November 18 2018

The United States Embassy here in Guyana has issued over 100,000 visas over the past three years.This was revealed by Deputy Chief of Mission at the US Embassy, Terry Steers-Gonzalez.Steers-Gonzalez was at the time speaking about the achievements of outgoing US Ambassador Perry Holloway at a farewell reception held in Holloway’s honour on Friday evening.

“The Consular Section, in the Ambassador’s time here, has issued over 18,000 immigrant visas and 86,133 – not to be too exact – non-immigrant visas, which is over half of all the non-immigrant visas issued by this Embassy so far this 21st century,” Steers-Gonzalez said.Over the past three years, the number of non-immigrant visas issued to Guyanese by the United States Embassy has seen increases by over several thousand each
year. In fact, at July 2017, the US Embassy had processed more than 72,000 non-immigrants and 7000 immigrant visas with a low refusal rate.

Deputy Chief of Mission at the US Embassy, Terry Steers-Gonzalez

At the time, Ambassador Holloway had attributed this trend to the improving economic situation in Guyana.“The improving economic situation over the last few years has led to our refusal rate coming down significantly, from a high of well over 50 percent five years ago, to one much lower today and luckily for us only a small percent of Guyanese, who go to the US actually abuse their visas and stay illegally,” the US Diplomat had stated.Moreover, the Embassy’s Consular Section and the Regional Security Office has been working with local law enforcement to obtain the first successful prosecution for visa fraud in Guyana, which resulted in an Internet Café vendor being imprisoned.

Ambassador Holloway had also sought to alley fears of a change of his country’s policy to Guyana.“The fears that we were disengaging or even forgetting about Guyana were quite simply misplaced fears. Bilateral relations could not be better… a lot is going on and there is more to come,” he had indicated.In 2015, some 51,000 non-immigrant visas were processed by the US Embassy here. This figure was a 20,000 increased from the 31,000 processed in 2014. In 2016, 72,000 visas were processed.

With regards to the immigrant visas, however, there has been a declining pattern. A total of 6,403 immigrant visas were processed in 2014; 6,154 in 2015 and 5,600 in 2016.

On the other hand, there has been a crackdown on illegal immigrants in the US in recent months and Guyana was listed as one of the countries which could lose visa access if the Government refuses to accept deportees.

November 18 2018

With regards to the immigrant visas, however, there has been a declining pattern. A total of 6,403 immigrant visas were processed in 2014; 6,154 in 2015 and 5,600 in 2016.

Wow, nuff lesser people running away from PNC?  Dah nah sound rite!  Me thinks is trickery.  Me thinks the US giving Coolie people visas and denying Blacks so dem gon stay and vote fuh PNC and PPP base run 'Merica!!

If ayuh nah see dah, ayuh gullible!  Never trust the headline numbers!!  Could we have an audit/disclosure by ethnicity?

November 18 2018

Wow, nuff lesser people running away from PNC?  Dah nah sound rite!  Me thinks is trickery.  Me thinks the US giving Coolie people visas and denying Blacks so dem gon stay and vote fuh PNC and PPP base run 'Merica!!

If ayuh nah see dah, ayuh gullible!  Never trust the headline numbers!!  Could we have an audit/disclosure by ethnicity?

18,157 immigrant visa in 3 yrs, most from that amount may be East Indians.

November 18 2018

18,157 immigrant visa in 3 yrs, most from that amount may be East Indians.

Great. They're bettering their lives and don't have to live in fear of break-and-enter, robbery, murder, etc.

Guyanese who have an opportunity to leave that PNC kaka holy country should not hesitate to leave. DJ is fixated on Indos leaving. We Indos are always seeking better opportunities. 

Did the US give DJ a list of people who left by race for him to conclude that the amount is mostly Indos ?

SMH.

Guyanese who have an opportunity to leave that PNC kaka holy country should not hesitate to leave. DJ is fixated on Indos leaving. We Indos are always seeking better opportunities. 

Did the US give DJ a list of people who left by race for him to conclude that the amount is mostly Indos ?

SMH.

Didn’t you see Django  suddenly believe in Guyana Times. the same news source he criticized for being unreliable. 

SMH.

Didn’t you see Django  suddenly believe in Guyana Times. the same news source he criticized for being unreliable. 

Most of their stories are half baked, hopefully this one is fully cooked.

Lenora, so if the figures are actually afro Guyanese, what would be their reason

Great. They're bettering their lives and don't have to live in fear of break-and-enter, robbery, murder, etc.

Ha Ha Ha !!

He tun PPP now. 

I have an interesting question. Are Afro Guyanese leaving in larger numbers than Indos ?

Do some work compare the census of Guyana.

The census would does not cover the three years mentioned.  Bai how you does run your shop ? Don’t tell me you running it like a PNC cake shop.

Ha Ha Ha !!

He tun PPP now. 

I have an interesting question. Are Afro Guyanese leaving in larger numbers than Indos ?

Do some work compare the census of Guyana.

The census would does not cover the three years menationed. Bai how you does run your shop ? Don’t tell me you running it like a cake shop.

Why all the fumbling ?

I can't explain every thing to you, how to correlate the three years to pass migration.

Use your noodle.

