@ Django, remember I told you earlier about Big Surprise. 

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) will be selecting its Presidential candidate by way of secret ballot.

This was revealed by Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo following a meeting with Party executives at Freedom House on Thursday.

“I suggested it and the ExCo (Executive Committee) agreed to secret ballot,” Jagdeo told reporters outside of Freedom House located on Robb Street, Georgetown.

The Opposition Leader, however, did not disclose the number of candidates being looked at.

He said the process, which is being used after many years, is as a result of a lack of consensus on the candidate.

“We had consensus all the way through from the beginning. We’ve never had to resort to balloting before,” he told the media.

He noted that in 1997, Mrs. Janet Jagan was unilaterally supported and in 2001 and 2006 there was consensus.

Jagdeo pointed out that in 2011, several candidates were initially put forward but three of them withdrew their nominations ahead of the voting process.

Those persons were Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira; former General Secretary at that time, Clement Rohee and former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran who is now fronting his own political party.

In 2015, no one challenged Donald Ramotar.

The persons touted for the position this round are Members of Parliament, Dr. Frank Anthony, Irfaan Ali, Anil Nandlall and Gail Teixeira. PPP Member, Charles Ramson Junior has also publiclyexpressed an interest in the post.

Jagdeo said he is inclined to support one candidate but his support can change after presentations are made during the coming weeks.

Some have speculated that his nominee is Irfaan Ali, who is the former Minister of Housing and current Shadow Finance Minister for the Opposition.

The selection process Jagdeo said, however, will be completed by the end of January 2019.

“As you know, the elections have to be held in March and if you take away a month for nomination day, then we’re in mid-February, we have to be able to submit our candidates, a list of candidates for the elections, so we have to complete the process long before that,” the Opposition Leader told the media.

Describing the discussions as productive, the Opposition Leader said the next meeting is set for next week.

At his last press conference on Monday, Jagdeo said the new Presidential candidate will not be a “newbie” as that person needs to have significant experience in the Cabinet in order to function in his/her new position.

https://newsroom.gy/2018/12/27...e-via-secret-ballot/

I wonder how much $$ being dished out, for BJ's choice to get the position?

Interesting developments for follow-up.

Must gi we the lowdown should you find out deh DG.

Interesting developments for follow-up.

Must gi we the lowdown should you find out deh DG.

Will do, but most likely, the information on the choice will be on GNI long before I get online.

I have no idea on issues concerning $$$$$ and position(s).

Why all the Secrecy??

Democracy in action. It happens all over the world. Whenever I vote, I always vote in a private booth.

Jagdeo shut his opponents mouth. Kudos to Jagdeo and the PPP. Unlike PNC and their Purple with gunshots, the  PPP ballot will be secret, democratic and peaceful. 

Long line the PPP !!!

PPP PPP PPP !!!!

Jagdeo shut his opponents mouth. Kudos to Jagdeo and the PPP. Unlike PNC and their Purple with gunshots, the  PPP ballot will be secret, democratic and peaceful. 

Long line the PPP !!!

PPP PPP PPP !!!!

Goofing up in your excited haste.

blobid0

• blobid0

One of those candidates has the potential to make the PPP lose the election.

Which one is that ?

Irfan?

Just asked Gilly if the PC will come from our Region, looks like we hope gone fuh channa.    he also confirmed.

Secret ballots should calm the nerves of those who criticize how the PPP selects their candidates. Would be better if it included a larger segment of the party but it is a promising start.

Correct brother, shows no hand picking.

I am putting my pesos on Nandlall.

My $$$ going to Frank, although Nandlall is jine family.

Leaders have to be strong or they get ran over. Look what happened to Ramotar. Nandlall is strong and wouldn’t take nonsense from the PNC. That is why he has my imaginable vote and my pesos.

Should come down to Anil, Frank and Ramson ( I hope )

Ramson is a long shot. It would be down to Anil and Frank. I think Frank is a good choice but he doesn't have the charisma. Anil has spermgate and the law journals.

I knew via the media it was mentioned Thursday Dec. 27. That's the way to go.

So Ramson can still throw his hat in the ring ?

I hope he does. I wonder if the voting pool is 35 or 15. Given the that there are five or more candidates splitting the vote, Ramson has a chance. If we know those numbers ( candidates electors) we can determine the minimum number he needs for a plurality. I know he has been working on it.  

One of those candidates has the potential to make the PPP lose the election.

Which one is that ?

Irfan?

Just asked Gilly if the PC will come from our Region, looks like we hope gone fuh channa.    he also confirmed.

Don't mope. Gilly not voting. My prediction is not scientific. Just an "educated" guess based on an experiment. I spread one handful boosee in a shiny aluminum pan, then I lit a 🔥 on it, then I studied the ashes, then I picked out a Region 4 face; no big belly appeared. 😁

Ramson is a long shot. It would be down to Anil and Frank. I think Frank is a good choice but he doesn't have the charisma. Anil has spermgate and the law journals.

Bhai Skelly,  based on what I heard, it will boil down to Anil and Irfaan who are the front runners as of today. 

Ramson does not stand a chance. He lacks experience and Guyana does not need a newbie to deal with the PNC and a potential violent first term since PNC intends to unleash their dogs of war. 

I knew via the media it was mentioned Thursday Dec. 27. That's the way to go.

So Ramson can still throw his hat in the ring ?

I hope he does. I wonder if the voting pool is 35 or 15. Given the that there are five or more candidates splitting the vote, Ramson has a chance. If we know those numbers ( candidates electors) we can determine the minimum number he needs for a plurality. I know he has been working on it.  

Voting pool is 35.

Anil is smart but he is universally hated by black people and will be a modivation for them to go to the polls. Frank is a good guy bur has no magnetism. Ransom has no baggage...is not shy and is smart and charismatic.  He is also young and that would motivate the young. His wife also has a cross cultural following and that is an asset. In an era where the plurality is won by  less than a thousand votes he has the best chance. He is best attributes are his lack of PPP taint, his youth and a fresh face to project hope. The rest are all institutionalist which will reek old style ideological corruptocrats.   

hmmm...like D2 will become a PPP supporter if Ramson gets selected

I support him for the PPP leader but I am on the Shuman band wagon. I am taking care to focus on the plurality and the system check 

Bhai Skelly,  based on what I heard, it will boil down to Anil and Irfaan who are the front runners as of today. 

Ramson does not stand a chance. He lacks experience and Guyana does not need a newbie to deal with the PNC and a potential violent first term since PNC intends to unleash their dogs of war. 

Let me see. When the PPP came into power did GIMPEX U provide them the experience to take over the country?

PPP is a party; Ramson is an individual.

The Partry is cold war detritus. It needs leadership and vision and youth to clean up there and creativity to govern the state. 

Wish you could have told the PNC this. James Patterson, Granger, Joe Harmon...At least the PPP are looking at men in their 40s and 50s; not 70s. Ramson will get his chance when the time is right.