OK Folks,

The PPP will be selecting their Presidential candidate for this year's election. As PPP supporters and potential AFC crossovers to the PPP, there need to be a transparent and secret voting process.

President Jagdeo delivered the fatal blow to APNU and must be congratulated for reigniting the PPP base and attracting curious first time voters to the PPP. 

That job has been completed and now a new task is at hand. Jagdeo is our hero and so is Charandass who delivered a death blow to APNU. There is now a larger task at hand and it involves looking at a bigger prize.

Five Central Committee members have either put themselves forward or were nominated to be the candidate. They are: Irfaan Ali, Dr Frank Anthony, Anil Nandlall, Dr Vindhya Persaud and Gail Teixeira.

All of these Candidates will try to persuade the CC  as to why they should lead the PPP and that is very democratic right. But the candidate selection process must be transparent.  I read a statement that the candidate should be a "consensus" candidate and if there is not one, then a secret ballot should be held ?

What ? Did I hear that correctly ? Yes, I did and I disagree. Why ?

The Presidential candidate MUST be selected by secret ballot. As a die hard supporter, I demand that the voting process be secret and let member of the CC select the best candidate by one vote each. CC members must not feel pressured or intimidate in selecting a candidate and it MUST be secret and free of pressure to select a Candidate.

A former president usually prefers one candidate over another or even endorse that Candidate but the CC must elect that candidate by a secret ballot. The PPP must lead by demonstrating to the voting public that they are also democratic.

It would be undemocratic for the PPP to "select" a "consensus" candidate. I call on the CC members and President Jagdeo to demonstrate leadership by ensuring that the voting process is transparent and by a secret ballot, no other way is acceptable.

As for the candidates, I have my preference of Dr. Vindhya Persaud who also happens to be my god sister though my affiliation with Pandit Reepu Daman Persaud. She is squeaky clean with ZERO baggage. I am realist and will be honest enough to admit that she does not have enough of CC votes to become the President but she is definitely minister of health candidate.

All of the other candidates bring strengths to the table but in the end, only one can be selected. Hopefully, the loser or losers do not tear up their membership card/cards after a loss like what Neemakharam Moses did to the PPP.

Those who are leaning to the PPP seem to prefer Dr. Frank Anthony and while he strikes me not as charismatic as Jagdeo, he might be the candidate to win over a broader cross section votes.

Irfaan is definitely in line for a Finance position but not a candidate with a board based political support from a broad cross section of Guyanese.

Anil is the strongest candidate but again, first time PPP voters would prefer to see a candidate with zero political baggage.

Gail is my fellow Canadian and had served the PPP with distinction but the "Ambassador" fiasco still lingers with a bad taste.

I call on the members of the CC not to be pressured in making their selection but select their candidate of choice via secret ballot. The supporters of the PPP and potential supporters are closely watching.

May the better Candidate win ! Long Live the PPP !! Let us all drink from the cup, open the door and let the man come in, all a we is one family.

Yuji22

The two most qualified are Anil and Anthony.  Maybe, given the tense situation in Guyana, Anthony would probably be the best choice!  Even Caribj is warm to this choice!

Granger tell Carib to pick Anthony, he will be Easy Picking.

PNC will crush him.

The PNC will crush Anil by exposing all of his baggage. He will remind many of all about the PPP that is corrupt, racist and wrong.  

What baggage can they expose for Frank Anthony?  In addition  because he is less of a threat many PNC supporters might stay home, which should be your objective.

The two most qualified are Anil and Anthony.  Maybe, given the tense situation in Guyana, Anthony would probably be the best choice!  Even Caribj is warm to this choice!

Nah, dem mek datt mistake with BJ, and keep in mind, BJ deh round!

You will recall that Jagdeo made the PPP lose. First because he is seen as wrong and secondly because he picked an idiot that he felt that he could control.

The PPP was seen as unbeatable because their core base is the largest. When Jagdeo lost in 2015 that is no longer the case. And yes Jagdeo was very visible in the 2015 election campaign so he is the one who should be blamed for the defeat.

