I didn't live long in Guyana but the times I visited G'town during those days are still vivid in my mind. I remember everything you mention.

New Amsterdam, Rosehall, Albion, and other major cities and towns were prosperous and popular. The countryside was well-kept because of strict law and order maintained by the Village Offices. Men were employed to dig fish ponds, and clean the streets and drains, which they took seriously.

My village was PPP and had mostly rich rice planters. Foreigners studied the village because we fed Guyanese and helped in rice export; then they and others wrote articles and a book. I visited a few times between 1982-2007: the village looked better than the present G'town; it was so unrecognizable that I passed it then told the driver to turn back.

I hope the lady helps to bring back some of Guyana's glory days.  

Yet there are those ignorant, cave dwelling homos whose goal in life was to get humped by other men aback the cinema in Enterprise, sehing that 1992 to 2014 was the golden years.

That's what is left in Guyana now. No "glory days" coming back. The people who brought that about are no longer there. The entire culture has changed. All you have left now is "wine and guh down", drunkenness and drugs and drug addicts.

I wish her well also BUT when you have the incompetent, DUMB PNC in Govt everything turns to FILTH!!`1

Stay away from Georgetown! Last thing it needs is a nasty, diseased, drunken kangalang like you vomiting, shitting, polluting and increasing disease in its environs. Yuh wuz visiting Guyana fuh 23 years under the PPP and it still tun into a shithole.

Those were good memories, swimming in Luckoo Pool and the Police band at the Bandstand. With all the oil money, can't buy back those days.

Yes, that whole seawall area was the place for a lot of families and people in the evening, especially Saturday afternoon / evening. It was the police band I think that played at the bandstand, impeccably decked out in their uniforms. I think it was white shirts, black pants, and some red sashes or on the hats etc.

Luckhoo pool for an afternoon swim. Don't even know if it is still there. Of course at Easter the sky would be dotted with kites. I remember flying kite with my father by Luckhoo pool. 

Today, no more Luckhoo pool. 

Today is much different, people go to the creek up the highway and make a mess of the environment with plastic bottles and food boxes, no sense of environmental awareness. This is why I don't believe that you will see the golden age of an environmentally clean GT anytime in the future. A person would buy food and drink and discard the containers on the road corner without even feeling guilty. The public just don't see it as a priority to keep the nation's recreational areas clean. Hopefully the youths will rise up and change this if there is an agenda in the schools to bring awareness like it is in the US and CA. 

Those were good memories, swimming in Luckoo Pool and the Police band at the Bandstand. With all the oil money, can't buy back those days.

Yes, that whole seawall area was the place for a lot of families and people in the evening, especially Saturday afternoon / evening. It was the police band I think that played at the bandstand, impeccably decked out in their uniforms. I think it was white shirts, black pants, and some red sashes or on the hats etc.

Luckhoo pool for an afternoon swim. Don't even know if it is still there. Of course at Easter the sky would be dotted with kites. I remember flying kite with my father by Luckhoo pool. 

Today is much different, people go to the creek up the highway and make a mess of the environment with plastic bottles and food boxes, no sense of environmental awareness. This is why I don't believe that you will see the golden age of an environmentally clean GT anytime in the future. A person would buy food and drink and discard the containers on the road corner without even feeling guilty. The public just don't see it as a priority to keep the nation's recreational areas clean. Hopefully the youths will rise up and change this if there is an agenda in the schools to bring awareness like it is in the US and CA. 

The Luckhoo pool people and the creek people were two different types. Nuff people got their own pools, so Luckhoo ain't the big pull. 

And true, the environment is bad, nuff nuff nuff raw shit dumped in the Demerara.  Man cannot even take a dip these day without hitting shit! 

Guyanese lawliss and dutty!

I think the new mayor should visit the abbatoirs in GT to make sure they are sanitary and efficient. Georgetown has a small meat industry that can grow and create not only more jobs but bring in much needed revenues for City Hall. 

Banna guh tek yuh Geritol and Sanatogen and guh sleep. Wid all de filthy shit in GT in plain sight yuh worried about de Abbatoir and "meat industry". Idiot.

The Luckhoo pool people and the creek people were two different types. Nuff people got their own pools, so Luckhoo ain't the big pull. 

And true, the environment is bad, nuff nuff nuff raw shit dumped in the Demerara.  Man cannot even take a dip these day without hitting shit! 

Guyanese lawliss and dutty!

They don't need government to tell them to clean their place up. In the old days people swept their yard and cleaned their surroundings. No one was throwing shit in the canals and trenches. Personal responsibility. This is what happens when you have a country full of Nehrus running around. Shit and filth dominates.

Banna guh tek yuh Geritol and Sanatogen and guh sleep. Wid all de filthy shit in GT in plain sight yuh worried about de Abbatoir and "meat industry". Idiot.

That's an insult to the people of GT who are mostly of African descent. 

Don't drag race into it dunce! Quit while you're ahead before ah send yuh mad and yuh start looking fuh somebody to bugger like last time den got to "apologize" like Volda.

You should quit bending over while you are ahead or else Volda might take advantage of you by giving you a lady buggering as your reward for your anti_coolie stance on GNI

I know yuh couldn't wait to return to the gutter from whence yuh come. Ah warn yuh dat yuh going deh and to quit while yuh ahead. Now guh bring dem grandkids and show dem yuh proud literary piece dat yuh write up deh. Gwan suh wid yuh ole, haggard, dutty self! Just anodda indo KKK fa.gg.ot wid fantasies of black man.

