Venezuela to remap offshore oil, escalating tension with Guyana

Jan 10, 2019 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...tension-with-guyana/

BLOOMBERG – Venezuela will remap its Caribbean oil and gas prospects in a move that could further stoke a century-long border dispute with Guyana and collide with Exxon Mobil Corp.’s venture in the region, people with knowledge of the plan said.

The seismic survey is planned for the coming months and will include an eastern area of Venezuela that borders Guyana, the people said, asking not to be named because the plan isn’t public. Officials at state-owned Petroleos de Venezuela SA, or PDVSA, declined to comment.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2019/01/guyana.jpg

Venezuela reignited the old border dispute last month after intercepting two ships conducting seismic studies for Exxon as the oil major prepares to develop giant deep-water reserves off the coast of Guyana. Venezuela has mapped its offshore territory for oil deposits in the past, but some areas remain uncharted. The new survey will also include areas bordering Caribbean islands such as Grenada and Saint Vincent.

“More surveys are pending to identify commercially viable options for gas,” said Antero Alvarado, a managing partner at consulting firm Gas Energy Latin America. “Past PDVSA studies ignored identifying gas deposits because the focus was always on oil.’’

Following an encounter last month with the Venezuelan navy, one of the two ships hired by Exxon will conduct seismic surveys in Guyanese waters away from the border, while the other will no longer be used, the Irving, Texas-based company said Monday.

Guyana, which has U.S. backing for its ownership claim over the waters, said Venezuela broke international law. Venezuelan President Nicolas Maduro has said the territory belongs to his country and vowed to defend it “at any cost.”

Maduro issued a decree a week after the interception stating Venezuela’s continental shelf is open for oil exploration, although no investment plans have been announced for the area yet.

PDVSA’s offshore division produces mainly gas from the western coast in a partnership with Italy’s ENI SpA. It also has several inactive oil and gas projects in the east, near Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. Three of them are in partnerships with Norway’s Equinor ASA, Chevron Corp. and France’s Total SA.

Maduro is pulling a Galtieri and trying to divert his people's attention from the economic problems at home.

Venezuelans are so disinterested in Guyana that few have attempted to flee there. Really only the people on the other side of the border.

Not sure who Maduro is trying to impress, but little Guyana with its "strange" people doesnt interest or concern most Venezuelans.

I visited Venezuela several years ago.   I realized that they dont care one bit about Guyanese.  The claim is that when Venezuelan political elites get into trouble they raise this to divert. 

Most Venezuelans want to know why Guyana when they cannot even effectively use the land area that they currently have.  Especially as they perceive Guyanese to be culturally incompatible "because they speak English and have lots of Hindus".

I don’t agree we need any 3rd force for the Venos.  GDF needs enhance capability!

Most of the wars in history were fought with mercenaries. There are a few dozens army for hire out there. We can hire them and they come fully locked and loaded.  Our people can learn working with them. No need to build a core from the ground up with scaredy ill disciplined house cats. Put them with tigers and watch them roar. 

Venezuela isnt going to land troops in Guyana. It will be air and naval power.  If Trump scratches his head that thinks that Guyana is in Africa or the South Pacific Venezuela can do as they please.  Maduro isnt one to listen to condemnation in international forums or to care that this diverts from the needs of his people.

I said defend rigs...not speaking of land troops which will be costly for them unless they enslave the people of the region.

With what ships or planes?  If the Venezuelans decide to fire who can stop them?  Only the threat of a US reaction.  Not some mercenaries firing pistols.

And to get Guyana all the Venezuelans will need to do is to land a few thousand troops in Georgetown.  Guyanese aren't the type who shed blood for the nation. They only shed blood for the tribe.

With what ships or planes?  If the Venezuelans decide to fire who can stop them?  Only the threat of a US reaction.  Not some mercenaries firing pistols.

And to get Guyana all the Venezuelans will need to do is to land a few thousand troops in Georgetown.  Guyanese aren't the type who shed blood for the nation. They only shed blood for the tribe.

There will be no landing of troops by the venezuelans in GT. They will get robbed. Further, I don't think Guyanese are as timid or lack gumption like some are led to believe. I think there is a fighting spirit in all of us as guyanese, as a Nation. We just need to be triggered. And I dont think that has happened in our history. Correct me.

I said a private mercenary army...Re Read.

Coolie and Blackman fighting fuh who run parliament, Maduro guh kick we and tek way di black gold and leff we white mouth!  Ayuh wach!

Jagdeo called Maduro. "Ow man how you gun do dis to me. Me just tek away de government from black man and now you mean to tell me dat me nah gun get no oil money!  Me might jus as well let dem black man win de court case and let dem deal wid you treacherous ass"

Granger gov't have an upper hand Constitutionally to stay in gov't ,if Venezuela aggression continues.

The political talking heads should take note.

Is this all you care about? Granger and his government bullying the people of Guyana? Being dishonest? Being a dictator? I know you are worth more than this. Come on brother Django!!!

I care about the country and the people, unlike some who wants their political party to be in power, the same party by frivolous means trying to overthrow a legitimately elected government by more than fifty percent of the voters.

