Ex minister Webster loses Canadian residency

By Staff Writer On February 6, 2019 In Guyana News |

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...-canadian-residency/

Former Minister of Social Services in the PPP/C administration, Jennifer Webster has lost her Canadian residency after failing to fulfil her obligations under Canadian law.

Documents seen by Stabroek News show that Webster, who had been granted residency in Canada in 2009 had resided in that country for a mere 148 days over a five-year period.

According to Canadian law a permanent resident complies with the residency obligation with respect to a five-year period if, on each of a total of at least 730 days in that five-year period, they are physically present in Canada.

Having failed to comply with this requirement Webster had her residency revoked in November 2014 and appealed to the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada. In July 2018 the board denied her appeal and ordered her departure from that country.

The former Minister did not challenge the legal reasoning behind the revocation conceding that she was not physically present in Canada for 730 days in the five-year period between December 2009 and December 2014, instead she asked that the board exercise its discretionary jurisdiction and allow the appeal on humanitarian and compassionate considerations.

As part of her appeal she testified that she invested most of the funds from the sale of her Guyana properties in the purchase of an expensive home, moved her personal belongings to Canada, purchased a motor vehicle and transferred her funds to Canada. She also testified that she was the primary caregiver for her 82 year old mother and maintained a close relationship with her 33 year old daughter.

“She testified she has no further assets in Guyana. Her immediate family is in Canada. Her mother is 82 years old and has been in Canada since the early 1980s. Her daughter lives with her and her brother and sister live in Canada, albeit in a different city. She testified she has no close family in Guyana other than cousins,” the decision notes.

However these and other arguments presented failed to persuade the lone member of the tribunal  Roxane Vachon who found that rather than “pursue work opportunities in Canada [Webster] chose to maintain her income and her status abroad until she neared retirement and returned to Canada.”

Further it was noted that the former minister “did not return to Canada at the earliest opportunity” and lived a lifestyle “inconsistent with the low income she submits on her income tax returns.”

“Instead of returning after her first mandate she chose to seek re-election. There is no evidence the appellant even attempted to find work in Canada between 2009 and 2015. She chose to maintain her position as a minister for two mandates,” Vachon said in her decision on the issue.

Webster resigned from the PPP/C government in April 2015 citing ill health.

Webster sought to justify her second ministerial stint by saying that she grasped the opportunity Guyana had to have a seat at the UN Commission on the Status of Women to advance the cause of women and girls internationally but while Vachon found this to be “impressive work” she stressed that it was not a “compelling reason to be outside of Canada.”

“Her decision to depart and remain outside Canada was not beyond her control and although it may have been for a good cause, her reasons are not compelling,” Vachon concluded adding that “this course of conduct is not in compliance with the appellant’s residency obligation and with the skilled worker immigration class under which she obtained her permanent residence. The fact her daughter became established in Canada while the appellant worked overseas is not sufficient to outweigh the breach of her residency obligation.”

"it was noted that the former minister "did not return to Canada at the earliest opportunity" and lived a lifestyle "inconsistent with the low income she submits on her income tax returns.""

hmmm . . .?

Not uncommon, according to Nehru life was sweet lakka sumutu under ppp. Nuff people endanger they overseas citizenship to bask in the sunshine in Guyana, now they pay the price once pnc destroy the nation in 3 short years. 

Canadian immigration is very strict when it comes to the days that you spend outside of the country. When I was a permanent resident they would count how long I spent in the US. I hope that there is a higher person that she can appeal to. I was under the impression that she was married. It looks like she is single.

Her case hinges on the fact that she contributed nothing to the Canadian economy, but was quite keen to retire there. There is nothing wrong with living in Guyana if you have the means, which she has.

Guyana expensive like hell with plenty criminals. Mr T how come you are not living there then.

I got a successful business in England. I would also rather live in Suriname instead of Guyana. The food is better and there is far less racial issues compared to Guyana.

Don’t know what it has to do with BJ!   She did not meet her residency test.  

Yes, she will get a new job soon with the new govt.  Is Volda who will not be able to keep her promises!

Bai, people obsession with Jagdeo is making them run mad. They eat, drink and sleep Jagdeo.

Bai, you gatt me bad habit. Done crow, lady mekkin brekfuss and me pon GNI mekkin trouble!

Bai, since I went on this 4 days work week last June, I have become accustomed to waking early and find myself doing so even on weekends. I do feel bad for my poor wife because even though she is still trying to sleep, I am up and about making it difficult for her. But she loves me too much to kick meh skont out de room.  Had my cup a coffee and a bagel and now seeing what is going on pon GNI. Plus Democrats are in deep shit in Virginia. Less than 6 months after they defeated Trump's guy there. Now it looks like there is not an honorable Democrat to take over and a Republican may be automatically placed in the Governor's mansion. 

Well kudos to your wifey for putting up wid you and yuh skites!

On politics, that’s why you don’t dance and prance too much.  You see how dem PNC was celebrating dem tek back Guyana fuhevva.  Now look wuh skites dem deh pon.

Meh was looking fuh de picha of dem yukkin it up just before Charrandas said yes. That fugly ohman Broomes was going back and forth with someone on the other side. Then all of them puss got shut when Charrandas said yes. Now dem clutching at straws in an effort to reinstate the old style PNC bullyism.

Well kudos to your wifey for putting up wid you and yuh skites!

Banna, seriously, I don't deserve my wife. She is an angel. But I am glad she loves me irrespective of all my faults. 

Meh was looking fuh de picha of dem yukkin it up just before Charrandas said yes. That fugly ohman Broomes was going back and forth with someone on the other side. Then all of them puss got shut when Charrandas said yes. Now dem clutching at straws in an effort to reinstate the old style PNC bullyism.

Looks like Charandass stitched up all dem splits(like the halall fish story).

Hey hey hey...bai 4 day week is nice wuk. yu live florida like me buddy? right? 

Bai, this is perfect fuh abee in Florida. Afterall, abee need time fuh enjoy abee paradise. Yuh buddy duz probably wuk even less dan 4 day week. Meh kno how he kind a bizniss duz wuk.