They don't need government to tell them to clean their place up. In the old days people swept their yard and cleaned their surroundings. No one was throwing shit in the canals and trenches. Personal responsibility. This is what happens when you have a country full of Nehrus running around. Shit and filth dominates.

In the countryside, folks burned their garbage in the backyard every weekend. No one had an unkempt yard because he/she feared mockery from fellow villagers! 

No one cares any more,the place is unkempt,new generation take over.

Not true.  You lie!

Problem today, too much non-degradable junk, cans, plastic bottles, etc.  When I was with AFC I had proposed doing what they do in Mumbai to get rid of the inorganic non degradable waste.  This helps with clogged drains and flooding. 

Black plastic bags all over the trenches and drains. The Corriverton market sideline is a sight to scorn.

Not true.  You lie!

Bhai, when i was there saw it in the neighborhood,asked my neighbor what happened, his words no "one cares" .Behind my mom residence is a sideline, always clean, the neighbor said "look at the sideline dead donkey floating". Growing up we used to bathe and swim in it.

Not true.  You lie!

Bhai, when i was there saw it in the neighborhood,asked my neighbor what happened, his words no "one cares" .Behind my mom residence is a sideline, always clean, the neighbor said "look at the sideline dead donkey floating". Growing up we used to bathe and swim in it.

Very true. They throw plastic anywhere and everywhere. Dead animals(dogs, cats, donkeys etc.) are left on the streets to rot.

They should be whipped with a cat o' 9 tails. The older folks should teach the new generation.  

I saw a few people who are friends of the mayor dumping bags of garbage by the sideline dam. They get up early and do the dumping when it is still dark. This past year when I was there, I asked the mayor what was happening. He said you have to catch them dumping. He said they are just people who do not want to pay $200.00 every two weeks to collect their garbage.

They should be whipped with a cat o' 9 tails. The older folks should teach the new generation.  

I saw a few people who are friends of the mayor dumping bags of garbage by the sideline dam. They get up early and do the dumping when it is still dark. This past year when I was there, I asked the mayor what was happening. He said you have to catch them dumping. He said they are just people who do not want to pay $200.00 every two weeks to collect their garbage.

They need garbage police like in NY!

alena06 posted:

Most of GT is a dump, she has some big tasks ahead.  Get the prisoners to clean up the city and save costs. Stabroek market is the biggest dump and stinkiest.

Mi aunty seh dem bin start good good, Granger get all dem faithful hungry belly from Sophia backdam to clean up GT in 2015.  Den dem gi demself big big salary increase and leff dem guttah cleanazz with white mouth.  Suh dem get vex and gone back Sophia backdam and leff di shit to pile up!

Ah suh mi aunty seh!

alena06 posted:

Most of GT is a dump, she has some big tasks ahead.  Get the prisoners to clean up the city and save costs. Stabroek market is the biggest dump and stinkiest.

Mi aunty seh dem bin start good good, Granger get all dem faithful hungry belly from Sophia backdam to clean up GT in 2015.  Den dem gi demself big big salary increase and leff dem guttah cleanazz with white mouth.  Suh dem get vex and gone back Sophia backdam and leff di shit to pile up!

Ah suh mi aunty seh!

Your auntie is right.  Black men and women were cleaning the drains and trenches throughout the country in support of the new government.  Enthusiasm quickly waned as they saw the selfishness of the ruling elite.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

I wish her well also BUT when you have the incompetent, DUMB PNC in Govt everything turns to FILTH!!`1

Stay away from Georgetown! Last thing it needs is a nasty, diseased, drunken kangalang like you vomiting, shitting, polluting and increasing disease in its environs. Yuh wuz visiting Guyana fuh 23 years under the PPP and it still tun into a shithole.

RAW SEWAGE WILL FETCH A MUCH HIGHER PRICE THAN A PIECE OF SHIT LIKE YOU. THANK GOD I DO NOT HAVE SMELLOVISION TO SMELL THE STENCH, ABSOLUTE STENCH COMING FROM YOU!!!

Listen. I read through the entire posts and did not see anyone saying anything negative about the young lady. 

Posters were expressing what they witnessed in Guyana and GT and that is the truth. 

Pleas don’t bring that BS attitude to GNI. 

The young lady has an uphill battle in a toxic political atmosphere in GT. She took the political torch and she has to carry it with strength and determination to achieve what she set out to accomplish. 

GNI is not residents of GT. 

Hugh Jorgan posted:

A 19 year old Afro-Guyanese girl has dreams and is optimistic and these are the reactions. I'll bet if she was Indo there would be tons of good lucks and well wishes because the "blackman" got GT the way it is. SMMFH. This is why I seldom post here.

After reading your last sentence, ah can't help but smile. And I'll leave it at that. But I hear yuh.

alena06 posted:

Ah suh mi aunty seh!

Your auntie is right.  Black men and women were cleaning the drains and trenches throughout the country in support of the new government.  Enthusiasm quickly waned as they saw the selfishness of the ruling elite.

Bai dah woman is 85, duh she is alwayzzz right!