Who doing bullying ?? Who are being dishonest ?? Where is the DICTATORSHIP ??

WOW!! ILLITERACY has to be a DISEASE!!! HEHEHE I have to Laff at the level of IGNORANCE and STUPIDITY above. Laad Ah Mercy!! Hear dis Jackass: By a vote of 33 in PARLIAMENT is considered ILLEGAL. Well, FOOL tell us what is legal?? Why am I having a discussion with such DUMB, ILLITERATE and BRAIN DEAD IDIOT!!! l

Look in the mirror, the descriptions in CAPS FITS YOU !!!

You don't have a clue what i wrote.

So you ARE too DUMB to know it was directed at you. Laad Ah Mercy. God please help the IDIOT!!!

Told you look in the mirror, descriptions IN CAPS FITS YOU !!!

Limited vocabulary can be increased , by special effort, never too late.

I said a private mercenary army...Re Read.

D2, since the confrontation with venezuelan warships, the Exxon mobile vessels have not returned to the site but are expected to do so in the future. So said Carl Greenidge. I dont know what to say here. However, in view of this foreign mercenary army u have in mind, take note that the area of interests have changed. The protection would now be needed for off shore Rigs. Does your mercenaries u have in mind have naval power? Google the venezuelan Navy.

IDIOT Joe will reply with the above forever. Why?? A shit head, DUMB, ILLITERATE DONKEY dont know better!!!!

Haul your stupid k...nt. Can't make a simple post.Go an play with kindergartners.

IDIOT Joe will reply with the above forever. Why?? A shit head, DUMB, ILLITERATE DONKEY dont know better!!!!

Haul your stupid k...nt. Can't make a simple post.Go an play with kindergartners.

DUMMY 33>32. Yuh learn something new DUMMY. Now run along and do your ass kissing and Batty washing Jobs(Cleaning Up)

That's you DUMB K...NT.

Sheik Bhai

Current ships

ClassImageTypeShipsOriginNote
Submarine(2)
Type 209S31ARASalta.jpgDiesel-electricS-31 Sábalo[citation needed]
S-32 Caribe
 Germany1,810 tonnes
Frigates (3)
Mariscal Sucre classARV General Salóm [F-25) y ARV Mariscal Sucre (F-21) - 1987-09855.jpgMissile frigatesF-21 Mariscal Sucre[citation needed]
F-22 Almirante Brion[citation needed]
F-24 General Soublette
 Italy2,506 tonnes
Corvettes (4)
Guaiquerí classPC-21 Guaiqueri 14 de Mayo 2011 Foto Capitán Ted.jpgOffshore patrol vesselsPC-21 Guaiquerí
PC-22 Warao (Not operational)
PC-23 Yekuana
PC-24 Kariña
 Spain2,419 tons
Patrol vessels (10)
Guaicamacuto classBvl.pngCoast patrolGC-21 Guaicamacuto[citation needed]
GC-22 Yavire
GC-23 Naiguata[citation needed]
GC-24 Tamanaco[citation needed]
 Spain1,453 tons
Constitución classPatrullero PC-16 Victoria Vosper 37m.Clase Federación.JPGPatrol boatPC-11 Constitución
PC-12 Federación
PC-13 Independencia[citation needed]
PC-14 Libertad
PC-15 Patria
PC-16 Victoria
 United Kingdom950 tons
Amphibious ship and service ships (5)
Capana classBuque de desembarque tipo LST clase Capana - T-63 Goajira.JPGLanding Ship TankT-61 Capana
T-64 Los Llanos
 South Korea?
Ciudad Bolívar class Supply shipT-81 Ciudad Bolívar South Korea?
Bricbarc type
Simón Bolívar
 Training sailboatBE-11 Simón Bolívar Spain?
Punta Brava class Oceanographic shipBO-11 Punta Brava[citation needed] Spain?

Fleet forces and Coast Guard ship organization

The following was the roster of active duty vessels and ships of the Venezuelan Navy as of October 2001.[14]

<big><big>Vessels</big></big>
ClassOriginTypeCurrently in serviceNotes
Los FrailesCuba, NetherlandsAmphibious landing ship4, with 8 more to be built[when?][15] 
GuaiqueríSpainPatrol (POVZEE)4 
GuaicamacutoSpainPatrol coast guard (BVL)3[citation needed] 
PagaloVenezuelaCutter1 -- Commissioned in 2008.[16][17] 
Puerto CabelloNorwayLogistic ship1 
Almirante Francisco de MirandaVenezuela, NetherlandsTugboat1 

Light frigates

Venezuelan frigates General Salóm (foreground) and Mariscal Sucre conduct maneuvers

Corvettes

PC-21 Guaiquerí

Coast patrol

GC-21 Guaicamacuto
  • Four Spanish-made offshore patrol vessels of the BVL class .
    • GC-21 Guaicamacuto, in service[22]
    • GC-22 Yavire, in service
    • GC-23 Naiguata, in service

HEHE Dis IDIOT convince me now he nah kno wha he does write of is the cleaning Job affecting his brain?/

I am saying again you are DUMB K...UNT, simple as that.