Under Jagdeo we saw the murder of a PPP minister and a spate of mass murders that Guyana hadn't seen since the 60s.   And those who praise the phantoms, recall that RK was arrested in 2006 and these spate of mass murders occurred in 2008.

I suspect that when the FARC connected Roger Khan was arrested and his private militia disbanded those people unleashed a reign of terror on Guyana.  

Nah, dem mek datt mistake with BJ, and keep in mind, BJ deh round!

You will recall that Jagdeo made the PPP lose. First because he is seen as wrong and secondly because he picked an idiot that he felt that he could control.

The PPP was seen as unbeatable because their core base is the largest. When Jagdeo lost in 2015 that is no longer the case. And yes Jagdeo was very visible in the 2015 election campaign so he is the one who should be blamed for the defeat.

You are picking convenient talking points.  Arguably, had BJ not intervened, the defeat would be bigger and the NCV a remote possibility.  Furthermore, we can argue whether the AFC made a difference or not in bringing the Coalition home.

Today we have the situation where the AFC likely lost support and even you admit not the PPP has the clear advantage.  So then, did the AFC make a difference in 2015?  You go figure!  And I don’t think you understand the pull BJ has on the ground in Guyana!

So thus far, your theories on the AFC and BJ are being turned on it’s head.  You need to examine your logic!

PNC will crush him.

The PNC will crush Anil by exposing all of his baggage. He will remind many of all about the PPP that is corrupt, racist and wrong.  

What baggage can they expose for Frank Anthony?  In addition  because he is less of a threat many PNC supporters might stay home, which should be your objective.

PNC cant crush shyte. Jagdeo already crushed their balls.

OK Folks,

The PPP will be selecting their Presidential candidate for this year's election. As PPP supporters and potential AFC crossovers to the PPP, there need to be a transparent and secret voting process.

President Jagdeo delivered the fatal blow to APNU and must be congratulated for reigniting the PPP base and attracting curious first time voters to the PPP.

All of these Candidates will try to persuade the CC  as to why they should lead the PPP and that is very democratic right. But the candidate selection process must be transparent.  I read a statement that the candidate should be a "consensus" candidate and if there is not one, then a secret ballot should be held ?

What ? Did I hear that correctly ? Yes, I did and I disagree. Why ?

The Presidential candidate MUST be selected by secret ballot. As a die hard supporter, I demand that the voting process be secret and let member of the CC select the best candidate by one vote each. CC members must not feel pressured or intimidate in selecting a candidate and it MUST be secret and free of pressure to select a Candidate.

It would be undemocratic for the PPP to "select" a "consensus" candidate. I call on the CC members and President Jagdeo to demonstrate leadership by ensuring that the voting process is transparent and by a secret ballot, no other way is acceptable.

Yuji22

Yugi, what makes you think only PPP base are ignited, APNU/AFC may also be ignited.

"Consensus" Candidate (s) are candidates outside of the PPP CC which have to be approved by the EXco to throw their hat in the ring.

The voting by the CC to select the PPP presidential candidate is done by secret ballot.

You are picking convenient talking points.  Arguably, had BJ not intervened, the defeat would be bigger and the NCV a remote possibility.  

And I could argue that Jagdeo's race baiting drew a huge turnout in PNC strongholds like South GT, Linden and Bartica and if someone else was running maybe they would have stayed home.  Its this unusually high turnout for younger people who normally dont vote that led to the PPP loss.

You all need to understand something. While 50% of the population might not be opposed to Jagdeo, and a portion of these even thinking him a hero, to another 50% he is seen as a murderous monster to the same degree that Burnham was.

And please dont scream that Jagdeo didn't race bait. What were all of these screams about "Moses said he isnt an Indian" about?  In fact when Moses said so he was in the PPP, which didn't express public opposition to it at the time. And Moses spoke to the fact that he is a "Guyanese" in the same way as a Pakistani is a "Pakistani", so clearly referenced his nationality and not his ancestry.  That rant was about scaring Indians away from him, and not giving a damn about non Indian voters.

I dont even have to get to the "we will take back Guyana for us", or the "GDF and the police are going to kill straight hair people if the PNC wins".   Those were the normal ethnic screams that weren't meant for black people to hear, though of course we did hear about it.