Jones would not be allowed to give a "sermon" at Brickdam Cathedral which was a CATHOLIC institution while Jones was a Protestant. Furthermore he was  even regarded as a heretic by protestants according to books written on the Jonestown massacre. 

Jim Jones preached one night at the Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church in Main Street GT. The Chronicle newspaper carried a front-page report. I read it. It said Jim Jones performed a miracle and "healed" a woman suffering from cancer. Sacred Heart officials didn't let Jones into the church again. They discovered that the healing was bogus. The "sick" woman was a plant and the "cancer" was chicken guts prop hidden in the rostrum. 

The church was burned down in 2004 and rebuilt later. Read this:

https://www.ctvnews.ca/mobile/...-to-reopen-1.2658512

I'm actually surprised they let Jim Jones in Sacred Heart given the religious baggage that followed him. A book I read a long time ago cited the disagreements he had with Catholics, and among protestants he was considered heretical. Saw footage of him in a documentary proclaiming he was god.

In another clip he said "socialism is god". I'm glad you never met this fella Gilly, he brought together yuh 2 loves - socialism and wanna be reverend

Not surprised at the usual "religious" shenanigans and fake miracles. Another "religious" conman. So much for religious folks.

I guess you know otherwise, tell us the first hand info  you have.

..how does equating Bibi's remarks to Prashad's nutty claims translate into me having "first hand info" bai.

The guy told me that Jones did a guest sermon on a Sunday afternoon at Brickdam Cathedral. He preached about unity between Christians of different denominations and helping to feed the poor.

Jones would not be allowed to give a "sermon" at Brickdam Cathedral which was a CATHOLIC institution while Jones was a Protestant. Furthermore he was  even regarded as a heretic by protestants according to books written on the Jonestown massacre. 

Jim Jones preached one night at the Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church in Main Street GT. The Chronicle newspaper carried a front-page report. I read it. It said Jim Jones performed a miracle and "healed" a woman suffering from cancer. Sacred Heart officials didn't let Jones into the church again. They discovered that the healing was bogus. The "sick" woman was a plant and the "cancer" was chicken guts prop hidden in the rostrum. 

The church was burned down in 2004 and rebuilt later. Read this:

https://www.ctvnews.ca/mobile/...-to-reopen-1.2658512

I'm actually surprised they let Jim Jones in Sacred Heart given the religious baggage that followed him. A book I read a long time ago cited the disagreements he had with Catholics, and among protestants he was considered heretical. Saw footage of him in a documentary proclaiming he was god.

In another clip he said "socialism is god". I'm glad you never met this fella Gilly, he brought together yuh 2 loves - socialism and wanna be reverend

Not surprised at the usual "religious" shenanigans and fake miracles. Another "religious" conman. So much for religious folks.

Remember Rev RW Shambach?

I was watching TV in my Minneapolis apartment when I saw the breaking news. There was a map of Guyana and the news anchor. Told my wife never heard of Jonestown.

So all these years you living in Minnesota, i know lots of people living there, villagers and some far family.

This is home since 1970 and will be home until my last breath.

You fellows should read how Jones smuggled all those guns and ammunition into Guyana.  He sent three young white girls to girlfriend up three black Guyanese customs officers who subsequently allowed the guns and ammunition to pass in several crates marked agricultural equipment.  The three white women described the three men as being disgusting creeps.

I was in  Toronto when a Guyanese guy who was a sales person at Aikenheads hardware( younge and temperance) told me. I was getting a ride home so it had to be around 7:30 pm. Don't know how he knew but it was on the news that night. I traveled to  Guyana  3 weeks later and still hardly anyone knew much. It was all over the news in Toronto