This is difficult to project.  If the escape valve was not there, Guyana would have been a different country and have different leadership.  For example, Caribj would have been a PNC top dog and the geriatric crew long retired!

Those of us who migrated would have buckled down and made the best of it, in business and professional.  The population would be larger, so would the economy.  The country would be more developed. 

So to project into today’s Guyana the what if is an oversimplification!  You need to simulate more wholistic!

Amral posted:

Baseman. The Guyanese Indians would have still remain cowards under the PNC regime. In NA we were enlighten it is only the last 2 decades that the Guyanese people over there are coming out of the shadows. Yet many are still struggling  

I do take exception to the word "cowards". In spite of PNC marginalization back then, Indians found ways to put food on their families' tables even if it was salt and rice. Indians forwent things like partying and fancy clothes to take care of food first and then education afterwards. The PNC was a violent group and Indians didn't see engaging in that beneficial to them.

This is difficult to project.  If the escape valve was not there, Guyana would have been a different country and have different leadership.  For example, Caribj would have been a PNC top dog and the geriatric crew long retired!

Those of us who migrated would have buckled down and made the best of it, in business and professional.  The population would be larger, so would the economy.  The country would be more developed. 

So to project into today’s Guyana the what if is an oversimplification!  You need to simulate more wholistic!

Cribby is part of the geriatric crew. 

Amral posted:

Baseman. The Guyanese Indians would have still remain cowards under the PNC regime. In NA we were enlighten it is only the last 2 decades that the Guyanese people over there are coming out of the shadows. Yet many are still struggling  

I do take exception to the word "cowards". In spite of PNC marginalization back then, Indians found ways to put food on their families' tables even if it was salt and rice. Indians forwent things like partying and fancy clothes to take care of food first and then education afterwards. The PNC was a violent group and Indians didn't see engaging in that beneficial to them.

Correct, we lacked the proper leadership. Cheddie et al were not revolutionists in the traditional sense. They were talkers and not doers. I was in Guyana recently in my wheel chair and witnessed an indo standing up for his rights in a line at the telephone company where the Black fellow tried to bully his way in front of him. In the past that indo would have timidly caved in and let the Black go ahead. 

Amral posted:

Correct, we lacked the proper leadership. Cheddie et al were not revolutionists in the traditional sense. They were talkers and not doers. I was in Guyana recently in my wheel chair and witnessed an indo standing up for his rights in a line at the telephone company where the Black fellow tried to bully his way in front of him. In the past that indo would have timidly caved in and let the Black go ahead. 

I wouldn't say "timidly caved in". More like him thinking "no sense arguing with this ignorant jackass".

I don't know about the rest of the country, but in GT you risked the danger of being gang beaten by Blacks if you protested. These days more and more Indos in GT will stand up for their rights. I believe this is a direct result of phantomizing under the Jagdeo administration. Phantomizing broke the aurora that Black Guyanese could be "wrong and strong" and get away with it. That is why you have people like Cribby, Mars, Ronan, Cain, D2 and members of the slop can crew crying day and night about Jagdeos tenure. Despite all his blunders, what he brought to the psyche of the Indo is confidence that Blacks can no longer push them around without hope of recourse. 

I was in Guyana recently in my wheel chair and witnessed an indo standing up for his rights in a line at the telephone company where the Black fellow tried to bully his way in front of him.

lol

you're quite the comedian bai

Good thing that black fellow didn't try to cut in front of me, I would have thrown my colostomy bag at his rass. 

The new generation of Indo Guyanese today do not fear the blacks. They know blacks fear the sight of a cutlass or a pailing. I have seen this. You show a black man a cutlass and he will instantly demonstrate to you he can break the 100 meters record at the Olympics. 

It wasn't the cutlass or pailing stave that turned the tide. It was the gun, bullets is they only thing these fellows fear. That is why today the slopsters hate Jagdeo, it was under his watch that the fear of phantomizing brought them in line. 

I was in Guyana recently in my wheel chair and witnessed an indo standing up for his rights in a line at the telephone company where the Black fellow tried to bully his way in front of him.

lol

Good thing that black fellow didn't try to cut in front of me, I would have thrown my colostomy bag at his rass. 