HEHE Dis IDIOT convince me now he nah kno wha he does write of is the cleaning Job affecting his brain?/

I am saying again you are BUMB K...UNT, simple as that.

You so DUMB you eat wid yuh Kakahole and SHIT wid yuh mouth thinking it is normal  Your FOOD is very tasty , right???

I am saying again you are DUMB K...UNT, simple as that.

You so DUMB you eat wid yuh Kakahole and SHIT wid yuh mouth thinking it is normal  Your FOOD is very tasty , right???

That's the best you can come up  with DUMB K..UNT. Take a hike, you don't worth time any longer.

Coolie and Blackman fighting fuh who run parliament, Maduro guh kick we and tek way di black gold and leff we white mouth!  Ayuh wach!

Jagdeo called Maduro. "Ow man how you gun do dis to me. Me just tek away de government from black man and now you mean to tell me dat me nah gun get no oil money!  Me might jus as well let dem black man win de court case and let dem deal wid you treacherous ass"

Granger gov't have an upper hand Constitutionally to stay in gov't ,if Venezuela aggression continues.

Ayuh full of shyte!!!  Now Ayuh only hope is fuh frenenemy Maduro invade so Alyuh can keep power?  Burnham used the fake Venezuela threats to silence opposition and asassinate Rodney!  I saw the head cop say charrandas is a national security threat.  Alyuh trying to justify martial law?   

PNC has a bandit mindset!

Ayuh full of shyte!!!  Now Ayuh only hope is fuh frenenemy Maduro invade so Alyuh can keep power?  Burnham used the fake Venezuela threats to silence opposition and asassinate Rodney!  I saw the head cop say charrandas is a national security threat.  Alyuh trying to justify martial law?   

The government have a right to find out what transpired. Are you saying the recent aggression from Venezuela aren't real ? the government is making that up to hold on to power ? Six parties make up the Coalition Gov't.

Burnham died a long time ago, what the reason to resurrect his name ?

that oil would have never benefitted the ppl of guyana. if any thing it would make hardships for them under the dictators that would follow with the intimidations to hold power. Already, the PNC have their sights set. 

I hope Maduro succeed and not suck seed in the process. 

The government have a right to find out what transpired. Are you saying the recent agression from Venezuela aren't real ?

The govt cannot act out of convenience.  They were defeated in a NCV be an M p.  Too bad, your govt f’ked up.  Follow the constitution, don’t start chasing your  tails!!

Burnham playbook still deh in dem heads.  Dem is all students of Burnhamism. Dem all ain’t dat senile as yet.  

that oil would have never benefitted the ppl of guyana. if any thing it would make hardships for them under the dictators that would follow with the intimidations to hold power. Already, the PNC have their sights set. 

Which side are you on ?

The government have a right to find out what transpired. Are you saying the recent aggression from Venezuela aren't real ?

The govt cannot act out of convenience.  They were defeated in a NCV be an M p.  Too bad, your govt f’ked up.  Follow the constitution, don’t start chasing your  tails!!

Burnham playbook still deh in dem heads.  Dem is all students of Burnhamism. Dem all ain’t dat senile as yet.  

So far the Gov't aren't on that road. National Security is foremost.

The government have a right to find out what transpired. Are you saying the recent aggression from Venezuela aren't real ?

So far the Gov't aren't on that road. National Security is foremost.

Bandits.  Maduro did not sponsor the NCV.  It was a son of the soil.  Suck it up.  Bart said it’s carried ‘

Noticeably you are on the same page with others, probably you agree with Seignet.

Keep on rolling with the crew.

Which side are you on ?

I hope Maduro succeed.

The USA will not outs him by force, they rather wait on the internal forces.

I hope Maduro controls his annexation and attempts an invasion of Essequibo in 2019. I really hope he does all of that.

I am eager to see which Indians and Blacks going run away from Guyana and the reactions of the Guynaese ppl.

Personally, the conclusion is, Guyanese ppl, citizens and extra-ordinary citizens do not deserve any land / country of their owm. I am certain the Amerindian would welcome Maduro.

So let me get this right.  You would prefer Venezuela take over Essequibo and the oil rights? I don't have the vocabulary to express what I think of you. Regardless of who is in power, more money will circulate and more jobs will be created. SMMFH.....

Which side are you on ?

I hope Maduro succeed.

The USA will not outs him by force, they rather wait on the internal forces.

I hope Maduro controls his annexation and attempts an invasion of Essequibo in 2019. I really hope he does all of that.

I am eager to see which Indians and Blacks going run away from Guyana and the reactions of the Guynaese ppl.

Personally, the conclusion is, Guyanese ppl, citizens and extra-ordinary citizens do not deserve any land / country of their owm. I am certain the Amerindian would welcome Maduro.

I hope admin gives me a little leeway here under these extenuating circumstances. Banna go do yourself.......

Last edited by GTAngler

Noticeably you are on the same page with others, probably you agree with Seignet.

Keep on rolling with the crew.

Don’t bring Datt low talk skites to Base.  I said this morning GDF needs a Luftwaffe to blow those conquistadors out of our skies. 

Dont mix up my support for adherence to the constitution as support for the enemy.  That’s cheap low ball politicking!