While one indicator for the loss in the recent Local Government elections, it is possible that most PNCR/AFC are seeking/receiving visas.

Dem_Guy, you joking, what happened to the low voter turnout ?

While one indicator for the loss in the recent Local Government elections, it is possible that most PNCR/AFC are seeking/receiving visas.

D_G joking!

Perhaps the PNCR/AFC voters were sending an extremely strong message that come 2020-elections, PNCR/AFC will suffer a much more major loss.

D_G joking!

You also joking Baseman.

Image result for laughing emoticonsImage result for laughing emoticons

Images (2)
  • blobid0
  • blobid1

Perhaps the PNCR/AFC voters were sending an extremely strong message that come 2020-elections, PNCR/AFC will suffer a much more major loss.

PNC deceiving ayuh.  Maybe they told their supporters to stay home because ahwe running things. Then come 2020 at GE, dem swarm the polls!

PNC sent their masses to swarm AFC meeting in 2011 giving the false sense of Afro youth support spurring Indian youths to jump onto the AFC bandwagon.  Election results, the large crowds yielded several dozen votes while the Indian areas so notable support!

Ayuh continue to have orgasm over beads while the PNC watching the crystal!

I don't want to touch this visa story. Looking at the photo, this deputy chief of mission looking like a magga daag. The previous one bin look like a well fed prizewinning cow.

SMH.

And yet you will call me obsessed with race.

And how did the PNC lose LGE.  They won in all of their areas.  Which PNC areas did the PPP win and do not say Buxton.

Do you understand that LGE is 52 DIFFERENT elections, and that the purpose is to select people who will be responsible to collect garbage, clean drains, etc?

And how did the PNC lose LGE.  They won in all of their areas.  Which PNC areas did the PPP win and do not say Buxton.

Do you understand that LGE is 52 DIFFERENT elections, and that the purpose is to select people who will be responsible to collect garbage, clean drains, etc?

PPP win Sophia and PNC acknowledged this. 

http://demerarawaves.com/2018/...alvanise-2020-votes/

Carib is in denial. Lethem was also under PNC/AFC control and PPP took that away. Carib is selling snake oil, his Guru Burnham never acknowledged defeat. 

PPP victory margin translates to an equivalent of 9 National election seats. 

Fiah in de wiah on Monday.

Carib is in denial. Lethem was also under PNC/AFC control and PPP took that away. Carib is selling snake oil, his Guru Burnham never acknowledged defeat. 

PPP victory margin translates to an equivalent of 9 National election seats. 

It was a bitter pill for him and his buddies to swallow. 

Vish M posted:

The US embassy issued more than 40,000 visas prior to the General election in 2015

Will like to engage many opinions on this statement 

Vish M, it's obvious, the US intervened in the Guyana election to deplete the PPP base and impose the PNC.  Now the Russians returned the favor Stateside and all hell broke lose!!

Alyuh deal with Trumpy Bear!

Black people are leaving Guyana just like Indians.  I hired a Trini contractor to do some masonry work and he had two guyanese workers who were blacks. They both came here on 6 month Visas.  One came Linden and the other from Bush Lot, Essequibo

You know that is illegal and you have contributed to the illegality.

Indians got visas because they showed they had the resources in Guyana and responsible relatives in the US. In other words, most had the cash and assets to prove they will return.

So you think the Afro Guyanese brothers and sisters relatives in the US don't have any assets ? Oh by the way Afro Guyanese in the homeland climbed the ladder during the past administration, is't not that what is claimed ?

Maybe, maybe not. Like DG would say "perhaps, perhaps not". FYI, blacks who have relatives in America are trying to migrate. There is a black neighbor in GY who told me their papers are in the final stages and they will be migrating soon. Punishment ah bruk rass.

Like all other Immigrants to the US, Guyanese are hardworking and try their best to achieve the American dream.There maybe a few bad eggs, the same goes for other immigrants.

Like all other Immigrants to the US, Guyanese are hardworking and try their best to achieve the American dream.

Django, most of them do. I know of a few elderly folks whose kids put them on public assistance as soon as they were eligible. They did not work a damn day in the US, but they are entitled to more benefits than those of us who do. As I said, all races have freeloaders and system abusers.

Hey Skelly, you were absent for a few days. Were you shooting Uncle Sam's deer again? I hope not. Big story in Guyana, requiring your input here every day.

Django, most of them do. I know of a few elderly folks whose kids put them on public assistance as soon as they were eligible. They did not work a damn day in the US, but they are entitled to more benefits than those of us who do. As I said, all races have freeloaders and system abusers.

Did those policy changed ? for SS & Medicare benefits you have to work. So they are receiving State Benefits ?

Hey Skelly, you were absent for a few days. Were you shooting Uncle Sam's deer again? I hope not. Big story in Guyana, requiring your input here every day.

Yep! My brothers got 3 this year. I don't eat venison. I just go to be outdoors in the woods, even though it's cold. Hunting and fishing are good for you. They keep the mind off of daily stress.

Did those policy changed ? for SS & Medicare benefits you have to work. So they are receiving State Benefits ?

I believe your sponsors are responsible for you at least 5 years. After you turn 65 and are here for 5 years, you can collect SSI(Supplemental Income: some kind of "welfare" program).