I don't know why u try to paint yourself as a cripple. A sick sense of humor perhaps?

lol

I don't know why u try to paint yourself as a cripple. A sick sense of humor perhaps?

I am quadriplegic, been that way for some time now. Every day is a gift for a person in my situation, so the least I can do is embrace my disability.  

Bhai Sheik, this is not Television, we should not assume. God luck DrugB, all the best.

I know Sheik he is nit rude but just skeptical, remember this is not television so we do not see.

I like Bgurd. Like the way he writes and so on. But I also know he likes to go overboard from time to time..somehow Im not buying his story tho. Kerr e rass.

I had a good, well paying job, perhaps moved up in the executive order of the company. I was young and married, inherited a beautiful house by the Ocean, had a maid, gardener and night guard, with lots of family members abroad we would receive lots of stuff on a regular basis. My fear was for my family, my wife and son. Why I left, the turning point was my house got robbed while we were home., To survive in Guyana one has to play the political game, donate to which ever party in office, sit on the fence, don't show alliance.

lol

I am quadriplegic, been that way for some time now. Every day is a gift for a person in my situation, so the least I can do is embrace my disability.  

So this must be after you swam the Demerara Sewer. 

lol

When did you become a quad?  After you drink all that nasty river water?

The new generation of Indo Guyanese today do not fear the blacks. They know blacks fear the sight of a cutlass or a pailing. I have seen this. You show a black man a cutlass and he will instantly demonstrate to you he can break the 100 meters record at the Olympics. 

It wasn't the cutlass or pailing stave that turned the tide. It was the gun, bullets is they only thing these fellows fear. That is why today the slopsters hate Jagdeo, it was under his watch that the fear of phantomizing brought them in line. 

I am going to start highlighting your tropes. Phantomizing is one. I have not checked but I do not think anyone adopted that word which was yours to 2002

I had a good, well paying job, perhaps moved up in the executive order of the company. I was young and married, inherited a beautiful house by the Ocean, had a maid, gardener and night guard, with lots of family members abroad we would receive lots of stuff on a regular basis. My fear was for my family, my wife and son. Why I left, the turning point was my house got robbed while we were home., To survive in Guyana one has to play the political game, donate to which ever party in office, sit on the fence, don't show alliance.

At the risk of minimizing your tragedy, I would say you got off lightly. I met a family in the Bronx who lived on the airport road near the Soesdyke Hwy and they too were robbed. But his wife and daughters were also raped.  That was in the 80s.

I am going to start highlighting your tropes. Phantomizing is one. I have not checked but I do not think anyone adopted that word which was yours to 2002

I was 4 years old in 2002, I must have been an early starter here on gNI. Keep track, after all you have a lot of time on your hand and 8 computers to do all sort of backups. How come you stuck in the dark ages still? Most folks already migrated to cloud computing. 

Cloud is storage not a computer. One works collaboratively in the cloud as it is exchange space for servers as you fully well know as an UBS grunt programmer. You get to distribute tasks and simultaneously update data easily. Everybody works in the cloud these days because they have cloud storage and cloud connections; the Internet. And I do not have 8 computers. That is your boy Ugli. I have 4 special purpose computing devices...5,  if you count my phone.

Drugb like he forgot that he told Stormborn/D2 that he was going to swim the Demerara river.  Unless he became a quad after that.  We did not hear from the man in a few months.

Bannas pick sense out of nonsense, how a handicap like me with all four 5 limbs out of commission can swim? Even the middle foot gane, I can't even hire d2 or dj as center man. 

Cloud is storage not a computer. One works collaboratively in the cloud as it is exchange space for servers as you fully well know as an UBS grunt programmer. You get to distribute tasks and simultaneously update data easily. Everybody works in the cloud these days because they have cloud storage and cloud connections; the Internet. And I do not have 8 computers. That is your boy Ugli. I have 4 special purpose computing devices...5,  if you count my phone.

Meh nah know about programmer lakka you but meh hear de term cloud computing, guh look am up. There is such a concept, only those of you stuck in the 80's don't know about it.