOM sugar instead of that from Guyana, as the higher costs impacts their ability to compete.

So your rational for continued massive sugar production in Guyana is determined by the adverse impact on sugar workers.  You didn't give a damn about the bauxite workers and probably daubed your face with their blood when Ramotar shot them down. 

So if Guysuco isn't in dire straits explain why on its first day in office the Coalition had to pumped in massive amounts of cash into that company.  This when it was whining that if this didn't happen they would have to lay off almost all of their employees.

If GuySICKO is a private company it would have gone bankrupt long ago.

The PPP determined that bauxite workers didn't matter so callously sold Guymine  and made the provisions for those guaranteed to lose work. When offers were made for Guysuco the PPP refused to sell, knowing that any private owner would have engaged in massive cost cutting, meaning thousands out of work!

The PPP didn't give a damn about the bauxite workers, and in fact rejoiced as they considered this just punishment for their voting habits.

I suspect you’d reach for the lowest common denominator!

These were not real losses!are

are there fake losses

They are industry losses but not national losses!  They are losses but not a loss!  More loss leader!

Baseman posted:.

What you say is irrelevant as it is just a mask to pretend to hide your clear ethnic bias.  

There many sugar producers, all considerably cheaper than Guyana.  Even CARICOM agro industrial companies are demanding that they be allowed to buy cheaper non CARICOM sugar instead of that from Guyana, as the higher costs impacts their ability to compete.

So your rational for continued massive sugar production in Guyana is determined by the adverse impact on sugar workers.  You didn't give a damn about the bauxite workers and probably daubed your face with their blood when Ramotar shot them down. 

No, you make it irrelevant by casting aside the reality and injecting YOUR racist bias.  

They are industry losses but not national losses!  They are losses but not a loss!  More loss leader!

Someone has to actually fund these losses. Where is this going to come from and how fair is it to those who aren't in the sugar industry?

Guysuco is extremely indebted.  It is a slow payer and so its suppliers have to fund its losses.  How does this help them when they provide supplies to Guysuco and aren't paid as per the agreement?

The Guyana gov't has assumed obligations of over US$800 million when we include debt connected to Skeldon and the massive bailouts over the past 10 years.

Then we cry when our health care system is deplorable.

The writing was on the wall now for over 15 years.  Why didn't the PPP do an orderly transition away from sugar when they had the time?  Many who are now unemployed, could have been gainfully engaged in other sectors by now.

No, you make it irrelevant by casting aside the reality and injecting YOUR racist bias.  

If Guyana cannot sell its sugar because Guatemala or Colombia are cheaper and more reliable how is this an irrelevant point?

I have to agree with you on this, there is a common word used through out Guyana to describe "laziness", or a person just chilling out. I would often here people describing this condition a ***geritis. I am sure you heard this before, it is pretty commonly used by all races of Guyanese. 

Someone has to actually fund these losses. Where is this going to come from and how fair is it to those who aren't in the sugar industry?

Yes, it's funded by the duties of consumer items imported thanks to the Forex earned by Sugar.  And I'm not including value added to the domestic economy by industrial material imported and down-stream in the economy!

you talk a lot of pseudo-learned gibberish when you figure that only the undereducated and/or the dunce paying attention

didn't i expose your stupidness on sugar awhile back on another thread?

you talk a lot of pseudo-learned gibberish when you figure that only the undereducated and/or the dunce paying attention

Right,. I knew you were paying attention from under your rock!

Right

uh huh

Sugar has been produced almost to t he tune of 50 percent of its value. You are saying that we are so dependent on the paltry sum it brings in that we have to fund these losses just so those monies could come in otherwise we may have to do without some goods and services! 

What a laugh. Be creative enough to down size the industry and stop the piling on of debts. The subsidies afforded this industry to cover its losses should be redirected and the loss of foreign currencies in its paltry earnings covered by being efficient elsewhere like stopping the hemorrhage of gold across t he border and being efficient in practice like not building a Marriott and putting us a hundred million in debt and having to subsidize that also. We could truly start selling our woods for their proper value rather than making crony capitalist deals where others take most the value. 

I do not buy your explanation. Sound economics would seek to make sugar profitable. Under the PPP cost of production was doubled crippling the industry and that is the reality we deal with.